chuanyan128 2nd Gear November 19, 2015 Share November 19, 2015 You made a good choice with the Sharan. As I have shared earlier, as long as the space meet your requirement, we should not be too bother with a few mm / cm more here and there, but to look at your other priority, such as power, price, reliability, etc. etc. Among the 3 listed, I would have pick Sharan too, as the other 2 lose out in power (and not forgetting the larger engine capacity attract hundreds more in road tax per year). And to make you feel more at ease, the EA888 2.0TSI engine + 6 speed DSG is a very reliable combination. It can be found in Golf GTI, Passat, CC, Superb, just to name a few... Thanks bro. I did not go into details of comparing the dimension. Estima was never on my list due to the model being too old and can't agree with the van-like bonnet and windscreen design. I almost committed to Oddy, really like the design, low floor board and 3rd row space but with the 7 seater, my 3 children will constantly fight to sit on the 2 ottoman seat and my wife complain she can't enjoy the seat since she prefer to sit in front. The 8 seater is lower spec and bench seat in the middle. So end up with Sharan. Power and lower road tax aside, because the 2nd row has 3 individual seats, I can put all 3 of my children with car seats in it, they won't fight for who's going to sit behind. The middle seat belt has 3 point harness which is safer than a waist belt. Also for safety, 6 airbags and 5 star euro ncap rating. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abdulwz 1st Gear November 19, 2015 Share November 19, 2015 Any bro here knows Jap? Possible to help to contact Toyota Japan and ask them when will the next Estima be launching? One PI told me it's end of 2016, but I just want to be sure. If it's really the case, i might wait for it. Else, i'll likely get one of the van-like MPVs, or maybe even (unwillingly) the current Estima... tks... Atecord, Come over to the Dark Side-lah The Hoda Odyssey But seriously, go around and test drive with the ADs or at least "test start" with the PIs... Cheers Looks like just a render. Still same profile as current Estima. Don't think we'll see new Estima any time soon. Was gonna say that when I clicked the link... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 Don't be too hopeful, as there are other sites that posted another facelift for the Estima in May 2016. New model will only be ready in late 2018 to 2020... Sigh… like this then sian already... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 Atecord, Come over to the Dark Side-lah The Hoda Odyssey But seriously, go around and test drive with the ADs or at least "test start" with the PIs... Cheers Yup, am planning to test drive the ody and previa. These 2 were the likeliest among the whole lot, that can allow test drive. Just hasn't done it yet. But the 3rd row bench for ody is a stumbling block... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 Yup, am planning to test drive the ody and previa. These 2 were the likeliest among the whole lot, that can allow test drive. Just hasn't done it yet. But the 3rd row bench for ody is a stumbling block... Sharan is ~10k more than the ody and previa from ADs You may want to consider as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 Sharan is ~10k more than the ody and previa from ADs You may want to consider as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 (edited) yup, tested Sharan, and liked the car. But wife (and kids naturally) is keen on those ottoman seats with footrest in the 7-seat ody/previa/estima, which sharan doesn't offer. wife was just saying sharan has dropped from 210K when we first saw it, to 16Xk+ for event cars now... Price drop precipitated by coe and omv decrease. Some features were removed from the previous full spec version. Don't think there are any more event cars left Ottoman seats are a lot of space for very few people. Third bench is usually not so comfortable esp when mounted behind the rear axle Edited November 20, 2015 by Enye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 yup, tested Sharan, and liked the car. But wife (and kids naturally) is keen on those ottoman seats with footrest in the 7-seat ody/previa/estima, which sharan doesn't offer. wife was just saying sharan has dropped from 210K when we first saw it, to 16Xk+ for event cars now... From VW manager, confirm no more event car. New car price 17plus. Clearing balance stock with limited colours. Next year launching the facelift Sharan, slightly more powerful and better FC, Interior and features more up to date but no confirm date. Current trim no panoramic sunroof, Alcantara seat (part fabric, part leather) instead of full leather, RCD510 entertainment system instead of RNS510 (higher end with navigation). If don't mind the above, maybe can. Price with Previa about same same unless PI Estima. Oddy price slightly lower but omv lagi low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fat_slayer 4th Gear November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 Yup, am planning to test drive the ody and previa. These 2 were the likeliest among the whole lot, that can allow test drive. Just hasn't done it yet. But the 3rd row bench for ody is a stumbling block... Actually, the rear bench can fold 40:20:40 just not flat into the floor. I would think that the boot space with all 7 seats in use is still huge. It can accomodate 2 foldable bikes and 2 biggest suitcases that you can find in the dept stores in upright position. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 Actually, the rear bench can fold 40:20:40 just not flat into the floor. I would think that the boot space with all 7 seats in use is still huge. It can accomodate 2 foldable bikes and 2 biggest suitcases that you can find in the dept stores in upright position. so many ody supporters ok lah, maybe I'll change my mind after i go test drive. it would help if KM lowers the price given the OMV is so low… If they sell at 135k i'll take it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 From my opinion you should go with either Toyota Wish or Honda Mobilio because these cars have their own identity. Have their own identity...? Wish is such a bland car.... Mobilo has screwy design in and out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 4, 2015 Share December 4, 2015 Have been driving my MPV for the past 9 years. (current car Toyota Picnic). When chosing a MPV, one must look at one requirement before setting an eye for a MPV. Different peoples have different requirement and as such, they will tell you that this MPV ids better than the other MPV. The following is what I look for when deciding on a MPV : 1. CC - ( 1.5, 1.8, 2.0, 2.2 or 2,4), the higher the cc, the more road tax you will be paying couple with higher insurance and fuel consumption. 2. Room space - just carrying a family with young kids (below 13 yrs) with immediate parents or in-laws. Then a mid size MPV can do the carry all of them. But in the case of all kids are in their teen, then those mid size MPV are out 3. Age of parent or in-laws - do they have any difficulty in boarding the MPV. So this will help you in considering the sliding doors or normal doors cos normal doors when alighting or boarding, the door had to be opend wide for them of which when one park too close to another vehicle. This will cause a problem. 4. Height of MPV - for those big MPV you will have the height problem in some of the shopping centres, hotels and HDB car parks. 5. Fuel consumption - if you are buying a MPV forget about fuel consumption. Want good fuel consumption, buy a saloon car better. If can affort a MPV of high end one, why worry about fuel consumption. 6. Lastly, Cost of Vehicle & COE - this one needs careful consideration cause of the amount of loan and yrs replayment period. OMV below $20k can loan up to 60% of car price whereas thsoe OMV above $20k, only 50% loan allow. So you have to folk out at least 1/2 of the vehicle price for example Odyssey at $160k, you have to take out cash of $80k downpayment. MPV is very confortable for a whole family and especially driving up north to Malaysia .... I had trade in my Picnic and collecting my Mazda Biante in 2 week time. I consider the Biante after factoring the requirement. My in-law having problem boarding or alight from a vehicle. She is already happy with my current Picnic but with this Biante, he boarding & alighting is so much easier. MY 2 cents worth of commence. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinljp 1st Gear December 4, 2015 Share December 4, 2015 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 4, 2015 Share December 4, 2015 Wow this stepwagon really spacious and 3rd row doesn't make you have a sit on the floor feeling!! That said it's boxy design makes it seem like a van rather than a car. Definitely no fast cornering for sure. Guess you can't have it both ways!! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 4, 2015 Share December 4, 2015 Have been driving my MPV for the past 9 years. (current car Toyota Picnic). When chosing a MPV, one must look at one requirement before setting an eye for a MPV. Different peoples have different requirement and as such, they will tell you that this MPV ids better than the other MPV. The following is what I look for when deciding on a MPV : 1. CC - ( 1.5, 1.8, 2.0, 2.2 or 2,4), the higher the cc, the more road tax you will be paying couple with higher insurance and fuel consumption. 2. Room space - just carrying a family with young kids (below 13 yrs) with immediate parents or in-laws. Then a mid size MPV can do the carry all of them. But in the case of all kids are in their teen, then those mid size MPV are out 3. Age of parent or in-laws - do they have any difficulty in boarding the MPV. So this will help you in considering the sliding doors or normal doors cos normal doors when alighting or boarding, the door had to be opend wide for them of which when one park too close to another vehicle. This will cause a problem. 4. Height of MPV - for those big MPV you will have the height problem in some of the shopping centres, hotels and HDB car parks. 5. Fuel consumption - if you are buying a MPV forget about fuel consumption. Want good fuel consumption, buy a saloon car better. If can affort a MPV of high end one, why worry about fuel consumption. 6. Lastly, Cost of Vehicle & COE - this one needs careful consideration cause of the amount of loan and yrs replayment period. OMV below $20k can loan up to 60% of car price whereas thsoe OMV above $20k, only 50% loan allow. So you have to folk out at least 1/2 of the vehicle price for example Odyssey at $160k, you have to take out cash of $80k downpayment. MPV is very confortable for a whole family and especially driving up north to Malaysia .... I had trade in my Picnic and collecting my Mazda Biante in 2 week time. I consider the Biante after factoring the requirement. My in-law having problem boarding or alight from a vehicle. She is already happy with my current Picnic but with this Biante, he boarding & alighting is so much easier. MY 2 cents worth of commence. Bye bye Picnic06. Hello Biante16. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 4, 2015 Share December 4, 2015 Bye bye Picnic06. Hello Biante16. Errrr........... Biante15 .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 4, 2015 Share December 4, 2015 Wow this stepwagon really spacious and 3rd row doesn't make you have a sit on the floor feeling!! That said it's boxy design makes it seem like a van rather than a car. Definitely no fast cornering for sure. Guess you can't have it both ways!! You getting this one right .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic December 4, 2015 Share December 4, 2015 Have been driving my MPV for the past 9 years. (current car Toyota Picnic). When chosing a MPV, one must look at one requirement before setting an eye for a MPV. Different peoples have different requirement and as such, they will tell you that this MPV ids better than the other MPV. The following is what I look for when deciding on a MPV : 1. CC - ( 1.5, 1.8, 2.0, 2.2 or 2,4), the higher the cc, the more road tax you will be paying couple with higher insurance and fuel consumption. 2. Room space - just carrying a family with young kids (below 13 yrs) with immediate parents or in-laws. Then a mid size MPV can do the carry all of them. But in the case of all kids are in their teen, then those mid size MPV are out 3. Age of parent or in-laws - do they have any difficulty in boarding the MPV. So this will help you in considering the sliding doors or normal doors cos normal doors when alighting or boarding, the door had to be opend wide for them of which when one park too close to another vehicle. This will cause a problem. 4. Height of MPV - for those big MPV you will have the height problem in some of the shopping centres, hotels and HDB car parks. 5. Fuel consumption - if you are buying a MPV forget about fuel consumption. Want good fuel consumption, buy a saloon car better. If can affort a MPV of high end one, why worry about fuel consumption. 6. Lastly, Cost of Vehicle & COE - this one needs careful consideration cause of the amount of loan and yrs replayment period. OMV below $20k can loan up to 60% of car price whereas thsoe OMV above $20k, only 50% loan allow. So you have to folk out at least 1/2 of the vehicle price for example Odyssey at $160k, you have to take out cash of $80k downpayment. MPV is very confortable for a whole family and especially driving up north to Malaysia .... I had trade in my Picnic and collecting my Mazda Biante in 2 week time. I consider the Biante after factoring the requirement. My in-law having problem boarding or alight from a vehicle. She is already happy with my current Picnic but with this Biante, he boarding & alighting is so much easier. MY 2 cents worth of commence. Congrats on your new ride! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...