Ictruall 5th Gear November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 How come no mention of Q7 leh ? Any feedback on the pros and cons from existing owners or those coming from recent test drives ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 5:22 AM, Ictruall said: How come no mention of Q7 leh ? Any feedback on the pros and cons from existing owners or those coming from recent test drives ? Cuz TS asked for MPV. Q7 is SUV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 4:54 AM, Spring said: I read somewhere that the 3rd row for Odyssey is a bench that either all folds up or all folds down, no split 60/40 nor 50/50 true? thks! Read from me? Yes, it's true. There's 2 levels of folding 3rd row seats. First level is only the backrest folds flat (forward and onto the part where your bum rests). This one is split, and can fold only one side. The 2nd level of fold is the whole seat (including the part where your bum rests), gets folded/sunken onto the floor and flush with the floorboard, creating flat and large boot. This one the whole seat (both sides) must fold together. Either all fold, or all never fold. This is unlike Sharan, Estima, S-max, galaxy, etc. which all allows only one side fold completely flat, while the other side is still 'can seat people'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 4:54 AM, Spring said: I read somewhere that the 3rd row for Odyssey is a bench that either all folds up or all folds down, no split 60/40 nor 50/50 true? thks! The new Oddy 3rd row is a bench seat, however the back rest is split in 40/20/40 unlike the old model 50/50. You can lower anyone of them. If you have a bulky baby stroller that can't fit in the boot then can lower one of the back rest and still able to seat 1 or 2 person in the 3rd row. Unless you have huge items then the whole bench and the back rest have to be folded flat onto the floor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 4:31 AM, chuanyan128 said: Used to own a RB3 Oddy EXV premium and a Nissan Presage. Good to here you're very happy with your new Oddy. I like the futuristic look as well and almost committed to one but ended up with a Sharan. I would agree Sharan is more cramped than the other two but only slightly. The 2 main reason for new Oddy being roomier is that the floor base is really low, that gives a much better headroom overall and the 3rd row seat is anchored behind the rear wheel axle instead of above, that increases the overall cabin length. Sharan's front seats are slightly bigger and taller, there's a centre console in the front row rather than the walk through concept, 2nd row gets 3 individual seats and all black interior, that's why it feels cramped. At least it's the widest, I can fit 3 children car seats in the 2nd row. For Estima, that miniature bonnet and headroom gives the advantage but personally just can't agree with that windscreen and bonnet being flush like a van and that odometer in the centre, interior are really dated and only 2 airbags. My decision on Sharan is because of the power, driving dynamic and stability, feature packed, high quality interior and 2nd row 3 individual seats so that my 3 children won't fight over who seats behind. If the next facelift Oddy comes with 2.0T engine and do away with CVT then it'll definitely be my first choice. Yup, I did find the Estima van-like. Esp when the gear was like the 3 Liteaces I used to drive since about 30 yr ago But at least the current version is slightly improved from those days, although like you said, the windscreen and bonnet being flushed means it looks like a van still. But i'm practical So will not rule it out since it ticks most other boxes of a MPV i need. (years ago, when I got the Corolla G9, the revolutionary short bonnet was also highly-criticised, but it still became the most popular sedan). The big problem is the current Estima is really dated, and FC i heard is quite bad at 7-8 km/l? Am hoping the new Estima will be launched soon, and maybe it'll be the best choice. Tested Sharan, and agree that it's good too, but loses out if want luxury seats for 2nd rows (which wife likes…) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 5:48 AM, Atrecord said: Yup, I did find the Estima van-like. Esp when the gear was like the 3 Liteaces I used to drive since about 30 yr ago But at least the current version is slightly improved from those days, although like you said, the windscreen and bonnet being flushed means it looks like a van still. But i'm practical So will not rule it out since it ticks most other boxes of a MPV i need. (years ago, when I got the Corolla G9, the revolutionary short bonnet was also highly-criticised, but it still became the most popular sedan). The big problem is the current Estima is really dated, and FC i heard is quite bad at 7-8 km/l? Am hoping the new Estima will be launched soon, and maybe it'll be the best choice. Tested Sharan, and agree that it's good too, but loses out if want luxury seats for 2nd rows (which wife likes…) I also find Estima's drive wobble like a boat, luckily the current version uses 18" wheel thus it helps a bit. I guess it's just different requirement. Oddy 2nd row seat is definitely more comfy. VW uses firmer leather and cushion for their seats, also it's more upright so very different feel. My wife is always the vehicle commander so front seat comfort and electric adjustment more important. 2nd row able to satisfy my 3 children can already. Anyway happy driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 5:41 AM, Atrecord said: Read from me? Yes, it's true. There's 2 levels of folding 3rd row seats. First level is only the backrest folds flat (forward and onto the part where your bum rests). This one is split, and can fold only one side. The 2nd level of fold is the whole seat (including the part where your bum rests), gets folded/sunken onto the floor and flush with the floorboard, creating flat and large boot. This one the whole seat (both sides) must fold together. Either all fold, or all never fold. This is unlike Sharan, Estima, S-max, galaxy, etc. which all allows only one side fold completely flat, while the other side is still 'can seat people'. Haha bro, think it is you! U chose not to buy cos of this IIRC Strange that Honda with their years of experience designs it in this way as I believe previous generations of Odyssey 3rd row were not designed in this manner. U bought something else? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 5:43 AM, chuanyan128 said: The new Oddy 3rd row is a bench seat, however the back rest is split in 40/20/40 unlike the old model 50/50. You can lower anyone of them. If you have a bulky baby stroller that can't fit in the boot then can lower one of the back rest and still able to seat 1 or 2 person in the 3rd row. Unless you have huge items then the whole bench and the back rest have to be folded flat onto the floor. This way of only the back rest able to split is like neither here nor there. Can't put one side flatly down is a no go and restricts an MPV's flexibility which should be the name of the game after it is supposed to be multi-purpose. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 6:37 AM, Spring said: Haha bro, think it is you! U chose not to buy cos of this IIRC Strange that Honda with their years of experience designs it in this way as I believe previous generations of Odyssey 3rd row were not designed in this manner. U bought something else? Nope. So far none of the MPVs in the market ticks all the boxes me (and wife) has leh... I remember when I bought wish in 06, the Ody at that time had electric 3rd row. Press one button, the seats fold down flat. It was already a bench then IIRC. Whole seat fold together automatically on pressing button. So maybe Ody is meant to be this way (although now got no electric folding anymore)... Maybe last min might settle for one of the vans, in Stepwgn or Serena. Else, might find an old one to tahan a while till new Estima comes out. On 11/16/2015 at 6:41 AM, Spring said: This way of only the back rest able to split is like neither here nor there. Can't put one side flatly down is a no go and restricts an MPV's flexibility which should be the name of the game after it is supposed to be multi-purpose. Exactly lor... you really got it spot-on. Also wonder why Honda engineers don't see it this way. Otherwise the ody really does fare quite well. A friend commented that it's a bit noisy when accelerating. I'm even ok with that, but the 3rd row is prohibitive... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ictruall 5th Gear November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 5:37 AM, Nzy said: Cuz TS asked for MPV. Q7 is SUV. oh okay .....thanks and pardon my ignorance 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
streamer77 1st Gear November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 My stream Coe left about a year. I was looking at the Wish for replacing my stream until I saw the M5. M5 sliding door and the unique seat arrangement to get to the 3rd row changed my mind. Also I was thinking the Wish and the Stream are quite similar and I will be driving a similar car for another 10 years. Getting boring. When I was in Taipei recently I saw all the taxi there were Toyota Wish and Altis and over here the trend in using Wish as a taxi is catching up. Further more M5 is made in Japan whereas Wish is made in Thailand. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 7:07 AM, Atrecord said: Nope. So far none of the MPVs in the market ticks all the boxes me (and wife) has leh... I remember when I bought wish in 06, the Ody at that time had electric 3rd row. Press one button, the seats fold down flat. It was already a bench then IIRC. Whole seat fold together automatically on pressing button. So maybe Ody is meant to be this way (although now got no electric folding anymore)... Maybe last min might settle for one of the vans, in Stepwgn or Serena. Else, might find an old one to tahan a while till new Estima comes out. Exactly lor... you really got it spot-on. Also wonder why Honda engineers don't see it this way. Otherwise the ody really does fare quite well. A friend commented that it's a bit noisy when accelerating. I'm even ok with that, but the 3rd row is prohibitive... The OMV for Ody is only $24k. OMV for Accord is $30k. There must be reason why the OMV is only $24k. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abdulwz 1st Gear November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 4:54 AM, Spring said: I read somewhere that the 3rd row for Odyssey is a bench that either all folds up or all folds down, no split 60/40 nor 50/50 true? thks! Hi, 3rd row is 40/20/40 if I am not mistaken ... Regards On 11/16/2015 at 4:31 AM, chuanyan128 said: Used to own a RB3 Oddy EXV premium and a Nissan Presage. Good to here you're very happy with your new Oddy. I like the futuristic look as well and almost committed to one but ended up with a Sharan. I would agree Sharan is more cramped than the other two but only slightly. The 2 main reason for new Oddy being roomier is that the floor base is really low, that gives a much better headroom overall and the 3rd row seat is anchored behind the rear wheel axle instead of above, that increases the overall cabin length. Sharan's front seats are slightly bigger and taller, there's a centre console in the front row rather than the walk through concept, 2nd row gets 3 individual seats and all black interior, that's why it feels cramped. At least it's the widest, I can fit 3 children car seats in the 2nd row. For Estima, that miniature bonnet and headroom gives the advantage but personally just can't agree with that windscreen and bonnet being flush like a van and that odometer in the centre, interior are really dated and only 2 airbags. My decision on Sharan is because of the power, driving dynamic and stability, feature packed, high quality interior and 2nd row 3 individual seats so that my 3 children won't fight over who seats behind. If the next facelift Oddy comes with 2.0T engine and do away with CVT then it'll definitely be my first choice. Am glad you are also happy with your ride. I have never owned a Continental car before... My previous rides were a Daihatsu Charade 1.0, Mitsubishi Lancer 1.3 GLX, Toyota Corona 1.6, Honda Odyssey 2.3, Toyota Ipsum 2.4, Honda Odyssey 2.4 RB1 and presently Honda Odyssey RC1. Maybe I'll get a BMW when the last of my children have grown up and I don't have to ferry 6-8 people at a time... Cheers... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
320i Clutched November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 9:48 AM, streamer77 said: My stream Coe left about a year. I was looking at the Wish for replacing my stream until I saw the M5. M5 sliding door and the unique seat arrangement to get to the 3rd row changed my mind. Also I was thinking the Wish and the Stream are quite similar and I will be driving a similar car for another 10 years. Getting boring. When I was in Taipei recently I saw all the taxi there were Toyota Wish and Altis and over here the trend in using Wish as a taxi is catching up. Further more M5 is made in Japan whereas Wish is made in Thailand. looking aat compact mpv? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bt0904 Neutral Newbie November 16, 2015 Share November 16, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 9:48 AM, streamer77 said: My stream Coe left about a year. I was looking at the Wish for replacing my stream until I saw the M5. M5 sliding door and the unique seat arrangement to get to the 3rd row changed my mind. Also I was thinking the Wish and the Stream are quite similar and I will be driving a similar car for another 10 years. Getting boring. When I was in Taipei recently I saw all the taxi there were Toyota Wish and Altis and over here the trend in using Wish as a taxi is catching up. Further more M5 is made in Japan whereas Wish is made in Thailand. Current new Wish both BM and PI are made in Japan 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 17, 2015 Share November 17, 2015 On 11/16/2015 at 10:01 AM, Ben5266 said: The OMV for Ody is only $24k. OMV for Accord is $30k. There must be reason why the OMV is only $24k. Good point. I had not compared with Accord. But I was comparing OMV for ody vs estima, and couldn't understand why they were priced around the same, as estima OMV was significantly higher. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged November 17, 2015 Share November 17, 2015 anyone knows of hybrid 7 seater? we've ditched the kids' school bus and so will be doing lots of driving next year 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuguangr 2nd Gear November 17, 2015 Share November 17, 2015 On 11/17/2015 at 1:49 AM, Karoon said: anyone knows of hybrid 7 seater? we've ditched the kids' school bus and so will be doing lots of driving next year Sienta or jade? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...