7-Seater MPV

Victor68

On 11/11/2015 at 6:07 AM, Sopskysalat said:

For FC, nothing beats diesel except probably Hybrid.

May be in the coming years, Govt may increase the tax for Euro5 while incentivising those with Euro6 (should be Citroen for now).

Govt may also introduce tax on diesel???

No one knows but for 130KM, if you can claim mileage say xx cents/km, you will maximise the diesel benefit. Imagine say 18KM/L vs 8-12KM/L (my est.), and diesel is cheaper too.... offset against higher tax but how much more. Dont think you will get a low cc MPV except Touran which VW haters will pour in to criticise on its DSG... hahaa..

What you save now is real money than pondering what govt is going to do tomorrow...

Unless you do just 30KM per day, then I suggest you do petrol..

So your call bro.... French/German/Jap/Korean... each has its own set of problem... Recent years, cars equipped with more electronics and co-sharing of parts, you can run away from failures of certain parts. 

Actually beside VW Touran, there is another low cc MPV, ie Opel Zafira Tourer.

http://www.opel.com.sg/vehicles/opel-range/cars/new_zafira/specifications/engines-transmissions.html

Also 

Engine   Engine capacity 1,362 cc Engine type 4-cylinder in-line DOHC ECOTEC Turbocharged Compression ratio 9.5 Bore x Stroke (72.5 x 82.5) mm   Performance   Power 103kW (138 bhp) Torque 200 Nm Acceleration 11.2s (0-100 km/h) Top speed 191 km/h Fuel consumption 14.1 km/L CO2 emission 165 g/km (As tested by LTA)

Edited by Goodman

Oh yes. The GM brand.

BTW, TS, Citroen has phased out the ETG6 and replaced it with EAT6, traditional Autobox, I do not find it nice to drive, may be have tested the DSG or DC gearbox.

Orlando is a good buy if you like the design.

On 11/11/2015 at 7:04 AM, Goodman said:

Actually beside VW Touran, there is another low cc MPV, ie Opel Zafira Tourer.

http://www.opel.com.sg/vehicles/opel-range/cars/new_zafira/specifications/engines-transmissions.html

Also 

Engine   Engine capacity 1,362 cc Engine type 4-cylinder in-line DOHC ECOTEC Turbocharged Compression ratio 9.5 Bore x Stroke (72.5 x 82.5) mm   Performance   Power 103kW (138 bhp) Torque 200 Nm Acceleration 11.2s (0-100 km/h) Top speed 191 km/h Fuel consumption 14.1 km/L CO2 emission 165 g/km (As tested by LTA)

On 11/11/2015 at 2:34 AM, Weewee1976 said:

Let me share my experience in MPV sourcing as a current Stream owner and furture Mazda 5 owner. What made me chose Mazda 5 was because:

1. It fits within my budget of $120k.

2. 3rd row space similar to Stream but headroom higher.

3. It has a 2nd row air-con although it's blowing from the bottom.

4. Versatile 2nd row seat folding which you can store the middle seat away. To be honest, the middle seat is not very comfortable.

5. Sliding doors.

6. Relatively powerful engine and quiet interior.

7. 6AT vs CVT in most Japanese makes.

What made me change car now is I get back more from my current Stream compared to driving it all the way (I still got 2+ years left).

I suggest TS you shortlist some models that fit your budget first, then slowly find time to go physically see the cars you've shortlisted. Then shortlist again and test drive those in the final shortlist.

This is what turned me off the Mazda 5 - quite often we have three in the middle row with the back folded down, I didn't like that "2+1" configuration of the Mazda

On 11/11/2015 at 7:01 AM, Hondatoyota said:

I stay in Hougang need to fetch my wife to work in Tuas. From there I travel to Pasir Panjang to work, my work also require me to drive around . At the end of the day, drive back to Hougang. Was looking more towards jap or Korean cars. Still not confident in conti cars and Citroen and Peugeot is using semi auto which I dun really prefer.

If you're not considering conti, then maybe wish would be the best bet for good FC. 

Not much Korean options, only Kia Carens. The space lose out to wish. And I'm betting FC too.

Oh, i tested Peugeot 5008. The car like got delay action. Step on accelerator, needs almost a second before it moves off, as it has the start-stop technology.

Also, the SE said that of all the diesel MPVs, only Peugeot and Citreon grand picasso can drive to M'sia and pump M'sia diesel.

Oh, I missed the criteria of "storing the 2nd row away to create space".

Then Touran is the only option i guess where you can remove completely.

And the petrol version is getting cheaper at 126K if I am right.

For me, I look at the Interior more than exterior.. After all, we stay inside car longer. About the 3rd row space, it really depend on how much you need to ferry 7 pax. More space = higher cost, same principle as housing. Also, I'm still an old school driver, what turbo here turbo there dun impress me much as maintenance cost is my consideration. If you drive a 7 seater, I assume you are a family man, so safety above anything.

Edited by Optramagnum

On 11/11/2015 at 8:18 AM, Optramagnum said:

For me, I look at the Interior more than exterior.. After all, we stay inside car longer. About the 3rd row space, it really depend on how much you need to ferry 7 pax. More space = higher cost, same principle as housing. Also, I'm still an old school driver, what turbo here turbo there dun impress me much as maintenance cost is my consideration. If you drive a 7 seater, I assume you are a family man, so safety above anything.

then its a toyota wish. very cheap to maintain. my parents wish is hitting 160k km soon and reaching 10years in a few months, only replaced the following in the 10years.

1. 2sets of front brake pads.

2. rear shocks (warranty claim) weeped.

3. aircon evaporator

4. valve cover seal

5. engine mounts.

other than the above,

its engine oil, oil and air filter and ATF changes. for spark plugs only 1 set (iridium tough)other than the originals that came with the car. 4-5 batteries and 3 sets of tires. wiper blades. Bled the brake fluid 3 times. Coolant (top up a bit)and Power steering fluid is still factory original.

car is factory stock except for leather seats. Rims are steel. The car also has never been polished, but washed daily by the maid. paintwork is still rather good.

Maintenance cannot really get much cheaper than this.

So their next is also a toyota wish.

Edited by Mkl22

On 11/11/2015 at 8:30 AM, Mkl22 said:

then its a toyota wish. very cheap to maintain. my parents wish is hitting 160k km soon and reaching 10years in a few months, only replaced the following in the 10years.

3. aircon evaporator

4. valve cover seal

5. engine mounts.

other than the above,

its engine oil, oil and air filter and ATF changes. for spark plugs only 1 set (iridium tough)other than the originals that came with the car. 4-5 batteries and 3 sets of tires. wiper blades. Bled the brake fluid 3 times. Coolant (top up a bit)and Power steering fluid is still factory original.

car is factory stock except for leather seats. Rims are steel. The car also has never been polished, but washed daily by the maid. paintwork is still rather good.

[thumbsup]

better than me… i replaced a few more things, like the control valve of the aircon, radiator, etc. Didn't replace engine mount. 

Car expiring in Jan, but I'm looking at changing to something bigger, as kids are growing up fast, and tall...

On 11/11/2015 at 8:30 AM, Mkl22 said:

3. aircon evaporator

4. valve cover seal

5. engine mounts.

other than the above,

Glad to hear that. Any thoughts to renew COE than buying another new wish? More economical.

On 11/11/2015 at 10:29 AM, Optramagnum said:

Glad to hear that. Any thoughts to renew COE than buying another new wish? More economical.

Ah, expected to be asked this. Discussed this at length with parents in the end my dad wanted a new car. It's probably his last car, so might as well get a new one and be happy.

The difference is a not insubstantial 35-40k.

Edited by Mkl22

On 11/11/2015 at 1:22 AM, Atrecord said:

All quite true.

I would get the Ody too, except that there's one thing that doesn't tick the list...

Just one thing, but I can't compromise on it - the third row seat is a bench and cannot be 'one side up, one side down'.

If you get the 7 seater (EX-V), and if you need significant luggage space beyond what is offered when the 3rd row is up, that means you have to fold down the 3rd row altogether, leaving you with effectively a 4-seater only...

Family liked Ody a lot, and it's quite new so technology, connectivity, features, etc. are all good. If only the 3rd row is split seat, I'll probably no need to still be undecided  [laugh]

I am not sure i understand the "bench" part - the third row can fold half or full seat , if thats what you are referring to. 

Also - i specifically prefer the EX-S, since even if you fold up the last row - if gives you 5 total seats (middle row being 3 seats) and enough boot space.

As you can make out - I am pro-Ody :)

On 11/10/2015 at 1:14 PM, Victor68 said:

Hi, I have not been to this site for a long while. I am now driving a Honda Stream but it has only 2 years left. it is time to look around. Hope to hear some advice here before I decide. I need to choose a brand before I can proceed, so I choose Honda since I am driving one now.

I have seen Toyota Sienta & Wish, Honda Mobilio & Odyssey, Renault Grand Scenic, Mazda 5 & Biante. Prices ranges from $110K to $152K.

Quite obviously, the more you pay the better the quality. What would you think is the closest to my current Stream? The Renault is diesel and it is reputed to have higher depreciation value and high cost for maintenance. Finishes is great for a Euro 6 engine which is very responsive. Among them, the Odyssey and Mazda Biante are impressive in look.

Please share your thought and experiences if any.

Thank you.

You could consider the new KIA Carens... Impressive mpv for the price of less than 120k.

Well specced too

On 11/11/2015 at 3:36 PM, Abhi_boatclub said:

I am not sure i understand the "bench" part - the third row can fold half or full seat , if thats what you are referring to.

Also - i specifically prefer the EX-S, since even if you fold up the last row - if gives you 5 total seats (middle row being 3 seats) and enough boot space.

As you can make out - I am pro-Ody :)

What I meant was that unlike my current wish (or, say, estima, and even the triplets, stepwagon, etc.), it is not possible for one of the three seats in the 3rd row to be up (someone sitting on it), while the other seat is folded away/flat to give extra boot or luggage space.

In Ody 3rd row, you can only choose either '3 seats, no extra boot space' or '0 seat, lots of boot space'.

I have 2 kids and my parents stay with me so I need to cater for Min 6.

BTW, wife n kids love the Ottoman seats on 2nd row...

On 11/11/2015 at 12:00 PM, Mkl22 said:

Ah, expected to be asked this. Discussed this at length with parents in the end my dad wanted a new car. It's probably his last car, so might as well get a new one and be happy.

The difference is a not insubstantial 35-40k.

If not struggling to afford then go for it. New wish is safer with more airbags, if nothing else.

On 11/10/2015 at 2:11 PM, Mkl22 said:

Ya man, really don't know what type of adults he means. Must be damn short and skinny around 40kg each for those on the 2nd and 3rd row.

maybe midget..the one like the game of throne character...

On 11/11/2015 at 2:34 AM, Davidtch said:

Are you sure that COE price will go down then?

Not forgetting Hui Ge said Car-Lite hor.

wah if its true..sure gd news for me leh as my car expiring around that time

On 11/11/2015 at 5:16 AM, Atrecord said:

x-trail cannot make it one… 

harrier i don't think got 7 seats. 

can elaborate why x-trail cannot make it? am considering it since it is one of the 5+2 suv.

It is interesting to see and know that although we all are looking at the same products, our views actually differ. However, with everyone's input, we do get to know more and appreciate why some people see the strength in certain design.

Interior wise, I find Sienta quite OK and the seats are 'proper seat' for the 3rd row. The folding mechanism also good and easy to use. somehow, the 2nd row has 2 seats whilst 3rd row 3 seats. The sliding door is a plus.

This makes 5 people a problem. Outlook of the car is so so leh. Can't they improve it a bit more?

Wish is almost like buying an old Wish. Interior wise nothing much to complain but not sure the back row a/c problem is resolved this time. The offer of $124 for the upgraded version is surely attractive. Depreciation of almost $11K a year is difficult to accept.

Mobillio outlook was not great. Inside the console just cannot make it. Still using hand brake and the gear is just sticking out in the centre.

Like what one bros here suggested. I will wait for a sudden drop in COE or wait for 2017. Car show room is just for fun now. Throw an extra $3-4K per year just to enjoy a new car don't sound sensible. Economy is getting bad next year. Money in pocket safest.