Tinytok 1st Gear July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 To share my experience on "other" brands... Few years back, i bought a 5 yrs old kia rio. Many says korean no good. The only major i had was aircon, spent 1k there. However, jap car owner had similar issues. Now driving orlando, spacious, good price, only that 10yrs equivalent tco comparable to kia carens 1.7 crdi. However, foe big sized family orlando wins. Small nits n nugs issues which i do not believe it does not happen for other cars This current korea can drive 6 packs on full 2.1 tonnes load from SG to Genting to Cameron highland to port dickson then back SG. No sign of heavy climbing except it took more effort to climb genting. Plasticy interiors...from feedback of forums, seems many cars below 130k today are moving to such interior....look at feedback at civic thread. FOr me, i am happy with my chevrolet orlando where the final price is few percent of the pricelist and do not need to take loan, saving another few k off interest to offset possible unreliable korean episode. By the way, chevrolet orlando could be a true american made in korea.....compared to optra generation. I do have friends driving optra,2 in fact., no major issues as well. I guess risk profile of everyone is different... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 Stepwgn rear door bi-fold type. quite unique. If kenna rear ended, easy to repair? Or must wait for spare part from Japan?Not an authority on this. But what worries me is that the special door got 2 types of openings so confirm got many hinges and 2 locking mechanisms. Any impact more than a faint touch, esp near the bottom slightly off left (around the joint of the waku waku door n edge of the tailgate) could easily cause either or both doors to not close or lock properly. Knocking back might not go back to original condition, and the only alternative is to replace, which will likely cost a bomb given its sophistication - plus might need wait...how come no one is looking at opel zafira ? looks sturdyHaven't seen the latest. But 2 yr ago sprained my back when coming out of 3rd row in the showroom... needed 30 min to recover, like last time play soccer didn't warm up beforehand like that...One can also consider the Mitsubishi outlander. Decent 7seater SUV.Considered it. But didn't find the space an upgrade from my 06 wish. Offers different dimension though given its a suv but I need space... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinytok 1st Gear July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 (edited) did a simple calculation using wheelbase * width * height, Outlander is about 10% bigger compared to wish. Edited July 6, 2016 by Tinytok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 How come no one is looking at Toyota avanza? Looks cheap Wah ha ha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yokechye 4th Gear July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 Wah ha ha... ððð But hor, so cheap BM stopped selling a while liao... Is it, thought still have. Sgcarmart still listing it sold by BM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 did a simple calculation using wheelbase * width * height, Outlander is about 10% bigger compared to wish. I also did some measurement. Wife, who in the past had to sit in 3rd row whenever we needed all 3 rows filled up, used herself to measure/compare. Told me Orlando no fight. Also, if I remember correctly, 2nd row seat is the hole puncher type and cannot move forward/backward? Is it, thought still have. Sgcarmart still listing it sold by BMReally? 3 mth ago ubi BM SE said nobody wants so they stopped selling liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yokechye 4th Gear July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 I also did some measurement. Wife, who in the past had to sit in 3rd row whenever we needed all 3 rows filled up, used herself to measure/compare. Told me Orlando no fight. Also, if I remember correctly, 2nd row seat is the hole puncher type and cannot move forward/backward? Yup. Orlando 2nd row seat is hole puncher and cannot slide. That's one of the downside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 did a simple calculation using wheelbase * width * height, Outlander is about 10% bigger compared to wish. I used to follow this method of measuring wheelbase n internal measurements to determine the inside space which is important esp for MPV. However, this method is not always accurate. My take is that the Outlander is cramp for its measurement esp the 3rd row n it's my opinion that the Wish is more spacious. For that matter, Sienta is quite spacious for its measurement which I find it hard to understand where the space comes from? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
yokechye 4th Gear July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 (edited) I used to follow this method of measuring wheelbase n internal measurements to determine the inside space which is important esp for MPV. However, this method is not always accurate. My take is that the Outlander is cramp for its measurement esp the 3rd row n it's my opinion that the Wish is more spacious. For that matter, Sienta is quite spacious for its measurement which I find it hard to understand where the space comes from? Maybe the headroom adds to the roominess. My wife and I do like the high sitting position of outlander but my wife was saying the 2nd row was slightly narrower than the touran Edited July 6, 2016 by yokechye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 did a simple calculation using wheelbase * width * height, Outlander is about 10% bigger compared to wish. Cannot look at it this way lah. Every car have different interior layout, and even car with similar size / wheelbase may offer very different interior space. And other point of consideration include seat height and depth, angle of recline, thickness of seat and panel, etc. Based on my experience with MPV, all these does make a big diff in passenger comfort, which may offset a little lack of space at certain area. In the 7 seater SUV group, Sorento by far is the best, un-parallel interior space with good shoulder and leg room even for the 3rd row passengers. Next will be Santa Fe followed closely by Outlander & Discovery Sport. I left out the new Fortuner cos it is based on a truck platform. I used to follow this method of measuring wheelbase n internal measurements to determine the inside space which is important esp for MPV. However, this method is not always accurate. My take is that the Outlander is cramp for its measurement esp the 3rd row n it's my opinion that the Wish is more spacious. For that matter, Sienta is quite spacious for its measurement which I find it hard to understand where the space comes from? The "extra" space come from the upright sitting position (higher seats), boxy body (better shoulder space) and short bonnet (more usable interior space for all 3 rows). The same goes for other boxy MPV like Biante, Stepwgn, Serena & Toyota Triplets. Maybe the headroom adds to the roominess. My wife and I do like the high sitting position of outlander but my wife was saying the 2nd row was slightly narrower than the touran I find the interior width of Outlander and Touran about the same, probably the individual seat on 2nd row make the Touran feel a little more spacious, since each passenger are entitled to his/her own sitting space. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 The "extra" space come from the upright sitting position (higher seats), boxy body (better shoulder space) and short bonnet (more usable interior space for all 3 rows). The same goes for other boxy MPV like Biante, Stepwgn, Serena & Toyota Triplets. Good spot bro, think u could be right! Upright sitting position has its drawbacks though as it can be uncomfortable for long journeys but guess for us with mostly local drives, it's adequate. Shoulder room esp impt if guys sit abreast cos otherwise it can be tight. Overall, I like this Sienta though it's shape not exactly nice but compared to other boxy MPVs, it's ok. I predict a healthy sales volume when Borneo brings this in later this year! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 Not an authority on this. But what worries me is that the special door got 2 types of openings so confirm got many hinges and 2 locking mechanisms. Any impact more than a faint touch, esp near the bottom slightly off left (around the joint of the waku waku door n edge of the tailgate) could easily cause either or both doors to not close or lock properly. Knocking back might not go back to original condition, and the only alternative is to replace, which will likely cost a bomb given its sophistication - plus might need wait... I prefer to look for the usefulness of the feature than worrying for what will happen if it get damage. Just be more careful when reversing or parking in tight space will do. Stepwag is sold in Hong Kong too (by the local AD), and part can be sourced from there at a cheaper cost. BTW spare part availability is heng sway thing, as I recently encounter a Jazz owner that has to wait for 5 weeks for his boot door (KM told him they normally don't keep stock and have to indent from Japan). Good spot bro, think u could be right! Upright sitting position has its drawbacks though as it can be uncomfortable for long journeys but guess for us with mostly local drives, it's adequate. Shoulder room esp impt if guys sit abreast cos otherwise it can be tight. Overall, I like this Sienta though it's shape not exactly nice but compared to other boxy MPVs, it's ok. I predict a healthy sales volume when Borneo brings this in later this year! Sales of BM Sienta will have to depend on pricing. The Previa, Alphard, Vellfire and previous generation Wish has never being a volume seller despite record breaking sales by PIs. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinytok 1st Gear July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 (edited) I also did some measurement. Wife, who in the past had to sit in 3rd row whenever we needed all 3 rows filled up, used herself to measure/compare. Told me Orlando no fight. Also, if I remember correctly, 2nd row seat is the hole puncher type and cannot move forward/backward? Really? 3 mth ago ubi BM SE said nobody wants so they stopped selling liao. Orlando is bigger than wish and outlander in terms of calculation. confirmed 2nd row hole puncher and cannot move around, not sure how many times you need to move it around. when i got it, only compared it against Kia Caren 1,7crdi. Orlando did have bigger interior and bigger seats which my family need. lastly, the high headroom as well. Edited July 6, 2016 by Tinytok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 I used to follow this method of measuring wheelbase n internal measurements to determine the inside space which is important esp for MPV. However, this method is not always accurate. My take is that the Outlander is cramp for its measurement esp the 3rd row n it's my opinion that the Wish is more spacious. For that matter, Sienta is quite spacious for its measurement which I find it hard to understand where the space comes from? Yes, Outlander looks big, but remember that it's a purpose-built SUV (not MPV) and just add in a third row of seats to make it a 7-seater. Understanding this, it is not going to be really spacious. Space is less than Wish, even though Outlander is taller. This is because the floor of Outlander is already higher than Wish, so getting into the car is slightly more difficult esp for old people. The seats inside are of exactly the same arrangement as Wish though. Sienta has short 'nose', while Outlander has a normal one. With a short bonnet, the inside of the vehicle will have longer space. I realised this long long ago when i got the last gen corolla before altis came along. short bonnet, and inside quite spacious in terms of leg space. Cannot look at it this way lah. Every car have different interior layout, and even car with similar size / wheelbase may offer very different interior space. And other point of consideration include seat height and depth, angle of recline, thickness of seat and panel, etc. Based on my experience with MPV, all these does make a big diff in passenger comfort, which may offset a little lack of space at certain area. In the 7 seater SUV group, Sorento by far is the best, un-parallel interior space with good shoulder and leg room even for the 3rd row passengers. Next will be Santa Fe followed closely by Outlander & Discovery Sport. I left out the new Fortuner cos it is based on a truck platform. The "extra" space come from the upright sitting position (higher seats), boxy body (better shoulder space) and short bonnet (more usable interior space for all 3 rows). The same goes for other boxy MPV like Biante, Stepwgn, Serena & Toyota Triplets. I find the interior width of Outlander and Touran about the same, probably the individual seat on 2nd row make the Touran feel a little more spacious, since each passenger are entitled to his/her own sitting space. Yes, Sorrento is the only SUV that i still have legspace to spare in 3rd row, and it's full normal sitting (not squatting) position. The only drawback was the seat is quite upright (got good and bad), so my hair is just touching the roof The rest, santa fe, outlander, captiva, etc. all didn't pass my 'stress test' for space Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 how come no one is looking at opel zafira ? looks sturdyThe face lift version has been launched, so hold your horses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 I prefer to look for the usefulness of the feature than worrying for what will happen if it get damage. Just be more careful when reversing or parking in tight space will do. Stepwag is sold in Hong Kong too (by the local AD), and part can be sourced from there at a cheaper cost. BTW spare part availability is heng sway thing, as I recently encounter a Jazz owner that has to wait for 5 weeks for his boot door (KM told him they normally don't keep stock and have to indent from Japan). Sales of BM Sienta will have to depend on pricing. The Previa, Alphard, Vellfire and previous generation Wish has never being a volume seller despite record breaking sales by PIs. Ha ha... i know your point. I guess i'm the kiasi type, not v optimistic kind who probably think and worry too much. While I think ownself driving/parking should be ok and under control (even though wife and my father, who's 82 this year, will also drive), it's the unpredictable roads and other drivers that we can't control. For our wish, in the 10.5 yr, only got people knock us at the rear... I test-drove wish, isis and stepwgn (yes, actually got a PI let me take a short drive in these) in 05 before deciding on Wish. Liked Stepwgn then because it was significantly more powerful and importantly has rear aircon. But eventually kiasi about spare parts so chose Wish... Actually quite surprised KM doesn't have spare parts for jazz. I think they are irresponsible AD if that's the case. If they had, but zhun zhun that colour suddenly run out of stock, then still can understand, but how can not keep at all... I think BM Wish did sell decent number lah, though the rest not so likely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 Orlando is bigger than wish and outlander in terms of calculation. confirmed 2nd row hole puncher and cannot move around, not sure how many times you need to move it around. when i got it, only compared it against Kia Caren 1,7crdi. Orlando did have bigger interior and bigger seats which my family need. lastly, the high headroom as well. Few reasons why i think Wish is still best choice mid-sized affordable MPV. Flexibility is one main reason. 2nd row seat moving front/back is v impt for my family: - when we don't need 3rd row, wife if sitting behind in 2nd row, wants the 2nd row moved all the way back, can stretch out her legs. Whoever sitting behind me will likely have to do so too, as I will push the driver seat all the way back too, since i'm 1.8 m. - when we need the 3rd row, all will have to compromise. To give 3rd row acceptable legroom (my kids are quite tall, for their age, now), 2nd row seat will have to move forward a bit, and the front row will have to contribute a bit too, and I'll also push my seat a bit in front. Won't have this flexibility in Orlando... I didn't see the previous Carens, but the current one is also no where near Wish, imho. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged July 6, 2016 Share July 6, 2016 Few reasons why i think Wish is still best choice mid-sized affordable MPV. Flexibility is one main reason. 2nd row seat moving front/back is v impt for my family: - when we don't need 3rd row, wife if sitting behind in 2nd row, wants the 2nd row moved all the way back, can stretch out her legs. Whoever sitting behind me will likely have to do so too, as I will push the driver seat all the way back too, since i'm 1.8 m. - when we need the 3rd row, all will have to compromise. To give 3rd row acceptable legroom (my kids are quite tall, for their age, now), 2nd row seat will have to move forward a bit, and the front row will have to contribute a bit too, and I'll also push my seat a bit in front. Won't have this flexibility in Orlando... I didn't see the previous Carens, but the current one is also no where near Wish, imho. Bro, u should be looking at Estima size...u will hv to change again in another 2-3 yrs as yr kids grow older.My 2 cents... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...