Lokigal Neutral Newbie June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 1:15 AM, Atrecord said: Sorry can't remember liao leh, just impressed on me a few conti brands best to stay away. Not helped by fact that someone in my company got fed up with her 7-8 yo peugeot 2 yr ago after it stopped at a U-turn, and a repair cost $3k+... But lucky got a few others offered their sharings even though i can't remember which thread(s) i read the stories from... The only thing i remember when i tested the Grand Picasso (LTA hasn't approved it yet, so tested it in the building's carpark), is that the 3rd row is very cramped. Like squatting lor... That's ok! Agreed the 3row is cramped. But no choice le cos not enough $$$ to get a proper mpv. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weewee1976 3rd Gear June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 1:15 AM, Atrecord said: Sorry can't remember liao leh, just impressed on me a few conti brands best to stay away. Not helped by fact that someone in my company got fed up with her 7-8 yo peugeot 2 yr ago after it stopped at a U-turn, and a repair cost $3k+... But lucky got a few others offered their sharings even though i can't remember which thread(s) i read the stories from... The only thing i remember when i tested the Grand Picasso (LTA hasn't approved it yet, so tested it in the building's carpark), is that the 3rd row is very cramped. Like squatting lor... My colleague also gave up his Peugeot 5008 after driving for 3+ years. Got too many problems and although mostly are fixed within warranty period, it's too troublesome to keep going to workshop or waiting for tow truck to come. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 1:27 AM, Lokigal said: Tks for the useful insight... I also heard the diesel engine rattling sound when test driving and the sales lady tried to bs me by saying it's the turbo sound. After hearing u, I am leaning towards Carens (which I also test drive) which seems to have less of such problem. I think diesel engine rattling is common in diesel cars especially as they get older. I have sat in my colleagues' diesel merc and jag before and they also have the problem of the diesel ratting sound inside after a few years. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 1:33 AM, Lokigal said: That's ok! Agreed the 3row is cramped. But no choice le cos not enough $$$ to get a proper mpv. instead of a new mid sized MPV, you may want to consider a used full size MPV there's always a choice 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 (edited) On 6/30/2016 at 1:43 AM, Enye said: instead of a new mid sized MPV, you may want to consider a used full size MPV there's always a choice That is one sensible advice. So you selling yours? Edited June 30, 2016 by Carbon82 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 1:33 AM, Lokigal said: That's ok! Agreed the 3row is cramped. But no choice le cos not enough $$$ to get a proper mpv. How much is it now? I remembered it's not cheaper than Wish, which is my current ride, which I renewed COE for in Jan. I used it as benchmark when checking out most MPVs on the market in the last 2 yr. Only the full-sized MPVs are more spacious than wish. All other mid-sized ones either close to on par, or pales in comparison - in terms of space. Even the new BMW Grand Tourer no fight in terms of space. But feature-wise, no fight wtih conti lor... Then again, reliability should be significantly better. So depends on what you want. On 6/30/2016 at 1:39 AM, Weewee1976 said: My colleague also gave up his Peugeot 5008 after driving for 3+ years. Got too many problems and although mostly are fixed within warranty period, it's too troublesome to keep going to workshop or waiting for tow truck to come. i tested it 1-2 yr ago. The one with start-stop. Response when moving off is... CMI, although must say when engine switch on and switch off, didn't feel any changes/differences. But that bad arrh? need tow many times? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 (edited) On 6/29/2016 at 9:58 AM, Atrecord said: wah ha ha ... yes yes. Must be Toyota trying to play dirty... It might be Mazda instead. Saw similar photo comparison for Alphard, Vellfire, Esquire, Stepwgn, Serena, but no Mazda! Anyone interested to see the other models? Edited June 30, 2016 by Carbon82 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 (edited) On 6/30/2016 at 2:00 AM, Atrecord said: How much is it now? I remembered it's not cheaper than Wish, which is my current ride, which I renewed COE for in Jan. I used it as benchmark when checking out most MPVs on the market in the last 2 yr. Only the full-sized MPVs are more spacious than wish. All other mid-sized ones either close to on par, or pales in comparison - in terms of space. Even the new BMW Grand Tourer no fight in terms of space. But feature-wise, no fight wtih conti lor... Then again, reliability should be significantly better. So depends on what you want. Wish set the benchmark for space in mid-size MPV, quite tough to beat honestly. The new Touran is pretty near, but not there yet. I just seen a new Honda Jade on the road, and it seems larger than Wish / Stream, wondering if it interior (passenger shoulder and leg space) is equally spacious? Edited June 30, 2016 by Carbon82 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 2:16 AM, Carbon82 said: Wish set the benchmark for space in mid-size MPV, quite tough to beat honestly. The new Touran is pretty near, but not there yet. I just seen a new Honda Jade on the road, and it seems larger than Wish / Stream, wondering if it interior (passenger shoulder and leg space) is equally spacious? Jade second and third row is 2 x 2 layout for your information. The last row is worst than stream. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 2:07 AM, Carbon82 said: It might be Mazda instead. Saw similar photo comparison for Alphard, Vellfire, Esquire, Stepwgn, Serena, but no Mazda! Anyone interested to see the other models? But of course!!! [sly] tks tks... On 6/30/2016 at 2:16 AM, Carbon82 said: Wish set the benchmark for space in mid-size MPV, quite tough to beat honestly. The new Touran is pretty near, but not there yet. I just seen a new Honda Jade on the road, and it seems larger than Wish / Stream, wondering if it interior (passenger shoulder and leg space) is equally spacious? I looked at Mobilio before, and saw Jade briefly. I feel still no fight. Maybe I biased. See what others feel... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weewee1976 3rd Gear June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 2:37 AM, Atrecord said: But of course!!! [sly] tks tks... I looked at Mobilio before, and saw Jade briefly. I feel still no fight. Maybe I biased. See what others feel... Jade's 3rd row is really cmi. Mobilio has much better internal space actually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamiles69 Clutched June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 Why not giving urself an option to look into 7-seater SUV? Mitsubishi Outlander is another option as I believe price wise and space is better compare to some conti MPV. Just my two cents. Not trying to hard sell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 3:45 AM, Hamiles69 said: Why not giving urself an option to look into 7-seater SUV? Mitsubishi Outlander is another option as I believe price wise and space is better compare to some conti MPV. Just my two cents. Not trying to hard sell. True. If I could've afforded it, I probably would have bought a Kia Sorento. $150k for basic trim iirc. And a true 7 seater. And of course the Outlander has been selling like hotcakes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged June 30, 2016 Author Share June 30, 2016 On 6/29/2016 at 2:14 PM, Lokigal said: Tks, quite pissed off now when I think of it. She just quoted the basic and standard freebie despite asking again. True the price of the car is quite standard since company need to control this. As per some advices, they can throw things here and there but not that much. Try this SE, he attended to me twice and I have yet to decide. Jasen 83332676. nice friendly guy and not too pushy. You got good taste Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged June 30, 2016 Author Share June 30, 2016 On 6/29/2016 at 1:16 AM, echang104 said: targeting mid size MPV. Choices come down to below: New Touran Toyota wish Mazda 5 Picasso Any advice? Not to go into an argument just a personal opinion OK? 1st I strike out Wish - MY reason dated look, inside too plain and $ not equivalent to finish. buying brand only. If I am considering Touran, then Picasso grand would be the choice. - My reason cheaper and more cio inside and outside. To play safe and practical - Mazda 5. Also among the cheapest of the 5. No fire work, just personal opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 (edited) On 6/30/2016 at 2:37 AM, Atrecord said: But of course!!! [sly] tks tks... I looked at Mobilio before, and saw Jade briefly. I feel still no fight. Maybe I biased. See what others feel... You biased lah... It look not bad in these photos. Ok, it does look a little tight. Edited June 30, 2016 by Carbon82 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged June 30, 2016 Author Share June 30, 2016 On 6/30/2016 at 12:12 AM, Weewee1976 said: . 4. The whole car has green house effect due to the skyroof (the soft cover doesn't help) and lots of glass on the vehicle. The funny thing is people are very willing to pay extra for sun/moon roof although we are having summer throughout the year. How about those convertible car? For me, I can't even remember when is the last time I wind down my back windows? Maybe during custom checks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kteokteo 1st Gear June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 (edited) On 6/30/2016 at 5:28 AM, Carbon82 said: You biased lah... It look not bad in these photos. Ok, it does look a little tight. I've personally sat inside and tried the 3rd row in one of the PI showroom, CMI. I'm 1.75M. these 2 photos are not as "attractive" as bro Carbon82 posted here :) but it give you a more accurate picture of how it will look like. Edited June 30, 2016 by Kteokteo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...