7-Seater MPV

Victor68

On 5/11/2016 at 7:05 AM, Lab4games said:

on the topic of Alhambra, I have come across the price to be $105K without COE for new one to be imported. looks like a much better deal than Sharan.

From PI? Which version (engine) and trim (S, SE, SE Lux, FR-Line)? In Europe, the price difference bertween the base and top of line version can be huge, >10K Euro.

The Sharan carried by AD here are of the higher SE / Highline trim. And from what I have gathered, the Alhambra to be brought in by Vertex Euro are of the same trim (and with sunroof too).

On 5/11/2016 at 7:13 AM, Carbon82 said:

From PI? Which version (engine) and trim (S, SE, SE Lux, FR-Line)? In Europe, the price difference bertween the base and top of line version can be huge, >10K Euro.

The Sharan carried by AD here are of the higher SE / Highline trim. And from what I have gathered, the Alhambra to be brought in by Vertex Euro are of the same trim (and with sunroof too).

not price from PI. from the company helping to do my manual gear Car import. price of $105K is for the FR-Line. 

i can say for sure the dealers mark up is really very high in singapore. 

On 5/11/2016 at 5:26 AM, Atrecord said:

Oh yah… I think you're right  [thumbsup]

I mistake… it should be avanza and not innova that BM sold and withdrew… 

paiseh paiseh...

If I am not mistaken, Avanza only 1.5l car, way under-power for 7 pax ... [sweatdrop]

After all these days research and valuable feedback from the friendly ppl here.

I think i m going for Odyssey, going to showroom soon to find out whether its good.

Wish me luck!

On 5/11/2016 at 8:39 AM, nobudy said:

After all these days research and valuable feedback from the friendly ppl here.

I think i m going for Odyssey, going to showroom soon to find out whether its good.

Wish me luck!

Good Luck ........ [thumbsup]    [thumbsup]

Jointing the MPV families ....... [drivingcar]  [drivingcar]

On 5/11/2016 at 5:36 AM, Enye said:

on point 2, 10km in 12 min in SGP (average speed 47km/h).....if not on highway, must be cruising in little traffic with very minimal stops at traffic lights

you should be asking is the diesel alhambra affected by defeat device issue?

ha ha ha… yes, nowadays got VW, Mit, all admit over declaring the emission/FC...

Alhambra took sharan wholesale? won't be spared too right?

Is there seat in singapore?

The seat is a 100% sharan clone?

On 5/11/2016 at 6:31 AM, Carbon82 said:

No.1, it is a diesel and with 95% on highway, well not apple-to-apple compaison.

No.2, it look like the current A and B Class. The base 122ps A180 / B180 has an official FC of 18.5Km/L (factory quoted figure), so 15.6Km/L (6.4L/100Km) is still doable with light foot and traffic.

For me the only concern with diesel car in Singapore is the uncertainty over the additional diesel tax (it might change anytime). Currently at $0.40/cc or $788/yr for the 2.0 diesel Alhambra / Sharan, if we are to compare with the 2.4 Odyssey, it translate to $334 more in road tax per year (inluding diesel tax), which can be easiliy recovered via the saving in fuel cost difference alone (diesel cost <$1/ltr). In fact for large MPV and SUV, diesel would be a better choice cos of the relatively higher torque at lower rpm (effortless move off or going up slope).

Last, responding to bro Enye, Alhambra is using the new Euro 6 compliance EA288 series diesel engine, which is not affected / associated with the EA189 series of the dieselgate.

Now, let talk about consultation charges... ... [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

No. 1 dun talk liao. I think my wish if only go on highway can also do close to 18 km/l. But a 3L merc can do this is really quite good...

No. 2 merc even if the A180/B180 model you mentioned, can get 15.6 km/l is very good right? I think Jap cars can't even go near. How did merc do it? But as rightly pointed out by Enye, if average speed is 47 km/h, then it is quite fast, so dun tell me she gave wrong info… sounds like never stop traffic light for 10 km and just cruising right?

Wah, you  [thumbsup]

Even know all the engines and series… Must really tap on your knowledge on these. I only know how to test which seats and arrangement is better  :grin:

On 5/11/2016 at 9:34 AM, Lala81 said:

Apparently coming (back) soon.

Let the expert answer 2nd part… 

but i previously read in UK Car Review said they were the same car...

SEAT has a new AD in Singapore from July onwards.

But price not released yet.

Alhambra and sharan are pretty similar. Built on same platform. A LOT of shared parts. Can do a Google search on this.

At the kind of price and space I shared yesterday, really worth it. Low road tax for the 1.4 tsi version

Edited by Lab4games

  On 5/12/2016 at 7:33 AM, Lab4games said:

SEAT has a new AD in Singapore from July onwards.

But price not released yet.

Alhambra and sharan are pretty similar. Built on same platform. A LOT of shared parts. Can do a Google search on this.

At the kind of price and space I shared yesterday, really worth it. Low road tax for the 1.4 tsi version

imagine 1.4 tsi pulling a fully loaded 2.5-tonne vehicle up genting or cameron highlands

[sweatdrop]

On 5/12/2016 at 8:01 AM, Enye said:

imagine 1.4 tsi pulling a fully loaded 2.5-tonne vehicle up genting or cameron highlands

[sweatdrop]

if always driving on fully loaded, then of course look at the 2.0 TSI or TDI. else, for occasional fully loaded the 1.4 TSI makes sense in Singapore. 1.4 TSI is the cheapest engine to buy. so can expect an even lower price. 

Thanks to the supercharger and turbocharger there’s a pleasingly linear power delivery, though a touch more torque would help given the car’s weight.

Have Super charger & turbo charger = twin charge?

Also on 7dry? Referring to the 1.4.

On 5/12/2016 at 9:07 AM, Lab4games said:

if always driving on fully loaded, then of course look at the 2.0 TSI or TDI. else, for occasional fully loaded the 1.4 TSI makes sense in Singapore. 1.4 TSI is the cheapest engine to buy. so can expect an even lower price. 

If it's the 1.4 engine, then will it face the same problems as the famous VW 1.4 7DSG issues or not?

worried leh...

The pre-facelift Sharan and Alhambra is using the Euro 5 compliance 1.4 twin-charged engine that produce 150ps horsepower & 240Nm torque.

The facelift model are now equipped with the newer Euro 6 compliance 1.4 turbo charged unit that produce150ps (same) horsepower & 250Nm (10Nm more) torque.

Both pre-facelift and facelift model are using 6 speed wet DSG transmission. The change in choice of engine is understand to be for better effciency and lower cost.

On 5/13/2016 at 2:34 AM, Carbon82 said:

The pre-facelift Sharan and Alhambra is using the Euro 5 compliance 1.4 twin-charged engine that produce 150ps horsepower & 240Nm torque.

The facelift model are now equipped with the newer Euro 6 compliance 1.4 turbo charged unit that produce150ps (same) horsepower & 250Nm (10Nm more) torque.

Both pre-facelift and facelift model are using 6 speed wet DSG transmission. The change in choice of engine is understand to be for better effciency and lower cost.

Any idea when these 2 cars will be sold here?

Heard Sharan will be 2nd half of the year?

Seat Alhambra is a badge-engineered VW Sharan with some minor comestic tweak to the lighting cluster, same as the arrangement for 1st generation Alhambra & Sharan (and the same platform and chasis was shared with 1st gen Ford Galaxy as well).

The only mechanical difference I noted (so far) is that FR-Line Alhambra do come with a sport suspension, which is not available for the Sharan.

The first batch of Seat should be reaching our shore / LTA soon, according to Vertex Euro (new AD). They will be officially starting business in July, at their Ubi showroom.

On 5/13/2016 at 2:38 AM, Spring said:

Any idea when these 2 cars will be sold here?

Heard Sharan will be 2nd half of the year?

Seat Alhambra 2.0 TDI (150ps version) available tentatively from July.

Launch date for f/l VW Sharan still unknown, but expected around end Q3 / early Q4, and most likely the newer 2.0 TSI