Enye Hypersonic May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 What you had mentioned above are around $200k .... Unless you have that kind of cash to spend, $200k for 10 years.... Today ST advertised for Mercedes CLA 180 coupe, CLA Shooting Brake and GLA all from $125k.. What's the annual dep on your biante? Those cars mentioned should be around 16k to 18k annually for the 2.5 litre version No longer 200+k at current coe price unless you referring to 3.5 litre versions ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 Little highway probably low 6s Compared to 2.4 litre NA big mpvs, probably about 20% off lah Don't compare to your wish lah ð Wah faint... i know crude oil price dropped much from peak... but also cannot like this lah. Was still keeping sharan in view, but if low 6s... think move on liao... My wish also doing about 11 only with our type of route... Btw, heard from someone who drives a merc say can get 20 km/l. I didn't quite believe lor. But she took photo to show leh... Am I missing something here? Initially tot conti all the turbo and/or diesel tech now achieve v good FC... then today learn sharan only 6s... why like that??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 Wah faint... i know crude oil price dropped much from peak... but also cannot like this lah. Was still keeping sharan in view, but if low 6s... think move on liao... My wish also doing about 11 only with our type of route... Btw, heard from someone who drives a merc say can get 20 km/l. I didn't quite believe lor. But she took photo to show leh... Am I missing something here? Initially tot conti all the turbo and/or diesel tech now achieve v good FC... then today learn sharan only 6s... why like that??? eh...where to find ~2 tonne full size MPVs with good FC? tell me if you ever find one 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kmttan 4th Gear May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 I'd checked out most if not all MPVs in the last 2 yr… Boxy ones are all very tall, plus: - Biante safe as AD, but 3rd row is bench and cannot fold flat when need luggage/boot space - Triplets wife doesn't like the look... - stepwagon worried about the tailgate got no bumper. any rear impact might require replacing the tailgate... - serena 2nd row middle seat not v comfortable; 3rd row seats not very easy to fold up, plus 2 batteries not sure will cost more by how much? Also, a bit dated it seems. Wife is saying maybe settle for Ody if really no perfect fit... I am driving a Serena. I agree that 2nd row middle seat is not that comfortable because the cushion is not thick, similar to many MPV's third row out there. Nevertheless, it can be kept and you can still join the other 2 seats together to sit 3 persons with smaller backside, just like Biante. Also agree that 3rd row seat folding is a 3-step process, unlike triplets and stepW's one step process. If you need to do several times a day, it may be a real problem. But if it is like once a week, i think is negligible. Not forgetting that Serena has a big boot space that folding the third row is not a necessary, unlike smaller MPV. The boot space can accommodate 2 30" luggage. The batteries are actually normal batteries. There are advantages. One for starting engine and one for electrical. So, you won't have to worry that some electronics (camera) dry up your battery. Also, you can also jumpstart using the other. I thought other vehicles with start-stop feature but with only one battery is more risky of car cannot start in the morning. Another plus point for Serena is that is it sold by T8, which is by Tan Chong and warranty service is by Tan Chong workshops. Peace of mind, similar to Biante. When I went to see triplets and stepW, we have the uneasy feeling with PI and no test drive. Yes, you can test drive Serena. I was choosing between Biante and Serena. Both have their strong and weak points. We score them equally and like them both. The deciding factor was that BIante is more expensive with lower OMV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 What's the annual dep on your biante? Those cars mentioned should be around 16k to 18k annually for the 2.5 litre version No longer 200+k at current coe price unless you referring to 3.5 litre versions Biante around $14k ... I checked with PI (opposite of SCDF HQ, Ubi) last month for Velfire and it cost almost $220k. Did not asked what the cc as after hearing the price , I told SE I come back later ... Maybe as what you said, 3.5liters engine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 Just realized i had a lot of typo. actually, the reason i said i want a split type is because when i read from threads it seems that the whole 3rd row seat has to be lifted up. but when i saw youtube odyssey videos, it showed that on the 3rd row you can choose to have 1 seat or 2 seat to be converted to storage space. i guess i have to go show room to find out. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OaVtQY4og1E find this to be a good article for comparison. Looking at this if the odyssey seat really can do, then i dont mind. prefer not to go PI, as 1/2 of the time i wont be in Singapore and try to reduce my headaches. lol For the wheelchairs, actually i dont mind it now, but maybe for the next 2-3 years i might need it. So just for preparing only. When you go showroom you'll see for yourself, but for Ody: 3rd row seat, the sitting part (where your backside sits) is a bench (cannot split). The leaning part (where you rest your back - note not backside) can be split 60/40. If you want lots of luggage space, the whole 3rd row can fold down flat and be hidden in the floorboard to give BIG luggage space. The whole floorboard is flat. But if you want to fold down only one part of the 3rd row, only either the '60' part or the '40' portion of the leaning part can be folded down onto the corresponding sitting part of the bench, with the other portion still for sitting. This way, it doesn't fold down flat, and in fact is raised up, so it's not easy to put anything there (on top of the folded down portion of the leaning part). Of course, there is a big 'well' behind the 3rd row seats that can store quite a lot of things already, but it's just not as flexible as the Estima lor... For wheelchairs, it's really quite difficult to say. A year ago, i would need to ferry one once in a while, but my grandma passed away in Jul. But my folks are approaching and just over 80, so realistically speaking, there is a chance might need one during the period of us having the next MPV… We just want to be prepared too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 eh...where to find ~2 tonne full size MPVs with good FC? tell me if you ever find one Ha ha ha… sure… I will surely share if ever come across one. Honestly i too never thought it possible, but recently was 'challenged' that merc (didn't say which model) could achieve around 20 km/l. I always had the impression that conti cars sure drink, but was taken by surprise that that merc's FC so good… Tot got revolutionary engine now v good mah... So far, only heard the new triplets can do about 12 km/l. Ody hybrid should be better. The conti diesel ones should be much better too but will pass on them... So really not many options. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nobudy Neutral Newbie May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 Have ride Serena for about a week during my holiday in Bali. Dont really like it as its not comfortable for me. However it is indeed a company size. But compare to that, i still prefer Innova, feel more comfortable. I am driving a Serena. I agree that 2nd row middle seat is not that comfortable because the cushion is not thick, similar to many MPV's third row out there. Nevertheless, it can be kept and you can still join the other 2 seats together to sit 3 persons with smaller backside, just like Biante. Also agree that 3rd row seat folding is a 3-step process, unlike triplets and stepW's one step process. If you need to do several times a day, it may be a real problem. But if it is like once a week, i think is negligible. Not forgetting that Serena has a big boot space that folding the third row is not a necessary, unlike smaller MPV. The boot space can accommodate 2 30" luggage. The batteries are actually normal batteries. There are advantages. One for starting engine and one for electrical. So, you won't have to worry that some electronics (camera) dry up your battery. Also, you can also jumpstart using the other. I thought other vehicles with start-stop feature but with only one battery is more risky of car cannot start in the morning. Another plus point for Serena is that is it sold by T8, which is by Tan Chong and warranty service is by Tan Chong workshops. Peace of mind, similar to Biante. When I went to see triplets and stepW, we have the uneasy feeling with PI and no test drive. Yes, you can test drive Serena. I was choosing between Biante and Serena. Both have their strong and weak points. We score them equally and like them both. The deciding factor was that BIante is more expensive with lower OMV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 I am driving a Serena. I agree that 2nd row middle seat is not that comfortable because the cushion is not thick, similar to many MPV's third row out there. Nevertheless, it can be kept and you can still join the other 2 seats together to sit 3 persons with smaller backside, just like Biante. Also agree that 3rd row seat folding is a 3-step process, unlike triplets and stepW's one step process. If you need to do several times a day, it may be a real problem. But if it is like once a week, i think is negligible. Not forgetting that Serena has a big boot space that folding the third row is not a necessary, unlike smaller MPV. The boot space can accommodate 2 30" luggage. The batteries are actually normal batteries. There are advantages. One for starting engine and one for electrical. So, you won't have to worry that some electronics (camera) dry up your battery. Also, you can also jumpstart using the other. I thought other vehicles with start-stop feature but with only one battery is more risky of car cannot start in the morning. Another plus point for Serena is that is it sold by T8, which is by Tan Chong and warranty service is by Tan Chong workshops. Peace of mind, similar to Biante. When I went to see triplets and stepW, we have the uneasy feeling with PI and no test drive. Yes, you can test drive Serena. I was choosing between Biante and Serena. Both have their strong and weak points. We score them equally and like them both. The deciding factor was that BIante is more expensive with lower OMV. Thanks for sharing. Yes, your points are good reminders. In fact, yest when typing, i could immediately remember the main issues for the triplets, biante and step wagon - but thought for a while before i could mention what's imperfect for serena. Admittedly they are not as big issues (to my situation) as the others. But one thing that bothered me was the airbags. When i checked out the 'vans', all of them had only 2 airbags. (i know biante now selling with 6 airbags, which is good) The PIs some say can get 6 airbags, but frankly i have little confidence/faith in them or what they say/promise. Then the best, the SE from TC (don't think there's any dedicated SE for T8 right?), when i asked if got more airbag options, told me that it's not necessary one. Told me the safest feature in a car is the seat belt, not airbag… I just told him 'oh, yah…'. If already spending so much on a new car, I would prob want to have more peace of mind with min 6 airbags lor. If even most new saloons have it, should be more so for MPVs lah... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 Biante around $14k ... I checked with PI (opposite of SCDF HQ, Ubi) last month for Velfire and it cost almost $220k. Did not asked what the cc as after hearing the price , I told SE I come back later ... Maybe as what you said, 3.5liters engine... Confirmed... Around Christmas time when COE was higher, Richburg offered Alphard 2.5X 8 seaters at $172,688... Have ride Serena for about a week during my holiday in Bali. Dont really like it as its not comfortable for me. However it is indeed a company size. But compare to that, i still prefer Innova, feel more comfortable. Wah this is exceptional lor... One BM SE told me when i asked about what happened to Innova (i saw at their showroom last year or was it 14), that they withdrew it from the showroom as nobody buying… somehow Singaporeans don't like it... And heard another bro commented cheekily that you see more JB Innovas on SGP roads than local Innovas. I think over the years i have only seen one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 Biante around $14k ... I checked with PI (opposite of SCDF HQ, Ubi) last month for Velfire and it cost almost $220k. Did not asked what the cc as after hearing the price , I told SE I come back later ... Maybe as what you said, 3.5liters engine... Beside the engine (3.5 V6 vs 2.5), the trim and grade play a part in determining the price. Entry level Alphard & Vellfire (with power sliding door) can be had for probably "just" $160K+/-. If you add sunroof, electric tailgate, ambient light package, 360 sensors,welcab (for with seat for handicap), etc. etc., the 2.5 version may cost close to $200K. BTW, PIs would normally just humptum any figure to you if you are just look see look see. They will only start sharing details and pricing for those potential buyer. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 Ha ha ha… sure… I will surely share if ever come across one. Honestly i too never thought it possible, but recently was 'challenged' that merc (didn't say which model) could achieve around 20 km/l. I always had the impression that conti cars sure drink, but was taken by surprise that that merc's FC so good… Tot got revolutionary engine now v good mah... So far, only heard the new triplets can do about 12 km/l. Ody hybrid should be better. The conti diesel ones should be much better too but will pass on them... So really not many options. To make you feel better, think about FC this way. Camry > Altis WRX > Impreza Estima > Wish Odyssey > Mobilio For Sharan, they are considered "performance" MPV, so confirm higher than say Estima and needless to say your Wish. For the Mercedes mentioned, Diesel or Petrol? A, B, C, E, S or V Class? 1.6L or 2.0L or 3.0L? Cannot compare this way. I also know of people that can do 15Km/L on a C180, but come on, C-Class is not a MPV, and the engine capacity is just 1.6L instead of the commonly believe 1.8L or 2.0L. Traffic conditions and driving pattern play a big part in the actual FC. Just to share mine (2.0 TSI sedan), max 22+Km/L (100% highway), ~10Km/L (100% city). So if I am a car salesman, I will confirm tell you I can get >22Km/L, where in actual my average is far away from the max (~13+Km/L). If FC is a deciding factors, think Diesel. The 1st batch of Alhambra brought in would be the 150ps diesel variant, which on paer can do 14.9Km/L. Give it a 30% discount and would still be 10.4Km/L, close enough to your Wish. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 Confirmed... Around Christmas time when COE was higher, Richburg offered Alphard 2.5X 8 seaters at $172,688... Wah this is exceptional lor... One BM SE told me when i asked about what happened to Innova (i saw at their showroom last year or was it 14), that they withdrew it from the showroom as nobody buying… somehow Singaporeans don't like it... And heard another bro commented cheekily that you see more JB Innovas on SGP roads than local Innovas. I think over the years i have only seen one Correct me if I am wrong, but I don't remember Innova is on sales here. You could have mixed up with the Avanza, which is the size of Mobilio, whereas the new Innova is even larger than Wish. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 Beside the engine (3.5 V6 vs 2.5), the trim and grade play a part in determining the price. Entry level Alphard & Vellfire (with power sliding door) can be had for probably "just" $160K+/-. If you add sunroof, electric tailgate, ambient light package, 360 sensors,welcab (for with seat for handicap), etc. etc., the 2.5 version may cost close to $200K. BTW, PIs would normally just humptum any figure to you if you are just look see look see. They will only start sharing details and pricing for those potential buyer. $200k one got 2 massage chair for the 2nd row seat. Only in 7-seater version .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 To make you feel better, think about FC this way. Camry > Altis WRX > Impreza Estima > Wish Odyssey > Mobilio For Sharan, they are considered "performance" MPV, so confirm higher than say Estima and needless to say your Wish. For the Mercedes mentioned, Diesel or Petrol? A, B, C, E, S or V Class? 1.6L or 2.0L or 3.0L? Cannot compare this way. I also know of people that can do 15Km/L on a C180, but come on, C-Class is not a MPV, and the engine capacity is just 1.6L instead of the commonly believe 1.8L or 2.0L. Traffic conditions and driving pattern play a big part in the actual FC. Just to share mine (2.0 TSI sedan), max 22+Km/L (100% highway), ~10Km/L (100% city). So if I am a car salesman, I will confirm tell you I can get >22Km/L, where in actual my average is far away from the max (~13+Km/L). If FC is a deciding factors, think Diesel. The 1st batch of Alhambra brought in would be the 150ps diesel variant, which on paer can do 14.9Km/L. Give it a 30% discount and would still be 10.4Km/L, close enough to your Wish. Yup - tks. It helps For the Merc, got 2 instances cited: 1) FC on E300d, at 4.5l per 100 km, 3 liter Diesel engine. Apparently it's for a 5000 km road trip in Europe. Can understand, should be 95% highway... 2) Did 10 km, at 6.4l/100km. This one in SGP, not highway, but didn't mention model, except it's merc. Can you tell which model from this photo here below? It's another forumer, not car salesman leh... On Alhambra, is it going to be diesel? Is there any obvious disadvantage about diesel car? Never really thought of it... Correct me if I am wrong, but I don't remember Innova is on sales here. You could have mixed up with the Avanza, which is the size of Mobilio, whereas the new Innova is even larger than Wish. Oh yah… I think you're right I mistake… it should be avanza and not innova that BM sold and withdrew… paiseh paiseh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 For the Merc, got 2 instances cited: 1) FC on E300d, at 4.5l per 100 km, 3 liter Diesel engine. Apparently it's for a 5000 km road trip in Europe. Can understand, should be 95% highway... 2) Did 10 km, at 6.4l/100km. This one in SGP, not highway, but didn't mention model, except it's merc. Can you tell which model from this photo here below? It's another forumer, not car salesman leh... 2d6l7at.jpg On Alhambra, is it going to be diesel? Is there any obvious disadvantage about diesel car? Never really thought of it... on point 2, 10km in 12 min in SGP (average speed 47km/h).....if not on highway, must be cruising in little traffic with very minimal stops at traffic lights you should be asking is the diesel alhambra affected by defeat device issue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 Yup - tks. It helps For the Merc, got 2 instances cited: 1) FC on E300d, at 4.5l per 100 km, 3 liter Diesel engine. Apparently it's for a 5000 km road trip in Europe. Can understand, should be 95% highway... 2) Did 10 km, at 6.4l/100km. This one in SGP, not highway, but didn't mention model, except it's merc. Can you tell which model from this photo here below? It's another forumer, not car salesman leh... 2d6l7at.jpg On Alhambra, is it going to be diesel? Is there any obvious disadvantage about diesel car? Never really thought of it... Oh yah… I think you're right I mistake… it should be avanza and not innova that BM sold and withdrew… paiseh paiseh... No.1, it is a diesel and with 95% on highway, well not apple-to-apple compaison. No.2, it look like the current A and B Class. The base 122ps A180 / B180 has an official FC of 18.5Km/L (factory quoted figure), so 15.6Km/L (6.4L/100Km) is still doable with light foot and traffic. For me the only concern with diesel car in Singapore is the uncertainty over the additional diesel tax (it might change anytime). Currently at $0.40/cc or $788/yr for the 2.0 diesel Alhambra / Sharan, if we are to compare with the 2.4 Odyssey, it translate to $334 more in road tax per year (inluding diesel tax), which can be easiliy recovered via the saving in fuel cost difference alone (diesel cost <$1/ltr). In fact for large MPV and SUV, diesel would be a better choice cos of the relatively higher torque at lower rpm (effortless move off or going up slope). Last, responding to bro Enye, Alhambra is using the new Euro 6 compliance EA288 series diesel engine, which is not affected / associated with the EA189 series of the dieselgate. Now, let talk about consultation charges... ... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lab4games 1st Gear May 11, 2016 Share May 11, 2016 on the topic of Alhambra, I have come across the price to be $105K without COE for new one to be imported. looks like a much better deal than Sharan. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...