7-Seater MPV

Victor68

Yup, I was impressed with Biante space the first time i saw it too.

But hor… 3rd row is a bench, cannot just fold one side up, one side down lor… Plus the 3rd row seats don't fold flat onto the floorboard.

I brought Biante for the seating comfort of the 3rd row persons. [thumbsup]

Tried several MPV and most 3rd row seat when an adult sit on it, their knee almost at chest level. Very uncomfortable for tall person. Short journey can still endure it but not for long journeys.... [sweatdrop]  

And also whether the back rows of seat have air-cons ????  (Most mid-size MPV do not have rear air-con). Biante have rear air-cons for 2nd & 3rd row seats.

I use MPV for weekends family outings (7 pax & don't have to drive 2 cars out)  [drivingcar] and so space for putting items is not a concern for me. ^_^     

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

Condo sell liao still can get back...

That's why I'm veering to towards the Esquire.

Sabian, the Gi with 7 airbags, digital rear A/C control, and twin moonroof is 128k at Regal Motors. Ex-stk SG, one bid guaranteed with no top-up. Can't get better than this.

While my Picnic left with 1 year to go, I had been hunting for another MPV.

The first thing when my wife and myself go to the show room to look for a MPV is the 3rd row seat. Not the front driver seat nor the 2nd row seat.

We will climb onto the 3rd row seat and see if it is comfortable for my size of 1.74 height and also the leg room space at the 3rd row. If the 3rd row satisfy our needs, then it down to the price of the MPV, loan term, loan interest, initial down payment and monthly payment... :meaw:  

While my Picnic left with 1 year to go, I had been hunting for another MPV.

The first thing when my wife and myself go to the show room to look for a MPV is the 3rd row seat. Not the front driver seat nor the 2nd row seat.

We will climb onto the 3rd row seat and see if it is comfortable for my size of 1.74 height and also the leg room space at the 3rd row. If the 3rd row satisfy our needs, then it down to the price of the MPV, loan term, loan interest, initial down payment and monthly payment... :meaw:  

the first rule of MCF is full cash

the second rule of MCF is full cash

[dizzy]  [knife]

I wanted 'full cash' but the Dealer said must loan at least 40% to enjoy discounts..... :pissed-off:

And KNN also cannot pay up loan until 18 months later or have to payback the discounts ...... [furious]

Come another 13 months, clear my loan in one go... :yuush:

I brought Biante for the seating comfort of the 3rd row persons. [thumbsup]

Tried several MPV and most 3rd row seat when an adult sit on it, their knee almost at chest level. Very uncomfortable for tall person. Short journey can still endure it but not for long journeys.... [sweatdrop]  

And also whether the back rows of seat have air-cons ????  (Most mid-size MPV do not have rear air-con). Biante have rear air-cons for 2nd & 3rd row seats.

I use MPV for weekends family outings (7 pax & don't have to drive 2 cars out)  [drivingcar] and so space for putting items is not a concern for me. ^_^     

I also did almost same thing:

then for some mid-sized conti MPVs, before i tried to go in, the SEs would say politely: sir, just to let you know, the 3rd rows are more for kids...

i would say politely: yes, I understand, but i'm just trying for size.

Then for 2 models (i think Zafira and Grand Scenic), didn't do warm up or stretch my body before climbing in… going in still ok. But sitting inside was like squatting inside. The worst part was coming out… Had to twist my body until sprained my back mildly… needed like half hour for the muscles to relax back :XD:

So bo bian if change need to get a full-sized one liao… btw i'm 1.8 m, and my girl in sec 1 is 1.69 m. Now ask kids to squeeze into 3rd row of Wish they grumble a lot liao...

And yes, rear air con vents are a must in any consideration too. That one another common complaint.

You confirm need passenger space more than luggage space, which makes it simpler. I think the triplets, serena and step wagon 3rd row also quite on par with Biante, as should alphard, vellfire and elgrand. Estima/Previa also quite good - slightly better than Ody which is bit more cramped.

[dizzy]  [knife]

Wah lau, I felt so out of place here, having to calculate amount of downpayment, quibble about road tax and fuel consumption, etc.... -_-  [bigcry]  But I know my limit at least and am contented with what I have. [nod]

I also did almost same thing:

then for some mid-sized conti MPVs, before i tried to go in, the SEs would say politely: sir, just to let you know, the 3rd rows are more for kids...

i would say politely: yes, I understand, but i'm just trying for size.

Then for 2 models (i think Zafira and Grand Scenic), didn't do warm up or stretch my body before climbing in… going in still ok. But sitting inside was like squatting inside. The worst part was coming out… Had to twist my body until sprained my back mildly… needed like half hour for the muscles to relax back :XD:

So bo bian if change need to get a full-sized one liao… btw i'm 1.8 m, and my girl in sec 1 is 1.69 m. Now ask kids to squeeze into 3rd row of Wish they grumble a lot liao...

And yes, rear air con vents are a must in any consideration too. That one another common complaint.

You confirm need passenger space more than luggage space, which makes it simpler. I think the triplets, serena and step wagon 3rd row also quite on par with Biante, as should alphard, vellfire and elgrand. Estima/Previa also quite good - slightly better than Ody which is bit more cramped.

Agreed that some mid size MPV is really tight in 3rd row space and/or access to the last row. Thus also full size MPV for me, if I decided to go for one.

Look like boxy MPV is for you too, if you don't like the 3rd row of Ody, the long in the tooth Estima, and higher priced Sharan (or Alhambra)?

Wah lau, I felt so out of place here, having to calculate amount of downpayment, quibble about road tax and fuel consumption, etc.... -_-  [bigcry]  But I know my limit at least and am contented with what I have. [nod]

same lah  [grouphug]  :D

Agreed that some mid size MPV is really tight in 3rd row space and/or access to the last row. Thus also full size MPV for me, if I decided to go for one.

Look like boxy MPV is for you too, if you don't like the 3rd row of Ody, the long in the tooth Estima, and higher priced Sharan (or Alhambra)?

for Sharan, there is more value in a 2nd hand one where the big depreciation is absorbed by the 1st owner

[smallcry]

Edited by Enye

for Sharan, there is more value in a 2nd hand one where the big depreciation is absorbed by the 1st owner

[smallcry]

When you selling?  [:p]

I'd checked out most if not all MPVs in the last 2 yr… 

Boxy ones are all very tall, plus:

- Biante safe as AD, but 3rd row is bench and cannot fold flat when need luggage/boot space

- Triplets wife doesn't like the look...

- stepwagon worried about the tailgate got no bumper. any rear impact might require replacing the tailgate...

- serena 2nd row middle seat not v comfortable; 3rd row seats not very easy to fold up, plus 2 batteries not sure will cost more by how much? Also, a bit dated it seems.

Wife is saying maybe settle for Ody if really no perfect fit...

Toyota Velfire versus Alphard versus Elgrand

Just wondered if anybody has any opinion which vehicle would be most value for money.

1. Toyota seems to have reputation for reliability.

2. Elgrand has 360 degrees view camera. I have no experience and wondered if anybody found it useful.

3. Interior, alphard beats both Velfire and Elgrand hands down.

4. The front grill of Alphard a bit too showy. But to custom kit to another designed according to AD cost about $6000 plus. Hence, not worth it.

5. Alphard got lost of stuff inside the vehicle but I am sure 70 to 80% of the gadgets will not be used or will not be changed once set. Hence, paying a premium for unnecessary items.

6. Both give 5 years warranty. However, it is tricky because the later years of the warranty only covers the power train.

Your experience on any issues or problems would be very much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Just wondered if anybody has any opinion which vehicle would be most value for money.

2. Elgrand has 360 degrees view camera. I have no experience and wondered if anybody found it useful.

4. The front grill of Alphard a bit too showy. But to custom kit to another designed according to AD cost about $6000 plus. Hence, not worth it.

5. Alphard got lost of stuff inside the vehicle but I am sure 70 to 80% of the gadgets will not be used or will not be changed once set. Hence, paying a premium for unnecessary items.

6. Both give 5 years warranty. However, it is tricky because the later years of the warranty only covers the power train.

Your experience on any issues or problems would be very much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Will you ever need/want to have part seat and part luggage space at 3rd row?

Elgrand can fold flat onto floorboard, and is 60/40 split.

Vellfire and Aphard are 50/50 split and the seats are folded and raised up sideways to be hung on the sides, i think.

What you had mentioned above are around $200k ....

Unless you have that kind of cash to spend, $200k for 10 years.... -_-

Today ST advertised for Mercedes CLA 180 coupe, CLA Shooting Brake and GLA all from $125k..  [sly]

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

Just realized i had a lot of typo. [bigcry]

actually, the reason i said i want a split type is because when i read from threads it seems that the whole 3rd row seat has to be lifted up.

but when i saw youtube odyssey videos, it showed that on the 3rd row you can choose to have 1 seat or 2 seat to be converted to storage space. i guess i have to go show room to find out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OaVtQY4og1E

find this to be a good article for comparison.

Looking at this if the odyssey seat really can do, then i dont mind.

prefer not to go PI, as 1/2 of the time i wont be in Singapore and try to reduce my headaches. lol

For the wheelchairs, actually i dont mind it now, but maybe for the next 2-3 years i might need it.

So just for preparing only.

Your criteria is very similar to mine… 

Honestly no ideal option here/now.

1) Most elderly friendly i believe is Honda Ody. The floor of the rest are all higher, most of which got a 'stepper' to help passengers to get into the car.

2) 2rd row seats if want to lift up sideways, will mean it is 50/50 split. It also means cannot seat 2 persons at 3rd row, when one side is lifted/folded up for luggage. The only one that has 60/40 split is Estima/Previa - but they are >10 old… Ody, Biante are both benches. If want to sit, whole bench must be up. If want luggage space, whole bench must be folded (not lifted).

If you're willing to consider bigger one, then Elgrand can fold 40/60. Alphard/Vellfire is still 50/50.

3) All models have different variants available. Can choose either 2-seater (captain seats) or 3-seater bench on 2nd row. Biante doesn't have captain seat option. VW Sharan also doesn't. All the mid-sized MPVs all don't offer captain seats too.

4) If need boot space to fit a wheelchair, then all the mid-sized MPVs can drop them. Only the boxy MPVs or full-sized MPVs got chance.

5) Same as #5.

Your best fit based on these (like i said, very similar to my criteria), is likely to be Estima, which is unfortunately quite a dated model by now.

And this is the reason I'm now  :a-m1524:

Wah lao… jin aer boh???

this is quite jialat lor...

some more our travel pattern is little highway… doubt this will be very much better if we really drive it… 

that'll be about $30k in 10 yr...

Your criteria is very similar to mineâ¦

Honestly no ideal option here/now.

1) Most elderly friendly i believe is Honda Ody. The floor of the rest are all higher, most of which got a 'stepper' to help passengers to get into the car.

2) 2rd row seats if want to lift up sideways, will mean it is 50/50 split. It also means cannot seat 2 persons at 3rd row, when one side is lifted/folded up for luggage. The only one that has 60/40 split is Estima/Previa - but they are >10 old⦠Ody, Biante are both benches. If want to sit, whole bench must be up. If want luggage space, whole bench must be folded (not lifted).

If you're willing to consider bigger one, then Elgrand can fold 40/60. Alphard/Vellfire is still 50/50.

3) All models have different variants available. Can choose either 2-seater (captain seats) or 3-seater bench on 2nd row. Biante doesn't have captain seat option. VW Sharan also doesn't. All the mid-sized MPVs all don't offer captain seats too.

4) If need boot space to fit a wheelchair, then all the mid-sized MPVs can drop them. Only the boxy MPVs or full-sized MPVs got chance.

5) Same as #5.

Your best fit based on these (like i said, very similar to my criteria), is likely to be Estima, which is unfortunately quite a dated model by now.

And this is the reason I'm now :a-m1524:

Wah lao⦠jin aer boh???

this is quite jialat lor...

some more our travel pattern is little highway⦠doubt this will be very much better if we really drive itâ¦

that'll be about $30k in 10 yr...

Little highway probably low 6s

Compared to 2.4 litre NA big mpvs, probably about 20% off lah

Don't compare to your wish lah

Hi, I have not been to this site for a long while. I am now driving a Honda Stream but it has only 2 years left. it is time to look around. Hope to hear some advice here before I decide. I need to choose a brand before I can proceed, so I choose Honda since I am driving one now.

I have seen Toyota Sienta & Wish, Honda Mobilio & Odyssey, Renault Grand Scenic, Mazda 5 & Biante. Prices ranges from $110K to $152K.

Quite obviously, the more you pay the better the quality. What would you think is the closest to my current Stream? The Renault is diesel and it is reputed to have higher depreciation value and high cost for maintenance. Finishes is great for a Euro 6 engine which is very responsive. Among them, the Odyssey and Mazda Biante are impressive in look.

Please share your thought and experiences if any.

Thank you.

Bro, think your description is too vague for anyone to recomend.. Are you looking for space? performance? style? Fuel economy? Wish should be the closest to Stream in terms of price, size and fuel economy. Odessey/ Estima/Biante is a full size MPV, which is different catagory from Stream.

Im looking for an MPV as well, if you dont mind the look of Vellfire/ PI, you might want to take a look at Toyota Voxy/ Toyota Noah or Toyota Esquire. Try to search from SGcarmart for more info.