Carbon82 Moderator May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 2:20 AM, Atrecord said: I test drove the Sharan last year, and must say that it was a good drive. Despite being about 5 yr old, its specs/features were quite good. At that time already read that the new model was coming out in Europe (although the SE said will take 1-2 yr to reach here). Wonder whether this is the old or new model - any idea? The new model is just a minor facelift with addition of LED tail light, new steering design and new generation HU. The major change is with the engine. 3rd generation of EA888 2.0 TSI now generate 220ps horspower (10% more than the previous 200ps), and 350Nm torque (25% more than previous 280Nm). All these bring along a better FC figure of 13.7Km/L vs 11.8Km/L. Expected to arrive in showroom by late Q3 / early Q4 of this year. On 5/10/2016 at 2:24 AM, Enye said: 6 to 7 km/l My sis avg ~9Km/L (mixed driving conditions), not too bad for a performance MPV. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 (edited) On 5/9/2016 at 2:11 PM, nobudy said: dear all i m also looking for a 7 seaters MPV Have shortlisted a few Toyota - Previa 7 or 8 seater Honda - Odyssey 7 or 8 seater Mazda 5 Mazda 8 (not sure about the price, can't find it online.) Mazda Biante Nissan Elgrand Considering but seems its small for the 3rd row seat. Hyundai Santa FE Kia Sorento I see a lot of PI available in Singapore, as a foreigner what is my best choice for piece of mind? I m not sure about the authorized dealer here, but i would assume they are quite standard. Also would it better to pay by cash once off? Thanks. Do consider your 3rd row seat, for adults or just started family with small kids. If ferrying adults as a family outing, get the Mazda Biante. Its a 2L cc car and with central a arise to move from front seat to the rear 3rd row seat. Can convert the centre row of seat to 3-seater making it to ferry 8 adults. If just starting a family, then Mazda 5 ... New facelift Biante comes with 6 air-bags. Just that don't know when coming to SG ... Edited May 10, 2016 by Picnic06-Biante15 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 2:35 AM, Carbon82 said: The new model is just a minor facelift with addition of LED tail light, new steering design and new generation HU. The major change is with the engine. 3rd generation of EA888 2.0 TSI now generate 220ps horspower (10% more than the previous 200ps), and 350Nm torque (25% more than previous 280Nm). All these bring along a better FC figure of 13.7Km/L vs 11.8Km/L. Expected to arrive in showroom by late Q3 / early Q4 of this year. My sis avg ~9Km/L (mixed driving conditions), not too bad for a performance MPV. 160+ K in 4.5 years likely she is on the highway more than city driving that's why the FC so good if you look at the instantaneous FC on regular acceleration off the traffic lights, it is always showing ~2km/l until the throttle pedal is eased off for cruising Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buadongdong Twincharged May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/5/2016 at 4:18 AM, Carbon82 said: Look like this is the real deal, as a few Japanese car mag has been featuring this "new" model in the latest issues... Looks like the enlarged version of the Sienta!! The more bulky Sienta.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 1:58 AM, Carbon82 said: Because of the problematic prince engine, jerky ETG6 transimission or other reliability issues? I didn't really ask, all I heard from them were *Cursing & Swearing* about never to buy another Citron again ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 (edited) On 5/10/2016 at 1:18 AM, Little_prince said: spec wise the C4GP definitely looks good and relatively value for money but to be honest i got bad expereicen with french cars the reliability i'm not really confident. you go ask around and see sgcarmart review for citreon? Still a Citreon (Frenchie)...unfortunately Taboo words in automotive language: DSG mated to 1.4L engine or anything that sounds french or like an alfa... Cars are too expensive in SG for most buyer to have a wide tolerance for defects, however minor. If I am in Australia, I will buy a Jag/ Alfa/ Citreon and a 1.4L+DSG VW. Can't be so sway that all 4 rides are down the same day, right?... On 5/10/2016 at 2:24 AM, Enye said: 6 to 7 km/l Then you still recommend to me??? I don't have 700k to burn leh... Edited May 10, 2016 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nobudy Neutral Newbie May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/9/2016 at 11:41 PM, Tinytok said: All japs, no kimchi? kimchi have at the bottom of the list, but from my search online, they seems to be small. the kia and hyundai. kia i like carnival, but seems not available at Singapore AD. Hyundai i like iMax, the van type but its too big to drive. thanks. On 5/10/2016 at 12:32 AM, Spring said: Since peace of mind is a criteria, going the authorised dealer route Shld be better for u. If u pay all cash, they will normally jack up the price by few thousands so do your sums as may be better to take up the min tenor, min amount to qualify for the better price n then pay off shortly after but u will be subjected to early termination penalties but likely still better off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nobudy Neutral Newbie May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 If Mazda 5 is smaller than i guess its out of my option. Estimate seems like only available from PI. When i checked the website its only stated Previa, and the even though the new one is coming out in Japan, doesnt feel its worth the wait. i m current driving an Kijang Innova at overseas, its quite large but still ok. in Singapore i m driving a Ssangyong. its really huge, and giving me a lot of headache to find parking at the roadside. whether its a van type or not i m ok. but trying to find the one that meet the below criteria. 1. elderly friendly (not too high from the ground.) 2. third row seat able to lift up sideways and prefer not to have the bench type. reason for this is that i feel the bench type is eating a lot of space and doesnt have the flexibility to have 1/2 seat only at the third row, correct me if i m wrong. 3. 2nd row must be able to fit 3 people. (not captain seats) 4. Car trunk able to fit wheel chair. 5. car that can fit a reasonable luggage and fit 6 people from overseas. On 5/10/2016 at 1:05 AM, Carbon82 said: My usual advice, look at your need first. Of those in your list, Elgrand is a large size MPV that is more for frquent ferrying of VIP (a tad too large for daily usage imo). Mazda 5 is a size smaller than Odyssey & Estima (Mazda 8 no longer in sales). Biante is a good balance between space, usability and price (but provided you can accept the slightly vanish outlook and feel - the sliding rear seats sort of remind me of those panel van type people carrier in the 80s). 7 Seater SUV is a good alternative if you prefer higher ride height (for better visibility), but do take into consideration of old folk or personnel with some walking disability, if any (as they might have difficulty moving in/out of the vehicle). As for AD or PI, as oong as you go for those more established PI (not the cheapest for sure), you can have the same service and assurance level as most AD. I do have a ride from a PI previously, and throughout my 4 years of ownership, never have to worries about nornmal servicing, minor repair and even manufacturer recall. All well taken care of. i would want to have the 3rd row seat for adult as well. As my current Kijang Innova can fit audlt quite ok at the third row. On 5/10/2016 at 2:36 AM, Picnic06-Biante15 said: Do consider your 3rd row seat, for adults or just started family with small kids. If ferrying adults as a family outing, get the Mazda Biante. Its a 2L cc car and with central a arise to move from front seat to the rear 3rd row seat. Can convert the centre row of seat to 3-seater making it to ferry 8 adults. If just starting a family, then Mazda 5 ... New facelift Biante comes with 6 air-bags. Just that don't know when coming to SG ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 4:24 AM, nobudy said: i would want to have the 3rd row seat for adult as well. As my current Kijang Innova can fit audlt quite ok at the third row. Toyota Previa/Estima or Honda Odyssey both 2.4l For 2000cc car with spacious for all adults, go for Mazda Biante. At height of 1.835mm. 90% of car parks in SG with height limit of 1.9m and above can enter. (I think current cost for Biante is $126,888/- with COE. Got mine at $137,888/- during Nov 2015 at high COE) To carry maximum adults, below 2000cc the strain on the engine is there. Some might just says 'under-power'. If you have the cash for higher cc cars, then go for Honda Odyssey. Toyota Previa / Esitma already in the market for more then 10 years. But one thing to consider is that either you buy the 7 or the 8 seats version. I had been driving my Biante for the past 5 months and very happy with it. Whole family enjoy it cos of the space which is 25%bigger then my previous ride, Toyota Picnic. I can convert my Biante to either 7 or 8 seater with a touch of a handle on both side. Been to MY twice with full 8 adults and can speed up to 130km/h with breeze. Some MPV still can consider but if you take an adult height (myself 1.74 and my soon 1.76) into consideration also, then a high interior roof MPV will be good. Some of MPV I know within the range of 2000cc are Biante, Kia Carnival, Nissan Serena or Honda Stepwagon/Sprada. The rest of MPV with high interior roof are those above 2000cc are Nissan Elgrand, Toyota Previa, Alphard, Voxy & Velfire and Honda Odyssey. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinytok 1st Gear May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 (edited) On 5/10/2016 at 4:09 AM, nobudy said: kimchi have at the bottom of the list, but from my search online, they seems to be small. the kia and hyundai. kia i like carnival, but seems not available at Singapore AD. Hyundai i like iMax, the van type but its too big to drive. thanks. Chevrolet orlando out? Edited May 10, 2016 by Tinytok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nobudy Neutral Newbie May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 (edited) lol... i have 2 more posts left. very strict forum. more focus on Japan car. I always have good experience with Japan car, even though i know there are also good choices like from US and Europe. But since its for family use, prefer to go for safe side. On 5/10/2016 at 5:38 AM, Tinytok said: Chevrolet orlando out? Actually i dont know much about the car. 2000cc is representing the space or the power of the car? i was looking at the picnic, but release its no longer offer in Singapore. seems discontinued. These are PI only when i search at singapore dealer. Kia Carnival, Nissan Serena, Honda Stepwagon/Sprada On 5/10/2016 at 5:38 AM, Picnic06-Biante15 said: Toyota Previa/Estima or Honda Odyssey both 2.4l For 2000cc car with spacious for all adults, go for Mazda Biante. At height of 1.835mm. 90% of car parks in SG with height limit of 1.9m and above can enter. (I think current cost for Biante is $126,888/- with COE. Got mine at $137,888/- during Nov 2015 at high COE) To carry maximum adults, below 2000cc the strain on the engine is there. Some might just says 'under-power'. If you have the cash for higher cc cars, then go for Honda Odyssey. Toyota Previa / Esitma already in the market for more then 10 years. But one thing to consider is that either you buy the 7 or the 8 seats version. I had been driving my Biante for the past 5 months and very happy with it. Whole family enjoy it cos of the space which is 25%bigger then my previous ride, Toyota Picnic. I can convert my Biante to either 7 or 8 seater with a touch of a handle on both side. Been to MY twice with full 8 adults and can speed up to 130km/h with breeze. Some MPV still can consider but if you take an adult height (myself 1.74 and my soon 1.76) into consideration also, then a high interior roof MPV will be good. Some of MPV I know within the range of 2000cc are Biante, Kia Carnival, Nissan Serena or Honda Stepwagon/Sprada. The rest of MPV with high interior roof are those above 2000cc are Nissan Elgrand, Toyota Previa, Alphard, Voxy & Velfire and Honda Odyssey. Edited May 10, 2016 by nobudy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 (edited) On 5/10/2016 at 4:24 AM, nobudy said: If Mazda 5 is smaller than i guess its out of my option. Estimate seems like only available from PI. When i checked the website its only stated Previa, and the even though the new one is coming out in Japan, doesnt feel its worth the wait. i m current driving an Kijang Innova at overseas, its quite large but still ok. in Singapore i m driving a Ssangyong. its really huge, and giving me a lot of headache to find parking at the roadside. whether its a van type or not i m ok. but trying to find the one that meet the below criteria. 1. elderly friendly (not too high from the ground.) 2. third row seat able to lift up sideways and prefer not to have the bench type. reason for this is that i feel the bench type is eating a lot of space and doesnt have the flexibility to have 1/2 seat only at the third row, correct me if i m wrong. 3. 2nd row must be able to fit 3 people. (not captain seats) 4. Car trunk able to fit wheel chair. 5. car that can fit a reasonable luggage and fit 6 people from overseas. i would want to have the 3rd row seat for adult as well. As my current Kijang Innova can fit audlt quite ok at the third row. Estima is the Japanese Domestic Model (JDM), while Previa is the export version. There are some slight differences between the 2 though. The "new" version, from what I have gathered, will be just another facelift. With that, brand new model will unlikely to be introduced before 2019. Since you are already used to Innova & Stavic type of seating arrangement, I think Biante might be a good alternative for you. As what shared by Picnic06-Biante15, it has the capacity for up to 8 as well as flexibility to convert seating space to cargo space, and not too large for daily driving. In case you need more option, in the same category (as Biante), there are: - Toyota Triplet (Esquire, Noah, Voxy) - Nissan Serena - Honda Stepwagon But the above model are only available through PI. Go check out sgcarmart.com, and you will see which PI carries which model / grade. BTW, cc commonly refer to the engine capacity. Here in Singapore, road tax is calculated by engine capacity, thus the higher engine capacity, the more road tax you are going to pay. Happy hunting (for your ideal MPV). Edited May 10, 2016 by Carbon82 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 3:56 AM, Sabian said: Still a Citreon (Frenchie)...unfortunately Taboo words in automotive language: DSG mated to 1.4L engine or anything that sounds french or like an alfa... Cars are too expensive in SG for most buyer to have a wide tolerance for defects, however minor. If I am in Australia, I will buy a Jag/ Alfa/ Citreon and a 1.4L+DSG VW. Can't be so sway that all 4 rides are down the same day, right?... Then you still recommend to me??? I don't have 700k to burn leh... but you burnt 1.5m into a condo how? presage was 8km/l ...not much diff lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 6:36 AM, Enye said: but you burnt 1.5m into a condo how? presage was 8km/l ...not much diff lah Condo sell liao still can get back... That's why I'm veering to towards the Esquire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
samfreak 3rd Gear May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 4:24 AM, nobudy said: whether its a van type or not i m ok. but trying to find the one that meet the below criteria. 1. elderly friendly (not too high from the ground.) 2. third row seat able to lift up sideways and prefer not to have the bench type. reason for this is that i feel the bench type is eating a lot of space and doesnt have the flexibility to have 1/2 seat only at the third row, correct me if i m wrong. 3. 2nd row must be able to fit 3 people. (not captain seats) 4. Car trunk able to fit wheel chair. 5. car that can fit a reasonable luggage and fit 6 people from overseas. i would want to have the 3rd row seat for adult as well. As my current Kijang Innova can fit audlt quite ok at the third row. Check out the 8-seater Toyota triplets: Noah/Voxy/Esquire. Ticks every box you have there. Maybe join the Toyota Triplet FB group to find out more? We have a gathering coming up so you can see all three models together. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 4:24 AM, nobudy said: If Mazda 5 is smaller than i guess its out of my option. Estimate seems like only available from PI. When i checked the website its only stated Previa, and the even though the new one is coming out in Japan, doesnt feel its worth the wait. i m current driving an Kijang Innova at overseas, its quite large but still ok. in Singapore i m driving a Ssangyong. its really huge, and giving me a lot of headache to find parking at the roadside. whether its a van type or not i m ok. but trying to find the one that meet the below criteria. 1. elderly friendly (not too high from the ground.) 2. third row seat able to lift up sideways and prefer not to have the bench type. reason for this is that i feel the bench type is eating a lot of space and doesnt have the flexibility to have 1/2 seat only at the third row, correct me if i m wrong. 3. 2nd row must be able to fit 3 people. (not captain seats) 4. Car trunk able to fit wheel chair. 5. car that can fit a reasonable luggage and fit 6 people from overseas. Your criteria is very similar to mine… Honestly no ideal option here/now. 1) Most elderly friendly i believe is Honda Ody. The floor of the rest are all higher, most of which got a 'stepper' to help passengers to get into the car. 2) 2rd row seats if want to lift up sideways, will mean it is 50/50 split. It also means cannot seat 2 persons at 3rd row, when one side is lifted/folded up for luggage. The only one that has 60/40 split is Estima/Previa - but they are >10 old… Ody, Biante are both benches. If want to sit, whole bench must be up. If want luggage space, whole bench must be folded (not lifted). If you're willing to consider bigger one, then Elgrand can fold 40/60. Alphard/Vellfire is still 50/50. 3) All models have different variants available. Can choose either 2-seater (captain seats) or 3-seater bench on 2nd row. Biante doesn't have captain seat option. VW Sharan also doesn't. All the mid-sized MPVs all don't offer captain seats too. 4) If need boot space to fit a wheelchair, then all the mid-sized MPVs can drop them. Only the boxy MPVs or full-sized MPVs got chance. 5) Same as #5. Your best fit based on these (like i said, very similar to my criteria), is likely to be Estima, which is unfortunately quite a dated model by now. And this is the reason I'm now On 5/10/2016 at 2:24 AM, Enye said: 6 to 7 km/l Wah lao… jin aer boh??? this is quite jialat lor... some more our travel pattern is little highway… doubt this will be very much better if we really drive it… that'll be about $30k in 10 yr... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 7:00 AM, Atrecord said: Your criteria is very similar to mine… Honestly no ideal option here/now. 1) Most elderly friendly i believe is Honda Ody. The floor of the rest are all higher, most of which got a 'stepper' to help passengers to get into the car. 2) 2rd row seats if want to lift up sideways, will mean it is 50/50 split. It also means cannot seat 2 persons at 3rd row, when one side is lifted/folded up for luggage. The only one that has 60/40 split is Estima/Previa - but they are >10 old… Ody, Biante are both benches. If want to sit, whole bench must be up. If want luggage space, whole bench must be folded (not lifted). If you're willing to consider bigger one, then Elgrand can fold 40/60. Alphard/Vellfire is still 50/50. 3) All models have different variants available. Can choose either 2-seater (captain seats) or 3-seater bench on 2nd row. Biante doesn't have captain seat option. VW Sharan also doesn't. All the mid-sized MPVs all don't offer captain seats too. 4) If need boot space to fit a wheelchair, then all the mid-sized MPVs can drop them. Only the boxy MPVs or full-sized MPVs got chance. 5) Same as #5. Your best fit based on these (like i said, very similar to my criteria), is likely to be Estima, which is unfortunately quite a dated model by now. And this is the reason I'm now Biante if fold up the 3rd row lower seat and push back nearer to the rear door, push the second row back nearer to 3rd row seat, you can put 2 wheel chairs side-by-side facing the second row seat and 2 or 3 adults can seat at the 2nd row seat and talk to the wheel chair bound persons... Fold the 3rd row lower seat up, push the 3rd row nearer to the 2nd row seat, you can put a 5 kg washing machine (standing position) inside.... This is the kind of space I like about Biante ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 On 5/10/2016 at 7:10 AM, Picnic06-Biante15 said: Biante if fold up the 3rd row lower seat and push back nearer to the rear door, push the second row back nearer to 3rd row seat, you can put 2 wheel chairs side-by-side facing the second row seat and 2 or 3 adults can seat at the 2nd row seat and talk to the wheel chair bound persons... Fold the 3rd row lower seat up, push the 3rd row nearer to the 2nd row seat, you can put a 5 kg washing machine (standing position) inside.... This is the kind of space I like about Biante ... Yup, I was impressed with Biante space the first time i saw it too. But hor… 3rd row is a bench, cannot just fold one side up, one side down lor… Plus the 3rd row seats don't fold flat onto the floorboard. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...