myusername Neutral Newbie July 11, 2017 Share July 11, 2017 Check out Volkswagen caddy mpc maxi....shld fit all of yr requirement thanx. never knew about this car before...will bring him to check it out. was recommended mobilio but kah motors not selling that anymore? My dad will be carrying the full load(7 pax plus cargo equivalent to 2 luggage about 3 to 4 times a week) so yeah thats y he is looking for one now. is the price quoted in sgcarmart reflective of the actual selling price? Mazda biante looks ok though its a bit out of range. and anyone knows about buying the cargo van but with a an 'S' plate? dont see that a lot on the road so i guess its not worth it but would like to know the process/details so that he can consider. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 11, 2017 Share July 11, 2017 Actually 2 big luggage is how big? 2 of my largest luggage can fit in the wish boot with all seats up but the third row must sit very straight up. Very uncomfortable for third row passengers. But my big luggage bags is not as big as other people's. 4 adults include driver? You're absolutely right. We did that in the Wish for a trip to Genting many years ago. Wife who sat on 3rd row, si bey siong lah... The other seat there was still ok, as son was in child seat, so wasn't as uncomfortable as her. In any case, we only managed to fit in one 28" luggage behind the 'straightened' 3rd row. We had i think 2 more 20" luggages somehow squeezed in somewhere. If TS is referring to 2 x 28" luggages that are expended, then it's seriously not easy, esp. if budget is ~$130k. Boxy MPVs got a fighting chance. Estima and Ody think can, but exceeded budget... At < 120k, Toyota wish and Mazda 5 would be safe choices as both from PI. Only negative is very dated design. Kia Carens also fit the bill, just a little bit smaller. If PI can be accepted, Honda Freed would be my number 1 choice. Last row has proper sitting position with legs bent at 90 degrees, not squatting. But he said still need to put luggage(s) when all seats are up leh... Wish, Mazda 5, Carens and I'm sure Freed/Sienta, all cannot put in any luggage at all without compromising passenger space... Check out Volkswagen caddy mpc maxi....shld fit all of yr requirement wah, yes, this one got chance. But this is one MPV that I didn't check out (when I was looking at MPVs up to 1 yr ago) - so was off my radar. but this one is vw hor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 11, 2017 Share July 11, 2017 thanx. never knew about this car before...will bring him to check it out. was recommended mobilio but kah motors not selling that anymore? My dad will be carrying the full load(7 pax plus cargo equivalent to 2 luggage about 3 to 4 times a week) so yeah thats y he is looking for one now. is the price quoted in sgcarmart reflective of the actual selling price? Mazda biante looks ok though its a bit out of range. and anyone knows about buying the cargo van but with a an 'S' plate? dont see that a lot on the road so i guess its not worth it but would like to know the process/details so that he can consider. Wah, your dad biz do big need to ferry such heavy load so often... Pleaseeeeeeeeee, Mobilio i think failed most of the criteria... Think Mazda Biante now got chance, as COE dropped. I suggest you check out the other boxy MPVs too for comparison. Many people buy the cargo vans and put in a sofa behind. I don't know details and facts, but I doubt it is legal and safe to ferry the people at the back, else everybody will do that instead of paying more to buy the proper MPVs. For a start, there's no safety belt behind. You brake hard, they fly forward... As for the 'S' plate part, i think there are some models that come in both commercial and passenger vehicle variant. The Hyundai Starex that I mentioned, is one such vehicle, as is the Viano (last time Vito). The caddy is another. The engines and many other things are different between these variants, as are the prices. About 12 yr ago, I went C&C to test the Vito for work, i think the prices then was $60k for the van variant, and $130k for the MPV variant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear July 11, 2017 Share July 11, 2017 (edited) Hmm, i was thinking if renewal of my Stream is worth a not. My car current condition is still alright. When i took over my stream, the leather seat has been furnished. Engine and gearbox still look ok to me. My COE expiry 2020. If i renew it, i will lose 13k parf value. Odyseey look very attractive to me, but 2.4L and FC not friendly ride... Edited July 11, 2017 by Dscheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
myusername Neutral Newbie July 11, 2017 Share July 11, 2017 Wah, your dad biz do big need to ferry such heavy load so often... Pleaseeeeeeeeee, Mobilio i think failed most of the criteria... Think Mazda Biante now got chance, as COE dropped. I suggest you check out the other boxy MPVs too for comparison. Many people buy the cargo vans and put in a sofa behind. I don't know details and facts, but I doubt it is legal and safe to ferry the people at the back, else everybody will do that instead of paying more to buy the proper MPVs. For a start, there's no safety belt behind. You brake hard, they fly forward... As for the 'S' plate part, i think there are some models that come in both commercial and passenger vehicle variant. The Hyundai Starex that I mentioned, is one such vehicle, as is the Viano (last time Vito). The caddy is another. The engines and many other things are different between these variants, as are the prices. About 12 yr ago, I went C&C to test the Vito for work, i think the prices then was $60k for the van variant, and $130k for the MPV variant. Heard about VW reliability issues...will hihglight to him n let him decide..haha his business not big la...small time business but he needs to stock up his goods in the car most of the time hence the need for boot space... will most probably suggest the VW and mazda to him and suggest go down to a C&C n hyundai to ask about the van thingy..thanx guys for the advice/suggestions..if there are anymore suggestions do post them here...will most probably go car hunting over the weekend so there is still time for anymore recommendations.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 11, 2017 Share July 11, 2017 Heard about VW reliability issues...will hihglight to him n let him decide..haha Mazda Biante now at $124,888/- ... fast hand fast leg go and grab it before COE went up again.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Privacy 5th Gear July 11, 2017 Share July 11, 2017 Mazda Biante now at $124,888/- ... fast hand fast leg go and grab it before COE went up again.. why u think coe will go up again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 11, 2017 Share July 11, 2017 why u think coe will go up again? It will come down when economy forecast below 1% Currently, estimated forecast for 2017 is 2.1% 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jyjy July 12, 2017 Share July 12, 2017 I'm looking for Alphard 3.5 / high spec / Mickey Mouse ear / white exterior / skin Color interior.. I'm looking for Alphard 3.5 / high spec / Mickey Mouse ear / white exterior / skin Color interior.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 12, 2017 Share July 12, 2017 Heard about VW reliability issues...will hihglight to him n let him decide..haha his business not big la...small time business but he needs to stock up his goods in the car most of the time hence the need for boot space... will most probably suggest the VW and mazda to him and suggest go down to a C&C n hyundai to ask about the van thingy..thanx guys for the advice/suggestions..if there are anymore suggestions do post them here...will most probably go car hunting over the weekend so there is still time for anymore recommendations.. If your father really needs the space (7 seats and 2 large luggages) very often, then the biggest i can think of is Starex. i took a photo of the boot/luggage space with all 3 rows of seats up: http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2700646-7-seater-mpv/?p=5967067 Even alphard category doesn't have that large luggage space, as they give more space to the passenger for comfort. But the Starex is ridiculously priced, so i haven't seen any SG registered Starex MPV yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 12, 2017 Share July 12, 2017 If your father really needs the space (7 seats and 2 large luggages) very often, then the biggest i can think of is Starex. i took a photo of the boot/luggage space with all 3 rows of seats up: http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2700646-7-seater-mpv/?p=5967067 Even alphard category doesn't have that large luggage space, as they give more space to the passenger for comfort. But the Starex is ridiculously priced, so i haven't seen any SG registered Starex MPV yet. I always thought starex got 4 rows of seats. The one sold in Sg only 3 rows? I see a Malaysian registered starex regularly near my place. Theirs got 4 rows. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 12, 2017 Share July 12, 2017 I always thought starex got 4 rows of seats. The one sold in Sg only 3 rows? I see a Malaysian registered starex regularly near my place. Theirs got 4 rows. yah, only 3 leh. i took a chauffeured one in Taiwan 5 yr ago, rented one in Brisbane 4 yr ago, and another one in Perth last yr, all also 3 rows only leh. Got lots of luggage space though. i think 28" luggage can take 6-8 stacked up also no problem... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
myusername Neutral Newbie July 13, 2017 Share July 13, 2017 If your father really needs the space (7 seats and 2 large luggages) very often, then the biggest i can think of is Starex. i took a photo of the boot/luggage space with all 3 rows of seats up: http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2700646-7-seater-mpv/?p=5967067 Even alphard category doesn't have that large luggage space, as they give more space to the passenger for comfort. But the Starex is ridiculously priced, so i haven't seen any SG registered Starex MPV yet. Will be going with my dad to Hyundai to task about this starex. Looks huge but any issue with parking? HDB should be ok but might have issues with shopping malls especially old ones.Thanx for the picture by the way. this one looks like what he really wants ...just need to check the price .... anyway..are they any other vehicles that agents put in the basement and dont display that fits my dad's requirements? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 13, 2017 Share July 13, 2017 yah, only 3 leh. i took a chauffeured one in Taiwan 5 yr ago, rented one in Brisbane 4 yr ago, and another one in Perth last yr, all also 3 rows only leh. Got lots of luggage space though. i think 28" luggage can take 6-8 stacked up also no problem... https://www.hyundai.com.my/showroom/starex/# This is the Malaysian one I saw. I guess the Starex in Malaysia got 4 rows. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 13, 2017 Share July 13, 2017 https://www.hyundai.com.my/showroom/starex/# This is the Malaysian one I saw. I guess the Starex in Malaysia got 4 rows. Yup, Starex is like the Avenza. We see more of Malaysian-plate ones on SG roads than SG-plate ones I also saw these before here. Most of the time they have tinted glass too. Was wondering why SG don't have this option, but Komoco is terrible lah, 3 rows price already at Alphard range, if 4 rows, i think nose bleed until dry already... Don't know what makes Komoco think the car is worth such high price - when the OMV was nowhere near Alphard's... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 13, 2017 Share July 13, 2017 (edited) Yup, Starex is like the Avenza. We see more of Malaysian-plate ones on SG roads than SG-plate ones I also saw these before here. Most of the time they have tinted glass too. Was wondering why SG don't have this option, but Komoco is terrible lah, 3 rows price already at Alphard range, if 4 rows, i think nose bleed until dry already... Don't know what makes Komoco think the car is worth such high price - when the OMV was nowhere near Alphard's... Actually if our Starex is like the Malaysia one and they sell at the same price as now, then I think the price still ok. IIRC the Starex they sell in Sg no electric doors also right? Edited July 13, 2017 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator July 13, 2017 Share July 13, 2017 Hi All, Need some help here to narrow down options for a 7 seater MPV/SUV. My dad is looking for a 7 seater car and he ask me go internet to search so have been doing that and seems like there are now many 7 setaers nowadays. Need help to narrow down to save time to travel down the showrooms and check out the cars. He has a list of requirements as per below. 1. Price to be below 120k(can stretch to 130k if it meets his requirements) 2. Prefer less than 2l car 3. Have boot space to fit 2 big luggage with all seats up(i doubt there is any but do let me know if there is) 4. seat configuration can seat 4 adults and 3 kids comfortably Alternatively, i have heard of goods van being converted to passenger car such as the merc Vito and Citan van. Are there any other cheaper options and how different is the converted price compared to the original price? thanx. never knew about this car before...will bring him to check it out. was recommended mobilio but kah motors not selling that anymore? My dad will be carrying the full load(7 pax plus cargo equivalent to 2 luggage about 3 to 4 times a week) so yeah thats y he is looking for one now. is the price quoted in sgcarmart reflective of the actual selling price? Mazda biante looks ok though its a bit out of range. and anyone knows about buying the cargo van but with a an 'S' plate? dont see that a lot on the road so i guess its not worth it but would like to know the process/details so that he can consider. First an foremost, your dad need the car to be registered with "S" plate so that he can drive in to Malaysia? The reason I am asking is that basically there are 2 category of vehicle you can consider: 1) Passenger vehicle, i.e. MPV 2) Commercial vehicle. i.e. panel van There is a huge different in selling price between the 2, mainly due to taxes, and if your dad don't really need a "S" plate, than I would say give a serious consideration to the 2nd cat. OK, assuming he would still need a MPV, I echo what the others have suggested: - VW Caddy Maxi (LWB version) 1.4TSI - Mazda Biante 2.0 Maybe can also checkout the following (see if the AD can bring in 7 seater version for your dad): - Mercedes-Benz Citan Mixto / Extra Long - Renault Kangoo - Peugeot Partner - Fiat Doblo And if option open up to commercial vehicle: - Nissan NV200 - Toyota Litace - Maxus V80 Happy shopping and do give us an update after you have checked out the recommended models. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 13, 2017 Share July 13, 2017 Will be going with my dad to Hyundai to task about this starex. Looks huge but any issue with parking? HDB should be ok but might have issues with shopping malls especially old ones.Thanx for the picture by the way. this one looks like what he really wants ...just need to check the price .... anyway..are they any other vehicles that agents put in the basement and dont display that fits my dad's requirements? This one is unique. The SE brought me to basement to view and test after i asked. All the other MPVs were displayed, except Nissan Serena which was sold by TC subsidiary, a PI, in the warehouse behind TC showroom. There is one other MPV which has the option of 3 or 4 rows, Ssanyang Stavic. If only use 3 rows, maybe still got some luggage space. Oh, the Starex looks and drives like a van, in that it's tall and bulky. Can definitely move but is not like Sharan which can beat many smaller cars. It will have problem with height limits of some carparks, but the boxy MPVs and the bigger MPVs (Alphard, Elgrand, etc.) all have this problem. It's obviously bigger than most (both longer and wider) so parking is indeed a shade more difficult, but if can drive a Hiace (that fat version), then should be no problem. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...