7-Seater MPV

Victor68

If you want to get a comfortable 7 seaters, boxy van like MPV is no horserun.

If you want to get a nice looking 7 seaters, juz get a wagon or saloon car.

If i am in the market for MPV, i will only look for Jap MPV & forget about look.

My wife could at least accept this - she veto'ed the triplets at first sight for the same reason.

As for height, it seems like SGP is the only place where 1.8 m is a problem? The caps make a lot of these tall MPVs to give more space, so naturally i'll imagine height is not a concern for them there. MSCP must have tall entrances/ceilings...

The thing that worries me, though, is that with the unique feature of the waku waku door, there is no rear bumper to offer any 'first-line of defence', for minor impact. Imagine if reversing somehow hit something - will the whole tailgate alignment be affected? Or if someone behind couldn't stop in time and just hit a bit... 

The price of the tailgate is likely not cheap, not to mention the availability of spare part lor...

For this reason, even though it was the newest van-like MPV and the seats are imho more flexible/useful than ALL the other van-like MPVs, i didn't dare take the plunge...

I like the door though. Useful if you always park in MSCP.

23.jpg24.jpg

Do you know if this feature is only for the hybrid?

My current Presage has this feature and I want my next MPV to be able to do this but seems no other MPV in the mkt has this feature.

I like the door though. Useful if you always park in MSCP.

Yes, i think it's useful in its own right.

Just worried that it might get kissed (now and then and/or big/small), and then the whole door/tailgate will be slightly damaged (since there is no bumper to be hit first), resulting in the need to replace it...

My current Presage has this feature and I want my next MPV to be able to do this but seems no other MPV in the mkt has this feature.

ha ha ha... yes, i remember you were championing this when talking about the Presage. I was quite impressed with it as a result...

In case you dun know, Nissan Serena i think all is hybrid, as it's not a full hybrid. The outgoing model is all S-Hybrid ones...

Most carparks in sg should have a minimum 2m clearance. Just that some older carparks are 1.8/1.85m at gantry. My colleague need to check the carpark entrance height before leaving office/home cos his Noah also more than 1.8m

Yah, most carparks should be ok. But if suay suay have to frequent those few rare places where height is a problem, then it can be quite inconvenient.

Yes, i think it's useful in its own right.

Just worried that it might get kissed (now and then and/or big/small), and then the whole door/tailgate will be slightly damaged (since there is no bumper to be hit first), resulting in the need to replace it...

I think just got to be more careful when reversing. But I guess if light bump shouldn't be that fragile as to make the whole tailgate/door stop working properly. If rear end accident then I think most MPV tailgates won't survive anyway. I guess its still too new for any owners to comment though.

It is a standard feature across all grade / trim.

82_dl0000618313.jpg

Another useful feature is the keyless opening / closing for the sliding door. Should be the first in it class.

82_dl0000618310.jpg82_dl0000618332.jpg82_dl0000618312.jpg

And the sliding middle seat in 2nd row is also carried over from the previous generation.

82_dl0000618405.jpg

This should the most spacious Japanes boxy MPV around...

82_dl0000618387.jpg

sideview_dl0000618686.jpgtopview_dl0000618687.jpg

• Praise 10

I think just got to be more careful when reversing. But I guess if light bump shouldn't be that fragile as to make the whole tailgate/door stop working properly. If rear end accident then I think most MPV tailgates won't survive anyway. I guess its still too new for any owners to comment though.

True lah...

For my wish, in the 10.5 yr we had it, kanna kissed 3 times. First time just patty and sprayed, 2nd and 3rd times replace bumper. The tailgate not affected all 3 times leh.

Of course, they were all not those major major impact. All 3 times stopped at traffic lights or stop line, the car behind didn't stop in time.

Agree on be more careful. But it doesn't help that i'm not the only driver. Wife and my father will drive, although if we buy a new car, will prob avoid having my father drive  [sweatdrop]

And even if we are all careful, also cannot avoid like the three cases, where it's the other drivers not careful  [bigcry]

Stressed  :TT_TT:

At $127,900, really cheap for the amount of metal. I am very tempted because it is much longer than standard panel van length. It is actually as roomy as Sharan on paper, much bigger than the Touran which is mid-size MPV.

Dimension wise, it is also comparable to the minivans from Japan such as binate, the triplets, stepwagn, serena, etc. I would expect it to be very roomy.

Features wise really can't complain, the list is damn long:

Interior  
  • 'Climatronic' air conditioning system with 2-zone temperature control
  • Alcantara' leather upholstery
  • Height adjustable front seats
  • Lumbar support adjustment for front seats
  • Front centre armrest with storage box
  • Cruise control system
  • Multi-function display 'Plus'
  • Leather-covered 3-spoke steering wheel
  • Multi function controls on steering wheel
  • Leather gearshift knob
  • 'Composition Media' radio with 6.33” touch screen display, Bluetooth connectivity, CD player and SD memory card slot, 6 speakers
  • AUX-IN multimedia socket
  • 2 reading lights in front and rear
  • Folding tables on back of front seats
  • Glove compartment with lockable lid
  • Removable individual second and third row seats
  • Overhead storage compartments
  • Sun visors with illuminated vanity mirrors
  • Removable luggage compartment cover
  • 12-volt sockets in centre console, front centre armrest and luggage compartment
Exterior  
  • Alloy wheels, 6.0J x 17", tyres 205/50 R17
  • Automatic headlight activation, with 'Leaving Home' and 'Coming Home' functions
  • Side and rear windows in heat-insulating glass
  • Electrically foldable, adjustable and heated exterior mirrors
  • Silver anodised roof rails
  • LED licence plate lighting
  • Bi-xenon headlamps cornering lights, separate LED daytime running lights
Safety  
  • Airbags for driver and front passenger with front passenger airbag deactivation, driver's knee airbag
  • Curtain airbag system for front and rear passengers including side airbags at the front
  • Electronic Stabilisation Programme (ESP)
  • ISOFIX child seat mounting points
  • 3-point seat belts for all occupants, with height adjustment in front
  • Removable front and second row seats
  • Front seat belt reminder warning signal and light
  • Remote controlled central locking with two folding keys
  • Front and rear disc brakes, ventilated in front
  • Electronic vehicle immobiliser
  • Rear view camera
  • Electromechanical speed-sensitive power steering
  • Rain sensor
  • Reverse sensors
  • Automatic dimming interior mirror
  • Front fog lamps

It has support of AD, but its 7-speed DSG would be its weakest link. Too bad.

support of AD? given the pain that keithchue went thru... i think i won't call it support. and yes the 7speed will torture you silly.

82_dl0000618313.jpg

The tailgate openable top window panel also exist in the Mercedes v250 Edited by yokechye

ha ha ha... yes, i remember you were championing this when talking about the Presage. I was quite impressed with it as a result...

In case you dun know, Nissan Serena i think all is hybrid, as it's not a full hybrid. The outgoing model is all S-Hybrid ones...

Thanks for the info. Thought they had hybrid and non hybrid.

I find that feature very useful when retrieving stuff after I have parked. But this new version seems kinda big still.

The dimensions on the presage for this feature is just right, I have retrieved/ stowed my stroller without opening the tailgate on many occasions.

Another useful feature is the keyless opening / closing for the sliding door. Should be the first in it class.

And the sliding middle seat in 2nd row is also carried over from the previous generation.

This should the most spacious Japanes boxy MPV around...

Any word on the grapevine abt its arrival in SG?

What if a cat run across and underneath the car(van) and triggered the sensor?  Door open?

Same as those with the auto open boot when you stick your foot under rear bumper. It will only open if your key is nearby. Or else its locked.

What if a cat run across and underneath the car(van) and triggered the sensor?  Door open?

I think the sensor will be triggered if comfort access key fob is nearby.

My kids have reached the stage when I don't need a large boot to carry the twin pram... and the 3rd row seats are getting cramped for the older girls...

I've considered other SUV but not able to find one bigger than my existing fat b-tard... and which can seat 6...

Does it have to be a box like MPV

My kids have reached the stage when I don't need a large boot to carry the twin pram... and the 3rd row seats are getting cramped for the older girls...

I've considered other SUV but not able to find one bigger than my existing fat b-tard... and which can seat 6...