MQX87511 5th Gear November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 Yes. GPS ERP has been selected as the mechanism to carry out the car-lite plan. Wait for announcement. if no OCS, car-lite plan is bullshiit lah, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limwsv 5th Gear November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 Wish was the most fuel-efficient, decent, affordable MPV for a few years. But in the last few years heard Touran is even more efficient (reliability is another matter). Now the conti diesel MPVs declare that they can do above 20 km/l, but haven't heard any owner verifying (instead read that they are notoriously grossly over-declared). The Toyota triplets owners are saying they can get around 12 km/l, which is quite good for such a large vehicle. hmm… you might be the right person to check with then: which new MPVs do you know will be launched by then? Specifically, do you know when will the new Estima be launched? Wrong person to ask... don't really care much about cars except as a functional tool to carry person(s) from one point to another. Don't even like driving. Just know that every couple of years, manufacturers will refresh their line up of models and MPV are a core market in a number of countries. MPV has existed ever since the first Space-wagon car came out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limwsv 5th Gear November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 if no OCS, car-lite plan is bullshiit lah, Sounds like an army song every time this kind of topics come up.... "Here we go again... " There will not be any OCS, MTA1 and MTA2 has been assured that they can hire more staff as car market will be liberalized and allow to sell as many cars as buyers want to buy. Government will make people switch to car-lite (ie taxis, ubers, buses and trains) by whacking consumption hard hard during peak hours. Also, need the additional ERP revenues, car road taxes, parking fees and ARPs to support social policies. Wait for announcement. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MQX87511 5th Gear November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 Sounds like an army song every time this kind of topics come up.... "Here we go again... " There will not be any OCS, MTA1 and MTA2 has been assured that they can hire more staff as car market will be liberalized and allow to sell as many cars as buyers want to buy. Government will make people switch to car-lite (ie taxis, ubers, buses and trains) by whacking consumption hard hard during peak hours. Also, need the additional ERP revenues, car road taxes, parking fees and ARPs to support social policies. Wait for announcement. but so far LTA has not given official announcement of no OCS in next couple of years, everything is speculation basis, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limwsv 5th Gear November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 (edited) but so far LTA has not given official announcement of no OCS in next couple of years, everything is speculation basis, http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/no-plan-to-rein-in-surge-in-coe-supply Old outgoing boss words printed black and white... New incoming boss review done... no changes to existing strategies, execute to plan for next 2 years. Objective is to make people want to go car-lite, not car-less. Have car but light use. Wait for announcement. Edited November 11, 2015 by Limwsv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/no-plan-to-rein-in-surge-in-coe-supply Old outgoing boss words printed black and white... New incoming boss review done... no changes to existing strategies, execute to plan for next 2 years. Objective is to make people want to go car-lite, not car-less. Have car but light use. Wait for announcement. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/vehicle-growth-rate-cut-to-025-from-05-as-cars-hit-1m-mark-lta How about this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limwsv 5th Gear November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/vehicle-growth-rate-cut-to-025-from-05-as-cars-hit-1m-mark-lta How about this? Miss the point of your reference totally... it came out in 2014 while gone boss says no clawback in Aug 2015. Even your own reference point out in black and white that review of COE growth numbers will be redone in 2017. New boss decision made, just wait for announcement okay? We can spend the next few months arguing and you're not going to change your position. Before elections, people keep saying that clawback will happen. Even want to make bets, if I accept, I would have free lunches/dinners now Go ahead and put out more info to the newbies and convince them that clawback will happen.... I am not going to be bothered with replying anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MQX87511 5th Gear November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 Miss the point of your reference totally... it came out in 2014 while gone boss says no clawback in Aug 2015. Even your own reference point out in black and white that review of COE growth numbers will be redone in 2017. New boss decision made, just wait for announcement okay? We can spend the next few months arguing and you're not going to change your position. Before elections, people keep saying that clawback will happen. Even want to make bets, if I accept, I would have free lunches/dinners now Go ahead and put out more info to the newbies and convince them that clawback will happen.... I am not going to be bothered with replying anymore. wahlao, buy a low coe car with high usage cost, I rather go for high coe car but driving comfortably Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sopskysalat 4th Gear November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 For 130km/day, get the diesel model - thus only VW(no more for now), renault GS, Citroen(GC4P) or Peugeot(5008). You WILL NOT go wrong with either one. I know some will not like french car but it is up to you. Hi All Bros , I am also looking at mpv. Any recommendation for mpv, I drive around 130km per day. Full size mpv is definitely out as over my budget. Not sure which mpv is more fuel efficient as I travel a lot. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 Miss the point of your reference totally... it came out in 2014 while gone boss says no clawback in Aug 2015. Even your own reference point out in black and white that review of COE growth numbers will be redone in 2017. New boss decision made, just wait for announcement okay? We can spend the next few months arguing and you're not going to change your position. Before elections, people keep saying that clawback will happen. Even want to make bets, if I accept, I would have free lunches/dinners now Go ahead and put out more info to the newbies and convince them that clawback will happen.... I am not going to be bothered with replying anymore. Can afford, buy lor. Who care about depreciation? If care about depreciation, take B.M.W. lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 The only way to reconcile these two points will be unduly heavy usage taxes. Everybody owns a car but everyone parks it at home. How do you guys feel about the current petrol Touran? Does it still have gearbox issue? Yep. Sounds like it. Erp2. Its 7dsg. Looking at the torque rating, its the dq200. So no go for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 do you consider 7 seat SUV significantly, such as X-trail, Harrier, Outland, XC90, Q7, X5 x-trail cannot make it one… harrier i don't think got 7 seats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 For passenger diesels, i would minimally wait till post budget 2016 announcement. The 40cts/cc has been around for a few years, add the ongoing scandal... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 (edited) For passenger diesels, i would minimally wait till post budget 2016 announcement. The 40cts/cc has been around for a few years, add the ongoing scandal... i would LMAO, if they revise the special tax back to the old days. yet again tio CON....just like the CNG saga. you end up being some scholars special project to implement a new idea. in end better to stay mainstream..... Edited November 11, 2015 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sopskysalat 4th Gear November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 For FC, nothing beats diesel except probably Hybrid. May be in the coming years, Govt may increase the tax for Euro5 while incentivising those with Euro6 (should be Citroen for now). Govt may also introduce tax on diesel??? No one knows but for 130KM, if you can claim mileage say xx cents/km, you will maximise the diesel benefit. Imagine say 18KM/L vs 8-12KM/L (my est.), and diesel is cheaper too.... offset against higher tax but how much more. Dont think you will get a low cc MPV except Touran which VW haters will pour in to criticise on its DSG... hahaa.. What you save now is real money than pondering what govt is going to do tomorrow... Unless you do just 30KM per day, then I suggest you do petrol.. So your call bro.... French/German/Jap/Korean... each has its own set of problem... Recent years, cars equipped with more electronics and co-sharing of parts, you can run away from failures of certain parts. i would LMAO, if they revise the special tax back to the old days. yet again tio CON....just like the CNG saga. you end up being some scholars special project to implement a new idea. in end better to stay mainstream..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
320i Clutched November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 Hearsay clawback wont occur within the next 2years. Since u have 2 years left, just nice. Honda also implementing those TC engines soon. Honda has alr implemented its TC engine on its stepwagon le 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 For passenger diesels, i would minimally wait till post budget 2016 announcement. The 40cts/cc has been around for a few years, add the ongoing scandal... If pump price increase, transportation cost will increase. It has a chain reaction to the entire economy. That's why special tax rate is implemented. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondatoyota Clutched November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 (edited) out of curiosity, why do you drive 130km a day? I stay in Hougang need to fetch my wife to work in Tuas. From there I travel to Pasir Panjang to work, my work also require me to drive around . At the end of the day, drive back to Hougang. Was looking more towards jap or Korean cars. Still not confident in conti cars and Citroen and Peugeot is using semi auto which I dun really prefer. Edited November 11, 2015 by Hondatoyota ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...