Seeking views on S60, Q50 and Mz6

F1enthusiast

A car that can serve more than 5 years without major problems  

107 members have voted

1. 1. Which car would you drive and why?

• Vovlo T5
    • Infiniti Q50
    • Mazda 6

On 10/26/2015 at 8:58 AM, Civic6228 said:

If comparing the three - Q50, S60 and Mz6 ...

S60 ... I was attracted by the T5 engine ... 240 bhp. I test drove the car and my observation ... the gear change seems jerking. The model has been aroound for a long time ... FL after FL. And the dashboard ... look outdated ... so NO for me.

Q50 ... Mercedes engine and transmission at 50k lower than the C250. I test drove this car as well ... not bad .... good value for the money. Cons will be the "badge" and the car being relatively new in the market

Mz 6 .... Never tested the car before ... so no comment but for 30k lower compared to the other 2.... 

My vote goes to the Mz 6 2.0.

The T5 you test drive is the previous one or latest? 

Latest should be using Aisin 8 speed GB, should be very smooth.

Hahaha.. this coming from a person who choose a car model based on colour and quality of speakers?

On 10/26/2015 at 7:32 AM, Axela72 said:

Anyway, if due to cost of AD servicing matter, nowaday, many AD throw in 1st few years servicing. After servicing end, just do it at outside workshop. Wonder why ppls choose car based on the cost of the serciving charge from AD [laugh]

On 10/26/2015 at 9:07 AM, Tohto said:

The T5 you test drive is the previous one or latest? 

Latest should be using Aisin 8 speed GB, should be very smooth.

I tested new T5 engine on XC60 (though same as S60), 8 speed GB is smooth, turbo lag a bit obvious,

Q50, engine very chatty .. sounds like a taxi,

All cars during test drive should disable the start stop to feel the vibration and engine noise in the cabin

accident wise, I would rather be in a Volvo then a jap car anytime.

On 10/26/2015 at 9:24 AM, Sdf4786k said:

All cars during test drive should disable the start stop to feel the vibration and engine noise in the cabin

really no idea since when Volvo become pronoun of safety,

Given cars are rated in the same crash tests and compared, I don't see there is such a huge difference these days as there used to be when Volvo and Saab were both by-words for safety.

I doubt any manufacturer would spend more than absolutely necessary to meet NCAP ratings and requirement.

Just to say, though, I looked at Volvo, Mz6, Mondeo, BMW 3-Series, WRX, Jag-XF and the new Insignia before buying a Q50. The 3-Series was more out of comparison than anything else because I knew I was never going to buy it but I tested the XF, Mz6 and Mondeo.......the Volvo, yes for me, was too dated internally even to consider a test drive. I knew there would be a new XF coming at that current ones were on their last legs but it was still a good drive.

On 10/26/2015 at 6:04 AM, Hamburger said:

went Mazda showroom and first thing when i entered the crowded showroom, i was asked by the sales rep...

hello, are you hear to see car?

废话,难道来送货么。。。 :confident:

Say no, you are there to yaw kwee eat the free food and drinks and bio the sexy xmm SEs in short skirts. :D

On 10/26/2015 at 10:19 AM, bsswan said:

Given cars are rated in the same crash tests and compared, I don't see there is such a huge difference these days as there used to be when Volvo and Saab were both by-words for safety.

I doubt any manufacturer would spend more than absolutely necessary to meet NCAP ratings and requirement.

Just to say, though, I looked at Volvo, Mz6, Mondeo, BMW 3-Series, WRX, Jag-XF and the new Insignia before buying a Q50. The 3-Series was more out of comparison than anything else because I knew I was never going to buy it but I tested the XF, Mz6 and Mondeo.......the Volvo, yes for me, was too dated internally even to consider a test drive. I knew there would be a new XF coming at that current ones were on their last legs but it was still a good drive.

Bro, I think we went thru almost the same thought process siah!

I tested all the cars that you listed above, with the exceptions being that I tested Legacy instead of the WRX, and I also tested the Accord. 

On 10/26/2015 at 9:24 AM, Sdf4786k said:

Yah, it's true to some extent. But it is more a low grunt kind of sound... rather than the clattering taxi diesel engine sound. 

Could be cos the engine is tuned to be high torque (350Nm)?

At this pt I better caveat that I don't work for Infiniti/Wearnes. haha

why no one look at the new c180?? new design sibei nice ley...   :inlove:

ps.. to TS.. i know u stated ur comfy price range... but since u tested the XF... i suppose... 

Edited by SuPerBoRed

S60 ... The model has been aroound for a long time ... FL after FL.

prease, this S60 model only came out ~end 2010, and so far facelifted once.

On 10/26/2015 at 11:35 AM, Piyopico said:

Not convinced the Q50 is such a steal at the prices quoted unless they offer huge discounts compared to the listed price.

1. The sports model is less of a steal IMHO, just like the higher trim models for most other cars. 10-20k for 3-4k higher OMV. 

2. Listed price not that accurate lah, you can refer to the new car promo section of SGcarmart for a more reflective price.

3. Discount will get less as they sell more cars. Already they have just introduced a new base model, so that they can charge more for the "premium" model. Starting liao....

On 10/26/2015 at 12:51 PM, twizter said:

1. The sports model is less of a steal IMHO, just like the higher trim models for most other cars. 10-20k for 3-4k higher OMV. 

Cards on the table, I am not that familiar with the car in question. But markups are always amplified by the Singapore vehicle taxation system.

Unless there is a highly significant difference between trims, e.g. different engine, transmission, differential, etc. and if I were budget-conscious, I would always elect to buy the lower spec version and spec it up at much lower cost to be equivalent or even superior to the higher trim version. Things like rims, bodykits, etc. are not worth paying taxes plus markup on.

Didn't test drive XF as it is beyond budget.

On 10/26/2015 at 10:57 AM, SuPerBoRed said:

why no one look at the new c180?? new design sibei nice ley...   :inlove:

ps.. to TS.. i know u stated ur comfy price range... but since u tested the XF... i suppose... 

On 10/26/2015 at 10:38 AM, twizter said:

Bro, I think we went thru almost the same thought process siah!

I tested all the cars that you listed above, with the exceptions being that I tested Legacy instead of the WRX, and I also tested the Accord. 

There was no Legacy at the beginning of the year, and with a new one coming, any would be End of Life. I was already coming out of 8yrs with a LGTW, a few years before that with a JDM LRSK and before that a WRX STiV5 so I have a certain expectation of what Subaru should be. Before buying the Q50 it was already clear the new Legacy coming here would only be a 2.0L non-Turbo unit........not up to what I want.

I've heard it's a good car, and OP might want to consider it within his price range, but for me was not up to what I've been used to for many years.

The XF at the time was on some really special pricing after discounts, not too much higher than the Q50 since also End of Life and "clearance" offers. Rotating Air Vents, Pop-up Gear Selector and 2.0L Turbo though........tough to ignore [grin] The Q50, though, also had a very large discount from "list" to such an extent the advertised price is an irrelevance - Mondeo discount in comparison was weak.

On 10/27/2015 at 5:10 AM, Nzy said:

To me, both are about the same. Inside, the C200 looks nicer but the Q50 is more comfortable. IMO if want comfort go for the Q50. As for exterior, I think the Q50 looks alot nicer than the merc and also less common than the merc. The merc is everywhere. Its like the default B&B car that everyone goes for.

I am sold on the merc looks but only the AMG line.

Not the most comfortable around though cos it is on lowered suspension and sporty. That was what attracted me though.

The Q50 looks ....... Like a Cherrry. It's the logo thingy. The front also does not appeal to me.

If sold at huge discounts like 25k and above. Yes. I must say its a value buy in the premium category. Or at least near premium category.

Overall a good buy but just not for me.