Renault Fluence 1.5 dci

Sopskysalat

Idle sound was louder plus noisier acceleration (both get their fuel from SPC btw, which is probably why SPC is last on your scale).

No wonder lah. Will probably go back to Caltex once this tank is done since diesel is still cheap compared to petrol. Somemore I'm considered moderate mileage liao, I know a Grand Scenic owner who does 4k/mth driving to Johor for work.

Also like to give my 2c on the comment about "build quality not good". Build quality is definitely good, there are no creaky plastics or uneven joints or mouldings.

It is the plastic quality that is not superior to other cars in its class. This is to be expected since the basic Fluence/Megane design is already 5 years old liao.

Diff people have diff expectations of cabin quality. For me, these are the things I looked for:

- dashboard must be soft touch

- at least front window sill must be soft touch

- steering wheel and gear knob should be leather wrap or at least padded

- minimal painted plastics or glossy black plastics which can scratch, crack or wear off (most Jap cars fail here)

- driver side should have armrest

- all armrest area are padded and arm can actually rest without falling out lol (again, most Jap cars fail liao)

- if possible, can choose armrest leather or padding colour (most cars fail here)

Of course when compared against top trim of e.g. VW Jetta Highline it will surely lose out, but definitely it is no worse than any Jap car in the same price range.

No wonder lah. Will probably go back to Caltex once this tank is done since diesel is still cheap compared to petrol. Somemore I'm considered moderate mileage liao, I know a Grand Scenic owner who does 4k/mth driving to Johor for work.

Also like to give my 2c on the comment about "build quality not good". Build quality is definitely good, there are no creaky plastics or uneven joints or mouldings.

It is the plastic quality that is not superior to other cars in its class. This is to be expected since the basic Fluence/Megane design is already 5 years old liao.

Diff people have diff expectations of cabin quality. For me, these are the things I looked for:

- dashboard must be soft touch

- at least front window sill must be soft touch

- steering wheel and gear knob should be leather wrap or at least padded

- minimal painted plastics or glossy black plastics which can scratch, crack or wear off (most Jap cars fail here)

- driver side should have armrest

- all armrest area are padded and arm can actually rest without falling out lol (again, most Jap cars fail liao)

- if possible, can choose armrest leather or padding colour (most cars fail here)

Of course when compared against top trim of e.g. VW Jetta Highline it will surely lose out, but definitely it is no worse than any Jap car in the same price range.

I find the Kia K3 and Hyundai Elantra slightly better put together, especially the K3. Likewise the Mazda 3 and Subaru Impreza. The latter two administration significantly better. Maybe cos still made in Japan.

1) Reliable. My dad has clocked 25,000 km already. Mixture of highway and school runs in crowded estate.

2) Timing belt standard mileage lar...

3) None so far. Wearnes have been really good and professional.

4) So far so good. Not too concerned cos Renault has Nissan expertise on reliability for a decade already.

5) Unknown especially given the upcoming VES.

6) Build quality isn't good. Door panel seams uneven. Plastics a bit crude, especially around edges and fittings. You can feel that the car is built to a budget. Generally for the French cars, the build quality still not up to par... lacking in the little details... the Korean Elantra and K3 feel much better put together. So does the Japanese Mazda 6. The Thai Toyota Corolla Altis is marginally poorer in build quality to the Koreans and Mazda.

Worthwhile to buy it... reliable... but feels cheap. Diesel rattle quite prominent now after about 13 months... but the dual clutch is really shiok to drive especially coupled to the diesel torque.

The rattle sound of Renault fluence diesel is really loud when idle or low speed. Saw a rather new car 1 year only, the rattle sound like a taxi on high mileage. And one morning it breaks down and need a tow truck. Wonder if the gearbox is having issue. Did not ask since I'm rushing to work.

This car in your carpark? My car covered 24k by now, also not a single issue. Maybe battery weak after 1 yr.

Engine is indeed noisy outside the car, expected cos both car and engine design is quite old liao. But inside the car the noise is really quite minimal. And when cruising it is almost silent, definitely quieter than most Jap and Korean sedans.

This car in your carpark? My car covered 24k by now, also not a single issue. Maybe battery weak after 1 yr.

Engine is indeed noisy outside the car, expected cos both car and engine design is quite old liao. But inside the car the noise is really quite minimal. And when cruising it is almost silent, definitely quieter than most Jap and Korean sedans.

Yes. It was located at my home basement carpark.

Its normal for car battery to be weak after a year in Singapore due to hot weather. In additional to running in-car camera. Unless the car battery is located in the boot area.

Yes. It was located at my home basement carpark.

Its normal for car battery to be weak after a year in Singapore due to hot weather. In additional to running in-car camera. Unless the car battery is located in the boot area.

Agreed. To last 2 years now seems very good liao even for Asian car. Somemore Conti cars I believe will definitely be more sensitive to battery issues cos they always like to put all kinds of silly computers for airbag, central lock etc. Heard from a few friends (other Conti brands) who tio Check Engine light and cannot start, towed to workshop and turned out to be battery uplorry.

May i know where is Renault stockist? My Fluence is about to due for timing chain change at 60k. Plan to change gearbox oil. Any recommended workshop in Singapore/JB? Thanks

how come timing chain so early change?

Parts Stockists

[Kian Hua Motor Co]
Michael Ng
email: [email protected]
31 Veerasamy Road Singapore 207335
Tel: 6293 3850
Fax: 6296 6006

[Trans Hua Auto Enterprise]
Francis Ng
Mobile: 9666 4925
23 Cuff Rd Singapore 209734
Tel: 6297 6577
Fax: 6291 9925

[United Motor Trading Pte Ltd]
Francis Ng
http://www.unitedmotor.com.sg
33 Norris Road Singapore 208275
Tel: 6295 3363
Fax: 6296 8788

[Unico Motor Pte Ltd]
22 Sin Ming Road #01-22 Singapore 570022
Tel: 64535221

or

9 #01-23 Selegie Road Selegie House Singapore 180009
Tel: 63361828 / 64535221

sometimes need to change car; it's a French.

:XD: 

Parts Stockists

[Kian Hua Motor Co]

Michael Ng

Francis Ng

Francis Ng

[Unico Motor Pte Ltd]

or

my italian needs to change at 60k and its belt. always tot the french are slightly better

I think maybe belt.

As the the latest Citroen C4 Picasso diesel engine still using belt.

Probably belt for diesel version. The older petrol version using Korean Samsung/Nissan engine should be chain. Or maybe he's referring to Serpentine belt.

Not many w/s want to change timing belt for Reno or change it properly. [smallcry]

Need to lift up engine to ensure proper installation of belt. Most will squeeze it in and this risks damaging the belt and to seat it properly.

Edited by Kangadrool

Typo, it's belt not chain

Probably belt for diesel version. The older petrol version using Korean Samsung/Nissan engine should be chain. Or maybe he's referring to Serpentine belt.

Not many w/s want to change timing belt for Reno or change it properly. [smallcry]

Need to lift up engine to ensure proper installation of belt. Most will squeeze it in and this risks damaging the belt and to seat it properly.

Got a rough quote from outside workshop $8xx. Wearnes quote around $1k 

Parts Stockists

[Kian Hua Motor Co]

Michael Ng

Francis Ng

Francis Ng

[Unico Motor Pte Ltd]

or

Thanks! Any recommended workshop for Renault in SG/JB?

Read the news months back that ADs gonna not void ur warranty if u service ur car outside. Anyone tried calling wearnes to verify?

Yup, I read Wearnes and AutoFrance both didn't sign the outside workshop agreement. 

Just hit 40k, had front brake pads replaced at Wearnes. $150 incl labour GST all. 

Of course not as cheap as outside workshop for Jap car but not that chop carrot either.