Renault Fluence 1.5 dci

Sopskysalat

He got his COE on the second bid. The first bid, the COE dropped and he didn't get the COE. Quite strange. Obviously they decided not to bid so high. Second time, the COE went up by quite a bit and they still secured the COE. His car price was $107,000 Privilege trim. So obviously the margin is pretty good.

Now, the worry is dual clutch GB as feared by most judging from questions of the same repeating and repeating....

Honestly, there's no answer to it until 3 years away.  [:p]

Gut feel is, it's better than the infamous 7LuckyDSG as there's very little "info" aka complaints online.

Test drove this EDC GB few times. There's no creep function. So, I reckon as long as you don't make it creep in traffic it should be OK.

Renault's reliability has improved by quite a lot since 2008. Mechanically, it's very robust.

I had 2 Renault Megane and 1 RS Clio in the 2000. All gave good pefrormances except for the ignition coil of the vehicles that fail often. Other than that, it was wonderful cars. Now it comes in diesel, so no more ignition coil used. The car should be good IMO.

Now, the worry is dual clutch GB as feared by most judging from questions of the same repeating and repeating....

Gut feel is, it's better than the infamous 7LuckyDSG as there's very little "info" aka complaints online.

Test drove this EDC GB few times. There's no creep function. So, I reckon as long as you don't make it creep in traffic it should be OK.

Renault's reliability has improved by quite a lot since 2008. Mechanically, it's very robust.

Agree...

How does the creep function work? 

The Grand Scenic also has the same gearbox, the early batch would've been on road for more than 3 years now, yet there don't seem to be any complains online from those owners, I'd reckon reliability should be fine. 

I find it amusing when people said driver should avoid creeping to not overheat the gb but as if driver have a choice and can decide what kind of traffic condition to drive in... Peak hour sure jam on most road... If there is an accident during peak hour, jam like mad.... Most of the time on weekend in shopping mall car park, sure jam, go Malaysia , custom jam, etc.....

Maybe such gb only good for kampung area but not city .....Hehehe....

one short coming of using torque converter is its efficiency.

thats where dsg reigns, but it does also has its blemish like shift shock.

maintenance wise not sure if its higher than conventional torque converter.

you can lift off the brake and the car won't creep forward. Also, you can lightly step on the brake much like a manual car when stopping at traffic light. Conventionally slushbox will require you to step hard on the brake to prevent creeping forward.

Of course, for GS with e-parking brake, you can argue that it's auto-parked = hence no creep. I have also tested on traditional handbrake model like Captur and there's no creeping effect even w/o pulling up the handbrake lever.

Yes, there's little "info" on EDC online even on UK market where Renaults are quite popular. So, there's not much to worry than the infamous DSG.

How does the creep function work? 

The Grand Scenic also has the same gearbox, the early batch would've been on road for more than 3 years now, yet there don't seem to be any complains online from those owners, I'd reckon reliability should be fine. 

Last self-declared roll call at SG RenaultCarClub forum, there are 20 owners there. Can get in touch directly with them if you have any questions.

If you ask here, you will get answers like "conti unreliable......, avoid with a ten feet pole....". [laugh]

Edited by Kangadrool

you can lift off the brake and the car won't creep forward. Also, you can lightly step on the brake much like a manual car when stopping at traffic light. Conventionally slushbox will require you to step hard on the brake to prevent creeping forward.

Of course, for GS with e-parking brake, you can argue that it's auto-parked = hence no creep. I have also tested on traditional handbrake model like Captur and there's no creeping effect even w/o pulling up the handbrake lever.

Yes, there's little "info" on EDC online even on UK market where Renaults are quite popular. So, there's not much to worry than the infamous DSG.

If you put the gear in neutral it won't creep forward lar. If it's in drive it will still creep forward. I don't understand what you mean. I tried on my dad's Fluence. My own Sonata is a normal autobox and of course in drive it creeps forward. But in neutral it doesn't. Same same for any type of automated or automatic gearbox.

On the GS, as long as the foot is on the brake pedal, there is no drive to the wheels, even if the gear is at D position. 

It will only creep forward one second after you lift your foot off the brake pedal. On a gentle slope, the car may roll back.

On the GS, as long as the foot is on the brake pedal, there is no drive to the wheels, even if the gear is at D position.

It will only creep forward one second after you lift your foot off the brake pedal. On a gentle slope, the car may roll back.

If you put your foot on the brakes how would you know there's no drive to the wheels? The one-second delay sounds like hill-start assist? Hill start assist only kicks in for 1-2 seconds. Then the car will slide back. So basically your car still creeps forward lar... it's just that there's a build in delay that sounds very much like hill start assist lor... chey...

Anyway for those of you scared that no Euro 5 diesel to pump in M'sia... check out the BHPetrol website... they have pumps that sell Euro 5 diesel now in Perak... specifically Bidor Town and the south side of the NS Highway at the Tapah layby... so now drive to Penang also no worries...

Bros, can I check if there any issue with smart energy diesel at mandai?? Looks At the tag price just $0.77 per liter.. Any Bros tried?

Yeah, would love to get someone's input on its quality. Planning to switch to this after using up fuel vouchers.

Bros, can I check if there any issue with smart energy diesel at mandai?? Looks At the tag price just $0.77 per liter.. Any Bros tried?

T.T so sad.. i am out of COE bidding again... haih,,,, 3rd bidding on 18/5... si pek xien ah!!

Wearnes buey steady ler.. i bought that time 46k COE, now COE just up 1k+ only ma.. their margin so low meh?

:nosepick:

Wearnes Automotive

If you put your foot on the brakes how would you know there's no drive to the wheels? The one-second delay sounds like hill-start assist? Hill start assist only kicks in for 1-2 seconds. Then the car will slide back. So basically your car still creeps forward lar... it's just that there's a build in delay that sounds very much like hill start assist lor... chey...

What I mean is, at a stop when the brakes are applied, EDC will disengage the clutch automatically, even when in D.

No drive to the wheels = no creep forward. Of course, once you lift off the brake pedal, it will re-engage the clutch and the car will begin to creep forward.