Kusje Supersonic October 10, 2016 Share October 10, 2016 where u note down the ccv nunbers ? In the head lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 10, 2016 Share October 10, 2016 In the head lor. You can have many cards leh. And the cards change every few years. On top of all the other passwords/numbers u need to remember, sounds like a recipe for getting the numbers confused for me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 10, 2016 Share October 10, 2016 You can have many cards leh. And the cards change every few years. On top of all the other passwords/numbers u need to remember, sounds like a recipe for getting the numbers confused for me. I have quite a few cards but only one or two that I use for online purchase. So far, I don't have issues remembering the 3 digits. Then again, I also don't black it out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 10, 2016 Share October 10, 2016 (edited) I have quite a few cards but only one or two that I use for online purchase. So far, I don't have issues remembering the 3 digits. Then again, I also don't black it out. I can remember most of the time, but sometimes i get mixed up between the few cards i have and use. Well you can always write down in a hard copy in the house. Edited October 10, 2016 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged October 10, 2016 Share October 10, 2016 Recently got con by Firefly. I choose to pay in Singapore dollars. Cos need to claim from friend. Guess what, their exchange rate is using S$1 = RM$2.3 Paid extra about s$150. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyong 2nd Gear October 10, 2016 Share October 10, 2016 Just to share my experience.... Like what most of mcf people said, always choose to pay in foreign currency unless there's a sudden surge in that foreign currency. Try not to change your currency in sg airport (unless last minute travel and you have nil $). You are better of using credit card. Lower or equivalent rates but at least rewarded with whatever reward plans you are in. SC Manhattan used to be my favorite. But after their "review" of rebate and tier I gave up. In fact their conversion rate is among the highest/least favourable. Citi mastercard and boc union pay is what I use now. Most cash rebate card has become very stingy / stringent. Definitely cash is lowest rate unless sudden drop like uk pound last week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged October 10, 2016 Share October 10, 2016 where u note down the ccv nunbers ? Very simple. I take my CCV numbers, multiply by 3, square it, minus 10, then store the result in my mobile phone contact under MIL's number. Just rework the sum & you will have the CCV number. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic October 10, 2016 Share October 10, 2016 Very simple. I take my CCV numbers, multiply by 3, square it, minus 10, then store the result in my mobile phone contact under MIL's number. Just rework the sum & you will have the CCV number. Better to use cash.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 11, 2016 Share October 11, 2016 Recently got con by Firefly. I choose to pay in Singapore dollars. Cos need to claim from friend. Guess what, their exchange rate is using S$1 = RM$2.3 Paid extra about s$150. Wow. Daylight robbery hmm... you're right. Manhattan has credit back. Wonder if applies for air tickets... Should be, right? tks... will check this out. Tks... will also check this out. Yup just checked my bill. Got 90 plus cash back on my 3k plus charged. I only use this card like occasionally for such occasions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 11, 2016 Share October 11, 2016 Yup just checked my bill. Got 90 plus cash back on my 3k plus charged. I only use this card like occasionally for such occasions. Tks... called up stanchart last night after i dug out my manhattan card. They confirmed everything also eligible, but must be >3k in a bill cycle then got 3%, else it's just either 0.5% or 1%. Our tickets should qualify for 3%. tks again for the tip... looks like this is the best offer in the absence of better deals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 11, 2016 Share October 11, 2016 (edited) Tks... called up stanchart last night after i dug out my manhattan card. They confirmed everything also eligible, but must be >3k in a bill cycle then got 3%, else it's just either 0.5% or 1%. Our tickets should qualify for 3%. tks again for the tip... looks like this is the best offer in the absence of better deals. Yup I write down the bill cycle dates in ever note. So once I make a big purchase. I just charge everything into that bill cycle. Even my usual eating out or groceries bills. Edited October 11, 2016 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 28, 2017 Share June 28, 2017 Do you guys enable your Singapore credit card for Overseas usage when you travel to other Country? Example : Malaysia Do you know how it works? Example : If you dont enable the Overseas usage function? Below answer from UOB CSO If I dont enable my Singapore UOB credit card for overseas usage, ONLY those Credit card machine with smart chip function are still able to deduct the amount from your credit card when you use it Overseas. Most of the Malaysia Merchants are using the smart chip function machine. Most of the Singapore merchants are also using the Smart chip function machine. I am wondering what is the point of having enable/disable the (UOB) Overseas usage function? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 28, 2017 Share June 28, 2017 Do you guys enable your Singapore credit card for Overseas usage when you travel to other Country? Example : Malaysia Do you know how it works? Example : If you dont enable the Overseas usage function? Below answer from UOB CSO If I dont enable my Singapore UOB credit card for overseas usage, ONLY those Credit card machine with smart chip function are still able to deduct the amount from your credit card when you use it Overseas. Most of the Malaysia Merchants are using the smart chip function machine. Most of the Singapore merchants are also using the Smart chip function machine. I am wondering what is the point of having enable/disable the (UOB) Overseas usage function? kiasu and just in case Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 28, 2017 Share June 28, 2017 btw now pump petrol in malaysia cannot pay at the pump with cc already because pin is required and sg cc no pin one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
w7_lee 4th Gear June 28, 2017 Share June 28, 2017 (edited) I believe that when they say 'enable', they meant enable the magnetic strip for swiping. I think the strips are more prone to being clone. But I am not exactly certain. I travel about 6 times each year around SEA (for work) and have not enable my strips. Only using the smart chips. Edited June 28, 2017 by w7_lee 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic June 28, 2017 Share June 28, 2017 Since on this topic Any idea how to check the exchange rate of credit card? I last went to dubai to buy some clothing and bought a handbag. The clothing i used citibank, and the rate very jialat, its like $3-4 dollar lost in $70 transaction But i used amex for few k transaction and to my dismay the exchange rate is good, similar to money changer. Any way to check before qe swipe? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 28, 2017 Share June 28, 2017 Since on this topic Any idea how to check the exchange rate of credit card? I last went to dubai to buy some clothing and bought a handbag. The clothing i used citibank, and the rate very jialat, its like $3-4 dollar lost in $70 transaction But i used amex for few k transaction and to my dismay the exchange rate is good, similar to money changer. Any way to check before qe swipe? if want to count until like that, then better full cash yo.... i simply consider that few dollars every transaction a convenience fee for me to bring less cash scared lose the cash overseas or tio robbed 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 28, 2017 Share June 28, 2017 Since on this topic Any idea how to check the exchange rate of credit card? I last went to dubai to buy some clothing and bought a handbag. The clothing i used citibank, and the rate very jialat, its like $3-4 dollar lost in $70 transaction But i used amex for few k transaction and to my dismay the exchange rate is good, similar to money changer. Any way to check before qe swipe? OK we got your msg, you ASK one time spend a few K transaction on AMEX. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...