Winter shoes to wear in Japan for a 67 year old man

Fishy

Are you following a tour or Free & Easy? If it's FnE, just wear his most comfortable pair of sneakers (if he already owned one) from Singapore and when you reach Japan, go to their winter wear stores (lots around the city) for a fraction of the price you pay here in Singapore and they have many selections that suits the elderly.

Their pavements or roads can be covered with melting ice so be very careful. The shoes over there have what some had mentioned earlier - the individual rubber strap on type with "spikes" and also with "flip-on spike" embedded onto the sole but these can sometimes have ice being latched in between them thus making them a little slippery too, but if you walk cautiously than shouldn't be a problem.

Enjoy your winter, it's really beautiful :)

A good pair of boots with woolen socks is impt

I like ugg

In thick snow and cold winter up to minus 20+, have tried many, this is the only one that keeps warm

The leather is water proof and sole is pretty non-slip

Get something with fur lining too

yes dont intend to wear track shoes. might encounter snow in Takayama. Would the Caterpillar shoes be suitable?

http://img.ishoe.co.uk/photos/CATERPILLAR/Pritchard/Cat-Pritchard-Tyre-08.jpg

else might need to find a pair of Columbia but would a Columbia hiking shoes be suitable? would it be anti slip?

For price and functionality,

I would choose Columbia.

It's the lightest among the few recommended brands even for mid-high cut.

Price quite competitive too.

and where is this outlet store? Changi City Point? I would prefer something slightly higher.

IMM, they also have something slightly higher.

For price and functionality,

I would choose Columbia.

It's the lightest among the few recommended brands even for mid-high cut.

Price quite competitive too.

i had a pair of light weigh columbia waterproof walking shoe that i like very much,  been wearing it as casual shoes for 4 years and finally the sole gives way. Unfortunately i can't find it in the stores and not even in amazon.

timberland quality is ok. Super comfortable, not super durable though, tends to leak water between the soles.

I've worn my old timberlands on mountain trails as well. Served me well. 

But must buy during GSS, now it's a bit overpriced.

I agree that just don't wear track shoes. A trail/trekking shoe is good enough. Of course ankle high boots are better, but most of us don't wear them normally.

Choose those with deep groves on the soles. some shoes are just look like walking shoe but the pattern on the soles are ...  [lipsrsealed]

yes dont intend to wear track shoes. might encounter snow in Takayama. Would the Caterpillar shoes be suitable? 

else might need to find a pair of Columbia but would a Columbia hiking shoes be suitable? would it be anti slip?

takayama old town roads are normal tar roads if i remember correctly. you will likely visit the hida village as well which has mud paths piled high will snow and ice. therefore this is going to be slippery. I wore an old pair of Converse sneakers which is pretty much ok for me but it can slip sometimes. I wore this pair of sneakers (suede top, not the normal canvas top model) all over Japan - hill hikes which can be over 4 hours, city walks, trampling around in muddy trails, rocky trails, snow trails etc - over a period of 2 years. Damn durable and I wear it weekends in Singapore too. My wife wore timberland walking boots (sole like SAF boots). I think even more slippery than mine but I generally have better grasp of terrain than her.

And likely you will visit Shirakawago as well? same terrain as Hida village.

When you buy your shoe (whatever it is), make sure easy to take off and put on. You need to remove shoes when you enter many of those houses in Hida village and Shirakawa-go.

But both places are very pretty. Definitely worth going. And please have lots of Hida beef. I had it almost every single meal for 3 days.

Edited by Kxbc

Are you following a tour or Free & Easy? If it's FnE, just wear his most comfortable pair of sneakers (if he already owned one) from Singapore and when you reach Japan, go to their winter wear stores (lots around the city) for a fraction of the price you pay here in Singapore and they have many selections that suits the elderly.

TS, if Takayama is your first stop, then you might need to buy something from singapore as Takayama is a pretty small town and definitely not have stores like in Nagoya, Tokyo, Osaka etc.

Don't get confused by all the marketing

People that live in places that snow wear all types of normal shoes. The old Aunty/Uncle staying in Hokkaido or Korea does not have a Timberland VTEC turbo alpine shoe.

My family walked around Niseko covered in 1 metre of snow and track shoes worked fine.

It is more important to walk slowly and carefully

To really have grip on ice you will need spikes. There is no hiking shoe that will help you on solid ice.

The temporary spikes on an earlier post is a good choice. Mountaineering Spiked boots is great outside but it is not suitable for indoors.

What is more important is to get waterproof shoes. Walking in snow with non waterproof shoes suck, because once your shoes get wet, your feet will get cold.

Lastly here is some advice on walking on ice by the Hokkaido tourist promotion board.

http://www.bfh.jp/en/special/24e/aruki_kata/

agree. I see the locals wearing boots, sneakers, old working leather shoes, slippers, running shoes during the last few weeks of winter. Old Japanese folks walk faster than many middle age tourists.

being someone who doesnt travel often to winter countries, I wish to find out from the seasoned travelers what shoes to wear to Japan for a 67 year old man. Where can I find reasonably priced winter shoes that are non slip and yet comfortable to wear? Would a pair of shoes from Caterpillar like this be suitable?

Cat-Pritchard-Tyre-08.jpg

If it is just low temperature, a pair of warm shoes with thick socks will do.

If you are expecting snow, slush and ice, then you need a pair of proper snow boots.

post-18199-0-22430200-1445392442.jpegj

Dunlop boots are easily available in Japan and cost around $40. Zipper type is easier to wear because you don't want to be struggling to wear your shoes in the heated room. Mine lasted me for 6 years having spent nearly every CNY in Hokkaido since 2010.

If you want to be more stylo, Sorel has some nice design but they are more expensive $200-300 range.

post-18199-0-99184800-1445392562.jpeg

I usually buy my winter gear in Japan because they have better and more variety. And most times cheaper too. Do note that most "winter boots" here in Singapore might not be suitable for Hokkaido's winter. The sole's thread is very different for ice and slick surfaces. See what the locals are wearing and you won't go wrong.

ABC shoemart is a good place to buy. http://www.abc-mart.net/shop/mens_top.aspx?sgender=m

Sometimes as tourists, we are overthinking...with what caterpillar, timberland, all expensive brands...

Just think about what the locals are wearing...all year round, not just a short winter period as tourist does.

When I went to USA in the middle of winter, I had a pair of old track shoe on, "Sg" weather clothing and a outer jacket, that's all.

If you're scared of cold, get some woolen socks and underwear.

But watch out and avoid walking on ice.

How many of you bought expensive winter clothing for a one-time use and never use it again?

Edited by Kb27

Takayama will be snowy from Dec thru to March. I suggest that you buy the shoes before hitting Takayama. Probably in your transit city before going up. However, there is a row of shop near the idemitsu petrol kiosk...wait i get u the map link that sells cheap and good winter gear.

post-18199-0-67202900-1445393424_thumb.png post-18199-0-27844400-1445393448_thumb.png Mac House Hidatakayama.

マックハウス飛騨高山店, 167, 1 Chome, Showamachi, 6, Takayama-shi, Gifu-ken 506-0053, Japan

TS ... one of the best shoes I have ever invested in which lasted me approx 5-6 years was the The North Face Hedgehog.

http://www.thenorthface.eu/tnf-eu-en/men-s-hedgehog-hike-nubuck-goretex-shoes/p115392.html

You can consider buying it as it will last quite some time and it is for all terrain!

However, one of the things you may want to consider without all these fancy brands is

1) Goretex or equivalent shoe body fabric for water resistance

2) Vibram or equivalent sole for "grip"

Remember these 2 factors and you will find the perfect shoe.

Takayama will be snowy from Dec thru to March. I still suggest that you buy the shoes before hitting Takayama. There is a row of shop near the idemitsu petrol kiosk...wait i get u the map link that sells cheap and good winter gear. The Hide beef is super good.

attachicon.gifimage.png attachicon.gifimage.png Mac House Hidatakayama.

マックハウス飛騨高山店, 167, 1 Chome, Showamachi, 6, Takayama-shi, Gifu-ken 506-0053, Japan

Mr Polar Bear, I know that place.

It's a bit far from the town centre (walk 15 min or take bus) where I think TS will likely stay. I passed by it when I was walking to Hida Village. For a newcomer into Takayama, might take some time for him to navigate to get to that place either on foot or public transport.

Shoes I don't know where to buy in singapore but my wife who cannot tahan the cold, swears by the heatech clothing line (tees, inner wear, socks) of uniqlo.

post-18199-0-57816900-1445393923_thumb.jpeg.

Yours truly in my $40 Dunlop lying in the back of a Toyota Felder. That's the typical road condition in February. Snow, slush and black ice.

The thing with the red ribbon by my feet is Asahi beer. Very important piece of kit.

Cannot compare to the locals lah, they are adapted to the weather.

I relied on my timberlands+woolen socks throughout an entire winter in Canada, including tromping around in -30 blizzards a few times. Towards the end of winter/early spring when the sun came out we were running around in long shorts and sneakers when playing sports and it was +- 10 degrees, it felt like heaven after the long winter days.

Basically I'm an advocate of keeping nice and toasty, it's a damn shiok feeling to feel warm and snug in cold weather.

ps. Those Dunlop boots looks like good stuff.

Edited by Myxilplix

Mr Polar Bear, I know that place.

It's a bit far from the town centre (walk 15 min or take bus) where I think TS will likely stay. I passed by it when I was walking to Hida Village. For a newcomer into Takayama, might take some time for him to navigate to get to that place either on foot or public transport.

Shoes I don't know where to buy in singapore but my wife who cannot tahan the cold, swears by the heatech clothing line (tees, inner wear, socks) of uniqlo.

Heatechs are cheap and good. I like them too. Easy to layer. And they are cheaper in Japan too.