QQ, Forester or Picasso?

Axela72

Actually I already include the spacious under the "look" criteria. ty 

As for safety rating, nowadays many car come with 6 airbags. I don't trust such rating. I feel that the more solid the car feel, the better the safety. I feel that these 3 cars meet my requirement although QQ is least solid among the 3.

Hmmm.. you may want to include safety ratings (like NCAP ratings) and no. of seats/spaciousness (if you need want to include it) as part of your equation too.

I was in similar position few months back and test drove all 3 of them before I place a deposit for the C4P. The choice was rather obvious for me though I hesitated a little due to the semi-auto gearbox. Now that they have changed to 6-speed automatic, it's a no-brainer to me.

Edited by Jeronlee

Wow, i think u got see the award FXT achieve internationally. I meant even u dont like a model doesnt have to be so bias in commenting horrible, ahbeng etc. Reading Forester thread, i dont see owners complaining as what u said.

FXT is horrible choice.

FC is bad, someone got 6km/l only. [:/]

Looks aged. Plasticky interior. Ah beng image.

Many Forester drivers also complain that the car rubber quality at the boot is losing its shape. AWD is a waste of petrol.

'I' mode, 'S' mode or 'S#' is all nonsense. Just some throttle controller. Why would anyone who drive FXT drive in 'I' mode? Might as well drive Forest NA.

QQ is good but now questionable becoz of the power loss issue.

So far only the C4 is problem free. My colleagues who own it say it is good and diesel is a super cheap on the pocket.

Citroen looks good and in this day and age. After 10 yrs, still look modern.

Reliability is heng or sway. Which brand never have lemon model before?

Forester got a lot of chrome. Sibei ugly but then hor, outlander is chrome galore. [lipsrsealed]

FXT is horrible choice.

FC is bad, someone got 6km/l only. [:/]

Looks aged. Plasticky interior. Ah beng image.

Many Forester drivers also complain that the car rubber quality at the boot is losing its shape. AWD is a waste of petrol.

'I' mode, 'S' mode or 'S#' is all nonsense. Just some throttle controller. Why would anyone who drive FXT drive in 'I' mode? Might as well drive Forest NA.

QQ is good but now questionable becoz of the power loss issue.

So far only the C4 is problem free. My colleagues who own it say it is good and diesel is a super cheap on the pocket.

Citroen looks good and in this day and age. After 10 yrs, still look modern.

Reliability is heng or sway. Which brand never have lemon model before?

Forester got a lot of chrome. Sibei ugly but then hor, outlander is chrome galore. [lipsrsealed]

French cars reliability is not Heng and sway. It's always sway. How long have you owned a frenchie.

Thx, but that is if Performance is only 1/3 of the other 3. If it is 1/2 or 2/3, the result might skew again. This is the grey area that I couldn't fix the figure. As for QQ, I am not sure will or when will the safety issue be fixed. If it is fixed before I buy, then its safety is not a concerns anymore. 

If all the 3 are equivalent based on final scoring, I might need to add on more indices to compare. that is why later, I ask which brand is more prestige :)

Note: If I will to rate Performance as only 1/3 of importance against the rest, I would probably not classify it as an indices for measure in the 1st place :D

Aiyo... Thought you only can't decide on which cars to buy... even the criteria also causing you quite a bit of headspin.. obviously you need to fix some more parameters, be it superficial like "dream colour" or practical like "spaciousness", before you can see more progress. List the criteria and stick with it. Forever shifting your goal post will not aid your case much.

One day a car may come along that is:

i. damn good looking (must meet your OC and ur standards),

ii. reliability damn solid (need track record of many years to proof, 10-20 years?),

iii. cost to maintain freaking cheap (mainstream car or radical change in need for maintenance, so need time for that to happen too) 

iv. very driveable (years of car development and refinements).

When that happens, cars may no longer be the mainstream transport.... and you gotta start hairsplitting again.

maybe you could consider other options too?

1. [short term] fix a regular taxi uncle and supplement the gaps by ubering/grabtaxi-ing in advance?

2. [mid term] Leasing the vehicles so that you can outsource some of the risk you dun wanna take. Also can get to "try out" different cars of your choice at a shorter cycle. 

3. [long term] Move home closer to work, so much so that you dun need a car?

Choices choices choices...  [hur]  [hur]  [hur]

Boh lei. I don't own any french cars. Haha..  I am just discouraging a certain someone from buying forester so my ride is not tainted with weird people..

French cars reliability is not Heng and sway. It's always sway. How long have you owned a frenchie.

I think in the end he may just ignore all the discussion and buy a kia.  [smash]

Aiyo... Thought you only can't decide on which cars to buy... even the criteria also causing you quite a bit of headspin.. obviously you need to fix some more parameters, be it superficial like "dream colour" or practical like "spaciousness", before you can see more progress. List the criteria and stick with it. Forever shifting your goal post will not aid your case much.

ii. reliability damn solid (need track record of many years to proof, 10-20 years?),

iii. cost to maintain freaking cheap (mainstream car or radical change in need for maintenance, so need time for that to happen too) 

When that happens, cars may no longer be the mainstream transport.... and you gotta start hairsplitting again.

1. [short term] fix a regular taxi uncle and supplement the gaps by ubering/grabtaxi-ing in advance?

2. [mid term] Leasing the vehicles so that you can outsource some of the risk you dun wanna take. Also can get to "try out" different cars of your choice at a shorter cycle. 

Choices choices choices...  [hur]  [hur]  [hur]

Boh lei. I don't own any french cars. Haha..  I am just discouraging a certain someone from buying forester so my ride is not tainted with weird people..

I think in the end he may just ignore all the discussion and buy a kia.  [smash]

The new KIA Sportage look damn good .... Hyundai Tucson also look good. Between the 2 .... I go for the Sportage.

To add to the choices for TS ...

Aiyo, dont tease me lah. If i can made the decide easily. I wouldnt even need to seek opinion. These 3 cars are so much same level to me. all have their best pro and con to me. I was trying to see if one of their con is not valid and would be the winner of my choice.

Choices choices choices... [hur][hur][hur]

I suspect u drive forester and was surprised why u keep saying this car is inferior and was suspecting yr motive. LoL

Boh lei. I don't own any french cars. Haha.. I am just discouraging a certain someone from buying forester so my ride is not tainted with weird people..

I think in the end he may just ignore all the discussion and buy a kia. [smash]

Greeting,

After 3 mth of car searching, below is the pro and con of the 3 cars I have shortlisted which all can get at ~$114k same price range. Handling comparison for these 3 car is not part of my consideration among them as all are in acceptable level to me. fyi, I only need to drive ~ 1k km/month. My criteria are based on total cost to maintain, look, spacious, equipment level and performance.

1.2L Qashqai (OMV 19k):

-Cheapest to maintain (lowest Road tax & insurance), good FC

-Pwr & torque - Weakest among the 3 cars

-Up to date equipment level

-Has numerous power lost complaint concerns

-Bonus as this is the only car that has my preferred colour (best exterior look)

Remark: The only wow factor if I get this car is because of my dream colour

2L Forester (OMV 14k):

-highest insurance and worst FC

-Best performance among the 3 cars but not very far apart unless is XT

-Dated equipment but can still live with it

-Spacious

Remark: The only wow factor if I get this car is if I upgrade to XT with additional ~$10k

Like the spacious but dislike the cost to maintain

1.6L C4 Picasso (OMV 22k)

-Highest road tax but best FC

-Futuristic and best in equipment (best interior look)

-Most spacious and with rear aircon vent

-Worst reliability

Remark: This car will be my 1st choice if minus away the reliability (which is one of my most important criteria) concerns. The worst reliability might resultant to highest maintain cost than the Forester

May I have your advise which car should I choose and why?

Thanks

am looking at QQ and Forester too. thanks for the breakdown. cant really advice as i see that you have already listed the pro and con. Decision is now from the heart?

Yes, u are right but both car are out of my budget. I would have gotten Tucson w/o thinking if it is at less than 120k and believed that new Sportage will be even better than it

The new KIA Sportage look damn good .... Hyundai Tucson also look good. Between the 2 .... I go for the Sportage.

To add to the choices for TS ...

Edited by Axela72

I would think that for majority of people, the process of deciding which car/model to buy start with many different criteria e.g. FC, reliability, resale value, prestige, OC approval, total cost of ownership, reviews etc etc etc. The list goes on and on. Yes, all these criteria are important and play a big part in the decision making process.

However, at the end of the day, from my observations in this forum as well as those around me (friends/colleagues) when it comes to crunch time to actually make the final call and sign on the dotted line, more often than not, the deciding factor is very straight forward.

How much do you ‘like’ the car? You will then to buy the car that you ‘like’ the most and within budget (very often stretchable). If you think about it, it’s very simple. You are buying something that cost quite a lot. Naturally, you will gravitate towards something that you ‘like’. i.e. every day when you need to use the car, you look forward to using it.

Everybody’s ‘like’ is different. For some, it’s the ‘look’, for some it’s the ‘drive’. Whatever it maybe, as a driver/car owner, you will know once you see or feel it. It’s like falling in love with someone [inlove] . Hard to explain but you just know.

All the lists/items of evaluation criteria are just ‘supporting’ reasons/excuses to justify your decision. Nothing more than that. My guess is, TS already knew deep in his heart which car he 'like' the most. We are all just providing support that he hope to see and get.   

Glad that my post can also help someone tht looking at these cars can also gain some insight from others opinion/input to made thier decision

am looking at QQ and Forester too. thanks for the breakdown. cant really advice as i see that you have already listed the pro and con. Decision is now from the heart?

Regardless of my intention.

The truth is all complaints about citreon c4 2015 is based on past year reference. Even in stock, past performance does not indicate future trends.

As of the new model, I have colleagues who can't stop singing praises. That is true. In the forum, did you read any bad comments? No.

As for Forester and QQ, you should know people are complaining the cars.

So should buy a car that already has complaints or a car that is now still faultless?

haha.. come on. I will buy a Citroen if I am smart enough but I am ah beng at heart so still like ah beng car like subaru.

Aiyo, dont tease me lah. If i can made the decide easily. I wouldnt even need to seek opinion. These 3 cars are so much same level to me. all have their best pro and con to me. I was trying to see if one of their con is not valid and would be the winner of my choice.

I suspect u drive forester and was surprised why u keep saying this car is inferior and was suspecting yr motive. LoL

Forester XT!

The FC is not that bad now that it has the DIT engine. If my port injected 2.5T can get 12litre/100km I am sure a direct injected 2.0T from same manufacturer can do better.

Owned a Subaru for 5 years liao, reliability has been good. Never failed on me on the road or when I want to start. Only had to change radiator (when car was 7 years old) and shocks and timing belts (at 70k) as major service items. 100k still on original rotors.

i also dun want him to buy a frenchie and then come here to bitch about it, for the next few years about it going in and out of the workshop for various reasons.

Regardless of my intention.

The truth is all complaints about citreon c4 2015 is based on past year reference. Even in stock, past performance does not indicate future trends.

As of the new model, I have colleagues who can't stop singing praises. That is true. In the forum, did you read any bad comments? No.

So should buy a car that already has complaints or a car that is now still faultless?

haha.. come on. I will buy a Citroen if I am smart enough but I am ah beng at heart so still like ah beng car like subaru.

i liked the Picasso esp their front windscreen desgin, but did heard something bad about the car. nevetheless fault could either be car or the person driving.... so no right no wrong... heng or suay too....

By virtue of the fact that more people own a Forester n esp QQ compared to C4, chances are there will be more complains for those cars. That said, I do agree that the Citroen of today is much better than years back n they won't be giving 5yr warranty plus 5yr free servicing if this was not the case.

Axela72, now that you have done the computations from the scores given to the list of criteria items, maybe you should ask your OC to do hers and then you add up and compare your scores vs your OC's. Any difference?  Your OC's preference and perspective on the various car models will help you decide. Both of you must enjoy the ride together for bliss and fulfillment in the car purchasing process. Emotions thrump mathematics in car buying.