Rantwb 2nd Gear October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 (edited) Those who Friend family ah gong ah Ma Neighbour bla bla say Citroen is ok, I tell u I own 4 Citroen over 12 year, don't come talk grandma story with me Just walk away, or rather run Thank you for sharing...... Edited October 20, 2015 by Rantwb ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MQX87511 5th Gear October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 I don't know the exact reason and personally I never looked at SUVs previously but now it is ranked high up any potential buying list of mine. My guess like what bro Wt know mentioned, is that it's much easier to get in/comfortable for older folk and also previously, the mindset was that SUVs were meant for off road, thus most buyers didn't look at it? The SUVs of today are softer and suited to city roads, highways and is also spacious. Handling is almost car like despite its higher stance. in different countries, SUV enthusiasts love different category, Mid-east, USA: Big CC (4.0 above), NA, off-road such as Landcruiser 5.6L, Lexus LX570, Jeep Cherokee SRT8 6.4L, etc, they drink fuel as if no tomorrow, China: Medium CC (2.0 to 3.0), TC, on-road, such as LR Discovery 2.0T, X5 3.0T, XC60/90 2.0T, Santa Fe 2.0T, Q5 2.0T, Q7 3.0T etc, city suv, rarely off-road, SEASIA (include Singapore): Small CC (2.0 and below), NA, on-road, such as Vezel 1.5, QQ1.2/2.0, Harrier 2.0L, Xtrail 2.0, etc, pure City crossover, never off-road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 (edited) I'm quite curious since SUV and Sedan/hatchback are almost same history age, how come SUV just become hot recent years, not in Singapore, especially in China almost half of cars are SUVs on road, and almost every family has SUV as 2nd car using for weekend outing. In addition, any kind of a competent driver, would have a need to anticipate traffic and see traffic 2-3 cars ahead. As the damn roads get filled up with more SUVs, it is becoming impossible to do that unless you sit tall. My current car gets blocked by even a Myvi with tinted rear windows ^%*%^@!. Damn cham. Cant beat em must join them. Road tax should be based on vehicle volume and height (even weight), petrol tax should be sufficient to cover engine displacement/emissions. Edited October 20, 2015 by Ake109 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 So why do you still drive Citroen after so many problems? Warning again since Citroen reliability brought upCommon failureLow pressure fuel pumpHigh pressure fuel pumpBatteryBoth lcd screen in carEntire emissions systemTurbochargerCarbon buildupEngine power lossEngine cut off when drivingOnly thing better than previous model is the gearboxThose who Friend family ah gong ah Ma Neighbour bla bla say Citroen is ok, I tell u I own 4 Citroen over 12 year, don't come talk grandma story with meJust walk away, or rather run 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
majere_r 1st Gear October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 So why do you still drive Citroen after so many problems? 4 Citroens over 12 years some more? Hoping that the next one will not have any issue? Or brand loyalty? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 C4 ma.... read in cantonese.... C4.... 死火。 So if they still sell the C3 oso cannot buy lor, becos in hokkien its.... SeeSan (rusty)! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 I'm quite curious since SUV and Sedan/hatchback are almost same history age, how come SUV just become hot recent years, not in Singapore, especially in China almost half of cars are SUVs on road, and almost every family has SUV as 2nd car using for weekend outing. Imo, its due to the inner outcry for personal space & presence (not be buried under) in a densely populated city. Perceived superior protection from collisions & greater visibility due to higher seat height wouldnt hurt sales either. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 in different countries, SUV enthusiasts love different category, Mid-east, USA: Big CC (4.0 above), NA, off-road such as Landcruiser 5.6L, Lexus LX570, Jeep Cherokee SRT8 6.4L, etc, they drink fuel as if no tomorrow, China: Medium CC (2.0 to 3.0), TC, on-road, such as LR Discovery 2.0T, X5 3.0T, XC60/90 2.0T, Santa Fe 2.0T, Q5 2.0T, Q7 3.0T etc, city suv, rarely off-road, SEASIA (include Singapore): Small CC (2.0 and below), NA, on-road, such as Vezel 1.5, QQ1.2/2.0, Harrier 2.0L, Xtrail 2.0, etc, pure City crossover, never off-road agreed your remark for Mid-east & USA & SEASIA market, but disagreed your remark for China Market, In china, most popular SUV also is MIC small CC, 1.4T to 2.0T, also not too much affordable LR, XC, X5, Q5/7 lah, even if they jumped to 1st world suddenly after Reform and Opening Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear October 20, 2015 Author Share October 20, 2015 (edited) I understand where you are coming from. There is a grey area between Reliability vs Cost to maintain. I feel that since I already penalize C4 on Reliability, I shouldn't be penalizing it again on Cost to maintain. If we want to do that, might as well remove the Reliability criteria. My Cost to maintain criteria is mainly focusing on FC, insurance etc. take note that this cost alone for Suburu can be at least more than 15k for 10 years usage than the other 2 cars. This is the strength of C4 and QQ over Suburu. If i follow your remmandation on your propose, where am I going to penalize the later on its high road tax and FC? You might want to move/adjust the cost to maintain for the C4 to 2 points. Imagine 1yr later, fuel pump spoil, 2nd yr, motherboard charging the battery spoil, 3rd year lambda sensor spoil. Whereas Jap cars, nothing spoil for 3 yrs, Reliability, for C4, 2 points is about there. Imagine 1st yr car cannot start, fuel pump fail; 2nd yr car cannot start, battery flat because motherboard spoil cannot charge battery; 3rd yr car, engine got unstable idle, lethargic, no power, crawl to workshop for early servicing. Add in towing cost for all the breakdowns....... The time wasted at workshop, waiting for tow truck, the appointments missed, cost of repairs. how is points for cost to maintain higher than jap car? Edited October 20, 2015 by Axela72 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 My final shortlist for this 3 cars is also due to the cost is about the same at +/-115k. C4 get a bonus due to high OMV I have no idea that the paper value of C4 is down to a pathetic value of 3.5k after 10 years of usage until someone educate here. This has started to become a con to me U dont know? Check the QQ thread discussion C4 selling price is low is due to 15k cevs rebate. The rebate will be deducted from your parf if you decide to scrap it. But my vote goes to C4 coz of design, features and space. I'm looking at getting one too if wife decides to get a license. For me, just buy a car you like. If you consider about resale value, reliability etc you'll end up with a car that is common on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear October 20, 2015 Author Share October 20, 2015 wow, I didnt' know that. It is the part cost that is killing 5 years warranty ah? read carefully...... only on labour....pay for fuel pump? $300. pay for motherboard? $400. pay for lambda sensor? $250. towing? $60 each time. How many times do you want to pay before you say, "I had enough!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 (edited) So why do you still drive Citroen after so many problems? i left the brand 3 yrs ago driving passat b6 and w212 now my 12 yr is pretty problem free, cos the older engines are not that bad, even the AL4 the nonsense comes in after 2010 with the new 1.6T and so on which is why u see so many old C4/307..etc still running, they are more reliable than the models now 4 Citroens over 12 years some more? Hoping that the next one will not have any issue? Or brand loyalty? i got 1 car and 1 commericla from prev dealer 2 from C&C 1 for my bro from C&C so technically is 4 car and 1 commercial the price i got is pretty good, as good as "dealer/salesperson" buy for own use price, meaning > 15k discount smelly smelly when i sold my prev c4 at 5 yrs, i only lost 18k off the price i buy it, even cheaper than car rental not say cannot buy, but u must be smart which model can buy, which cannot... just like vw, all 7 dry cannot buy, got DQ250 or Aisin AT6 sure can buy Edited October 20, 2015 by Furrynadz 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 So why do you still drive Citroen after so many problems? Stockholm syndrome ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 I understand where you are coming from. There is a grey area between Reliability vs Cost to maintain. I feel that since I already penalize C4 on Reliability, I shouldn't be penalizing it again on Cost to maintain. If we want to do that, might as well remove the Reliability criteria. My Cost to maintain criteria is mainly focusing on FC, insurance etc. take note that this cost alone for Suburu can be at least more than 15k for 10 years usage than the other 2 cars. This is the strength of C4 and QQ over Suburu. If i follow your remmandation on your propose, where am I going to penalize the later on its high road tax and FC? if focusing on "maintenance" for citroen mainly only 2 places T&P, or Antz if u talking abt "know how", means problem solving, usual oil change anywhere can do since its common sense T&P is usually jam packed, messy and cheaper, and no big boobs Antz is not that jam with 2 shops, cleaner, and pricier than agent, and yes no big boobs too...but i wont put much faith in a place run by a 10 yr service advisor sitting behind the desk...just saying... unless u like a bagful of screws...more info u can pm me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear October 20, 2015 Author Share October 20, 2015 This is not the 1st time I heard ppls comment reliability base on gearbox or engine. Does that mean other stuff reliability in the car is OK/ not a concerns?. I thought is the other way round that this car is not reliable due to the numerous electronic stuff it carried instead i left the brand 3 yrs ago driving passat b6 and w212 now my 12 yr is pretty problem free, cos the older engines are not that bad, even the AL4 the nonsense comes in after 2010 with the new 1.6T and so on which is why u see so many old C4/307..etc still running, they are more reliable than the models now I just need to take 10 min of walk to T&P as it is near my office. My current car maintenance workshop is just a level above it. if focusing on "maintenance" for citroen mainly only 2 places T&P, or Antz if u talking abt "know how", means problem solving, usual oil change anywhere can do since its common sense T&P is usually jam packed, messy and cheaper, and no big boobs Antz is not that jam with 2 shops, cleaner, and pricier than agent, and yes no big boobs too...but i wont put much faith in a place run by a 10 yr service advisor sitting behind the desk...just saying... unless u like a bagful of screws...more info u can pm me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 This is not the 1st time I heard ppls comment reliability base on gearbox or engine. Does that mean other stuff reliability in the car is OK/ not a concerns?. I thought is the other way round that this car is not reliable due to the numerous electronic stuff it carried instead I just need to take 10 min of walk to T&P as it is near my office. My current car maintenance workshop is just a level above it. good...near T&P servicing is decently priced, and he is very friendly and good at troubleshooting, office nearby is extra bonus mean u can drop car there and collect evening i been using them since 2002 modern day citroen is quite a hit and miss french electrical parts reliability is quite poor, especially stuff like LCD screens / panels fading, fuel pump electricals..etc if u dont mind the low parf at ten yrs, and understand the risks it might carry and go in with eyes open, french car is among the best value for money out there especially their mpv u can drop by there and talk to my mechanic first hand , and get some idea..etc b4 u commit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 S cross or the coming mij vitara.? Since pi is out. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 20, 2015 Share October 20, 2015 bro furry, what is your take on the c4 diesel engine. As problematic as petrol variant? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...