Coolant level going down

Sash1401

5th Gear
  On 3/4/2025 at 8:08 AM, PSP415 said:

Seriously, why not let the mechanic hoist car up to check whether there are visible leaked water/coolant marks. 

If wan to top up with just water, try using distilled water. Otherwise, mix 50/50 coolant and water is ideal. 

My experience with leaking water coolant led me to change radiator, water pump with thermostat assbly and oil filter housing. Wear and tear issues.

The oil filter housing was critical for me as coolant is threatening to cross over to engine oil. Would have cost me much more to rectify. It was almost a near miss cos tot radiator and water pump replaced liao, all's well until a bit pool of brand new coolant was on the floor the very next morning. 

Just sharing. Yours may not be as serious. 

Stay safe 

Expand  

pardon my ignorance, the coolant is stored in radiator tank right ?  my mechanic changed the radiator tank and coolant 2 years ago.  

In any case, this car is already 9.5yr and actually my new car is ready in the warehouse, COE secured in Feb, I am just waiting to bid a VRN before registering it.  

Will dealer resell it ? or tai chia ? dunno what they will do to it.   First time driving a car to 9.5yrs... 

Edited by Bezbee

  On 3/4/2025 at 8:20 AM, Bezbee said:

pardon my ignorance, the coolant is stored in radiator tank right ?  my mechanic changed the radiator tank and coolant 2 years ago.  

In any case, this car is already 9.5yr and actually my new car is ready in the warehouse, COE secured in Feb, I am just waiting to bid a VRN before registering it.  

Will dealer resell it ? or tai chia ? dunno what they will do to it.   First time driving a car to 9.5yrs... 

Expand  

Congrats on new ride. 

My car had the coolant issues last week and it's 8.5 years old. Definitely had to repair if I do not want a burning car or need to overhaul engine which will cost more. First time changing out my radiator, water pump and oil filter housing, wear and tear issues. 

I only read your later post on the age of your car after I replied, in which case, it is cheaper to just top up with water as car might be scrapped. If dealer want to renew COE, the onus is upon him but yes, they are generally not known to have a conscience. At least by far and very far, there are a few but almost dino status. 

Stay safe 

  On 3/4/2025 at 8:12 AM, Bezbee said:

Thank you for the advice.  Ok I will try adding water after work, engine should have cool down and hopefully the message goes away.

Else will just try to add the coolant, the bottle cost only $13, so I don't mind buying.  But I will go with the advice to add water first. 

My car is 9.5year old liao, perhaps water is the best.🤣

Expand  

Add water in the expansion tank (which is next to radiator).

For expansion tank, no need wait for engine to cool down.

Tomorrow, check whether there is still water in expansion tank.

If no water, continue to add.

  On 3/4/2025 at 8:20 AM, Bezbee said:

Expand  

dont care la. just carry a 1.5L bottle or 2 bottles. just top up until hand over. dont waste money even bothering to buy distilled water. tap tap all the way.

  On 3/4/2025 at 8:36 AM, inlinesix said:

Add water in the expansion tank (which is next to radiator).

For expansion tank, no need wait for engine to cool down.

Tomorrow, check whether there is still water in expansion tank.

If no water, continue to add.

Expand  

expansion tank for conti is pressurized. dont sabo him. only jap car can open anytime.

5th Gear

there is only 1 tank that is storing the coolant le, isn't it? Got 2 meh ? 😧

Capture.JPG

  On 3/4/2025 at 8:55 AM, Bezbee said:

there is only 1 tank that is storing the coolant le, isn't it? Got 2 meh ? 😧

Capture.JPG

Expand  

your car only has one (some have two but I don't want to confuse you)

fill the water until the white plastic post/marker bar is submerged in water, that is the MAX level

your car may have a different shape post/marker bar but there will be one right under the cap after you open it

20240413_004524.thumb.jpg.a2561c64e34fc50133ee8d1ce5e6b43a.jpg

5th Gear

I open up the tank just now, coolant level looks very low, can almost see the base of the white plastic tank. I was monitoring temperature during the drive home it stays quite stable between 80-100. 

I don’t think is a good idea to just add water, I seriously worry that engine may overheat.  I think top up a bottle of coolant at $13 is better than the risk of serious damage, after all, the car has another 6 months to go. 

IMG_5902.thumb.jpeg.e068c79f6f7cdd1bc8cfbf8bb3628bb5.jpeg

5th Gear
  On 3/4/2025 at 10:04 AM, badlammy said:

Ya if water temp still normal, just put tap water and let dealer die.

Expand  

mai la, later the car breakdown on the road everyone suffers… I’ll be driving it for another 2 weeks le

  On 3/4/2025 at 11:25 AM, Bezbee said:

I open up the tank just now, coolant level looks very low, can almost see the base of the white plastic tank. I was monitoring temperature during the drive home it stays quite stable between 80-100. 

I don’t think is a good idea to just add water, I seriously worry that engine may overheat.  I think top up a bottle of coolant at $13 is better than the risk of serious damage, after all, the car has another 6 months to go. 

Expand  

Coolant serves to prevent rusting etc. (in cold climate it is anti freeze). For 1-2 months or 6 months to scrap, coolant or tap water no difference one. No need to worry too much. 

Expand  

Water is more than enough.

Coolant without enough dilution will increase temperature.

Water enough liao

Expand  

Wah Lao…. After all the advice you wanna spend $13… buy half chicken and eat is a better way to spend the $13.

majority of workshops out there don’t even bother to put distilled water. All mix with tap. The only problem with local tap water is the slightly higher levels of chlorine which can cause a bit of corrosion if not mixed with corrosion inhibitors. Else our water is not hard water and there will not be calcification. 
6mths won’t make a difference la. 

alot of driver got big misconception on 'coolant' 

they see the word 'cool' in front, they assume must be coolant then can cool down car, (i dun blame them, 1 cannot be expert on all stuff)

actually any plain water out there can cool down the engine as good as any coolant, 

just remember got water in there better then no water, coolant or not

coolant is to prevent rust, and freezing only, (maybe got other function i dun know of)

  On 3/4/2025 at 12:26 PM, Beregond said:

alot of driver got big misconception on 'coolant' 

they see the word 'cool' in front, they assume must be coolant then can cool down car, (i dun blame them, 1 cannot be expert on all stuff)

actually any plain water out there can cool down the engine as good as any coolant, 

just remember got water in there better then no water, coolant or not

coolant is to prevent rust, and freezing only, (maybe got other function i dun know of)

Expand  

Coolant has corrosion inhibitors, lower freezing point(not applicable here) and some additives for water pump lubrication. Actually 100% distilled water plus surfactant is the best. Race cars all use this. Plus any spilling of coolant in accidents don’t destroy the track surface and cause accidents. 
however 100% distilled water in sg without corrosion inhibitors will cause rust on some iron blocks. I would add the least amount of coolant to distilled water to give the best heat transfers and yet retain enough corrosion inhibitors. Typically about 1part coolant to 2parts distilled water. 

following factory recommendations is the right thing to do

if I first time doing this

for $13, I confirm trust the owner's manual rather than some random old farts online 😁

bro Bezbee, I support you 

5th Gear

Thank you everyone for your valuable advice, appreciate your time & effort in response to my issue.    I am sure adding water as temporary measure will work, but the manufacturer won't recommend use of coolant for no reason, in any case, all roads lead to Rome.  The alert message has been cleared, hopefully good until I handover the car. :a-happy: 

  On 3/5/2025 at 2:04 AM, Bezbee said:

Thank you everyone for your valuable advice, appreciate your time & effort in response to my issue.    I am sure adding water as temporary measure will work, but the manufacturer won't recommend use of coolant for no reason, in any case, all roads lead to Rome.  The alert message has been cleared, hopefully good until I handover the car. :a-happy: 

Expand  

As Mkl22 mentioned, coolant is used as corrosion inhibitor.

In my ole Nissan Sunny, too much coolant was added.

Engine temp was on the higher side till I diluted it with water over time.