Coolant level going down

Sash1401

On 10/14/2015 at 11:06 PM, ER-3682 said:

Maybe there is an "Airlock" during filling of coolant....change the cap first...& monitor...cap should be quite cheap..between $10-$20.

Can I check what is airlock ?

On 10/15/2015 at 3:23 AM, Sash1401 said:

Dear fellow bros,

Thank u so much for the valuable advises. I think i will monitor for thr next few days to c if the level stablised. Meanwhile i will go get the radiator cap to change as well. I do hope its becoz of the air lock n the water level will remains the same after a few more days.

If you want to change the radiator cap, please ensure the engine is cold before changing the cap or else you will be scalded.

On 10/15/2015 at 6:24 AM, Sash1401 said:

Thanks bro!! Dis is indeed v detailed

To bleed or purge air bubbles from Avante, it's quite easy.

With the engine cool, remove the radiator cap.

Start the engine in P (or N) gear and wait for it to warm up.

Look at the coolant level from top of the radiator, you will see it going up and down, when the water pump starts working, and the thermostat is opened and the engine is at working temp.

Near the throttle body, you will a cable with a half-moon plastic. That cable is the accelerator cable.

Wear a glove to protect your hand from heat.

If you rotate the half-moon plastic, you'll be pulling the throttle cable and accelerating the engine.

Pull the cable a few times and watched the coolant coming up.

It may spill over, doesn't matter, just work the cable.

You may also see big or small air bubbles coming up, that's the air bubble purging.

Keep doing until you see very little air bubbles...and you're done.

Shut down the engine, fill up to the brim with distill water, and put the cap back on.

Edited by Kb27

On 10/15/2015 at 3:23 AM, Sash1401 said:

Dear fellow bros,

Thank u so much for the valuable advises. I think i will monitor for thr next few days to c if the level stablised. Meanwhile i will go get the radiator cap to change as well. I do hope its becoz of the air lock n the water level will remains the same after a few more days.

Hope it will solve the problem..... otherwise you have to go down workshop and do a pressure test and find where is the leakage.....

the mechanic who changed the coolant don't know/bother to fill it properly.

the thermostat traps a big gulp of air when the coolant is drained and fresh coolant refilled, the mechanic needs to warm up the engine to the point the thermostat open and release that gulp of air to the top of the radiator and refill it again to the proper level.

if the mechanic just pour in fresh coolant to the brim, filled the expansion tank and close the radiator cap without the step mentioned above, the pocket of air that trapped by the thermostat will purge out when you drive the car and lower the coolant level in the radiator.

What I saw that day was the last steps of the servicing, the mechanic decarbonise the engine and at the same time he took out the radiator cap n let the engine run.... I saw the coolant level rise n drop a few times while the mechanic oso top up the level n ard 20 mins lata, the whole process ended.... Is dis the correct way u r toking abt?

yes, did he also turn the air-con to the hottest temperature (heater) when he warmed up the car?

If yes, your reduced coolant may due to other reason(s).

On 10/15/2015 at 1:14 PM, Phang said:

yes, did he also turn the air-con to the hottest temperature (heater) when he warmed up the car?

If yes, your reduced coolant may due to other reason(s).

Nope..... I think he did not on the air con.... But the surprising thing is after the servicing I drove my family out n the next day even went jb, all dis journey still not enuf to solved the air lock prob? Next up will be to change the radiator cap 1st Liao.... But jus now when I checked the cap it seemed to b in perfect condition.... Only tat today I din use the car, tats y can't judge the radiator cap wif the engine warmed up

On 10/16/2015 at 12:31 PM, Sash1401 said:

Oic.. aftertat the level stablised?

Yes. if possible don't use distilled water to top up. Use back the same coolant. Using water create havoc on your water pump 

You can clear airlocks on your own. Check youtube for some demo videos. Basically open the radiator cap, then start the engine and wait for it to warm up. Watch the temperature gauge to ensure it doesn't overheat. Set your temperature to full heat to allow the coolant to flow into the heater matrix. Top up water/coolant if the fluid level drops when the thermostat opens.

Once everything is looking good, switch off engine and close radiator cap. Also make sure your coolant reservoir has some coolant inside.

fellow bros,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedbacks during this time... the coolant level in my car has stabilised as what the ws guys told me.... shld be due to air lock which takes time for the coolant level to stabilised.  anyway thank u all for the kind words and advises.  good day ahead!!  cheers!!

I noticed the coolant level of my wife's car is dropping slowly since a few months ago

at the rate of around 500ml per 10,000km, that is not normal but not a big leak too, not enough to trigger the low coolant level warning in 10,000km

I also couldn't find any dried up coolant traces on the engine and the engine compartment during my routine checks

today I took out my borescope to check areas that I cannot see from outside

found some dried up coolant traces on the seam of the plastic coolant pipe under the intake manifolds 😑

300780649_51TopBVNZL._AC_SL1500_.thumb.jpg.7b479aebb6048db3b4e2a57d1289e342.jpg

s-l960.jpg.47d21476298db186d1c915b187f91021.jpg

20240623_221628.thumb.jpg.010ddc78125b8129ef3befedf287ac80.jpg

20240623_221302.thumb.jpg.066f8b4c6ed8976b30b679d66f3fa20b.jpg

On 6/23/2024 at 3:34 PM, Gnahp said:

I noticed the coolant level of my wife's car is dropping slowly since a few months ago

at the rate of around 500ml per 10,000km, that is not normal but not a big leak too, not enough to trigger the low coolant level warning in 10,000km

I also couldn't find any dried up coolant traces on the engine and the engine compartment during my routine checks

found some dried up coolant traces on the seam of the plastic coolant pipe under the intake manifolds 😑

Expand  

They say adding an egg will seal up the leak... 

Let us know the results! 

  On 6/24/2024 at 12:18 AM, Volvobrick said:

They say adding an egg will seal up the leak... 

Let us know the results! 

Expand  

In the old days I always hear add curry powder to radiator to stop a leak.

I imagine you just get curry soup in the radiator.

One that works is break down in the middle of nowhere ask gf to take off her pantyhose.

Use it as emergency fan belt.

But don't need to repair so fast lah.

Can repair after finish.

Edited by Jamesc

On 6/23/2024 at 3:34 PM, Gnahp said:

Expand  

IMHO.
Premixed coolant ? 
I had microsopic leaks before between the seams of the radiator top and coolant fins - different material and use of water for mixing with coolant. 
This kind of fault a bit hard to locate.  
I noticed my coolant system got issue because of the coolant temp keep rising on the scangauge device.