2015 Nissan Serena S-Hybrid 2.0 MPV

Zavi

My 2 weeks old Serena could not be started on Sunday morning. Tow truck uncle came and jump started the car with a small USB battery. He checked and told me battery dying. Hence, towed the car back to TC. I also complained that star-stop, lane departure and collision warning not working. I also complained high fuel consumption. 

TC replaced the battery and start-stop is back. Service engineer said when battery is weak, start-stop and lane warning will not work. Hence, if you feel that start-stop frequency is falling, battery is dying.

They tuned something and fuel efficiency seemed improved. From TC to home, PIE jammed all the way to Paya Lebar still able to get 13.5KM/L at average speed 27KM/h. 

However, I still have not heard lane departure and collision warning, despite many sudden e-brake along PIE. I am bringing the car back this Saturday....3rd time. 

Saw a black Serena SKX72xx along ECP this morning at 7.15am, second time already. First time at TC warehouse.  

Carrot81, to reset average speed, reset FC first, then press and hold again to reset ave speed. 

Kmttan you remember my car-plate number... wow... We probably are "easterners" and you spotted me on the only day I drove this week.   Have been travelling since that evening.

On the collision avoidance system, what I read in wikipedia, which I assume it refers to the same (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Collision_avoidance_system#Nissan) matches my own experience, which is based on "rate of closure" + distance.  This means that it should work whether the vehicle ahead is either stationary or in motion.  I am probably being too careful during the first 2 weeks and the collision avoidance system did not have a chance to kick in.   Only notice it last week when the car ahead did a hard brake and a second time round when I am overtaking.

Did my first servicing in TP service center... I am not impressed.

As the TP service center does not have the door visor in stock, I wrote to Tan Chong in JB and was quoted "The door visor set cost RM400 + installation cost RM 80( need to order from KL)-  RM200 as deposit" ... so still a no go for me.

None of my top of mind items are done.  Trying to schedule the paint protection next Monday.

Recent more "daring" drive also makes body roll more apparent.   Now thinking of getting front struct + anti-roll bars installed.   If any one has done it, do share the details... thanks (am considering Ultraracing to be done in Malaysia after watching the youtube recording).

Did my first servicing in TP service center... I am not impressed.

As the TP service center does not have the door visor in stock, I wrote to Tan Chong in JB and was quoted "The door visor set cost RM400 + installation cost RM 80( need to order from KL)-  RM200 as deposit" ... so still a no go for me.

None of my top of mind items are done.  Trying to schedule the paint protection next Monday.

Recent more "daring" drive also makes body roll more apparent.   Now thinking of getting front struct + anti-roll bars installed.   If any one has done it, do share the details... thanks (am considering Ultraracing to be done in Malaysia after watching the youtube recording).

bro, you should call up you SE and ask them to help you with the visor. I heard from mine saying that it is SGD80. 

I got mine via a fren staying in JB, cost less than RM200. the installation is really simple, butter finger like me can do it, I am sure anyone can do it better than me. the trick is dun pull out the plastic of the double side tape in one shot, pull out the plastic a bit and expose the double side tape, stick it on the car, and start pulling the plastic while you adjust the alignment. but before doing this, use some water to clean the area and dry it first. 

i also thinking of the struct + anti roll bars, maybe we can do a group purchase, but wonder how much it cost. I think our SerenaKing is also quite keen,

Tony , have you got over your itch already? hahaha

bro, you should call up you SE and ask them to help you with the visor. I heard from mine saying that it is SGD80.

I got mine via a fren staying in JB, cost less than RM200. the installation is really simple, butter finger like me can do it, I am sure anyone can do it better than me. the trick is dun pull out the plastic of the double side tape in one shot, pull out the plastic a bit and expose the double side tape, stick it on the car, and start pulling the plastic while you adjust the alignment. but before doing this, use some water to clean the area and dry it first.

i also thinking of the struct + anti roll bars, maybe we can do a group purchase, but wonder how much it cost. I think our SerenaKing is also quite keen,

Haha you know me well. Still considering. In fact found the body roll not as bad as my previously sienta with front struct bar.

I have lobang to bring in ultra racing bar, Tks to lobang from Malaysian counterparts. Still in contact with the company.

Still looking at settling the steering audio remote. Anyone has very reliable audio specialist to recommend? The audio console still with me. Want to seek second opinion.

post-98810-0-78893900-1452739477_thumb.jpeg

post-98810-0-26970300-1452739499_thumb.jpeg

Hi HHHuat,

Thanks for sharing.  The thought of getting it done during servicing is purely for convenience... and the "not-impressed" part is a separate matter all together. 

For contacting Tan Chong JB, the bigger motive is to check if they do the steering info system control.  They do not.  it is a safety mechanism that let me keep my hands and eyes to where they should be.

Was eyeing a day in JB for some personal matters and get one or two things done up for the car, thus doing some homework.

I'm considering this car as well. It is a good car with safety feature and good amount of space.

The truck release on the remote is useful, but I am glad it is not available as our parking spaces are clamp.

It seems that the model that T8 bought in is Highway Star G model with auto truck door closure, plasma intelligent air con and head support for the middle row of seat.

Serena is indeed a good car, the only draw back for some is there are only  2 front air bag. I like all the feature, lane changing alert, anti collision, 3 rows air con, 2nd row aircon digital control, 7 or 8 seat configuration, start stop function, dual auto sliding door(for highway star model only), front back disc brake, 

I have enjoy this car and have more "zeng" mood than my previous lancer. for the whole 8year, the car is stock. the few items I change is engine oil, filter, spark plug, brake pad and Tyre. hahaha....  

so far I did all the minor mod to make the ride more "fun" 

1. Internal room reading LED light (Tao bao , all in cost SGD63 + installation SGD30) 

2. Gear shift light (Tao bao, all in cost SGD 20 + installation SGD30)

3. Visor (JB, RM180)

4. cargo net at the boot area (Taobao, all in SGD10) 

5. tray coaster for all the compartment area (JP amazon, All in SGD45) 

6. side mirror auto close (TCM, SGD80) 

7. whole car dirt mat (except boot area) I din squeeze it from the SE, brought it after collecting the car (TCM, SGD80) 

8. extra OBD for car auto lock, auto hazard light during emergency brake, ...etc  (Tao bao, SGD23) 

will be doing PPS this sunday, should have done it since day 1, was really considering it for quite a while whether to "waste" the money or not. 

Edited by HHHuat

Hi HHHuat,

Thanks for sharing.  The thought of getting it done during servicing is purely for convenience... and the "not-impressed" part is a separate matter all together. 

For contacting Tan Chong JB, the bigger motive is to check if they do the steering info system control.  They do not.  it is a safety mechanism that let me keep my hands and eyes to where they should be.

Was eyeing a day in JB for some personal matters and get one or two things done up for the car, thus doing some homework.

TC JB TCSS lah, what safety mechanism? so all those high end car with the steering wheel control are all dangerous meh? my old 1.5 Lancer also equip with steering wheel vol control lor. 

JB should have a lot of toy for you to "zeng" your ride, happy shopping. change more RM 2weeks before CNY, the rates nearer to CNY normally no good. hahaha

Haha you know me well. Still considering. In fact found the body roll not as bad as my previously sienta with front struct bar.

I have lobang to bring in ultra racing bar, Tks to lobang from Malaysian counterparts. Still in contact with the company.

Still looking at settling the steering audio remote. Anyone has very reliable audio specialist to recommend? The audio console still with me. Want to seek second opinion.

well, if you decide to take the bait, we can do it together. I am poisoned by the king liao. hahaha.....

the steering remote, I think i saw Darren post a pic of it in the cari forum. maybe can check with him. 

Edited by HHHuat

TC JB TCSS lah, what safety mechanism? so all those high end car with the steering wheel control are all dangerous meh? my old 1.5 Lancer also equip with steering wheel vol control lor. 

JB should have a lot of toy for you to "zeng" your ride, happy shopping. change more RM 2weeks before CNY, the rates nearer to CNY normally no good. hahaha

I probably wasn't clear enough.  I am referring to the same thing aka volume control, channel change and what not  ... and this is the "safety mechanism" I am referring to, compared to none at all today.

Rather than buying it myself and search for a installer, if Tan Chong JB does it, it is definitely an option for me.

I probably wasn't clear enough.  I am referring to the same thing aka volume control, channel change and what not  ... and this is the "safety mechanism" I am referring to, compared to none at all today.

Rather than buying it myself and search for a installer, if Tan Chong JB does it, it is definitely an option for me.

hahaha...ok ok 

but there are a lot of complaint on Malaysia TC services center, think the Malaysian only go there do the basic car servicing in order to keep their 3years warranty.

Too bad,  TC Malaysia does not do the audio steering remote. That is why the Malaysian counterparts are doing it on their own. There are companies who claimed they can do and after failed attempts, claimed that the audio modules bought by the car owners are inferior.

Recently, there are successful cases. I am trying to see whether i need to purchase additional stuff in order to change. will monitor awhile before seeing whether to try it out. 

Serena is indeed a good car, the only draw back for some is there are only  2 front air bag. I like all the feature, lane changing alert, anti collision, 3 rows air con, 2nd row aircon digital control, 7 or 8 seat configuration, start stop function, dual auto sliding door(for highway star model only), front back disc brake, 

I have enjoy this car and have more "zeng" mood than my previous lancer. for the whole 8year, the car is stock. the few items I change is engine oil, filter, spark plug, brake pad and Tyre. hahaha....  

so far I did all the minor mod to make the ride more "fun" 

1. Internal room reading LED light (Tao bao , all in cost SGD63 + installation SGD30) 

2. Gear shift light (Tao bao, all in cost SGD 20 + installation SGD30)

3. Visor (JB, RM180)

4. cargo net at the boot area (Taobao, all in SGD10) 

5. tray coaster for all the compartment area (JP amazon, All in SGD45) 

6. side mirror auto close (TCM, SGD80) 

7. whole car dirt mat (except boot area) I din squeeze it from the SE, brought it after collecting the car (TCM, SGD80) 

8. extra OBD for car auto lock, auto hazard light during emergency brake, ...etc  (Tao bao, SGD23) 

will be doing PPS this sunday, should have done it since day 1, was really considering it for quite a while whether to "waste" the money or not. 

Wah, now you are the King now!

bro,  compare to your contribution and poison done, I pale in comparison. mine are just small small thing....not even near the king leg hair....hahaha

I assume highway star version got fog lamps, but how to turn it on har? i din see any additional nob or button to turn it on. 

Edited by HHHuat

bro,  compare to your contribution and poison done, I pale in comparison. mine are just small small thing....not even near the king leg hair....hahaha

I assume highway star version got fog lamps, but how to turn it on har? i din see any additional nob or button to turn it on. 

Haha Never ask SE hor.. its on the right side, the lever that controls the headlights. you need to turn it on or off, look carefully there is a fog light sign on the lever. 

if you interested in the struct bar and anti roll bar, let me know ya bro. to me now not the main thing i want to do. but if you want i can try to arrange together.

trying to get the customized boot mat as well as the mat for the steps (instead of scruff plate, as it can be slippery.) saw it at rakuten Japan. this poison you want? hehe...

Haha Never ask SE hor.. its on the right side, the lever that controls the headlights. you need to turn it on or off, look carefully there is a fog light sign on the lever.

if you interested in the struct bar and anti roll bar, let me know ya bro. to me now not the main thing i want to do. but if you want i can try to arrange together.

trying to get the customized boot mat as well as the mat for the steps (instead of scruff plate, as it can be slippery.) saw it at rakuten Japan. this poison you want? hehe...

poison king....u r all out trying to kill me is it...Hahahaha

Let me think think abt the struct bar ....the mat I also saw in JP website...very tempting ..

Edited by HHHuat

poison king....u r all out trying to kill me is it...Hahahaha

Let me think think abt the struct bar ....the mat I also saw in JP website...very tempting ..

Order mat must count me in hor... Haha

@TonyKing @HHHuat Wah... Both of u zeng so much... What is this side step mat both of u are referring to? Can post the link? Cos my wife also complaining that the side step very slippery, a bit dangerous esp when boarding/alighting when carrying baby. I thought it was slippery cos the PPS I went for included conditioning of all interior leather and plastic parts.

@HHHuat can post some photos/links for the cargo net and tray coasters? I would be interested in those as well.

For the auto locking function, I ended up along TC to install a car alarm for me @ $210. The alarm included auto locking when first step on brake after starting engine, auto unlock after turning off engine, as well as car finder / panic mode.

Edited by carrot81

41QiZ-5BhUL.jpg

41sfdLQHDYL.jpg

'

these mat not cheap lor....plus shipping, easily 90 per set. 

post-164735-0-46099800-1452790333.jpg

http://www.amazon.co.jp/%E3%82%A4%E3%83%B3%E3%83%86%E3%83%AA%E3%82%A2%E3%80%80%E3%83%89%E3%82%A2%E3%83%9D%E3%82%B1%E3%83%83%E3%83%88-%E3%83%89%E3%83%AA%E3%83%B3%E3%82%AF%E3%83%9B%E3%83%AB%E3%83%80%E3%83%BC-%E6%BB%91%E3%82%8A%E6%AD%A2%E3%82%81%E3%80%80%E3%83%8E%E3%83%B3%E3%82%B9%E3%83%AA%E3%83%83%E3%83%97-%E5%8F%8E%E7%B4%8D%E3%82%B9%E3%83%9A%E3%83%BC%E3%82%B9%E4%BF%9D%E8%AD%B7-SERENA%E3%80%80NISSAN/dp/B00YDIHFIA/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1452790386&sr=8-2&keywords=nissan+serena+c26

41KhZLHGjbL.jpg

here you go, i dunno what this is call, so just call it tray coaster,  our King also got buy, saw it in one of his pic. it can fit into all the lobang you can find in the car. i spend quite sometime finding the lobang to fit them, its like treasure hunt. quite fun especially when you finally figure out where this piece goes to. 

i also got think of doing the alarm system. i like the panic alarm. hahahaha....ganna poison again. 

Edited by HHHuat