Baal Supersonic October 6, 2015 Share October 6, 2015 What may fail is Singapore's uptake of private diesel vehicles. The 40cts per cc is not going to hold for long the way I see it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 6, 2015 Share October 6, 2015 The last I read in ST is that investigations by Tyt & Tkt found that a correlation. The longer the airbags are stuffed/loaded under hot & humid conditions, the stronger the boomz.So Tyt is engaging another Jap airbag coy & will start taking in stock by 2016 or 2017. Then they will recall in batches to refit the airbags, starting from vehicles that are older, due to the above reasons. Not sure if this arrangement applies to other Jap car coys which use Tkt airbags. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rantwb 2nd Gear October 6, 2015 Share October 6, 2015 What may fail is Singapore's uptake of private diesel vehicles. The 40cts per cc is not going to hold for long the way I see it. From what I guess, many diesel owners are not likely to reflash. After reflash, FC drops, power output drops. who would want that? How would VW enforce the recall for ECU reflash? Govt assisted recall? Then if forced, many VW owners may take legal action after the reflash? The last I read in ST is that investigations by Tyt & Tkt found that a correlation. The longer the airbags are stuffed/loaded under hot & humid conditions, the stronger the boomz. So Tyt is engaging another Jap airbag coy & will start taking in stock by 2016 or 2017. Then they will recall in batches to refit the airbags, starting from vehicles that are older, due to the above reasons. Not sure if this arrangement applies to other Jap car coys which use Tkt airbags. Yah, the faster the propellant degrades, the more violent the explosion..... Sigh, I worry for metal shards in my face....... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 6, 2015 Share October 6, 2015 Ya, I thought of that also. Maybe thats why many Jap makes only have 2 airbags. lol.I wonder how heavy does 1 airbag together with all the associated parts weigh.... hmm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 6, 2015 Share October 6, 2015 Our NEA is too busy with the Haze. I guess No time to tackle the diesel issue. Based on the NEA policy, diesel car must pass Euro V standard before registration. Then the independent test report shows, most diesel models exceed 7-19 times of Euro VI. Euro V to Euro VI is about 50% reduction. So, those current diesel model here surely exceed Euro V standard by 3-10 times. But no statement from NEA leh weather temporary suspend all Diesel model pending new test result. One brand very smart. they update their spec to CO2 emission : Euro V. which is valid. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nfshp253 1st Gear October 6, 2015 Share October 6, 2015 I don't think NEA will care so much about the NOx emissions here since CO2 is a direct greenhouse gas while NOx aren't. And these cars are so much cleaner anyway than those terribly old Mitsubishi dump trucks you see spewing out all sorts of noxious fumes. I think it's understood that laboratory tests are definitely not representative of real-world conditions. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged October 6, 2015 Share October 6, 2015 I don't think NEA will care so much about the NOx emissions here since CO2 is a direct greenhouse gas while NOx aren't. And these cars are so much cleaner anyway than those terribly old Mitsubishi dump trucks you see spewing out all sorts of noxious fumes. I think it's understood that laboratory tests are definitely not representative of real-world conditions. Vehicles here can only use 10 years and every 2 years inspection talk si mi emission lah. Those US ppl also talk cock one lah, can mod cars like no body business and the love for huge engine also talk si mi emission shit, those really polluting are not these puny diesel engines. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged October 7, 2015 Share October 7, 2015 I wounder how many driver is willing to go back. fixing the issue means sacrifying the performance and efficiency of the vehicle... ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ BERLIN - Volkswagen Chief Executive Matthias Mueller said in an interview with a German newspaper that the company would launch a recall for cars affected by its diesel emissions crisis in January and complete the fix by the end of next year. "If all goes according to plan, we can start the recall in January. All the cars should be fixed by the end of 2016," Mueller told the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ). The newspaper provided a copy of the interview prior to publication on Wednesday. For the U.S. market, a company spokeswoman said later, the remedy will first have to be agreed upon with Environmental Protection Agency, but she offered no timing for that. Mueller told the FAZ that he believed only a few employees were involved in the diesel emissions rigging that has hammered the company's stock and done severe damage to its reputation, refuting the notion that his detail-oriented predecessor Martin Winterkorn must have known about it. He said VW would have to become smaller and less centralized, adding that every model and brand would be scrutinized for its contribution to the company and singling out Bugatti. But he said an "evolution" rather than a "revolution" was needed to get VW back on track, predicting that the company could "shine again" in two to three years. "This crisis gives us an opportunity to overhaul Volkswagen's structures," Mueller said. "We want to make the company slimmer, more decentralized and give the brands more responsibility. Mueller rejected the suggestion that VW had informed financial markets too late about the diesel problems despite having told officials at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) weeks before it went public. "Based on our understanding of the law, we informed in time," he said. source: http://www.todayonline.com/business/volkswagen-ceo-says-recall-start-january-be-completed-end-2016 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 7, 2015 Share October 7, 2015 (edited) depends whether it is voluntary or compulsory (under LTA directive) if voluntary i would speculate the willingness is very low ... . . . radx ... please move this thread to VW scandal thread Edited October 7, 2015 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged October 7, 2015 Share October 7, 2015 depends whether it is voluntary or compulsory (under LTA directive) if voluntary i would speculate the willingness is very low ... . . . radx ... please move this thread to VW scandal thread Ya, depends on whether this recall is voluntary or compulsory. Who wants to spend time bringing their car in to the workshop... as if VW don't spend enough time in the workshop liao 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic October 7, 2015 Share October 7, 2015 Especially after VW "fixes" it, the car will be more sluggish and have worse fuel consumption.... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penknife 5th Gear October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 just sell the vehicle and condemn vw 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 Especially after VW "fixes" it, the car will be more sluggish and have worse fuel consumption.... ...maybe the fix is to replace the engine to petrol engine. Then not too bad lah.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 govt should stop pte cars using diesel pollutive, low class fuel, diesel, also known as you sai, should only be used by low class vehicles like goods vehicles and taxis pte cars, being so high class, should just consume top class fuel such as v power 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imac 5th Gear October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 Our NEA is too busy with the Haze. I guess No time to tackle the diesel issue. Based on the NEA policy, diesel car must pass Euro V standard before registration. Then the independent test report shows, most diesel models exceed 7-19 times of Euro VI. Euro V to Euro VI is about 50% reduction. So, those current diesel model here surely exceed Euro V standard by 3-10 times. But no statement from NEA leh weather temporary suspend all Diesel model pending new test result. One brand very smart. they update their spec to CO2 emission : Euro V. which is valid. NEA already stated that Volkswagen models in emissions scandal not sold in Singapore. Read here... http://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/volkswagen-models-in-emissions-scandal-not-sold-in-singapore-nea 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 11, 2015 Share October 11, 2015 (edited) kena grilled 2+ hours non stop ... . . . the best answer was ... we can fix this ... the new car would met emmission standard and not compromise car performance and fuel efficiency then kena asked - why not just build the car instead of installing cheating device i guess the answer is ... it's cheaper to cheat (bring in more profit) ... lol Edited October 11, 2015 by Wt_know 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 11, 2015 Share October 11, 2015 In this case, its wrong to make more $.😜 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator October 12, 2015 Share October 12, 2015 NEA announces no new registrations will be allowed until Volkswagen has completed rectification of all affected vehicles http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/approval-for-affected/2187074.html ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...