Ender Hypersonic September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 Cyclist ride safely for others and yourself. Ride on the PCN only.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 No use. Cuz You made it easier for them by leaving a big gap on the right by doing that. Most will still go infront of you and even worse cuz now they are directly infront of you. If they squeeze past by the left, at least they are still near the kerb when moving off. When I cycle, I love those drivers who are considerate and leave alot of space on the right for cyclists to overtake. Makes it easier than squeezing past between the kerb and their car on the left. Those who stop on the left of car is not that clever as driver can't see them. On the other hand, i usually stop behind vehicles. If night time, i will go all the way to the front. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 No use. Cuz You made it easier for them by leaving a big gap on the right by doing that. Most will still go infront of you and even worse cuz now they are directly infront of you. If they squeeze past by the left, at least they are still near the kerb when moving off. When I cycle, I love those drivers who are considerate and leave alot of space on the right for cyclists to overtake. Makes it easier than squeezing past between the kerb and their car on the left. Sane riders would stay behind my back while those who prefers to keep on the R side of L lane, good luck to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 Those who stop on the left of car is not that clever as driver can't see them. On the other hand, i usually stop behind vehicles. If night time, i will go all the way to the front. Usually if got space I'll go all the way to the front. I only stay behind the vehicles if no space or got other cyclists and motorcycles infront already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunscreen Clutched September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 I am a cyclist myself and have been driving for more than 10 years. My voice might not speak for all cyclist in Singapore, but I can safely say, most of it. From what I see, there are 3 types of cyclist in Singapore currently: 1. Casual cyclist: Rides short distance. (to coffeeshop for makan / to supermarket to buy stuffs / casual ride to PCN etc..) Casual cyclist will never ride on the roads. Payment or PCN are the only way casual cyclist will use. Casual cyclist have, as you have noticed, 'CASUAL' knowledge on the ethicality of riding a bicycle (be it on payment or on roads). Their main objectives is to get from point A to point B within the shortest route / time. 2. Serious cyclist: Rides longer distance. (be it for training / group riding / commuting etc..) Serious cyclist will always ride on the road, seldom at PCN and never at payment. They seek convenience with little or no obstruction and riding on the road gives serious cyclist just that. Being serious in cycling also means reading up and being more knowledgeable in handling a bike and being aware of traffic rules. They usually travel in groups, use hand signals to communicate and take great care to protect the less experience serious riders in the middle of a group. Of course there are some (like me) who cycle alone at times as well. Most serious cyclist follow traffic rules. 3. The neither here nor there cyclists: These are the ones who are the hardest to predict with their electric bike. I may be stereotyping but from my experience, most electric bike riders who bang into people and cars on roads are usually old uncles who have no regards for traffic rules and personal safety of pedestrians. In fact some of the casual cyclist also fall into this group. I enjoy cycling as much as driving. And I respect every cyclist whom I come across when I am driving. Although there have been many incidents lately with cyclist flouting traffic rules, I feel the respect between cyclist and drivers in SIngapore are maturing. Yes, there is a incident every few months but i do see cyclists adhering to traffic rules, drivers giving ways to cyclists, cyclists using hand signals to change lanes etcc.. on a daily basis. Like all complaints and rants in social media, compliance to good cycling / driving behaviour are usually ignore while accidents are usually amplified. There are always bad eggs in every segment of society but please do not generalise all cyclist in SIngapore just because of a few incidents. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 Usually if got space I'll go all the way to the front. I only stay behind the vehicles if no space or got other cyclists and motorcycles infront already. The reason i move to the front at night is to avoid any goondu drivers running into me (despite having a very bright tail light). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 I saw a lady cycle inside kallang wave mall....looks prc to me 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 you sure or not? seems like more and more idiots cyclists on the road i rather they ride on the road and knocked by lorry than they ride on pavements and knock into old folks and young kids lor I'm sure there are those who want to cycle to work as it's only 10 mins from their house, but due to the dangers end up having to take public transport. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 Tks bro. This deserves a new category and thread as this benchmark ruling changes everything Hopefully the thread doesn't descend into the usual cycle bashing thread. But the charged cyclist fled the scene after hitting. Regardless of whether using a vehicle, bike, etc, you don't do this. But infrastructure does need to improve. These cycling towns are patchwork solutions to getting cyclists off the road. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 21, 2015 Author Share September 21, 2015 Hopefully the thread doesn't descend into the usual cycle bashing thread. But the charged cyclist fled the scene after hitting. Regardless of whether using a vehicle, bike, etc, you don't do this. But infrastructure does need to improve. These cycling towns are patchwork solutions to getting cyclists off the road. so far as this place goes, nobody is going down that path and clearly, this fellow hit and chose to run. Even @davidtch is clear in how he sees this event. No question abt it As far as I see it, its waiting to blow up as I see many still cycling on pavements oblivivious of their surroundings and disregard for safety. This will not be the first 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 But infrastructure does need to improve. These cycling towns are patchwork solutions to getting cyclists off the road. Land needed for PCN is dependant on other govt agency. Nparks can't do too much about it. It will take someone high enough to see the importance of PCN. This person only then can make all govt agency sit down and sought things out holistically. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 Land needed for PCN is dependant on other govt agency. Nparks can't do too much about it. It will take someone high enough to see the importance of PCN. This person only then can make all govt agency sit down and sought things out holistically. You run for President I vote you lah 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 You run for President I vote you lah 😂 5 praise for you!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 I am a cyclist myself and have been driving for more than 10 years. My voice might not speak for all cyclist in Singapore, but I can safely say, most of it. From what I see, there are 3 types of cyclist in Singapore currently: 1. Casual cyclist: Rides short distance. (to coffeeshop for makan / to supermarket to buy stuffs / casual ride to PCN etc..) Casual cyclist will never ride on the roads. Payment or PCN are the only way casual cyclist will use. Casual cyclist have, as you have noticed, 'CASUAL' knowledge on the ethicality of riding a bicycle (be it on payment or on roads). Their main objectives is to get from point A to point B within the shortest route / time. 2. Serious cyclist: Rides longer distance. (be it for training / group riding / commuting etc..) Serious cyclist will always ride on the road, seldom at PCN and never at payment. They seek convenience with little or no obstruction and riding on the road gives serious cyclist just that. Being serious in cycling also means reading up and being more knowledgeable in handling a bike and being aware of traffic rules. They usually travel in groups, use hand signals to communicate and take great care to protect the less experience serious riders in the middle of a group. Of course there are some (like me) who cycle alone at times as well. Most serious cyclist follow traffic rules. 3. The neither here nor there cyclists: These are the ones who are the hardest to predict with their electric bike. I may be stereotyping but from my experience, most electric bike riders who bang into people and cars on roads are usually old uncles who have no regards for traffic rules and personal safety of pedestrians. In fact some of the casual cyclist also fall into this group. I enjoy cycling as much as driving. And I respect every cyclist whom I come across when I am driving. Although there have been many incidents lately with cyclist flouting traffic rules, I feel the respect between cyclist and drivers in SIngapore are maturing. Yes, there is a incident every few months but i do see cyclists adhering to traffic rules, drivers giving ways to cyclists, cyclists using hand signals to change lanes etcc.. on a daily basis. Like all complaints and rants in social media, compliance to good cycling / driving behaviour are usually ignore while accidents are usually amplified. There are always bad eggs in every segment of society but please do not generalise all cyclist in SIngapore just because of a few incidents. you left out the commuting cyclist. these are your mostly fws/fts who rent hdb rooms, work in factories nearby and rely on their bicycles to get to work, every day rain or shine. lots of them in the heartlands. in my view they are the most ignorant but can also be the easiest to educate but no-one has come forward. i worry for them when they get on the road too. One hand on phone, one hand on handle, and at night, lights are optional. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 no need to look too far. early morning you can see parents sending their kids to school on those electric bicycles. i can understand that it can be tough ferrying a kid and sometimes with another in tow. perhaps LTA may want to look into widening the foot path leading in/out out these areas to accomodate both human and bicycle traffic 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 I am a cyclist myself and have been driving for more than 10 years. My voice might not speak for all cyclist in Singapore, but I can safely say, most of it. From what I see, there are 3 types of cyclist in Singapore currently: 1. Casual cyclist: Rides short distance. (to coffeeshop for makan / to supermarket to buy stuffs / casual ride to PCN etc..) Casual cyclist will never ride on the roads. Payment or PCN are the only way casual cyclist will use. Casual cyclist have, as you have noticed, 'CASUAL' knowledge on the ethicality of riding a bicycle (be it on payment or on roads). Their main objectives is to get from point A to point B within the shortest route / time. 2. Serious cyclist: Rides longer distance. (be it for training / group riding / commuting etc..) Serious cyclist will always ride on the road, seldom at PCN and never at payment. They seek convenience with little or no obstruction and riding on the road gives serious cyclist just that. Being serious in cycling also means reading up and being more knowledgeable in handling a bike and being aware of traffic rules. They usually travel in groups, use hand signals to communicate and take great care to protect the less experience serious riders in the middle of a group. Of course there are some (like me) who cycle alone at times as well. Most serious cyclist follow traffic rules. 3. The neither here nor there cyclists: These are the ones who are the hardest to predict with their electric bike. I may be stereotyping but from my experience, most electric bike riders who bang into people and cars on roads are usually old uncles who have no regards for traffic rules and personal safety of pedestrians. In fact some of the casual cyclist also fall into this group. I enjoy cycling as much as driving. And I respect every cyclist whom I come across when I am driving. Although there have been many incidents lately with cyclist flouting traffic rules, I feel the respect between cyclist and drivers in SIngapore are maturing. Yes, there is a incident every few months but i do see cyclists adhering to traffic rules, drivers giving ways to cyclists, cyclists using hand signals to change lanes etcc.. on a daily basis. Like all complaints and rants in social media, compliance to good cycling / driving behaviour are usually ignore while accidents are usually amplified. There are always bad eggs in every segment of society but please do not generalise all cyclist in SIngapore just because of a few incidents. Perhaps we could refine your categorization by using the riders intelligence and ability levels. Personally, early morning as in 6.15 am under the keppel viaduct, there are the high ability leotard cyclists (tour de France group numbers) and your blue collar solitary rider. The high ability folks, you know, high visibility, blinking lights, know how to drive and traffic law. Take up the entire third lane. The blue collar rider is dressed in scruffy clothes and cycling on the first lane, without lights. It is really dark and at 60km/hr, he suddenly show up before you know it, and most probably don't know how to drive and his traffic law is anything goes. All of them are human lives, and important to us. Lawyer under my wheel sama as Bangladesh baya under my wheel. Yes? As drivers, We have to be wary of pratfalls. (458 and 911 paralyzed by cyclists. Then no fun Liao lor. If the old lady that was injured is our mother, how would you have justice done? How furious is our anger? We are only limited by our ability and intelligence. As an MP, 1. Introduce a bill that calls for registration of ability and fitness to ride bicycles on the road. (If drivers need a certain IQ and judgement ability to operate on the roads, why shouldn't cyclists? Dun bring the old era law into it, it is dinosaur.) 2. Set a table for financial reparations. (Sell hdb to pay versus sell GCB, no. Perhaps a fix percentage of the culprits net worth?) 3. Jail the cyclist? even juveniles and persons with low iq, congenital dystrophy. I don't think so. A special class to be designated for electric wheelchairs, I know many 'runners' abuse this equipment inside and outside the office. What do we know about this offending cyclist? His background and financial worth? He knows he is in big trouble, that why run road. So smarter people with higher ability can bury their accidents. I would not spade the kate for this minimal, infinitesimally minimal attempt at regulation and control of cyclists. What if mil to her man? Her arm is permanently damaged with partial recovery. So much for Pioneer generation appreciation. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Submarine 1st Gear September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 I am a cyclist myself and have been driving for more than 10 years. My voice might not speak for all cyclist in Singapore, but I can safely say, most of it. From what I see, there are 3 types of cyclist in Singapore currently: 1. Casual cyclist: Rides short distance. (to coffeeshop for makan / to supermarket to buy stuffs / casual ride to PCN etc..) Casual cyclist will never ride on the roads. Payment or PCN are the only way casual cyclist will use. Casual cyclist have, as you have noticed, 'CASUAL' knowledge on the ethicality of riding a bicycle (be it on payment or on roads). Their main objectives is to get from point A to point B within the shortest route / time. 2. Serious cyclist: Rides longer distance. (be it for training / group riding / commuting etc..) Serious cyclist will always ride on the road, seldom at PCN and never at payment. They seek convenience with little or no obstruction and riding on the road gives serious cyclist just that. Being serious in cycling also means reading up and being more knowledgeable in handling a bike and being aware of traffic rules. They usually travel in groups, use hand signals to communicate and take great care to protect the less experience serious riders in the middle of a group. Of course there are some (like me) who cycle alone at times as well. Most serious cyclist follow traffic rules. 3. The neither here nor there cyclists: These are the ones who are the hardest to predict with their electric bike. I may be stereotyping but from my experience, most electric bike riders who bang into people and cars on roads are usually old uncles who have no regards for traffic rules and personal safety of pedestrians. In fact some of the casual cyclist also fall into this group. I enjoy cycling as much as driving. And I respect every cyclist whom I come across when I am driving. Although there have been many incidents lately with cyclist flouting traffic rules, I feel the respect between cyclist and drivers in SIngapore are maturing. Yes, there is a incident every few months but i do see cyclists adhering to traffic rules, drivers giving ways to cyclists, cyclists using hand signals to change lanes etcc.. on a daily basis. Like all complaints and rants in social media, compliance to good cycling / driving behaviour are usually ignore while accidents are usually amplified. There are always bad eggs in every segment of society but please do not generalise all cyclist in SIngapore just because of a few incidents. Couldn't agree with you more. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear September 21, 2015 Share September 21, 2015 there is also another group of riders machiam like the mat rempit. cheong damn fast on PCN. see them already siam far far away ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...