10th Generation Honda Civic (2016)

Carbon82

Hi, I have called Kah Motors body repair shop and they said I have to go down with my car and let them access the damage and also to personally submit the claim. (Quite troublesome.)

Anyway, I just briefly check with them. They said if there is no hairline crack and only a chip hole, probably I can't claim with the excess. And I have to pay $2,000!, to replace the windscreen without claim. What??? So expensive???

I also checked with the insurance company. I told them the same situation of the surface chipped hole but they can't comment for now. Need to see the assessment report. The chip hole may or may not compromise the safety in future.

Now in dilemma.

Should I go down to Kah Motors body repair shop to let them do the assessment and after that waste my time being told I can't claim?

Or just straight away go to those car window workshop instead to repair it?

Take a hammer and whack the windscreen lor.

No such thing as want to pay $100 excess but can't change the windscreen.

Disagree!

BMW has i3 & i8.  i3 is electric car.  i8 is hybrid car.

In addition, Mini R56 also has Mini Electric.

Mind you, BMW has been doing research on fuel cell for 20 yrs.  I think Toyota Mirai is based on BMW fuel cell technology.

Unlike Japan, Germany has autobahn, which translate into faster & more powerful car for inter-city commuting.

Disagree too!

although BMW working on hybrid, electric car, but its market share is much lower than Japanese makers,

and its cost, reliability is highly doubtful,

Take a hammer and whack the windscreen lor.

No such thing as want to pay $100 excess but can't change the windscreen.

the wind screen workshop knows how to claim. i am no expert but i am not in favour of repairing tempered glass. if my little knowledge of glass is right, i dont see how that filler can help. good luck.

Disagree too!

although BMW working on hybrid, electric car, but its market share is much lower than Japanese makers,

Cost is high in Singapore juz like any other car.

Unlike there is stats to prove highly doubtful reliablity, i also highly doubtful your highly doubtful.

Other than THS (which has 20 yrs history), i also highly doubtful about other jap maker hybrid system.

Mind you, BMW has bridge the gap btw ICE and Electric with plug-in hybrid.

Cost is high in Singapore juz like any other car.

Unlike there is stats to prove highly doubtful reliablity, i also highly doubtful your highly doubtful.

Other than THS (which has 20 yrs history), i also highly doubtful about other jap maker hybrid system.

Mind you, BMW has bridge the gap btw ICE and Electric with plug-in hybrid.

haha, BMW consecutively stays at bottom of USA reliability test...

indeed BMW's handling and fun is on top of its competitors, but after 5 years or warranty end, it may be a nightmare  

agree, my friend bought a 6 years X5 at 100k, driving one year found burning engine oil and oil leaking, and to every week top up EO,

just sold at 70k, one year lost 30k, learnt lesson never touch BMW again, just bought a Lexus ES250 for reliability 

http://www.jdpower.com/press-releases/2016-us-vehicle-dependability-study-vds

BMW at bottom?

My personal experience of BMW after 5 years is rather pleasant.  Unlike nightmare you had mentioned.

the wind screen workshop knows how to claim. i am no expert but i am not in favour of repairing tempered glass. if my little knowledge of glass is right, i dont see how that filler can help. good luck.

Saw this online.

Good reviews mostly and they know the science behind the glass.

Not sure to try.

http://www.drglass.com.sg/windscreen-crack-repair

Actually now I am not sure whether to replace. To be able to claim is one thing. Then if I replace, would it be worse off than the factory seal?

Edited by DACH

Newbie here..

Just sharing.. some pics..

Before :

IMG_0344_zpsdnykitvs.jpg

After :

IMG_0391_zpsjmym46dl.jpg

Fitted with this :

IMG_0379_zpsd4lj4ewn.jpg

Tein Flex adjustables suspension system

It's like playing photohunt. The difference is not obvious :)

But the FC1 Civic looks damn good even when stock.

Hi, I have called Kah Motors body repair shop and they said I have to go down with my car and let them access the damage and also to personally submit the claim. (Quite troublesome.)

Anyway, I just briefly check with them. They said if there is no hairline crack and only a chip hole, probably I can't claim with the excess. And I have to pay $2,000!, to replace the windscreen without claim. What??? So expensive???

I also checked with the insurance company. I told them the same situation of the surface chipped hole but they can't comment for now. Need to see the assessment report. The chip hole may or may not compromise the safety in future.

Now in dilemma.

Should I go down to Kah Motors body repair shop to let them do the assessment and after that waste my time being told I can't claim?

Or just straight away go to those car window workshop instead to repair it?

Got pic?

Disagree too!

A bit out of point liao.

Conti will have their strategy and market share

Jap will have their strategy and market share.

But to bicker over and insist which is better,

I tot wind screen cover by insurance?

Ya, I thought so too.

But asked the workshop. They said chip holes not covered. Unless really have hairline cracks, else cannot claim with excess. Insurance company cannot give me a definite answer unless they have the assessment report from workshop.

I asked a few driver friends and their insurance also works like that.

Chip holes not considered as damage meh? Quite dumb actually.

I tot wind screen cover by insurance?

Must be severe lah. Small chip, tak jalan lah

Ya, I thought so too.

But asked the workshop. They said chip holes not covered. Unless really have hairline cracks, else cannot claim with excess. Insurance company cannot give me a definite answer unless they have the assessment report from workshop.

I asked a few driver friends and their insurance also works like that.

Chip holes not considered as damage meh? Quite dumb actually.

If the chip is big enough to cause cracks and affect the integrity of the windscreen, then yes can claim.

That's why I requested for you to show the pic of the chip so that we can comment based on experience.

I replaced windscreen before and the chip was like a 10cent coin size and the cracks extended out.

Must be severe lah. Small chip, tak jalan lah

If the chip is big enough to cause cracks and affect the integrity of the windscreen, then yes can claim.

That's why I requested for you to show the pic of the chip so that we can comment based on experience.

I replaced windscreen before and the chip was like a 10cent coin size and the cracks extended out.

Here's the pic.

https://flic.kr/p/QVUJsS

Here's the pic.

https://flic.kr/p/QVUJsS

Are you serious... drive a few more weeks and you will forget you had the little chip and may not even be able to locate it lah.

I have driven car with bigger windscreen hole (caused by flying stone) for many years till scrap. As long as it doesn't spider web or get bigger, the glass is quite stable don't forget it has layers of strong laminate plastic within the glass.

Factory install is the best, after market replacement workmanship depends on your luck and prayer. Imagine one fine monsoon season, you suddenly find that your dashboard always wet wet at the cornet.... ho ho ho