Sales of diesel cars rising at fast pace

kobayashiGT

if I were to get a diesel, first thing i will do is to lup a new exhaust to drown out the clattering noise. Haha.

To each his own preference.

I always thot that's characteristic sound of diesel engine. Would changing exhaust help?

*pic deleted to avoid spam*

If that is not a photoshop, how he stop his vehicle glass from shaking loose or breaking sia!

That looks like it needs serious current to power as well.

I always thot that's characteristic sound of diesel engine. Would changing exhaust help?

that's the dilemma, can't stand the sound of a diesel engine but captivated by the efficiency of it. :D

If that is not a photoshop, how he stop his vehicle glass from shaking loose or breaking sia!

That looks like it needs serious current to power as well.

jokes aside

diesel has so much torque that my friends all say my pickup aircon very cold

all give the thumbsup

these guys all dirve the 2.4L tyoe of car one

then I ask them wanna buy truck mai?

they: are you crazy?!?!?!?! :omg::serious-business::yuush::a-no:

:XD::XD:

I wonder why the 'sounds like taxi' characteristic of diesel engines is so widely seen as a negative thing.

Sonata, K5 or Merc E-class diesel taxis will easily smoke any Corolla, Camry, Accord, Teana etc! Who's laughing at diesel then?

Might as well say that diesel cars sound like Audi R18 TDI Le Mans car?

jokes aside

diesel has so much torque that my friends all say my pickup aircon very cold

all give the thumbsup

these guys all dirve the 2.4L tyoe of car one

then I ask them wanna buy truck mai?

they: are you crazy?!?!?!?! :omg::serious-business::yuush::a-no:

:XD::XD:

Your pickup is dual cab? If single, can be because cabin smaller. Don't think diesel has anything to do with air con. Is size of a/c compressor more important.

got torque then can put a bigger compressor mah

dual cab

"For Euro 5 diesel cars, the tax is 40 cents per cubic cm of engine displacement"??

Below is one of the Euro V diesel car I picked to check on its road tax. It looks more like $1.06 per cubic cm

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_pricing.php?CarCode=11683

So confusing.

Jan 2013 Jag diesel tax is S$1424/yr. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=495072&DL=2521

Oct 2013 Jag diesel tax is S$2296/yr. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=492759&DL=1000

Actually how to convert cc to cubic cm of engine displacement?

Yearly will be 2296. some of it got tax rebate that why 1424

How come some will have rebate some won't have? If have, wouldn't it make more sense for the younger car to have, since presumably it will be a newer engine (ie. more likely to be Euro V than a older car)?

Urban myth. Higher road tax but lower FC & 80 sen/L cheaper. Breakeven based on a very conservative 10km/L is around 9000km/yr.anything more than that, diesels are cheaper. Not to mention diesels are turbocharged n got shiok torque.

Only downside is sound like sonata teksi....LOL.

That day.. saw a Jaguar in the carpark. Approaching, very nice.. when drove past, sound like teksi, so loud somemore. Very chui for a jaguar image.

The sound to me don't matter at all. Think many people stereo type diesel engine liao. Anyway, for better makes cars, the insulation will be better. You can't hear the clutter or it wont be so obvious to the driver/passengers anyway.

yes. u r right, many who don't own n drive a diesel car will not know it. the sound is only when the engine is idling.

most the the diesel cars are quite well insulated. you don even feel it..

How come some will have rebate some won't have? If have, wouldn't it make more sense for the younger car to have, since presumably it will be a newer engine (ie. more likely to be Euro V than a older car)?

No idea on this. as i remem there is only tax rebate on petrol engine. not diesel.

maybe the listing stated wrongly

http://www.lta.gov.sg/apps/news/page.aspx?c=2&id=b58ca1ea-976f-4f37-9e7f-3418666d8525

Edited by Spyder79