Boringchap Turbocharged September 11, 2015 Share September 11, 2015 One of the most interesting things we did for our recent Hong Kong trip was to join the queue at Jenny Bakery (Tsim Sha Tsui) branch, for the famous cookies. We stayed at a nearby hotel (Hotel Panorama), so the bakery was about a 5 minute walk away. After checking in at our hotel, we went out for a walk. Made our way to the bakery and we were confronted with this line. Seeing is believing. And the weather was really hot! They were standing in the sun. Went inside to check out the store. This place accepts cash only. Be prepared to know exactly what to order. The staff will rush you, understandably so because there is a non-stop line! We returned to the place later in the evening and managed to buy some cookies. Here is our experience. Were the cookies good? Yes, very. Kids loved it. Adults loved it. We bought a few small tins back to give friends and they really loved it. Would we buy again? Yes, but we will go close to closing time, when the line is much shorter and at least you don't have to wait in the sun. It was really hot earlier in the day, and you could see the people in the queue were rather uncomfortable! ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boringchap Turbocharged September 11, 2015 Author Share September 11, 2015 Forgot to add, when we were there, they restricted the purchase of small tins to only 2 per person. Large tins, no limit. I think they do that because there were too many people re-selling the small tins on the black market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 11, 2015 Share September 11, 2015 My friend gave me a box before. It was fantastic. They control is because there's many ah tiongs buying then reselling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 11, 2015 Share September 11, 2015 frankly i tried and they aren't fantastic. amos taste better. Not that blabber mouth please..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic September 11, 2015 Share September 11, 2015 Never heard if it. Next time go there I'll keep a look out for it. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 11, 2015 Share September 11, 2015 A must go-to besides stanley market n victoria peak whenever i bring the herd to HK. Prices are ever escalating though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic September 11, 2015 Share September 11, 2015 Found it so so nia. Too buttery. Very jerlat. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 (edited) Never heard if it. Next time go there I'll keep a look out for it. Seems like I don't have to go HK to look out for it. They opened a branch in Singapore today. Anyone go and and queue? Sell $45 a tin, and the boss says that profit is never their intention. Some charity. http://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/jenny-bakery-singapore-opens-oct-23-in-ang-mo-kio-ave-3 Fans of the famous Jenny Bakery in Hong Kong no longer have to go there to buy tins of its rich butter cookies. Its Singapore shop opens on Oct 23 at 11am at Block 422 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3, 01-2534. It is less than a five minute walk from Ang Mo Kio MRT Station, and is located along a row of shops including clinics, a beauty parlour and baking supplies store Phoon Huat. The shop will sell everything from its butter and coffee cookies, to almond flakes and nougat, packed in the store's signature tins with photos of teddy bears on them. The opening comes just a month after its booth at Junction 8's Mid-Autumn Festival fair. Two weeks ago, it sold 1,700 tins within 13 hours on Groupon. Jenny Bakery, which opened in 2005 in Hong Kong's Stanley Street, now has two outlets, in Tsim Sha Tsui and Sheung Wan. The coveted made-in-Hong Kong cookies are more expensive here. For example, a large tin of the 4 Mix Butter Cookies cost HKD$130 ($23.35) in Hong Kong. Here, the same tin costs $45. The smaller version costs $25. The 4 Mix is made up of a combination of butter, coffee, shortbread and raisin oat cookies. Other items available include butter cookies ($48), coffee cookies ($50), almond flakes ($42), and nougat candy (from $10 for seven pieces). Customers can also get the newly-launched Halloween-themed teddy bear tins. Payment for the cookies is by cash only, like in Hong Kong. The cookies last for one month, and are made without preservatives and genetically modified ingredients. To manage the potential queues at the store here, Mr Lawrence Lim, 48, the managing director of Jenny Bakery Singapore, will limit purchases to two to four tins a person - subject to availability. A booking system is expected to be implemented by end of next month (Nov) to minimise the queuing process. On opening a nondescript shop in the heartland, Mr Lim says: "I chose Ang Mo Kio and not Orchard Road because we wanted to start with the heartland. We want Singaporeans to experience the cookies first-hand. "I can sell at five times the price in Orchard Road but that's not how we work. Profit is never our intention." Jenny Bakery Singapore opens Oct 23 at Block 422 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3, 01-2534, from 11am to 8pm (Tuesday to Saturday), and noon to 6pm (Sunday and Public Holiday), closed on Monday, or while stocks last. For more information, go tohttps://www.facebook.com/JennyBakeryAsia. Edited October 23, 2015 by Ender 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matoonia 6th Gear October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 Seems like I don't have to go HK to look out for it. They opened a branch in Singapore today. Anyone go and and queue? Sell $45 a tin, and the boss says that profit is never their intention. Some charity. http://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/jenny-bakery-singapore-opens-oct-23-in-ang-mo-kio-ave-3 Ate before. Nothing fantastic. But there will be people who want to be carrot one. $45 a tin - Oh my! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 Ate before. Nothing fantastic. But there will be people who want to be carrot one. $45 a tin - Oh my! Will likely be the same as krispy kreme and tim ho wan.. Initially long queue, 6 month down the road, no more queue. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 Seems like I don't have to go HK to look out for it. They opened a branch in Singapore today. Anyone go and and queue? Sell $45 a tin, and the boss says that profit is never their intention. Some charity. http://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/jenny-bakery-singapore-opens-oct-23-in-ang-mo-kio-ave-3 Read this morning, was wondering if it's nice, havent try before but 45 a tin seemed steep, for how many grams huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 Read this morning, was wondering if it's nice, havent try before but 45 a tin seemed steep, for how many grams huh? Their pricing here is quite expensive. Is this cookies really that special and nice? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 Their pricing here is quite expensive. Is this cookies really that special and nice? Not very nice leh Very buttery and crumbly That's it 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 Not very nice leh Very buttery and crumbly That's it I don't think will pay over $40 for a tin of cookies. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 Seems like I don't have to go HK to look out for it. They opened a branch in Singapore today. Anyone go and and queue? Sell $45 a tin, and the boss says that profit is never their intention. Some charity. http://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/jenny-bakery-singapore-opens-oct-23-in-ang-mo-kio-ave-3 Open in AMK and still sell double the price of selling in HK, and dare to say profit is not their intention. Lets see how long the shop can last if they do not adjust their price. I know I would rather spend my $45 some where else. 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 Open in AMK and still sell double the price of selling in HK, and dare to say profit is not their intention. Lets see how long the shop can last if they do not adjust their price. I know I would rather spend my $45 some where else. Agreed, the price is double as compared with hk, way too over-priced liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 If you like buttery cookies, then it's very nice. But at $45 a tin, forget it man! Twice the price of HK. And as mentioned by many here, he said profit is not their intention. Then do biz for what? Really is 睁着眼睛说瞎话. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 23, 2015 Share October 23, 2015 If you like buttery cookies, then it's very nice. But at $45 a tin, forget it man! Twice the price of HK. And as mentioned by many here, he said profit is not their intention. Then do biz for what? Really is 睁着眼睛说瞎话. If i like buttery cookies, might as well go buy the kjeldsens butter cookies which also taste buttery and yet cheaper. Lol. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...