2016 Hyundai Elantra / Avante

Hshs

Thanks to all who had advice.

Somewhat this is very disappointing for a 7 months old car. As much as I know quality issues happen, I didn't expect it to be so soon and affected so many. First time buying a Hyundai and this happens.  

I had made an appointment tomorrow at KMC tomorrow noon. Will see what they says and update here.

Hopefully the part make it in time during my next servicing. 

Hi Bro,

Please update us after your visit to Komoco tomorrow.

Thanks

My workshop charges $45 for oil change and original Hyundai oil filter plus all the necessary lights/battery test etc any adjustment is included and I supply my own oil. Also clean my engine compartment

Another $30 for tyre rotation and brakes adjustment/service if needed.

Total cost is $75.00

My workshop is in the west side.

Can pm me your workshop name and address please?

Does not affect safety. So no recalls

Well...It's a budget car . Low omv means parts are all budget types. Komoco will rectify it for you. So no worries. Just need to take time off and go to Alexandra branch

Steering wheel sometimes also affect safety leh?

2011 happens,2018 also happens?

I think their suppliers got problem?lol...

https://www.autonews.com/article/20180305/RETAIL05/180309645/hyundai-recalls-43-941-u-s-vehicles-on-steering-wheel-detachment-risk

https://www.autotrader.com/car-reviews/2011-hyundai-sonata-recalled-steering-defect-73172

Seriously no one knows. If it's just noise issue,, I doubt komoco will recall.

But if it's to do with safety, komoco will definitely do the right thing. So dun worry too much. They are not like those PI workshops which try to turn away responsibility m

Komoco should have anticipated some cars having this problem and order the parts in advance instead of waiting until the customer drives to the service center then order. And besides the long wait, still need to make another trip down to fix it.

The sound is only obvious if your car cabin is quiet. If u r blasting loud music, unlikely to hear it.

I also noticed when the sound appeared, the airbag light takes longer to go off after turning the engine on. About 3-4 seconds longer than before.

You don’t understand warranty replacement work then. The parts are supplied by Hyundai and not komoco. If komoco had to order the part before hand their it will be their own cost. Do a warranty claim with Hyundai and Hyundai pays for everything. Including shipping.

I beg to differ... Imagine using the same old ATF under singapore climate for 240,000km...

For piece of mind, I will change every 40,000km.

My father's previous Kia Magentis clocked almost 200,000 also never change... the gearbox was still good when the car was scrapped...

Ivan06  said change at 40K. Is it a waste of $$?

My father's previous Kia Magentis clocked almost 200,000 also never change... the gearbox was still good when the car was scrapped...

Ivan06 said change at 40K. Is it a waste of $$?

Each owner must decide for himself or herself lor... there's no right and wrong lar... it's whether you want to or not... and if you can afford it lor... some people pay change then become waste money, others say change got peace of mind... to each his own... no need to have a definitive position for this kind of things lor...

You donât understand warranty replacement work then. The parts are supplied by Hyundai and not komoco. If komoco had to order the part before hand their it will be their own cost. Do a warranty claim with Hyundai and Hyundai pays for everything. Including shipping.

Yup agree... the warranty is provided by Hyundai... I think most people equate Komoco Motors Pte Ltd with Hyundai Motor Corp... but Komoco is only a dealer selling Hyundai cars... I think it's cos Singapore is so small... overseas, a dealer is a dealer, and in a given location, there can be more than dealer selling the same thing... so there isn't this confusion between the authorized dealer and the car manufacturer...

Providing the warranty doesn't cost Komoco a cent in terms of providing the parts... it only costs Komoco money in terms of labour... they have to employ more mechanics to do the replacement if the cars are very unreliable and many owners come in replacement parts...

Their parts inventory only include the wear and tear stuff that they cover under their servicing packages... the other stuff they order directly lor...

Example - my sunshade vanity mirrors kept dropping out in the heat. They had to order, took 2 weeks and then it was replaced free of charge. Then I complained of a rattling sound in the cabin after a year owning the car. Sound was at driver's side. I said wing mirror area or door panel. They tested and said steering wheel but can't isolate after dismantling the steering wheel. So they replaced the whole steering wheel for free... also waited 2 weeks.

So you can see that they don't keep these types of parts...

But when I go for servicing - the 10,000 km free one, they changed my air filter and oil filter. Didn't have to order... so also clear that consumables for wear and tear parts they stock.

Just my experience... and it's the same experience 15 years ago with my previous Elantra MD 2001-2007...

This kind of warranty, not easy to find leh...

Yup agree... the warranty is provided by Hyundai... I think most people equate Komoco Motors Pte Ltd with Hyundai Motor Corp... but Komoco is only a dealer selling Hyundai cars... I think it's cos Singapore is so small... overseas, a dealer is a dealer, and in a given location, there can be more than dealer selling the same thing... so there isn't this confusion between the authorized dealer and the car manufacturer...

Providing the warranty doesn't cost Komoco a cent in terms of providing the parts... it only costs Komoco money in terms of labour... they have to employ more mechanics to do the replacement if the cars are very unreliable and many owners come in replacement parts...

Their parts inventory only include the wear and tear stuff that they cover under their servicing packages... the other stuff they order directly lor...

Example - my sunshade vanity mirrors kept dropping out in the heat. They had to order, took 2 weeks and then it was replaced free of charge. Then I complained of a rattling sound in the cabin after a year owning the car. Sound was at driver's side. I said wing mirror area or door panel. They tested and said steering wheel but can't isolate after dismantling the steering wheel. So they replaced the whole steering wheel for free... also waited 2 weeks.

So you can see that they don't keep these types of parts...

But when I go for servicing - the 10,000 km free one, they changed my air filter and oil filter. Didn't have to order... so also clear that consumables for wear and tear parts they stock.

Just my experience... and it's the same experience 15 years ago with my previous Elantra MD 2001-2007...

This kind of warranty, not easy to find leh...

Labour? No man, they bill Hyundai for it. Wait long long for AD to do it for free. Of course the time/hours they can bill is fixed as per factory work instructions.

Which is why all AD worldwide drag their feet for warranty work. Cannot earn much one.

Labour? No man, they bill Hyundai for it. Wait long long for AD to do it for free. Of course the time/hours they can bill is fixed as per factory work instructions.

Which is why all AD worldwide drag their feet for warranty work. Cannot earn much one.

That's balanced against the car manufacturer blacklisting the dealer for compromising their reputation lar... just like how VW took back the dealership or how Mercedes wanted to take back from C&C also...

Hi guys,

Feedback on the steering sound issue after a visit to KMC yesterday.

Nothing new and all answers can be found here. The troubleshooting is very fast (believe due to it being a common fault to the technician' liao. It's more like a visit to indent the parts.

Need to replace "steering column housing". Parts not available and will take 3-4 weeks to arrive (from service advisor). But I doubt will be that fast. Will update again. Will have it replace during my next servicing, estimate 7-8 weeks from now.

So conclusion:-

If your steering had 'rubbing noise', go to KMC for a visit, as part will take some time to come.

If possible, try to get parts in before your next servicing with KMC else there will be many trips.   

Hi guys,

Feedback on the steering sound issue after a visit to KMC yesterday.

Nothing new and all answers can be found here. The troubleshooting is very fast (believe due to it being a common fault to the technician' liao. It's more like a visit to indent the parts.

Need to replace "steering column housing". Parts not available and will take 3-4 weeks to arrive (from service advisor). But I doubt will be that fast. Will update again. Will have it replace during my next servicing, estimate 7-8 weeks from now.

So conclusion:-

If your steering had 'rubbing noise', go to KMC for a visit, as part will take some time to come.

If possible, try to get parts in before your next servicing with KMC else there will be many trips.   

is it a batch problem?

seems only a certain number are affected

Avante has more safety features but a not so posh interior... Cerato has fewer safety features but posher interior... you decide which you like...

Cerato is based on the new generation platform cos it's a brand new model, the Avante is simply a facelift, albeit a major one, so it's still based on the old platform. The Cerato may actually feel better due to the newer platform...

Haven't driven both... but these are differences on paper...

Ain't the cerato running same engine and gearbox as previous k3? Only difference is the cosmetic design

is it a batch problem?

seems only a certain number are affected

The previous avante had the same steering rack issue too that gotta change around the 80-100k mark.

i'm not sure if its me.

do you feel the power surge when you hit 90-100km on the speedo?

kinda adrenaline rush  :D

i'm not sure if its me.

do you feel the power surge when you hit 90-100km on the speedo?

kinda adrenaline rush :D

yeah car is more willing to move 90km/h onwards