Agalvilaku 2nd Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 You mean komoco allows you to bring your own oil for servicing and no need to use theirs? My SE had told me before I booked my Tucson that they used to allow, but stopped doing so as got some owners who brought their own oil, later went back said got problem, and komoco then blamed the oil they used, and so to avoid any such 'conflicts', stopped allowing bring own oil... And that was 6 mth ago. Now can bring own oil? They allow. I play safe, i use the same shell engine oil they recommend and even in the service sheet, they mentioned as the shell oil. So, they cannot blame me for the oil is different. I have used Shell Ultra 5w-40 bought from Giant for 39. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 I think there is no standard. Gave the car for servicing (1k) with own engine oil. Quoted me 99$ and since own oil, will discount 65 for it. The balance 34$ to be paid. I guess, they will change only the filter and few other oil tops up if required. Update : Just collected the car after service and paid only 11 dollar for oil filter. The total cost of first service is 39+11 = 50. Bought the Shell ultra 5w-40 from Giant store for 39. Left the car at service centre at 10am and collected at12.30pm. Checked with service centre whether the 5K service is mandatory, they told that since it is only checking process so can skip if no complaints. Will make the call whether to go or not for 5k service is based on whether got the complaint or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 Bro, I brought my own engine oil during my 1000km servicing which should be around the same timing as yours. wow, thanks for telling me. my SE really too much... told me cannot... They allow. I play safe, i use the same shell engine oil they recommend and even in the service sheet, they mentioned as the shell oil. So, they cannot blame me for the oil is different. I have used Shell Ultra 5w-40 bought from Giant for 39. OK tks... yup, i keep seeing Giant/NTUC selling oil quite cheap, but never bought as i was told cannot by my SE... and i'm sure if i confront her, she'll just say oh, didn't know can already... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsyeo 2nd Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 wow, thanks for telling me. my SE really too much... told me cannot... OK tks... yup, i keep seeing Giant/NTUC selling oil quite cheap, but never bought as i was told cannot by my SE... and i'm sure if i confront her, she'll just say oh, didn't know can already... To avoid "conflicts", I think it is better to use their oil. This is to prevent them from giving excuses that you bring in your own oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 To avoid "conflicts", I think it is better to use their oil. This is to prevent them from giving excuses that you bring in your own oil. But if it's the same oil as what they use, then they can't complain right? In any case, they are crap lah. My experience: i stay in kovan, so alexandra is far, and I'll go kemangan if possible/necessary. The cam they gave, double-side tape came loose 3-4 wk, and i left it hanging there and asked them to stick back at 1k servicing. Then it lasted about 3-4 mth, and came loose again near the 5k servicing. So i decided to go for it, and go alexandra (further) cos i also have other issues: 1) aircon leak at the bottom of the windscreen. Even when i select only blow at body, the windscreen bottom will fog/mist up when rain (cold). 2) there's a slight rattling noise at the back when back seat is not occupied. 3) GPS given cannot find some places. cannot key in the postal code as there's no pre-keyed options. made appt went on Sat 9.30 am. Called me at 4 pm to say almost finishing. When there: 1) nothing changed. Told me it's normal and sure will have some aircon coming out from windscreen. If fogged up, just activate front demister! 2) leather seats are done by vendors, not their staff. Sat they're not working. Asked me arrange go back on a weekday. 3) the unit provided by their supplier is like that one. Nothing can/will be done. Almost 8 hours, and they managed to paste one double-sided tape. Only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 I have two spare Shell helix for sale, 5-40 $30 Pm if you want .. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsyeo 2nd Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 But if it's the same oil as what they use, then they can't complain right? In any case, they are crap lah. My experience: i stay in kovan, so alexandra is far, and I'll go kemangan if possible/necessary. The cam they gave, double-side tape came loose 3-4 wk, and i left it hanging there and asked them to stick back at 1k servicing. Then it lasted about 3-4 mth, and came loose again near the 5k servicing. So i decided to go for it, and go alexandra (further) cos i also have other issues: 1) aircon leak at the bottom of the windscreen. Even when i select only blow at body, the windscreen bottom will fog/mist up when rain (cold). 2) there's a slight rattling noise at the back when back seat is not occupied. 3) GPS given cannot find some places. cannot key in the postal code as there's no pre-keyed options. made appt went on Sat 9.30 am. Called me at 4 pm to say almost finishing. When there: 1) nothing changed. Told me it's normal and sure will have some aircon coming out from windscreen. If fogged up, just activate front demister! 2) leather seats are done by vendors, not their staff. Sat they're not working. Asked me arrange go back on a weekday. 3) the unit provided by their supplier is like that one. Nothing can/will be done. Almost 8 hours, and they managed to paste one double-sided tape. Only. Yes, same brand but from different source. Just like you went to do servicing outside and you bring your own materials and they only charge you for the labour. When something happen, they blame it on you as you bring your own materials. This is the tactics they used. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KoreanLover 5th Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 (edited) To avoid "conflicts", I think it is better to use their oil. This is to prevent them from giving excuses that you bring in your own oil. Actually I think it is generally safe if you use oil from major brands. I don't think they dare to point finger and accuse, for example, Mobil, for causing problems to the engine. Surely will kenna sue till pants drop.. Edited October 24, 2017 by KoreanLover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Privacy 5th Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 But if it's the same oil as what they use, then they can't complain right? In any case, they are crap lah. My experience: i stay in kovan, so alexandra is far, and I'll go kemangan if possible/necessary. The cam they gave, double-side tape came loose 3-4 wk, and i left it hanging there and asked them to stick back at 1k servicing. Then it lasted about 3-4 mth, and came loose again near the 5k servicing. So i decided to go for it, and go alexandra (further) cos i also have other issues: 1) aircon leak at the bottom of the windscreen. Even when i select only blow at body, the windscreen bottom will fog/mist up when rain (cold). 2) there's a slight rattling noise at the back when back seat is not occupied. 3) GPS given cannot find some places. cannot key in the postal code as there's no pre-keyed options. made appt went on Sat 9.30 am. Called me at 4 pm to say almost finishing. When there: 1) nothing changed. Told me it's normal and sure will have some aircon coming out from windscreen. If fogged up, just activate front demister! 2) leather seats are done by vendors, not their staff. Sat they're not working. Asked me arrange go back on a weekday. 3) the unit provided by their supplier is like that one. Nothing can/will be done. Almost 8 hours, and they managed to paste one double-sided tape. Only. 1. what's wrong with that? isnt the front demisiter meant for that purpose?2.sounds legit. same for my mazda.. i went to ubi for the solar flim touch up. 3. u pay for what you get... it's just below ur expectations.. not sure what can kmc can do for u? change another gps for u? im glad my batch is AA alrdy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albert3468 1st Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 But if it's the same oil as what they use, then they can't complain right? In any case, they are crap lah. My experience: i stay in kovan, so alexandra is far, and I'll go kemangan if possible/necessary. The cam they gave, double-side tape came loose 3-4 wk, and i left it hanging there and asked them to stick back at 1k servicing. Then it lasted about 3-4 mth, and came loose again near the 5k servicing. So i decided to go for it, and go alexandra (further) cos i also have other issues: 1) aircon leak at the bottom of the windscreen. Even when i select only blow at body, the windscreen bottom will fog/mist up when rain (cold). 2) there's a slight rattling noise at the back when back seat is not occupied. 3) GPS given cannot find some places. cannot key in the postal code as there's no pre-keyed options. made appt went on Sat 9.30 am. Called me at 4 pm to say almost finishing. When there: 1) nothing changed. Told me it's normal and sure will have some aircon coming out from windscreen. If fogged up, just activate front demister! 2) leather seats are done by vendors, not their staff. Sat they're not working. Asked me arrange go back on a weekday. 3) the unit provided by their supplier is like that one. Nothing can/will be done. Almost 8 hours, and they managed to paste one double-sided tape. Only. Woh , Very sad to hear about your bad experience with Komoco. They should have call you early to explain the situation. Now abit worried, if I am in the similar situation, which workshop should I go to .... Komoco or outside workshop (depend if still got warranty) From this, what I say is that : (1) If got major or similar problem , don't go on a Saturday ( as Komoco do not have a experience technician to handle the problem). (2) Call them every 2 hours to check on the repair or followup. hOPE IT HELP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 1. what's wrong with that? isnt the front demisiter meant for that purpose? 2.sounds legit. same for my mazda.. i went to ubi for the solar flim touch up. 3. u pay for what you get... it's just below ur expectations.. not sure what can kmc can do for u? change another gps for u? im glad my batch is AA alrdy 1. You mean you get that (misting/fogging at the windscreen base when it rains) in your car too? 2. Not sure what you meant, legit. I don't quite follow what mazda solar film got to do with my rear seat got rattling sound... 3. This i agree. My fault for not checking it out beforehand. Just disappointed that Komoco gives cheapskate stuff. Woh , Very sad to hear about your bad experience with Komoco. They should have call you early to explain the situation. Now abit worried, if I am in the similar situation, which workshop should I go to .... Komoco or outside workshop (depend if still got warranty) From this, what I say is that : (1) If got major or similar problem , don't go on a Saturday ( as Komoco do not have a experience technician to handle the problem). (2) Call them every 2 hours to check on the repair or followup. hOPE IT HELP You're right there. Have to be prepared to take leave and settle your car if there's anything other than engine/oil related. Just very disappointed with their level of service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangee 2nd Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 Woh.... sound scary!!! Just to check. Now buy car, u all not given 1 to 2 yrs free servicing contract? There is another white paper given to u stating 1 or 2yrs free. No need pay oil n labour. Maybe filter need i not sure. But every servicing u need to bring tat paper, if not will kenna charge oil n oil filter, only labour free. YES u can bring ur own engine oil like some bro stated. I got 2yrs or 40k servicing contract free when purchased my car in late April. Did 1k and 10k servicing already. $0 payment, but need wait long long at kmc :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rata 1st Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 Anyone with Elantra OPC? Planning to get OPC,but felt like unable utilities the car... If not OPC, will have financial pressure.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sevenaces Neutral Newbie October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 Hi guys usually how long will SE register the vehicle after securing the COE? Was told that the color and type of trim of the car is available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 But if it's the same oil as what they use, then they can't complain right? In any case, they are crap lah. My experience: i stay in kovan, so alexandra is far, and I'll go kemangan if possible/necessary. The cam they gave, double-side tape came loose 3-4 wk, and i left it hanging there and asked them to stick back at 1k servicing. Then it lasted about 3-4 mth, and came loose again near the 5k servicing. So i decided to go for it, and go alexandra (further) cos i also have other issues: 1) aircon leak at the bottom of the windscreen. Even when i select only blow at body, the windscreen bottom will fog/mist up when rain (cold). 2) there's a slight rattling noise at the back when back seat is not occupied. 3) GPS given cannot find some places. cannot key in the postal code as there's no pre-keyed options. made appt went on Sat 9.30 am. Called me at 4 pm to say almost finishing. When there: 1) nothing changed. Told me it's normal and sure will have some aircon coming out from windscreen. If fogged up, just activate front demister! 2) leather seats are done by vendors, not their staff. Sat they're not working. Asked me arrange go back on a weekday. 3) the unit provided by their supplier is like that one. Nothing can/will be done. Almost 8 hours, and they managed to paste one double-sided tape. Only. You jialat lah, last time I had sudden rattling after 6 months.. The technician told me to put the car overnight as I came in at 1pm. They dun have even time and manpower. Dismantled the rear and settled it. Anyone with Elantra OPC? Planning to get OPC,but felt like unable utilities the car... If not OPC, will have financial pressure..That means u can't really afford to drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 Woh.... sound scary!!! Just to check. Now buy car, u all not given 1 to 2 yrs free servicing contract? There is another white paper given to u stating 1 or 2yrs free. No need pay oil n labour. Maybe filter need i not sure. But every servicing u need to bring tat paper, if not will kenna charge oil n oil filter, only labour free. YES u can bring ur own engine oil like some bro stated. I got 2yrs or 40k servicing contract free when purchased my car in late April. Did 1k and 10k servicing already. $0 payment, but need wait long long at kmc :( 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rata 1st Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 You jialat lah, last time I had sudden rattling after 6 months.. The technician told me to put the car overnight as I came in at 1pm. They dun have even time and manpower. Dismantled the rear and settled it. That means u can't really afford to drive. I think so. :( On top of the installment, what are the estimated monthly damage on the car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear October 24, 2017 Share October 24, 2017 I think so. :( On top of the installment, what are the estimated monthly damage on the car?You need to set aside $2000 a month, on top of your 30% downpayment. I suppose different times, different cars, different packages, might mean different servicing. I don't drive a lot, so servicing is not likely very frequent. My SE said their free servicing is go by years, which is like what you said too. I asked for free servicing, and she asked for permission to give me $500 discount in lieu of 1 yr free servicing. And the servicing is free labour only. Parts like oils, all need to pay... Dun misled, their engine oil, spark plugs included inside. Consumables like brake pad need to pay lah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...