Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 Will budget airline follows suit ??? Yahoo : Step on the Scale — Airline to Weigh Passengers Before Boarding Watch what you eat. Uzbekistan Airways will now weigh baggage and passengers before they board the plane. (Photo: Thinkstock) It’s not uncommon for an airline to weigh baggage before a flight, but one airline is taking things a step further by weighing passengers. In a move that will make you say, “Oh, no they didn’t,” Uzbekistan Airways has announced that it will begin pre-flight weighing of passengers on upcoming trips. Related: Man Sues Airline — Says Fat Seatmate Caused Back Injury After passing through check-in, passengers will be put on what the airline calls a “special weighing machine” near the departure gate zone. According to a statement from the airline, this procedure will take place “in order to determine the average weight of passengers with hand luggage.“ Uzbekistan Airways says weighing passengers will ensure safety. (Photo: Uzbekistan Airways) While this seems like a bold move, the airline says that weighing passengers is purely a safety precaution. According to the statement, the International Air Transport Association (IATA), requires airlines carry out regular preflight procedures to calculate passenger and carry-on weight. For those feeling a little self-conscious, the airline has ensured that the recorded weights will be completely confidential. However, the airline does not address what happens if a flight is overweight Uzbekistan Airlines isn’t the first to put passengers on the scale before boarding. In 2013, Samoa Air began to charge people different fares based on their weight. During this process, passengers are weighed with their baggage at the airport, and pay a fixed price per kilogram for their seat. The airline also introduced the “Samoa XL” row that is designated for passengers who weigh more than 286 pounds (130 kilograms). In addition to the extra cost, these seats are also two inches wider. link : https://sg.news.yahoo.com/step-on-the-scale-airline-to-weigh-passengers-126519860737.html Siao leow, I sure kena pay for my weight ... ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 hahahahahahahahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 Siao leow, I sure kena pay for my weight ... U how heavy??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 13, 2015 Author Share August 13, 2015 U how heavy??? 102.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 102.... On a side note, there's a serious implication if the plane is overloaded (too heavy).. the takeoff weight can affect the flight safety and there was an episode in Air Crash Investigation that showed the prop plane weight wrongly calculated and the plane was back heavy and the pilot could not correct the nose high attitude.. the plane subsequently crashed back to the airport hangar and all was killed.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 102.... 102 pounds right?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 More critical for small, commuter aircraft. Most aircraft have a safety margin anyway concerning weight limits. The maximum takeoff weight allowed for a flight, for example, takes into account the worst possible case, e.g. one engine out, most forward centre of gravity (harder to lift the nose off the ground), etc. So when all goes well, as it does most of the time, there is plenty of margin. Speaking of centre of gravity of the aircraft, this is also critical, and can be fatal if miscalculated, even if the aircraft max weight is well within limits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 Cars will very soon need to take weight too...in order to give you an accurate fc and mileage before the next topup. The feature will also tell you to "please lose weight", "please park further, do some walking to burn some calories". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 Will budget airline follows suit ??? Yahoo : Step on the Scale — Airline to Weigh Passengers Before Boarding Watch what you eat. Uzbekistan Airways will now weigh baggage and passengers before they board the plane. (Photo: Thinkstock) It’s not uncommon for an airline to weigh baggage before a flight, but one airline is taking things a step further by weighing passengers. In a move that will make you say, “Oh, no they didn’t,” Uzbekistan Airways has announced that it will begin pre-flight weighing of passengers on upcoming trips. Related: Man Sues Airline — Says Fat Seatmate Caused Back Injury After passing through check-in, passengers will be put on what the airline calls a “special weighing machine” near the departure gate zone. According to a statement from the airline, this procedure will take place “in order to determine the average weight of passengers with hand luggage.“ Uzbekistan Airways says weighing passengers will ensure safety. (Photo: Uzbekistan Airways) While this seems like a bold move, the airline says that weighing passengers is purely a safety precaution. According to the statement, the International Air Transport Association (IATA), requires airlines carry out regular preflight procedures to calculate passenger and carry-on weight. For those feeling a little self-conscious, the airline has ensured that the recorded weights will be completely confidential. However, the airline does not address what happens if a flight is overweight Uzbekistan Airlines isn’t the first to put passengers on the scale before boarding. In 2013, Samoa Air began to charge people different fares based on their weight. During this process, passengers are weighed with their baggage at the airport, and pay a fixed price per kilogram for their seat. The airline also introduced the “Samoa XL” row that is designated for passengers who weigh more than 286 pounds (130 kilograms). In addition to the extra cost, these seats are also two inches wider. link : https://sg.news.yahoo.com/step-on-the-scale-airline-to-weigh-passengers-126519860737.html Siao leow, I sure kena pay for my weight ... muahahahhaha.....you and @spring together cannot go on A380..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 13, 2015 Author Share August 13, 2015 muahahahhaha.....you and @spring together cannot go on A380..... plus @turboflat4 ...... 3 of us together have to go as cargo .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 plus @turboflat4 ...... 3 of us together have to go as cargo .. C-130 personal service hahahahha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GreenLantern 2nd Gear August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 Goodness.... If this really materialise... Then i can kiss aeroplane flights goodbye. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 muahahahhaha.....you and @spring together cannot go on A380..... Wah sei....liddat u fly for free. I mean, how much does this weigh?: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 (edited) based on my avatar weight i got free upgrade to biz? huat ah!!! Edited August 13, 2015 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged August 13, 2015 Share August 13, 2015 Hongkan liao, my weigh-in last week was 102.5kg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged August 14, 2015 Share August 14, 2015 If heavy need to pay more then light one got discount or not? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 15, 2015 Share August 15, 2015 So next time before travelling, must go for diet first? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 15, 2015 Share August 15, 2015 So next time before travelling, must go for diet first? like that also cannot go food places like Taiwan, Thailand, Hong Kong etc ... cos come back sure overweight. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...