Schooling's achievements! 1st Olympic GOLD!

Dankoo

yeah.. mostly if you are on scholarship. .. but why only some... and not all.

In any case, they should at least check that both parents are rooted here..

Oh god give is a rest about the parents already. He is Singaporean and got deferment on his NS, just like many people do (and not just on scholarships) albeit his reason for deferment is not the usual one.

Nobody cares if his parents are from Mars, the dude was born and raised here and is now swimming for the country. As far as I'm concerned he is Singaporean and good for him.

Oh god give is a rest about the parents already. He is Singaporean and got deferment on his NS, just like many people do (and not just on scholarships) albeit his reason for deferment is not the usual one.

Nobody cares if his parents are from Mars, the dude was born and raised here and is now swimming for the country. As far as I'm concerned he is Singaporean and good for him.

ha ha ha ...may because i have a toddler son... so this deferment thingy is close to my heart..

Athough, its a long way to go.. but i hope some fairness shld be put in place.

nver say that he's not a sg son.. just that he should do NS like everyone else..

I dun see why other waste 2yrs of their prime, deferred their study are not see as the same light as him.

If he is granted deferment.. other should be allowed to deferred for their oversea study. ?!

Especially if the family is not totally rooted in SG.

Come now - he's a national sportsman, born and raised here, who just won a gold medal.

If he's not deserving of a DEFERMENT (not an exemption) then who is?

It is believed that upon reaching the housing area, they bumped into a group of Team Singapore athletes and officials who were about to leave the village for a flight home.

This is what you call damn suay man...

Had to bump into officials...

Does anyone know the legal drinking age in Korea?

Anyway, it's a pretty time honoured tradition that at games the athletes will go out and party after all events done..

I hope none of them get punished

Come now - he's a national sportsman, born and raised here, who just won a gold medal.

If he's not deserving of a DEFERMENT (not an exemption) then who is?

This is what you call damn suay man...

Had to bump into officials...

Does anyone know the legal drinking age in Korea?

Anyway, it's a pretty time honoured tradition that at games the athletes will go out and party after all events done..

I hope none of them get punished

everybody drinks in korea, women drink more than men [laugh][laugh]

deferment is granted only for exceptional individuals.

schooling was one talented kid, who had proof that he was exceptional, with his remarkable times as a teenager

of course, deferment is also granted for govt scholars who are exceptional individuals. and also sons of eminent folk who return to serve as scientists thereafter.

if you are willing to put up a bond, you can also get deferment. but its in the millions, afaik. but that also puts you in the exceptional individual category.

everything above is talking cock. there's no truth whatsoever.

Personally I think deferment for talents or scholarships or whatever is fair enough.

Though it will never be 100% fair in the eyes of 100% of the people, we can at least be assured that in our system here, it is the most transparent and equal-opportunity system in this region, and even worldwide. Let's be honest about that.

Even israel, if I'm not mistaken, despite being involved in conflict with its neighbours and in high state of alert, allows deferment for its talents.

Negative news for Schooling....

Joseph Schooling, Singapore's only gold medallist of the Incheon Asiad Games so far, is believed to be among three swimmers under investigation for allegedly returning to the athlete's village intoxicated after a late night out with teammates.

It is believed that Teo Zhen Ren and Roanne Ho are the other two members of the 17-strong swim team who appeared drunk when they came back in the early hours of Saturday night. Schooling is 19, Ho is 21, and Teo is 20.

The Straits Times understands that at least two were heavily intoxicated and needed assistance from village security personnel to get back to the housing area for Singapore athletes.

It is believed that upon reaching the housing area, they bumped into a group of Team Singapore athletes and officials who were about to leave the village for a flight home.

The swimming competition had ended last Friday night.

The Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) said late on Monday that it was aware of the incident and that investigations will be conducted after the Asiad, which ends on Oct 4. The incident was made known to the media by an email sent to various media agencies.

Said Team Singapore chef de mission Jessie Phua in an e-mail statement: "It has been brought to our attention that three athletes returned to the Athletes' Village in the early hours on Sept 27.

"We will investigate further after the Games.

"We have reminded all remaining athletes and officials to be responsible for their actions and to keep the team managers updated of their movements.

"In the meantime, Team Singapore have five more days of competition to go at the Asian Games. We are focused on giving our best to support the athletes who are still competing, and wish them the very best for the competition."

Reactions online were mixed. Some netizens felt it was only natural for teenagers to let off some steam after competing under high pressure.

"A slap on the wrist should do it. A moment of bad judgement by individuals who put in every ounce of effort honing their craft (and) must be under tremendous pressure. Give them a break," said Philip Khoo on Facebook.

But others noted that professional athletes had to maintain a certain level of discipline and abide by rules such as curfews.

"There are other forms of relaxation. Getting drunk is definitely not one of them," commented Xiong Jian on the same platform.

The Singapore Swimming Association declined to comment on the matter.

However, it noted that its athletes are under the jurisdiction and care of SNOC at major games, and that all queries should be directed to the body.

From Hero to Zero....

Huh?

Getting drunk makes you a zero?

My...what high standards you have, sure hope you don't live in a glass house

Huh?

Getting drunk makes you a zero?

My...what high standards you have, sure hope you don't live in a glass house

Not me.

That golden boy.

He is supposed to be the role model for school children.

So, you want to teach your children getting drunk once a while is fine?

ha ha ha ...may because i have a toddler son... so this deferment thingy is close to my heart..

Athough, its a long way to go.. but i hope some fairness shld be put in place.

EEEEeeeee..... why you hide behind your baby son...... sibei jialat leh

From Hero to Zero....

Hope they don't punish him so severely that it dents his spirit. A reprimand would do.

After all - not sure if others will agree - we have to excuse minor disciplinary issues from top-level sportsmen. This stems from their personalities and attitude. The same confidence, cockiness and brashness that is required to win and excel in sports events, may also lead to some bad behaviour. It goes hand in hand. Look at the behaviour of professional footballers, for example, or professional nba basketballers. What's important is for managers to keep a close eye and keep them out of trouble.

If they are looking for a straight-laced, law-abiding, cautious athlete that always toes the line... that kind of personality doesn't go well with elite sporting performance.

Not me.

That golden boy.

i will beat my son if he gets drunk... this means he did not learn to hold his liquor well enough and go haolian.....

schooling is a professional sportsman meh?

who pay his salary?

go out celebrate, get abit high is fine lar.. as long as he has no more events.... what's wrong sia

Not me.

That golden boy.

this is really juz a minor breach la... if i have kid like schooling.. can win gold + cash etc... but need to let hair down and drink once in a while... im perfectly fine! [:p]