ins1dious Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 hee hee… i like the part saying Pep's surprise if he ends up in Europa. But hor, if that's to happen, i'll rather West Ham clinched 4th instead lor... Noooooo!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 Don't worry bro. Worst case is 4th. Wenger is very consistent Maybe West Ham better chance? I love to see Mourinho in Europa also leh. that will be interesting 3 out of 4 are from london Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osprey23 Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 Sorry bro, don't quite follow. I was comparing Kante with Makelele, both DM right? I've no doubt Kante is an impt player for Leicester, full of energy, wins the ball well etc but so too is Drinkwater etc. If you follow my posts, I'm well aware of the importance of a DM and that's why I asked Arsenal to sign Wanyama to compliment/cover Coq. As for Best player in EPL, that covers all players and in my books there are better players notwithstanding that Kante is a good player but there are definitely better ones IMO so I thought Fergie's remark is tongue in cheek. Anyway we shall see if Kante even makes the shortlist of the POTY awards but personally I hope he does to give recognition to a position which doesn't get due recognition. Till today I laugh when the Real Madrid chief mentioned Makelele only passes sideways only to be contradicted by Zidane who mentioned it was Makelele's dirty work that enabled him to do the glorifying work lol! Oh ok, cos I thought you saying that lists of attacking mids are better than him. Hence my remark that can't compare. Why I say it is not a tongue is cheek for him is because it is possible that SAF viewed him as the best player in his DM position. I don't think anyone can argue with that for his performance this season. Whether Kante can make it to the list will depend on how many like-minded people are there like SAF and myself whose votes will count Damn it, sounds so wrong to think the same as SAF lol Noooooo!!!! Lol Pool fans don't want Man Utd to get in. Arsenal fans don't want West Ham to get in. Best is Pool do a miracle and take it then. Like that can boh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 so why is gotze overlook by pep at BM and klopp still wants him? Bayern's offence has too much talents Muller, Lewandoski, Robben, Ribery are always going to be the starters if they are fit even Douglas Costa seems to play better 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 Oh ok, cos I thought you saying that lists of attacking mids are better than him. Hence my remark that can't compare. Why I say it is not a tongue is cheek for him is because it is possible that SAF viewed him as the best player in his DM position. I don't think anyone can argue with that for his performance this season. Whether Kante can make it to the list will depend on how many like-minded people are there like SAF and myself whose votes will count I think Fergie said "best player in the EPL" If it's "best DM in the EPL" then I agree he is the best DM of the EPL. These days DM is not like Makelele's time where you just win the ball n pass to the more creative guys. You are expected to run box to box occasionally, set up attacks n link play besides the primary function of winning the ball n shielding the CBs. Matic raised the bar last season and now Kante has raised it even further. Glad to see him called up to the French squad BTW. Since we are on the topic of DMs, I feel Gunner's Coq is a very different kind of DM as compared to Kante. He has his strengths but very interesting is that he is more of the traditional type of DM I feel. Aggressive and winning the ball seems to be his main focus and I guess with the abundance of creative players beside him, that's all that is required I guess. In short IMO, Kante suits Leicester and likewise Coq suits Arsenal. Switch them around and I don't think they will be as successful?? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osprey23 Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 I think Fergie said "best player in the EPL" If it's "best DM in the EPL" then I agree he is the best DM of the EPL. These days DM is not like Makelele's time where you just win the ball n pass to the more creative guys. You are expected to run box to box occasionally, set up attacks n link play besides the primary function of winning the ball n shielding the CBs. Matic raised the bar last season and now Kante has raised it even further. Glad to see him called up to the French squad BTW. Since we are on the topic of DMs, I feel Gunner's Coq is a very different kind of DM as compared to Kante. He has his strengths but very interesting is that he is more of the traditional type of DM I feel. Aggressive and winning the ball seems to be his main focus and I guess with the abundance of creative players beside him, that's all that is required I guess. In short IMO, Kante suits Leicester and likewise Coq suits Arsenal. Switch them around and I don't think they will be as successful?? I think everyone's stance on best player in EPL is different. All will agree you can't compare apples with oranges and hence, you can only consider that player for his position and his influence in the team's success. For eg, if Man Utd is to win the league, not much objection if De Gea is named the best player in EPL. So in this case, I think SAF felt that Kante's influence is stronger than the rest of his teammates. As a DM, breaking up attacks and shield the back four is the main duty. Does that well and that's all is required. If can still dribble, play long passes, do step overs, all these are bonuses. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 (edited) I think everyone's stance on best player in EPL is different. All will agree you can't compare apples with oranges and hence, you can only consider that player for his position and his influence in the team's success. For eg, if Man Utd is to win the league, not much objection if De Gea is named the best player in EPL. So in this case, I think SAF felt that Kante's influence is stronger than the rest of his teammates. As a DM, breaking up attacks and shield the back four is the main duty. Does that well and that's all is required. If can still dribble, play long passes, do step overs, all these are bonuses. Agree that we all have different opinions. Mine is "best player in the EPL" not necessary must come from the eventual Champions but the player that has stood out amongst his peers whichever team he belongs too. Leicester's success is due to a few players of which Kante is one of them. Obviously being forwards Vardy and Mahrez normally gets the plaudits. Personally, I feel for Leicester it's the whole team ethic which has made them so strong and their tactics suit the players they have so good Mgmt by Ranieri. They were also lucky with injuries. No one particular outstanding player amongst them but several very good ones IMO. Likewise the term "World Class player" is often banded around and I guess again it's subjective. I don't label players "World Class" easily and I remember being told off in the Man U thread when I said Scholes don't qualify cos Fergie named him as one and was told "I don't know" but that's what makes football interesting right? Differing opinions which we all can't claim to know everything, cheers! Edited March 22, 2016 by Spring 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osprey23 Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 Agree that we all have different opinions. Mine is "best player in the EPL" not necessary must come from the eventual Champions but the player that has stood out amongst his peers whichever team he belongs too. Leicester's success is due to a few players of which Kante is one of them. Obviously being forwards Vardy and Mahrez normally gets the plaudits. Personally, I feel for Leicester it's the whole team ethic which has made them so strong and their tactics suit the players they have so good Mgmt by Ranieri. They were also lucky with injuries. No one particular outstanding player amongst them but several very good ones IMO. Likewise the term "World Class player" is often banded around and I guess again it's subjective. I don't label players "World Class" easily and I remember being told off in the Man U thread when I said Scholes don't qualify cos Fergie named him as one and was told "I don't know" but that's what makes football interesting right? Differing opinions which we all can't claim to know everything, cheers! Schole is World Class? sorry I cannot agree also Yup, not necessary need to be the champion team but I am just citing an example on how much influence that player had in what his team achieved. Not necessary has to be the striker or players with the most goals imo. Of course unless is Suarez in that final season, that one he wins hands down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 Schole is World Class? sorry I cannot agree also Yup, not necessary need to be the champion team but I am just citing an example on how much influence that player had in what his team achieved. Not necessary has to be the striker or players with the most goals imo. Of course unless is Suarez in that final season, that one he wins hands down. This is the article which Fergie mentioned he managed 4 World Class players during his time as Man United Manager. http://www.goal.com/en/news/1862/premier-league/2015/10/02/15929172/sir-alex-ferguson-explains-four-world-class-players-at IMO, Schemeichel is World Class but Fergie didn't mentioned his name, again differing opinions I suppose!! Agree Suarez stood out as the outstanding player and yes it was a no brainer winner of the POTY that season n not just for the goals but the way he carried his team! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 Lol Pool fans don't want Man Utd to get in. Arsenal fans don't want West Ham to get in. Best is Pool do a miracle and take it then. Like that can boh? I'd be very happy to see L'pool take 4th... like I said earlier... I'd rather see Spurs win the League than see West Ham play in CL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 This is the article which Fergie mentioned he managed 4 World Class players during his time as Man United Manager. http://www.goal.com/en/news/1862/premier-league/2015/10/02/15929172/sir-alex-ferguson-explains-four-world-class-players-at IMO, Schemeichel is World Class but Fergie didn't mentioned his name, again differing opinions I suppose!! Agree Suarez stood out as the outstanding player and yes it was a no brainer winner of the POTY that season n not just for the goals but the way he carried his team! eh.. you never read the article? He clarified liao But Ferguson has now hit out the way his words have been interpreted by the media but maintains that his criteria was solely based on attacking players who “made a difference” Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 eh.. you never read the article? He clarified liao But Ferguson has now hit out the way his words have been interpreted by the media but maintains that his criteria was solely based on attacking players who “made a difference” The original chapter in the book he said "World Class Players" he has managed at United. It was only later that he clarified his meaning of World Class. By his definition of World Class, only attacking players count which is strange to say the least. I count Fabio Cannavaro as World Class in my definition and Buffon as well for that matter. Anyway, we all have our own definitions of what World Class means. The United fans saying I'm wrong have their own definition as well so I won't argue with them. My point was from the original "best player of the EPL" which with all due respect I don't see how it is Kante and hence the comparisons. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 And pest ham dun wan2 share a season of that stadium with my beloved spurs also. Haiz..... That olympic stadium they got it at a steal. But wonder if they have enough fans to fill the stadium or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 The original chapter in the book he said "World Class Players" he has managed at United. It was only later that he clarified his meaning of World Class. By his definition of World Class, only attacking players count which is strange to say the least. I count Fabio Cannavaro as World Class in my definition and Buffon as well for that matter. Anyway, we all have our own definitions of what World Class means. The United fans saying I'm wrong have their own definition as well so I won't argue with them. My point was from the original "best player of the EPL" which with all due respect I don't see how it is Kante and hence the comparisons. curious who you feel is the best player of the BPL? I don't think anyone really stand out.... maybe LVG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 curious who you feel is the best player of the BPL? I don't think anyone really stand out.... maybe LVG agree to a certain extent. This is one season ALL the big teams want to forget. All contrive to present the trophy to Leicester or Spurs. I suspect Raj Perumal or Dan Tan behind all these How else to explain they all collective play like crap ?!? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 curious who you feel is the best player of the BPL? I don't think anyone really stand out.... maybe LVG even he can't believe that... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 curious who you feel is the best player of the BPL? I don't think anyone really stand out.... maybe LVG Agreed no outstanding player this year and really scratching my head to decide. Corner me and I would likely choose between Payet or Delle Alli with Mahrez a close 3rd. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 22, 2016 Share March 22, 2016 Saw in the highlights show, this shirt pull on Huth by a Palace player and I would call it the "Mother of all shirt pulls" and no penalty awarded when his whole shirt came off!! http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3503453/GRAHAM-POLL-Referees-grips-shirt-pulling-penalty-area-NOW.html ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...