BPL 15/16 - The New Season Part 1

Maxus-MIFA9

So his reason is that Pool got 1 week break whereas ManU played during the weekend against West Ham ... :wut:

Sky Sports : Manchester United boss Louis van Gaal says he was proud of his players against Liverpool

I am glad LVG is proud of his players. His tactical plan was superb. Too bad cannot score only.

I hope man u continues to give LVG opportunity to play more games. sooner or (most likely) later, LVG will bring success to OT 

bottomline: dont sack LVG yet 

Three days ago, LvG said it before Pool Europa match and now he says it again before Manchester derby ... "We will win by 3 - 0 at home" and now 'Defeating Manchester City in this weekends derby'

"Kong Way Jin Tua Sia, Buay Pai Say One" ... :a-bang:

Someone need to teach him to sallow humble pie, don't be so arrogant ... [sly]

Yahoo : Van Gaal wants derby response from Man Utd

Manchester United manager Louis van Gaal urged his players to put the disappointment of Europa League elimination by Liverpool behind them by defeating Manchester City in this weekend's derby.

United were knocked out of the Europa League in the last 16 after a 1-1 draw at home to their arch-rivals on Thursday condemned them to a 3-1 aggregate defeat.

Their exit cut off one potential avenue to Champions League football next season and with United four points behind City, who occupy the fourth and final qualifying berth in the Premier League, Van Gaal knows that defeat at the Etihad Stadium on Sunday could be fatal.

"We have to beat Manchester City because that is the other chance to qualify ourselves for the Champions League," he told his post-

match press conference at Old Trafford.

With the FA Cup now the only competition United can win, Van Gaal was asked if failure to overcome Liverpool had increased the pressure on both him and his team.

"The pressure was also today," the embattled Dutchman replied.

"Manchester United always has pressure. The expectations are always high. The pressure for these players is always very high. We know that and we can cope with that. But we were not lucky today (Thursday)."

Trailing 2-0 after last week's one-sided first leg at Anfield, United halved Liverpool's aggregate deficit in the 32nd minute when Anthony Martial lured Nathaniel Clyne into a rash foul and scored the resulting penalty.

But Philippe Coutinho restored Liverpool's two-goal cushion on the stroke of half-time with a goal that manager Jurgen Klopp described as "genius" -- the Brazilian leaving Guillermo Varela for dead and then dinking a shot past United goalkeeper David de Gea at his near post.

The game's closing stages played out to a soundtrack of crowing chants from the away fans, but Van Gaal felt that his team had dominated to the same extent that Liverpool had in the first leg.

"We have played like Liverpool played in the home match with us," said the United manager, who was presiding over his 150th European game.

"We have done that with them. We have created a lot of chances. We scored a penalty. (Jesse) Lingard, (Juan) Mata, (Marouane) Fellaini, Martial (had chances), and then you concede one goal in the last seconds.

"That's what we did not do in Liverpool. They scored the away goal and that was the difference

more of the stories, link : https://sg.sports.yahoo.com/news/van-gaal-wants-derby-response-man-utd-021830977--sow.html

Expectation on ManU is always high cos Sir AF had set that standard.

Hello. Man U players since Beckham days care too much about their hair. Last time SAF gave them the hair dryer treatment to keep their hair intact so that they can focus in their Football. Nowadays don't have. If you notice the players keep flicking their hair when they play. The manager also do that. How to win? The only one not concern about hair is Giggs. He is fuming.

That's why I always believe if they want to keep the SAF identity alive, they have to give Giggs the job. LvG out and Mourinho in, 2-3 more seasons there will be a totally different culture at OT. By then, there is nothing Giggs could do to reverse it liao.

I might be wrong but if Mourinho really gets the job, I suspect Giggs might leave and go somewhere to start his managerial career.

That's why I always believe if they want to keep the SAF identity alive, they have to give Giggs the job. LvG out and Mourinho in, 2-3 more seasons there will be a totally different culture at OT. By then, there is nothing Giggs could do to reverse it liao.

I might be wrong but if Mourinho really gets the job, I suspect Giggs might leave and go somewhere to start his managerial career.

Join Valencia together with his colleague again ... [sly]

Mourinho at OT? I am divided. Think Will be the beginning of the end of Man U.

Quote:

"Klopp, who revealed that skipper Jordan Henderson had vomited at half-time, became the first Liverpool manager to avoid defeat on his first trip to Old Trafford since Graeme Souness in October 1991."

link : https://sg.sports.yahoo.com/news/van-gaal-wants-derby-response-man-utd-021830977--sow.html

So Hendo was sick .... :omg:

I am glad LVG is proud of his players. His tactical plan was superb. Too bad cannot score only.

I hope man u continues to give LVG opportunity to play more games. sooner or (most likely) later, LVG will bring success to OT 

bottomline: dont sack LVG yet 

well, they are still missing Looney. For all the complaints against him in recent couple of years, it is apparent that Manu is still very dependent on him if you ask me. 

Martial looks a very good and exciting prospects. but he is probably still a bit too young and needs to more consistent. 

i agree on the part - LVG to stay on as long as possible lol 

Mourinho at OT? I am divided. Think Will be the beginning of the end of Man U.

having mourinho at the club is like taking drugs and getting addicted to it.  once he is gone, the real withdrawal issues will surface and there wont be any youth players coming thru the system. just buy and buy players..

chelsea is the #1 player hogger club in the professional football areana..  sometimes just hijack transfer deals and prevent rival clubs from getting the players.. next moment, loan them out..  

well, they are still missing Looney. For all the complaints against him in recent couple of years, it is apparent that Manu is still very dependent on him if you ask me.

Martial looks a very good and exciting prospects. but he is probably still a bit too young and needs to more consistent.

i agree on the part - LVG to stay on as long as possible lol

having mourinho at the club is like taking drugs and getting addicted to it. once he is gone, the real withdrawal issues will surface and there wont be any youth players coming thru the system. just buy and buy players..

chelsea is the #1 player hogger club in the professional football areana.. sometimes just hijack transfer deals and prevent rival clubs from getting the players.. next moment, loan them out..

Well said bro but I feel there is another issue about JM taking over.

He isn't coming alone but widely reported to be joined by Andrea Berta, the Atletico Sporting Director. Both men are very close to Mendes. Good and bad if you ask me. Only Mendes will benefit.

Breaking: UEFA to charge both Liverpool and Man Utd for fans trouble.

Apparently 7 Liverpool fans managed to sneak into the Stratford stand and displayed a Liverpool flag. Scuffles broke out and stewards stepped in to break up the fight.

http://m.bbc.com/sport/football/35840289

Edited by Osprey23

UEFA Champion League QF draw

Wolfburg vs Real Madrid

Bayern Munich vs Benfica

Barcelona vs Atletico Madrid 

Paris Saint-Germain vs Man City

looks like at least 2 La Liga teams will be in the semi-final.

UEFA Champion League QF draw

Wolfburg vs Real Madrid

Bayern Munich vs Benfica

Barcelona vs Atletico Madrid

Paris Saint-Germain vs Man City

looks like at least 2 La Liga teams will be in the semi-final.

Key tie has to be Barcelona v Atletico Madrid. Best offense vs best defense.

UEL QF Draw:

Braga vs Shakhtar

Villarreal vs Sparta Praga

Athletic Bilbao vs Sevilla

Dortmund vs Liverpool

Edited by Osprey23

UEL QF Draw:

Braga vs Shakhtar

Villarreal vs Sparta Praga

Athletic Bilbao vs Sevilla

Dortmund vs Liverpool

buy toto also not so zhun  [grin]

very lopsided draw 

buy toto also not so zhun [grin]

very lopsided draw

It is written in the stars.

Let's give it a go. They are a good side but I trust Klopp. He knows that team better than Tuchel. Question only whether our players are up to it or not.