BPL 15/16 - The New Season Part 1

Maxus-MIFA9

Congrats to City making it into the QF of UCL.

Came with a huge price though with both Kompany and Otamendi subbed out injured.

Good news for Devil in the coming Manchester derby game.

The one against MU the easiest of the lot.

in my over 20 years of watching soccer and EPL.

i can say with almost full certainty that liverpool will drop points against manure.

Pool always screw up when playing smaller teams

in my over 20 years of watching soccer and EPL.

i can say with almost full certainty that liverpool will drop points against manure.

Pool always screw up when playing smaller teams

Don't remind us liao can? We dropped all 6 points against them this season.

Title Race Prediction by Sky Sports

If this prediction comes true, winner of EPL will be a team with less than 80pts which has not happened since Man United with 79 points in 1999!

Not taking away any credit from Leicester or whoever wins but this just shows that this season has been a one-off and whilst it has made it interesting, it also shows that it has been a weak season ie no dominant team which is good for the neutrals.

I hesitated to post this cos didn't want the Gunners fans to think I'm knocking their Mgr but I'm disturbed by this quote from Wenger that "I built the club"

http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/652859/Arsenal-Arsene-Wenger-Future-Quit-Emirates-Barcelona-Champions-League-Contract-News

Arsenal fans should always be grateful to Wenger for the success he has brought to the club.

But should they be indebted to him forever? I don't think so. No individual is bigger than the club be it Wenger at Arsenal nor Fergie at United. Individuals come and go but the club is there forever and actually so are the fans during their lifetime.

There shouldn't be sentiment in football as hard decisions have to be made for the best of the club and if it means Wenger is not up to it, then he should go no matter how much success he has brought in the past as the past is precisely that, past and only the present and perhaps the future that counts.

Inversely, a Manager who has been sacked should be respected for what he did for the club during his stay and not constantly be the blamed for wrong players bought, the mistakes he made during his stay etc. as he has gone after all. In short, support the club and not the individual. 

Title Race Prediction by Sky Sports

i think Arsenal fans are angry not becaue they again miss the title this season, but bitter rival Tottenham finishing (likely) above them

Chelsea have offered Zlatan Ibrahimovic a two-year deal worth almost £10m a season. (Source - FootMercato)

That's about £200kpw. Sounds fair.

Inversely, a Manager who has been sacked should be respected for what he did for the club during his stay and not constantly be the blamed for wrong players bought, the mistakes he made during his stay etc. as he has gone after all. In short, support the club and not the individual.

Beg to differ.

It will all depend on what he had done to deserve the respect.

Rafa I will always respect. Winning is that 5th UCL is just part of the reason. How he supported the fight for justice for the 96, standing up against the owners, the revamping of academy, the setting up of foundation funds set up for the Liverpool community. All these are good work that deserves respect regardless how long he had left us.

Woy deserves any respect? For introducing long balls into our style of play? Not a single bit in my opinion. Only harm to the club and nothing good in his short era.

BR? I have gratitude towards him for that wonderful season that made us dream. Respect? Hmm, sorry no have. It is precisely my support for the club that made it even stronger detest over his wrong signings. The mistakes are not just costly but have longer term implications for the club.

Wenger's "I built the club" quote I would take it as he revolutionised Arsenal. You can't take that away from him. That kind of impact on a club and the loyalty shown over 20 years, this is a manager who does not just deserves respect but also be allowed to step down with dignity.

Chelsea have offered Zlatan Ibrahimovic a two-year deal worth almost £10m a season. (Source - FootMercato)

Despite his age his still a monster of a player. His super size ego will make Bpl more entertaining.

he and costa.......... really twin terrors sia......

Zlatan might not choose them. This kind of salary Arsenal can match also

no C.L he want to go meh.

those team with realistic chance of challenging for champ league will want him meh?

if that's his consideration then best bet would be stay at psg.

he already play for almost all the biggest clubs in europe from juve to inter to barca to milan to psg

and won titles everywhere.

only epl he has yet to conquer

Wenger's "I built the club" quote I would take it as he revolutionised Arsenal. You can't take that away from him. That kind of impact on a club and the loyalty shown over 20 years, this is a manager who does not just deserves respect but also be allowed to step down with dignity.

This one I beg to differ.

Indebted to him forever even if he brings the club down or going backwards, no thanks!

What happens if he insists on staying way past his sell by date? Some guys are like this cos they have big egos and some cos they are downright stubborn.

Sorry, my club is more important than any individual!!

This one I beg to differ.

Indebted to him forever even if he brings the club down or going backwards, no thanks!

What happens if he insists on staying way past his sell by date? Some guys are like this cos they have big egos and some cos they are downright stubborn.

Sorry, my club is more important than any individual!!

Hehe, I don't think he wants to stay beyond this contract. Even if he does, unlikely Arsenal board would grant him.

As far as i can see, Wenger might not have scaled new height with Arsenal since injection of oil money. But did he bring Arsenal backward? I don't think so. Constantly keeping them in top 4 without the kind of finance to compete cannot be seen as a failure.

Yes, it is ok for Arsenal to call for a change. However, like I have said in my earlier post, Wenger deserves a dignified exit. He earns it.