2015 Aug, 1st COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

help abit leh [grin]

Cannot even guess, because Cat C right now is not an open market. LTA allow existing owners to convert their own vehicles to new vehicles directly without bidding.

I don't even know how to guess at how many of those existing owners will accept the offer. They are the ones that determine how many Cat C COEs will be available for bidding and thus the price.

Cannot even guess, because Cat C right now is not an open market. LTA allow existing owners to convert their own vehicles to new vehicles directly without bidding.

I don't even know how to guess at how many of those existing owners will accept the offer. They are the ones that determine how many Cat C COEs will be available for bidding and thus the price.

I think govt is controlling cat c market by giving vehicle owners a headstart over non-vehicle owners

I think is to prevent those wanna buy small van as personal ride chaps [sly]

Huh? You don't understand my england? [confused]

I mean, it is understandable that they planned the car park to home ratio to say 50% in the 60s-70s.

But as the society progress, and there is a change in direction towards car ownership, someone in HDB would have raise a flag to alert that there might be insufficient car park in the old estate. Some thing has to be done.

But instead, HDB waited until people starts complaining and they hush hush build more car park before the election.

知错能改, 赞!

Let's do a play play okay?

Imagine you are the HDB planner reporting to the Minister. LTA just inform you that next 5 years, they intend to increase number of COE by 50%.

You have all the HDB estates planning to do, mature estates like Queenstown Bukit Merah, Geylang East, Clementi, Jurong East, Boon Lay, Hougang, AMK, Tampines, Bedok, Woodlands, Yishun and New towns like Punggol, Sengkang Jurong West and so on.

Boss say you can spent but must be accountable to people because Opposition will question why spent so much on building carparks.

Where do you spend?

I think govt is controlling cat c market by giving vehicle owners a headstart over non-vehicle owners

I think is to prevent those wanna buy small van as personal ride chaps [sly]

Yep... and this is a unsubstantiated rumor that some people linked with the planners have interested in commercial vehicles. The rumors say that if you look back at Cat C, all sort of weird weird things can also chut that you never see in the other CATs.

Edited by Limwsv

Imagine you are the HDB planner reporting to the Minister. LTA just inform you that next 5 years, they intend to increase number of COE by 50%.

You have all the HDB estates planning to do, mature estates like Queenstown Bukit Merah, Geylang East, Clementi, Jurong East, Boon Lay, Hougang, AMK, Tampines, Bedok, Woodlands, Yishun and New towns like Punggol, Sengkang Jurong West and so on.

Boss say you can spent but must be accountable to people because Opposition will question why spent so much on building carparks.

Where do you spend?

Yep... and this is a unsubstantiated rumor that some people linked with the planners have interested in commercial vehicles. The rumors say that if you look back at Cat C, all sort of weird weird things can also chut that you never see in the other CATs.

sbs smrt bus coe expiring? need to renew? [sly]

I think the GPS ERP will co-exist with COE... Why earn less can you can earn from 2 sources. You risk pissing all the guys who've bought cars over the past 10 years also. May be they might throw us a fricking bone by making GPS ERP cheaper for a first few months or years, after that I won't be surprised if we get speeding tickets using that tech as well.

this part i really dun believe will happen ... least on all ROADS per se

then what will happen to all the Ferrari , Lambo , porsche ...u think they will drive 60KM / h?

Edited by rickosw

Normal driving no need traction control

I have never seen that light flash before when driving

I don't even know under what conditions will it activate

😂

Mine did, on normal road, once. At TPE.

It was raining and i think i ran over some water+oil and started to drift to the left. The skid symbol lit up and i think the brakes were pumped automatically and the drifting stopped. I was like "wow!"

Back to COE, if the price fits your budget, just buy. If not, can wait at your own risks. Owning a car now is not just the monthly instalment but also on cash savings. Many are holding back because of the cash upfront.

Where do you spend?

yes, I do recall that alot of people start to buy Opel combo because turbo diesel and cheap and drive to school by setting up a business registry and ask the father to buy.. at that time new one was 32 K to 50K inclusive of COE.

Where do you spend?

If I am the HDB planner... I admit I did nothing on the car park as there was no information communicated down.

People starts to complain in MCF as early as 2009 but nothing was done as it was recession.

(oh yes. We raised the overnight parking charge from $2 to $4 to solve the parking problem at night.)

By late 2010, I was given order, by hook or by crook to add some car parks by Q1 2011.

Where do you spend?

dont need play play, the building to carpark ration has already being tweak

And please tell me you honestly believe that the majority of the bids are by car buyers and not by dealers who bid up the price to secure the cars ?

If I am the HDB planner... I admit I did nothing on the car park as there was no information communicated down.

People starts to complain in MCF as early as 2009 but nothing was done as it was recession.

(oh yes. We raised the overnight parking charge from $2 to $4 to solve the parking problem at night.)

By late 2010, I was given order, by hook or by crook to add some car parks by Q1 2011.

Huh? You don't understand my chinese meh? [laugh]

LTA did inform HDB that more COE coming downstream base on road expansion. Remember COE supply formula tie to total roads space available during the last expansion. HDB planner did try to plan. Why you try to siam and say that HDB planner say no info given?

dont need play play, the building to carpark ration has already being tweak

And please tell me you honestly believe that the majority of the bids are by car buyers and not by dealers who bid up the price to secure the cars ?

Let try to investigate this line of thinking okay?

Facts :

1. Cat A and Cat B COE need to be registered to bidder.

2. Dealers find 1000 (remaining are genuine buyers) Ah Gow, Ah Huay to use their NRIC to register.

3. Dealers got all the 1000 COEs for Ah Gow and Ah Huay.

4. Err.. the gave the cars to Ah Gow and Ah Huay for free? If so, you know how to become Ah Gow or Ah Huay, I want to be one too.

5. Never mind, did not give Ah Gow and Ah huay. Sell as 2nd hand car?

6. Never mind, also not sell as 2nd hand car. Re-export back to Japan? Recycle COE back into the pool?

Huh? You don't understand my chinese meh? [laugh]

LTA did inform HDB that more COE coming downstream base on road expansion. Remember COE supply formula tie to total roads space available during the last expansion. HDB planner did try to plan. Why you try to siam and say that HDB planner say no info given?

Hmm..... You are from LTA. :XD:

Shhh.... MTAs will complain to my bosses that I revealing public policies in contravention of HR policies. [laugh]

I predicted a drop using objective data, no emotions ir personal sentiments:

a. Greek crisis

b. China stock mkt turmoils

c. Sin property mkt doldrums

d. Sin stock mkt lacklustre

e. SIBOR expects to head north

f. Economy not fantastic, in fact, we are in technical recession now

g. 40-50% downpayments in place,

h. Showrooms not packed

etc etc

i agree with all the points except point F

reason: i have direct access to the Head Economist of two different local banks (local retail bank & local private bank), i have double check with them, both told me there is no technical recession. if have they will have send out reports to warn clients.

also: if really have technical recession, you can see those online media website, SG kaki, All SG stuff, The Online Citizen, sure blast the government about "technical recession".

so whoever has that article / research house that states SG is in techincal recession, please share.

thanks

hmm... imagine that Mr Lim's theory comes true, and if each person on average owns 1 car, we may have 5 millions cars parked somewhere in the HDB carparks. To effectively control these cars, the GPS ERP rate might be $10/km. All these sound very extreme to me, but nonetheless still possible.

Lol. 7m pple we already kpkb. 5m cars is impossible. To be honest i do not think sg can handle more than 1m vehicles.

Wait for the shock tomorrow

Lol. 7m pple we already kpkb. 5m cars is impossible. To be honest i do not think sg can handle more than 1m vehicles.

I would be quite surprised if we really go ahead with GPS ERP. Any system that depends on client side equipment is easily circumvented. That's why ERP gantries need cameras. Else I would simply install a switch on my ERP unit and switch it off when crossing a gantry.

Very interested to know how LTA intends to protect the integrity of the GPS unit in the car.