Hiaceminibus Clutched August 1, 2015 Share August 1, 2015 Fine Singtel? Fine SMRT? At the end of the day who get the fine? MDA and LTA? Why the fine doesn't goes to the commuter or subscriber? We are the one who suffer during the breakdown. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged August 1, 2015 Share August 1, 2015 high flyer meh? ah loong 32 yr old general liaoz. hahahaha the others all became ministers by that age..... ah loong led an operation that saved lives mah .... but he stopped at 1 star. the rest all sit in the office ...no action one ... but still got 3 stars. M1 and myrepublic both 39.9 for 1gb iirc myrepublic $10 more than M1. Fine Singtel? Fine SMRT? At the end of the day who get the fine? MDA and LTA? Why the fine doesn't goes to the commuter or subscriber? We are the one who suffer during the breakdown. wrote to the newpapers before and was printed ... but no one responded. think last week got another person also wrote in and was printed ... also no response. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic August 1, 2015 Share August 1, 2015 ah loong led an operation that saved lives mah .... but he stopped at 1 star. the rest all sit in the office ...no action one ... but still got 3 stars. Yeah. I'm sure all the officers that participated in sq117 operations became generals Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear August 1, 2015 Author Share August 1, 2015 (edited) Sorry bro i just saw your post, I did not mean to cause offence. Was making a general statement about how the local Telcos exploit us. And did not mean to refer to u. Yes, u need fast broadband as the apps in the android boxes mostly stream the content. Some may allow download (so speed is not so important for these apps) but most are streaming apps. Unfortunately as for which is the fastest, IMHO its still sinktel and this is what i mean when i say they have a captive consumer whom they exploit. I hate them but i still have to use them as they offer a bundle which gives discounts for mobile and broadband for my family. You can also try Myrepublic as i think they also offer a VPN portal and that would be useful for access foreign restricted websites and Netflix and Hulu. But as i said before the Android boxes render these redundant. If u want to try the android apps on your PC first, you can load Bluestacks. This will let u run the android apps on your iMac or PC so u can watch the dramas and movies on the PC. Fer me i prefer to watch on big tv so i rely on the android box. I hope that helps bro I am one of those ingnorant suckhub client.......still on their cable tv....hahhaha. Come next month my contract ends and i am seriously thinking of jumping ship to those online offerings. But i still have to get a fast broadband or fibre for going online. Pray tell which broadband is the bestest! Edited August 1, 2015 by NightWind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 Sorry bro i just saw your post, I did not mean to cause offence. Was making a general statement about how the local Telcos exploit us. And did not mean to refer to u. Yes, u need fast broadband as the apps in the android boxes mostly stream the content. Some may allow download (so speed is not so important for these apps) but most are streaming apps. Unfortunately as for which is the fastest, IMHO its still sinktel and this is what i mean when i say they have a captive consumer whom they exploit. I hate them but i still have to use them as they offer a bundle which gives discounts for mobile and broadband for my family. You can also try Myrepublic as i think they also offer a VPN portal and that would be useful for access foreign restricted websites and Netflix and Hulu. But as i said before the Android boxes render these redundant. If u want to try the android apps on your PC first, you can load Bluestacks. This will let u run the android apps on your iMac or PC so u can watch the dramas and movies on the PC. Fer me i prefer to watch on big tv so i rely on the android box. I hope that helps bro no problem bro....no offence taken! Thanks for the reply. My elder bro is on singtel and he hates it.....he took up their offer of 1mgbs but did some test. His conclusion.....none of his gadgets on wifi can get reach those numbers even if running solo but those connected physically to his lan could. Always wonder why ST with only thin cable could provide better numbers than Suckhub eventhough suckhub uses bigger and newer cables. Both actually controls the majority of sg small market and do what it pleases to squeeze the customers dry. Many of us knows this but the alternatives are somewhat connected to all this circus. For now even watching netflix and hulu we still need their services no matter how it suck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 Yeah. I'm sure all the officers that participated in sq117 operations became generals actually i am talking about this one ... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Cable_Car_disaster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear August 2, 2015 Author Share August 2, 2015 Hi bro, u will need actual lan ethernet connection to get max speed fer streaming. If use wifi u will lose 60-70% speed. To be fair this is not a sinktel problem but inherently due to hardware constraints. Netflix is more for movies. Hulu better fer dramas. Both require vpn. N both allow streaming only. I suggest u try The android apps on bluestacks first. Its free n easy to use no problem bro....no offence taken! Thanks for the reply. My elder bro is on singtel and he hates it.....he took up their offer of 1mgbs but did some test. His conclusion.....none of his gadgets on wifi can get reach those numbers even if running solo but those connected physically to his lan could. Always wonder why ST with only thin cable could provide better numbers than Suckhub eventhough suckhub uses bigger and newer cables. Both actually controls the majority of sg small market and do what it pleases to squeeze the customers dry. Many of us knows this but the alternatives are somewhat connected to all this circus. For now even watching netflix and hulu we still need their services no matter how it suck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 Hi bro, u will need actual lan ethernet connection to get max speed fer streaming. If use wifi u will lose 60-70% speed. To be fair this is not a sinktel problem but inherently due to hardware constraints. Netflix is more for movies. Hulu better fer dramas. Both require vpn. N both allow streaming only. I suggest u try The android apps on bluestacks first. Its free n easy to use i thought all post 2000 computers are supplied with ethernet cards? Have been so long since i update myself on latest computer hardware! Thanks for the info ya...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 (edited) i thought all post 2000 computers are supplied with ethernet cards? Have been so long since i update myself on latest computer hardware! Thanks for the info ya...... Most computers may just have a 100Mbps ethernet card. If you have a 1Gbps (1000Mbps) fibre connection, then your bottleneck will be the 100Mbps ethernet card. Wifi connection is much worse, limited to the router wifi connection speed. If you have 801.11ac, your theoretical speed may hit anywhere from 300~900Mbps. So to max out 1Gbps fibre, your hardware must also be improved. For me, I've bought a 1000Mbps ethernet card to plug into my desktop and a cat 6 cable accordingly. I signed up for starhub 1Gbps plan and it comes free with a D-Link AC1200 router, supposed to be up to 800Mbps wifi. Edited August 2, 2015 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 Most computers may just have a 100Mbps ethernet card. If you have a 1Gbps (1000Mbps) fibre connection, then your bottleneck will be the 100Mbps ethernet card. Wifi connection is much worse, limited to the router wifi connection speed. If you have 801.11ac, your theoretical speed may hit anywhere from 300~900Mbps. So to max out 1Gbps fibre, your hardware must also be improved. For me, I've bought a 1000Mbps ethernet card to plug into my desktop and a cat 6 cable accordingly. I signed up for starhub 1Gbps plan and it comes free with a D-Link AC1200 router, supposed to be up to 800Mbps wifi. thanks for the info....i gave up on on catching the latest hardware/software 2 decades oredy....last time can built own pc....an booting the hd from scratch using pre 95 windows. Now lazy oredy with all these software and hardware. How is your business going? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 actually i am talking about this one ... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Cable_Car_disaster i know what i meant was that if saving lives was a criteria for promotion. the guys involved in SQ hijacking would have all be generals too. but that is not the case Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 thanks for the info....i gave up on on catching the latest hardware/software 2 decades oredy....last time can built own pc....an booting the hd from scratch using pre 95 windows. Now lazy oredy with all these software and hardware. How is your business going? Surviving...thank you. Yeah, me too, getting lazy on sw,. hw.. Just occasionally upgrade hw if it doesn't cost too much. The 1000Mbps ethercard card from aliexpress only cost US$5. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 Surviving...thank you. Yeah, me too, getting lazy on sw,. hw.. Just occasionally upgrade hw if it doesn't cost too much. The 1000Mbps ethercard card from aliexpress only cost US$5. wah.....so cheap! last time cost nearly 500 bucks! My pc conked out liao...wont even boot up....most prob a power supply issue....want to open up also lazy.....hahaha! Now i only surf using my samsung androids. I love my pc but it was going very slow before it conked out.....😢😢😢😢 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 Surviving...thank you. Yeah, me too, getting lazy on sw,. hw.. Just occasionally upgrade hw if it doesn't cost too much. The 1000Mbps ethercard card from aliexpress only cost US$5. how long did it take for your card to come ?? i ordered my lan cable and network card together .... the cable came in 10 days... but it has been a month already and i still have not got the card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 how long did it take for your card to come ?? i ordered my lan cable and network card together .... the cable came in 10 days... but it has been a month already and i still have not got the card. Still waiting. My guess about 1 month. Standard slow shipping from China. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic August 2, 2015 Share August 2, 2015 Still waiting. My guess about 1 month. Standard slow shipping from China. skali china ship lost it's propeller in the south china sea.......😂😂😂😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic August 4, 2015 Share August 4, 2015 HUAT arh! Sinktel free unlimited mobile data from 7 to 10 Aug! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 4, 2015 Share August 4, 2015 HUAT arh! Sinktel free unlimited mobile data from 7 to 10 Aug! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...