Neutrino Supercharged July 28, 2015 Share July 28, 2015 Totally one sided and rubbish, imo. We all know there are problems but if they are going to report stuff then .. But that's never going to happen because then it's not 'news'. http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/asia/singapores-domestic-workers-routinely-exploited-and-often-abused-in-the-service-of-rich-nationals-10422589.html ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 28, 2015 Share July 28, 2015 Aiya, what's new. All newspapers have their own agenda, their own way and reasoning for writing things. Most are trash. If you think what newspapers write are really "news", think again. And I say this even for our own ST and TNP. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 28, 2015 Share July 28, 2015 Its actually the other way round. Maids exploiting the employer......lol One should go down Toa Payoh Garden on a sunday afternoon. It is totally overwhelmed by maids & their bangala boyfriends. Hardly the run-away depressed maids written in the articles 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 28, 2015 Share July 28, 2015 (edited) maid , i can say 20/80 where the case is limited but FW exploitation is 80/20 ... main-con sub-con sub-sub-con are all CON! Edited July 28, 2015 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 My last maid checked herself into sgh for miscarriage. I am so happy now without domestic helper and my kiddos are coping well without one. But still i thank her for her past contributions. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 I wouldn't say he's wrong, but its the way he wrote it. It only focus on the negative side. Anyway I believe this is how Asian culture is. We set many ground rules and are very strict. From my experience, problematic maids that are returned back to the agency would usually be hardsell to angmoh because they know AM usually more tolerant and give much more freedom to these maids and won't complain as much as Singaporeans. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 Small time newspaper in UK lah. Want to gain readership go hit ppl below the belt. Here's the pot saying hello to the kettle... http://www.gmanetwork.com/news/story/494706/pinoyabroad/worldfeatures/britain-s-tied-visa-rules-fuel-abuse-of-live-in-maids-nannies https://www.opendemocracy.net/ourkingdom/hugh-davies/superrich-boss-vs-abused-maid-whose-side-are-we-on I can also play the same game. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 I had a colleague who had problem over the biscuit thingy. He was complaining that the maid was stealing their biscuit and their baby biscuit. Cant they see that the maid maybe having problems with the food she was eating daily. Kns......hubby and wife works but cant spare a thought for the maid until the maid had to resort to such method. Its only biscuits......not even jewelleries or cash! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 I had a colleague who had problem over the biscuit thingy. He was complaining that the maid was stealing their biscuit and their baby biscuit. Cant they see that the maid maybe having problems with the food she was eating daily. Kns......hubby and wife works but cant spare a thought for the maid until the maid had to resort to such method. Its only biscuits......not even jewelleries or cash! These ppl see a biscuit bigger dan the Singapore Flyer. LoL... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 Yeah, I had a colleague maid ran to the police station one day to report that she was not given enough food. I don't know what's wrong with employers that cannot feed their workers. In the end, the police let him take the helper home anyway ...... Maybe they are also the people who buy expensive cars, but don't want to pay for fuel and servicing. errr....dont want to pay for fuel is one thing........worst if it is a stolen car......hahaha! Aiyah.....nowadays the people are educated.....but the mind is not trained to see the obvious...😟😟😟😟 These ppl see a biscuit bigger dan the Singapore Flyer. LoL... Some maids are just not used to having meals square on time......maybe thats the practise back home......eat whenever one is hungry.....😆😆😆. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 Yeah, I had a colleague maid ran to the police station one day to report that she was not given enough food. I don't know what's wrong with employers that cannot feed their workers. In the end, the police let him take the helper home anyway ...... Maybe they are also the people who buy expensive cars, but don't want to pay for fuel and servicing. If ppl can forget to feed their pets with food and water this is not surprising. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 Eating is never an issue for me. One of my previous helper likes jam. Jam with bread, jam with rice, jam with anything. Big fish big meat all don't want. I told her no problem, just tell me the flavour you like and I will buy. And just 2 weeks later, she is so scare of jam that is anything but jam... Current helper likes laksa and chicken rice. Everyday must have either one. No problem for me. After 2 months, she realise she puts on a lot of weight and is currently on diet. hahahaha.....Sorry, is my fault for not helping her to control her weight. Hard to find boyfriend now when she goes back to Philippines. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 the so-call exploitation is quite common in Singapore, be it maid or in a few industries. But no country is saint if one has to find such abuse case. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 To me eat is ok but dont do sneakily Eat food is ok but dont steal the valuables I find this article is very one sided Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 (edited) Not only maids get abused in Singapore. Interns too get abused at work... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B4MzjRZ5JV0 We were kenna tekan when we were recruits in NS. When you are at the bottom of the food chain sure kenna. That's life. Edited July 29, 2015 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 On the balance of things, I would rather be a maid with angmoh family than a singaporean one (income-matched). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 On the balance of things, I would rather be a maid with angmoh family than a singaporean one (income-matched). amtk mar....😂😂😂😂😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic July 29, 2015 Share July 29, 2015 amtk mar.... More like AMEP. Ang Mo Expat Package. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...