Little_prince Supersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 yeah probably cannot. had a chat with a friend of mine on this. what he said made sense. if the pay cut is less than 10%, then it might not be a bad move given that 1. the job stability. 2. annual pay increment in CS is 3-5%. private sector might not even have that some years. esp those in engineering etc. 3. stable bonus. 3-4 mths every yr. alot of sme or even mnc cannot match. 4. every 3-4 yr can look forward to a pay adjustment. (10-15%). most private sectors companies don't have this. so if you're looking at a long term CS career. it might not be a bad move even with a slight pay cut. sigh i am one of those u mention moving into vulnerable age group. but i don't think public sector 's pay now can match what we make in private sector. its only the assurance of an iron rice bowl then u feel secure and happier (maybe?) private sector is also more free and flexible, i feel. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 yeah. just interviewed for a CS position. now all contract basis. but the HR say the benefits are the same and will most probably convert to perm position within the contract period if you perform satisfactory. There is going to be a huge sacrifice - you won't be able to surf MCF like you are doing now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 lol true . no more internet. smart Nation FTW. There is going to be a huge sacrifice - you won't be able to surf MCF like you are doing now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 lol true . no more internet. smart Nation FTW. depends, no access from office PC, but if no one eye on you, can ways use a tablet or handphone with data (disclaimer: i am not in public sector) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 (edited) yeah probably cannot. had a chat with a friend of mine on this. what he said made sense. if the pay cut is less than 10%, then it might not be a bad move given that 1. the job stability. 2. annual pay increment in CS is 3-5%. private sector might not even have that some years. esp those in engineering etc. 3. stable bonus. 3-4 mths every yr. alot of sme or even mnc cannot match. 4. every 3-4 yr can look forward to a pay adjustment. (10-15%). most private sectors companies don't have this. so if you're looking at a long term CS career. it might not be a bad move even with a slight pay cut. wah eng eng cheng cheng 3-4 months bonus every 3-4 years pay adjustment 10-15% ... plus every year 3% increment ... that's more than a promotion liao in private sector. rise faster than taking helicopter. definitely moving to CS even have to kiss someone backside and polish their shoes ghim ghim goot goot Edited April 24, 2017 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 (edited) yeah probably cannot. had a chat with a friend of mine on this. what he said made sense. if the pay cut is less than 10%, then it might not be a bad move given that 1. the job stability. 2. annual pay increment in CS is 3-5%. private sector might not even have that some years. esp those in engineering etc. 3. stable bonus. 3-4 mths every yr. alot of sme or even mnc cannot match. 4. every 3-4 yr can look forward to a pay adjustment. (10-15%). most private sectors companies don't have this. so if you're looking at a long term CS career. it might not be a bad move even with a slight pay cut. I can say with certainty these are not true. Job stability yes, but the rest as stated are definitely not so certain. The increment each year is subjective but after few years when one reaches the ceiling for a grade, if no promotion then will stuck there without increment for as many years as it takes. And promotion is merit base, not time base. Also, the 3 to 4 months performance bonus is variable and can be zero, depends on performance. Only top performers in top band can get this quantum. Although the 13th month and publicly announced aws is guaranteed. After few years will have a 10 to 15 percentage increment, is not guaranteed also. Every five years or so ,the cs will study the private sector pay and use it to calibrate the cs pay, discounting the job stability factor, and then adjust, if the cs pay has lagged behind private sector for equivalent job. Often, after the market study will end up no adjustment also. Edited April 24, 2017 by Ingenius 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 (edited) 邊度會有咁大隻蛤乸隨街跳㗎?! http://www.cantonese.sheik.co.uk/dictionary/words/41950/ Edited April 24, 2017 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 (edited) got ... all rooted their asses on the seat in aircon room wait for retirement at 65 liao where got hoping on the street ... sibei risky leh ... LOL when an empty seat is available ... must have kangtow to connect hor 邊度會有咁大隻蛤乸隨街跳㗎?! http://www.cantonese.sheik.co.uk/dictionary/words/41950/ Edited April 24, 2017 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 lol true . no more internet. smart Nation FTW. ? You can use hp bah. Unless you are still at the no camera phone areas in mindef Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 Hhhmmmm, ok, if that is all i have to do and working days are monday and wed only with highest band of the MX9 salary, i think can reconsider.this kind of working hours you want...they would need to pay you much more than mx9 and make you a full minister 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 this kind of working hours you want...they would need to pay you much more than mx9 and make you a full minister 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 (edited) 12 + aws + 2 months bonus 15 x $20k = $300k where got "dignity" to talk to company ceo and directors Edited April 24, 2017 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 are you guys in private sector earning so much? not me... i joined public sector with 15% increase in monthly pay, plus 15/16 month annual packages definitely more than what i was getting in MNC maybe i was underpaid then 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 24, 2017 Share April 24, 2017 12 + aws + 2 months bonus 15 x $20k = $300k where got "dignity" to talk to company ceo and directors If salary only $300kpa, not require to talk to CEOs lah.... Just relacsmoke cigar, wear rolex, can already are you guys in private sector earning so much? not me... i joined public sector with 15% increase in monthly pay, plus 15/16 month annual packages definitely more than what i was getting in MNC maybe i was underpaid then What pay scale is that? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...