Better router or wifi extender

Stratovarius

I always use routers provided by the ISP.

Just not the ISP I am contracted with.

So many people recontract and get a new router and sell on Carol's Hell

I got this for my MIL's place only paid $12 for it.

The owner said he got it 8 years ago and I said I don't mind its just for my MIL.

MIL loves it she says it doesn't look like a giant spider.

image.thumb.png.231cf28256f4a204892b9ac3c784d42b.png

13 minutes ago, Si4dr said:

@Lala81 Yup thinking of switching but hesitate after try out other brand router can't connect Singtel TV box.

Will try out Jman method tonight, if it works will ask Singtel fly kite 

Dropped that TV box lo

😂

8 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

I always use routers provided by the ISP.

Just not the ISP I am contracted with.

So many people recontract and get a new router and sell on Carol's Hell

I got this for my MIL's place only paid $12 for it.

The owner said he got it 8 years ago and I said I don't mind its just for my MIL.

MIL loves it she says it doesn't look like a giant spider.

image.thumb.png.231cf28256f4a204892b9ac3c784d42b.png

I got this one too. Sell u huat!huat!huat! $8.88 ai mai(CNY coming u know)?

1 minute ago, Si4dr said:

I got this one too. Sell u huat!huat!huat! $8.88 ai mai(CNY coming u know)?

I am getting MIL a new one for Xmas

She hates spiders!

1.jpg.3cee7ca661ff5fa9cb2c5145706403f2.jpg

On 12/15/2022 at 9:02 AM, Si4dr said:

My Singtel broadband 1Gbps contract expired and was offer recontract with Mesh extender.

My AC plus router already 4yrs old so not sure it can connect to the extender.

(my kids complain sometimes slow & signal weak)

I also have Singtel TV box. Last time did try replace the AC plus router with other brand but the TV box somehow cannot connect to it(suppose to auto connect)

Called tech support hotline they reboot bla-bla-bla still cannot. Change new TV box also can't connect.

Any bro can advise or have face same issue??

weekend try to connect the new TP Link wifi mesh to the starhub ONR, sad to say the starhub tv box cannot play the local channels, no problem with the other paid channels and apps like netflix, disney+, viu, youtube, etc. ONLY the local channels [laugh]

called the help line they immediately tell me that for wifi mesh only 2 Nokia models and 3 Linksys models are compatible, sian.... now need to buy those digital antenna just to watch local channels.

38 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

weekend try to connect the new TP Link wifi mesh to the starhub ONR, sad to say the starhub tv box cannot play the local channels, no problem with the other paid channels and apps like netflix, disney+, viu, youtube, etc. ONLY the local channels [laugh]

called the help line they immediately tell me that for wifi mesh only 2 Nokia models and 3 Linksys models are compatible, sian.... now need to buy those digital antenna just to watch local channels.

Yeah. That's what i was told too. Need to use their provided crappy router to watch local crappy shows. But you can connect your own mesh to the output of their nokia router and enjoy best of both worlds. 

for me i just download mewatch on my TV and avoid using their nokia all together. 

54 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

I can receive free-to-air channels anywhere in the home away from the window without fancy antenna. Can give it a try.
https://imgur.com/CM7xfQd
https://imgur.com/BsP4xUZ

Edited by ktnpl

7 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

Yeah. That's what i was told too. Need to use their provided crappy router to watch local crappy shows. But you can connect your own mesh to the output of their nokia router and enjoy best of both worlds. 

for me i just download mewatch on my TV and avoid using their nokia all together. 

i still need the easy way via 102-108 channels as my mom doesn't know how to view from mewatch.

you mean keep one of the beacon mesh and connect to the TP Link mesh?

1 minute ago, Jman888 said:

i still need the easy way via 102-108 channels as my mom doesn't know how to view from mewatch.

you mean keep one of the beacon mesh and connect to the TP Link mesh?

Yeah that works also but not for me as i did not sub to their TV box.

The guy told me connect the nokia to the modem and link your TP link to the output port of the nokia. There maybe some speed lost but you still can connect most of your devices to the TPlink and the TV to the nokia. And i dont think you can do it the other way around, meaning your TPlink to the modem and Nokia to TPlink. 

A quick update - Stinktel replaced the unwanted Router with a Mesh extender. But it is faulty and the WiFi signal auto turned off after 20 seconds!

Technical support coming......

Some bros are right - don't bother with Stinktel equipment. 

On 12/8/2022 at 2:48 PM, Volvobrick said:

Hope someone can answer my question. Singtel is having a recontact promotion giving a free Mesh WiFi 6 extender. 

Currently I have an old Singtel router (AC Plus or something like that) plus a few non-mesh extender. Do I need to get a new Mesh router? Would the Mesh extender alone make any difference to the connections? or it is not worth the effort to add the Mesh extender?

Just few days ago a Singtel contractor came to my house to upgrade the ONR and give 2 free wifi6 mesh devices as promotion for 2Gbps service upgrade. Had been using Google mesh for a few years but even with 3 mesh, also cannot serve the 2 storey house fully and got quite a few deadzones where speedtest can drop to low double digits. So quite skeptical about this free mesh package but decided to try out since is free. 

But the devices really blown my mind way as after experimenting with placements for the 2nd wireless mesh, all corners inside the house are covered with weakest speedtest achieving close to 200Mbps! If I take away the 2nd mesh, the speedtest dropped to single digit straightaway, so it is really attesting to the performance aspect. Fyi my 2 storey house each has about 1600sqft. 

Not sure how reliable the mesh routers are, but really satisfied now.

wifi6-mesh-askey-300x400.png

42 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Just few days ago a Singtel contractor came to my house to upgrade the ONR and give 2 free wifi6 mesh devices as promotion for 2Gbps service upgrade. Had been using Google mesh for a few years but even with 3 mesh, also cannot serve the 2 storey house fully and got quite a few deadzones where speedtest can drop to low double digits. So quite skeptical about this free mesh package but decided to try out since is free. 

But the devices really blown my mind way as after experimenting with placements for the 2nd wireless mesh, all corners inside the house are covered with weakest speedtest achieving close to 200Mbps! If I take away the 2nd mesh, the speedtest dropped to single digit straightaway, so it is really attesting to the performance aspect. Fyi my 2 storey house each has about 1600sqft. 

Not sure how reliable the mesh routers are, but really satisfied now.

wifi6-mesh-askey-300x400.png

I recontracted only 1GPS, so they must have given me the lousy model....! 

2 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

Yeah that works also but not for me as i did not sub to their TV box.

The guy told me connect the nokia to the modem and link your TP link to the output port of the nokia. There maybe some speed lost but you still can connect most of your devices to the TPlink and the TV to the nokia. And i dont think you can do it the other way around, meaning your TPlink to the modem and Nokia to TPlink. 

will try the method you mentioned and see how the speed, if drop by a lot compare to what TP Link is having now, then i rather use the digital antenna.

1 hour ago, Volvobrick said:

I recontracted only 1GPS, so they must have given me the lousy model....! 

This mesh router can buy from Carousell. Each unit abt $100. Was thinking to get 1 or 2 more but ended up just 2 is enough to serve the house. I practically went to all the far end corners of the house to do speedtest and very happy that all can get close to 200mbps. 

23 hours ago, AndrewLee72 said:

Just go SL-Sq buy 1 andriod box - about $180 - can watch local channel and also tons of other channels - including E-Pee-L. Retire your Singtell box

Got lobang which one better mah? Bought a couple and is extremely laggy at times… in the end, all never use liaoo