inlinesix Hypersonic July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 Indeed, the 2 second rule at 70 km/h implies 7 car lengths (S class Merc length used in fairness). Try maintaining that safe distance on a Singapore expressway though without being undertaken... I guess Singaporeans are known for their lightning fast reflexes and can cope with 1.5 car lengths at 80 km/h. What could go wrong after all? Think of all that time saved. At the next traffic light. Sorry hor! You can't even do that on NSH. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 Sorry hor! You can't even do that on NSH. no need NSH bro. I 2nd link go in to Kempas area, 140km/h on 2nd lane, still got PICK UPS overtaking me on right. And the thing about Malaysian highways, cars just give way, regardless of speed limit. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 Sorry hor! You can't even do that on NSH. I follow the 2s rule but then I don't get much cars cutting infront of me anyway. The cars behind don't have to undertake also. If the cars are able to undertake then it means the person is hogging. If he is travelling fast enough, the cars on the left wouldn't be able to undertake right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 Yup. That is why I always wonder why the hoggers don't get fined by the TP if they are travelling at the speed limit. Maybe its because the TP cannot just assume the tailgater is trying to speed especially when there is a TP around. The TP probably assumes that the drivers are all law abiding and following the speed limit especially if the car on the first lane is still within the speed limit but overtaking cars on the second lane. Will the TP chase after a car that has switched to the second lane to undertake a car travelling at the speed limit on the first lane or will he stop the car travelling at the speed limit on the first lane for hogging? TP will go after the faster car. Cos technically speeding is more serious than hogging, judging by the way we our law do things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 6-7 car length is too long? The traffic was slower than 70km/h? to me yes, its rather long for traffic travelling at 60km/h. Indeed, the 2 second rule at 70 km/h implies 7 car lengths (S class Merc length used in fairness). Try maintaining that safe distance on a Singapore expressway though without being undertaken... I guess Singaporeans are known for their lightning fast reflexes and can cope with 1.5 car lengths at 80 km/h. What could go wrong after all? Think of all that time saved. At the next traffic light. unless the day comes where we have 8 lanes, then come and talk about 2sec rules. use that stupid rule and erp will be at 10 bucks /peep Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 The pick ups there all turbo diesel.. damn good to run. My 1.6L NA barely kept up with one few months back. no need NSH bro. I 2nd link go in to Kempas area, 140km/h on 2nd lane, still got PICK UPS overtaking me on right. And the thing about Malaysian highways, cars just give way, regardless of speed limit. I'm waiting for the day when some cock drives at 70 on lane 1 and TP is behind. Dunno will kena summon or not. Lol. TP will go after the faster car. Cos technically speeding is more serious than hogging, judging by the way we our law do things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam7770 4th Gear July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 I follow the 2s rule but then I don't get much cars cutting infront of me anyway. The cars behind don't have to undertake also. If the cars are able to undertake then it means the person is hogging. If he is travelling fast enough, the cars on the left wouldn't be able to undertake right? Agreed, I meant more that cars from lane 2 will cut in to the gap and then you have the choice whether to show disapproval (what for?) or just let the gap widen again. 2s is probably impractical and too long in Singapore, but it is based on the sound experience of expert/advanced driving instructors and includes a 1s reaction time and 1s for any evasive action required (braking, normally). I can reliably react in 0.2s, often 0.1s, so anything less than a gap of around 5 or 6 car lengths at 80 kmph is asking for trouble eventually, and still cars move in to this gap from lane 2. Reaction time is also a last resort, if you're reading the road and traffic ahead you find yourself slowing before the car ahead of you has even realised there is a potential problem. (And this is ideally done without unnecessary braking.) No doubt the inevitable tailgater behind thinks I am a hogger when I do this, but I'm actually keeping him safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 17, 2015 Share July 17, 2015 no need NSH bro. I 2nd link go in to Kempas area, 140km/h on 2nd lane, still got PICK UPS overtaking me on right. And the thing about Malaysian highways, cars just give way, regardless of speed limit. How can we educate our local drivers to this notion of giving way regardless of speed limit? TP will go after the faster car. Cos technically speeding is more serious than hogging, judging by the way we our law do things. Speeding cannot be challenged. Road hogging will be challenged. Ppl usually takes easier way out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged July 17, 2015 Share July 17, 2015 I follow the 2s rule but then I don't get much cars cutting infront of me anyway. The cars behind don't have to undertake also. If the cars are able to undertake then it means the person is hogging. If he is travelling fast enough, the cars on the left wouldn't be able to undertake right? NVNT How can we educate our local drivers to this notion of giving way regardless of speed limit? Send them to drive on 1 lane road in kelantan to learn some manners Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 17, 2015 Share July 17, 2015 NVNT Send them to drive on 1 lane road in kelantan to learn some manners No use lah. Even Ferrari close in at 200km/h, they still boh chap one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 17, 2015 Share July 17, 2015 No use lah. Even Ferrari close in at 200km/h, they still boh chap one. Surprisingly, in MY, the SG cars seem to behave much better. When I signal right (no need to even flash hi beam most of the time), they will move over quickly. I don't know if this is because they're seasoned drivers who've learnt the etiquette up north or just that the same drivers being complained about here are more guai there. Interestingly the most inconsiderate drivers I've seen up north are some of the jiu hiu kias. These J plates act like they have something to prove against Singaporeans. Bloody a**holes. But pretty much all the other Malaysian drivers are very good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 17, 2015 Share July 17, 2015 (edited) to me yes, its rather long for traffic travelling at 60km/h. unless the day comes where we have 8 lanes, then come and talk about 2sec rules. use that stupid rule and erp will be at 10 bucks /peep I feel people keeping a safe distance by following the 2 sec rule cause less jams than those who are involved in a chain accident on the first lane. And if you watched mythbusters, they did show that traffic can build up due to drivers tapping on the brakes causing those phantom traffic jams. If people follow the 2s rule, they will not need to tap on the brakes as much and even if other cars cut in, they will have enough space to continue without tapping the brakes thus preventing these kind of phantom jams. Edited July 17, 2015 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged July 17, 2015 Share July 17, 2015 NVNT Send them to drive on 1 lane road in kelantan to learn some manners Kelantan? I thought Penang will be a better option? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged July 17, 2015 Share July 17, 2015 Not really true.. I have come across an even spread of a**holes from both bolehland and SG on NSH. I don't give chance to SG road hogger on NSH even if our cars are registered in same country. What I will conclude though, is the well mannered SG cars usually drive on NSH often so they know what to expect and what to look out for. Surprisingly, in MY, the SG cars seem to behave much better. When I signal right (no need to even flash hi beam most of the time), they will move over quickly. I don't know if this is because they're seasoned drivers who've learnt the etiquette up north or just that the same drivers being complained about here are more guai there.Interestingly the most inconsiderate drivers I've seen up north are some of the jiu hiu kias. These J plates act like they have something to prove against Singaporeans. Bloody a**holes. But pretty much all the other Malaysian drivers are very good. I drive up to Penang almost every year for holiday and visiting. The driving culture in Penang or rather in bolehland in general, is quite simple. As long as you signal your intention, don't act like a gangster trying to cut in sharply and just slowly inch in, generally the car behind will give way. Kelantan? I thought Penang will be a better option? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamomatt 2nd Gear July 18, 2015 Share July 18, 2015 (edited) Speedometers are all adjusted +8km/hr according to what I was told. One reason I can think of is to allow some error in terms of speeding consideration. Yes. This is practised by all car manufacturers to err on the side of caution, which is why you can always 'speed' by over 10km/h without getting into trouble. Edited July 18, 2015 by Jamomatt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamomatt 2nd Gear July 18, 2015 Share July 18, 2015 And Malaysia is the same as Singapore. So often see some koksters hogging lane 1 at 120-140... They think at that speed they have no need to give way already... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged July 18, 2015 Share July 18, 2015 Surprisingly, in MY, the SG cars seem to behave much better. When I signal right (no need to even flash hi beam most of the time), they will move over quickly. I don't know if this is because they're seasoned drivers who've learnt the etiquette up north or just that the same drivers being complained about here are more guai there. Interestingly the most inconsiderate drivers I've seen up north are some of the jiu hiu kias. These J plates act like they have something to prove against Singaporeans. Bloody a**holes. But pretty much all the other Malaysian drivers are very good. think those who insist that there is nothing wrong with driving at 80km/h on lane 1 probably dun go malaysia LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged July 18, 2015 Share July 18, 2015 Kelantan? I thought Penang will be a better option? in Kelantan, there are many one lane road... when the other driver saw you coming, they will quickly give way and siam to one side... its like whoever sees the other party first will give way... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...