StefanK Supercharged July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 yupo....tailgaters vs roadhoggers...this topic will carry on till the cows come home and never end. both are bloody ingracious not to accept each other... but basically KEEP LEFT UNLESS OVERTAKING is the basic rule.... I think there are a million and one threads on Speeding vs Roadhogging... the conclusion is always the same - there is no conclusion. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 (edited) Unfortunately a lot of drivers do not practice such good habits. Some even take the speed limit as their god given right to hog the rightmost lane. To be honest, I am not perfect and no saint myself. However, I try to do my best. Many a time, it is not all about education. There are things not taught in school. Rights and privileges exist and many are taught in schools. But they are not always the case. Some things are caught and not taught. And the next generation needs to know and learn the positive and the right things. They are watching us all the time. This applies whether they are part of our family or not. Regardless. Edited July 13, 2015 by Yuan 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 Road hogger SJR8308Y jams on brakes and flashes high beam after being overtaken- http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/road-hogger-sjr8308y-jams-on-brakes-and-flashes-high-beam-after-being-overtaken 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 'Champion' driver of SJS2484E stops his car on PIE after being honked at -- then does something even riskier- http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/champion-driver-stops-his-car-on-pie-after-being-honked-at-then-does-something 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 Road hogger SJR8308Y jams on brakes and flashes high beam after being overtaken- http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/road-hogger-sjr8308y-jams-on-brakes-and-flashes-high-beam-after-being-overtaken Both a55h0le 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 (edited) both are silly to get off their vehicle, its just damn dangerous. btw, he said report him to LTA,,,,er, its TP. LTA heck care what he did. simple knowledge also lack......cmi hp warrior lai liao. Edited July 13, 2015 by Hamburger 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 heard the wife says "china man right" . the prc has learned the ways well. anything take photos first 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 Education for si hogger https://www.facebook.com/BehChiaLor/videos/1613153942274027/ Common situation: you give way to a tailgater in medium-heavy traffic and let him get one car ahead in the flow. You then resume your position in the overtaking lane to pass cars in lane 2, legitimate use of overtaking lane, right? BUT you cannot complete your overtake because the tailgater has now become the hogger and is impeding your progress... Should he give way to you now? This is the ridiculous conclusion of these discussions on hogging the 'overtaking' lane. You'd end up with cars endlessly swapping positions if you unthinkingly and rigidly stuck to the supposed "give way to the faster car behind" rule. The fact is when the roads are at or near flow capacity, the 'overtaking' lane is just another lane to be used. It is not going to be significantly faster than the flow capacity of all the lanes so don't expect it to be. So chill and take your place in the flow. Or weave in and out to save 20 seconds on a 15 minute drive. The choice is yours. Road hogging only happen when one doesnt have a car in front of him or far distance about 5-6 cars. Also depend on traffic. If traffic is medium heavy, bo pian, u give way to car behind he also cant speed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 I think all these problems are not as "jialat" as weaving in and out of traffic. Been seeing that for quite a few times last week. No offence, but it happened to be soup-ed up lancers most of the time. Very inconsiderate and endanger other road users. Road hoggers also force people to weave in weave out. Both are dangerous and should be penalised Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 Road hoggers also force people to weave in weave out. Both are dangerous and should be penalised I'm going to be the devil's advocate here..how can the road hoggers force other drivers to weave in/out when the tailgaters insist on not keeping to a safe distance of 1 car's distance per 10km/h? the tailgaters are in control of their own vehicles..they can practice self-control by keeping a safe following distance & not endangering other road users 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 I'm going to be the devil's advocate here..how can the road hoggers force other drivers to weave in/out when the tailgaters insist on not keeping to a safe distance of 1 car's distance per 10km/h? the tailgaters are in control of their own vehicles..they can practice self-control by keeping a safe following distance & not endangering other road users Zig zag drivers got two types First, is basically the type of racer, normally only ONE car. This one a55hole type Second, is caused by road hogger. Lane 1 hog, lane 2 got some space, people wait behind hogger, wait wait wait, end up also forced to overtake the hogger from left. I have seen many such cases whereby easily 3-4 cars overtake hogger from left and do zig zag which cause hazard to other road users due to selfish guy who own the lane 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 I'm going to be the devil's advocate here..how can the road hoggers force other drivers to weave in/out when the tailgaters insist on not keeping to a safe distance of 1 car's distance per 10km/h? the tailgaters are in control of their own vehicles..they can practice self-control by keeping a safe following distance & not endangering other road users I am one of those who are forced to overtake from lane 2. Absolutely hate roadhogger. If roadhogger Kenna tailgate on lane 1, orbigood 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam7770 4th Gear July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 Education for si hogger https://www.facebook.com/BehChiaLor/videos/1613153942274027/ Road hogging only happen when one doesnt have a car in front of him or far distance about 5-6 cars. Also depend on traffic. If traffic is medium heavy, bo pian, u give way to car behind he also cant speed. Some go further and define road-hogging as anyone in lane 1 who is not actually overtaking (for reasons). That is the definition I am questioning. They seem to want everyone to move out of their way regardless of traffic conditions and keep spouting "keep left unless overtaking!" without thinking. Maybe they're a bit thick. And you see the impatient tailgater wants to get 1 car ahead time and again - far worse than the driver who maintains a safe distance to the car in front (but is otherwise keeping up with the flow and is not changing lane or braking unnecessarily - driving predictably in other words). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 14, 2015 Share July 14, 2015 (edited) Some go further and define road-hogging as anyone in lane 1 who is not actually overtaking (for reasons). That is the definition I am questioning. They seem to want everyone to move out of their way regardless of traffic conditions and keep spouting "keep left unless overtaking!" without thinking. Maybe they're a bit thick. And you see the impatient tailgater wants to get 1 car ahead time and again - far worse than the driver who maintains a safe distance to the car in front (but is otherwise keeping up with the flow and is not changing lane or braking unnecessarily - driving predictably in other words). Go & read road traffic rule. 5.Vehicle to keep close to left-hand edge of roadway—(1) Every vehicle which is moving at a slow rate of speed shall be driven as close to the left-hand side of the roadway as possible. (2) Every vehicle shall at all times be driven in such manner as not to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed. The NO.1 cause of traffic accident in Singapore is NOT about safety distance. It is because most drivers simply do not have the notion of defensive driving. How many of us look beyond the car in front of us? How many of us bother switch on hazard light temporarily during emergency brake? Edited July 14, 2015 by Davidtch 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryu 5th Gear July 14, 2015 Share July 14, 2015 I'm going to be the devil's advocate here..how can the road hoggers force other drivers to weave in/out when the tailgaters insist on not keeping to a safe distance of 1 car's distance per 10km/h? the tailgaters are in control of their own vehicles..they can practice self-control by keeping a safe following distance & not endangering other road users I don't tailgate as road hoggers force me to overtake them from the left. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 14, 2015 Share July 14, 2015 From this thread i can smell many road hoggers here, at least almost half of the member who replies here haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear July 14, 2015 Share July 14, 2015 I am one of those who are forced to overtake from lane 2. Absolutely hate roadhogger. If roadhogger Kenna tailgate on lane 1, orbigood What's your definition of hogger? If traffic is crawling (peak hour super jams) and you still wanna insist on driving at 150km/h on lane 1? Just to get a sense of your mentality. I hate hoggers too, but I will see what's the traffic condition of the road first before judging the car infront of me. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear July 14, 2015 Share July 14, 2015 I think all these problems are not as "jialat" as weaving in and out of traffic. Been seeing that for quite a few times last week. No offence, but it happened to be soup-ed up lancers most of the time. Very inconsiderate and endanger other road users. Just last friday, I was travelling on lane 1 PIE (tuas) peacefully following a CT9A. Traffic was of course moderate to heavy since everyone was going out after work, and suddenly I noticed a pair of headlights really really close to my rear. Promptly gave way, took a glance and guess what? A modded CS3 who thinks he's shumacher. The fella even proceeded to tailgate the hell out of the Evo, could hear him blowing his exhaust every few seconds. If not for the fact that traffic was heavy, I would've spooled my turbo and put him in his place lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...