Workplace temperature

Ysc3

anyone knows if there is any law on workplace temperature ??

we are 3pl and we are stationed in a big warehouse (half a football field) at the cargo complex.

the whse has many wall fans but sometimes the weather gets so hot that the fanned wind is just hot air also ... it can get up to about 32deg in the afternoons.

although there are roller shutters but when we open them, more hot air gets blown into the warehouse !

if there is such a law to indicate the temperature of a workplace, I would want to bring it up to the hirer so they have to make the environment better for my staff.

Ha ha -

I dunno got law or not - but when I saw your thread title I got all paranoid, thinking someone had been watching me - not two hours ago I posted this to the Daikin Singapore Facebook page...

post-52759-0-08319100-1436415094.png

Here's a link to the original article ---

But it might be a tough thing to argue to the boss...

Edited by Darryn

https://www.wshc.sg/files/wshc/upload/cms/file/2014/Heat_stress_guidelines_first_revision_2012.pdf

Some WSH guidelines. I dont think there is any strict regulation on indoor working temperature. I visited a few 3pl wh before and most have a small little aircon office in the warehouse for the employees. Should not cost much to build one of those.

https://www.wshc.sg/files/wshc/upload/cms/file/2014/Heat_stress_guidelines_first_revision_2012.pdf

Some WSH guidelines. I dont think there is any strict regulation on indoor working temperature. I visited a few 3pl wh before and most have a small little aircon office in the warehouse for the employees. Should not cost much to build one of those.

Agree this is a common practice or the employees will work in the office and only go to the warehouse when required

we are 3pl and we are stationed in a big warehouse (half a football field) at the cargo complex.

the whse has many wall fans but sometimes the weather gets so hot that the fanned wind is just hot air also ... it can get up to about 32deg in the afternoons.

although there are roller shutters but when we open them, more hot air gets blown into the warehouse !

if there is such a law to indicate the temperature of a workplace, I would want to bring it up to the hirer so they have to make the environment better for my staff.

You can request for the big ass fan to be installed, you know those used in some MRT stations

They are quite good and windy for warehouse usage

Agree this is a common practice or the employees will work in the office and only go to the warehouse when required

You can request for the big ass fan to be installed, you know those used in some MRT stations

They are quite good and windy for warehouse usage

I hide in the aircon office most of the time.

however, my warehouse staff have to endure the hot and dusty air in the whse. we have lots of wall fans but that is only circulating hot air. installing those MRT fans might not help too as it will be circulating hot air as well - and not to mention the dust !!

my hirer is damn kiam siap ... the whse actually got aircon ... but becoz we are 3pl, they dun want to spend the money on the elect bills for us. Worse still, they have a packaged aircon servicing contract for the whole building and they rather forgo the servicing for our whse also rather than let us use the aircon.

if got law, I will push it to them. else if money, then I also bopian.

however, my warehouse staff have to endure the hot and dusty air in the whse. we have lots of wall fans but that is only circulating hot air. installing those MRT fans might not help too as it will be circulating hot air as well - and not to mention the dust !!

my hirer is damn kiam siap ... the whse actually got aircon ... but becoz we are 3pl, they dun want to spend the money on the elect bills for us. Worse still, they have a packaged aircon servicing contract for the whole building and they rather forgo the servicing for our whse also rather than let us use the aircon.

if got law for nature, then noise, smell, heat, etc all have to protect?

Actually I think u brought up a very good point

Last time when I was working in China, during summer time, they actually make employers pay a summer heat allowance to compensate for working under hot weather

And we also provide drinks to the workers

The big ass fan helps, coz we installed it and its quite good, not as hot as without

The wall fans are useful unless u station yourself permanently underneath it...Hee hee

Sorry to hear about such stingy hirer, hope your working condition will improve soon!

Haha...

I remember working in an open warehouse in WINTER - morning time when start temperature would be 1 or 2 degree..
When wind blow we all ...faint

Then when had to get orders (butter / cheese etc) out of cool room....

That one no heating

Also remember another job where was dismantling old swimming pool...working in SNOW. We had to clean bricks for recycling. One day we took all the timber framing and light bombfire in the empty pool to stay warm...

if got law for nature, then noise, smell, heat, etc all have to protect?

not really nature lah ... its a closed environment.

I only read that ppl working in underground tunnels have temperature requirements ... trying to find out if for closed area have or not.

Last time when I was working in China, during summer time, they actually make employers pay a summer heat allowance to compensate for working under hot weather

And we also provide drinks to the workers

this is true ... my china staff also told me the same thing.

Let me help you I kmow how these companies work.

Don't waste your time asking for aircon for your staff.

They will never spent a cent for staff welfare.

Tell them the heat is damaging the goods.

If you need to microwave one or two of the more expensive items

and let their customers make the complaints.

Then go in with the solution that aircon might help.

Companies will never want to spend any money on humans

but they will spend any amount on goods and things. [thumbsup]

Edited by Jamesc
  • Praise 11

Ha ha -

I dunno got law or not - but when I saw your thread title I got all paranoid, thinking someone had been watching me - not two hours ago I posted this to the Daikin Singapore Facebook page...

attachicon.gifDaikin.png

Here's a link to the original article ---

But it might be a tough thing to argue to the boss...

so now we know you work in Daikin :a-good:

Haha

Wrong lah!

Don't work in Daikin...

I considered FT to them...

Haha

Wrong lah!

Don't work in Daikin...

I considered FT to them...

Why FT huh? U not local meh?

Gosh u been missing the sheep shagging jokes .. haven't you?

kiwi lah. not the shoe shine

changi cargo complex ah? lol

actually can use wsh regulations

get MOM do a work place risk assessment.

then use WSH /OSHA to justify

Edited by Little_prince

The solution is quite simple. If it's big warehouse you will have plenty of space to built a room using cheap partition walls. Install a window unit aircon, install fibre broadband and wifi, get a few PCs and you are good to surf porn during working hours. :grin:

just turn 'on' the a/c already so stingy .. hard for them to want to build anything .... even the office we are using now is "recycled"... only the two partition board walls are new .... ceiling and door and aircon and glass window all re-used.

actually can use wsh regulations

get MOM do a work place risk assessment.

then use WSH /OSHA to justify

i did view the above website but i dun want to jump the gun and then complain and they come and check and dun work out .... so before i get in touch with them, ask around first.