2016 Audi A4 sedan & avant

Sunny

can tell the SE

i.  Audi A4 can save $10k to top up sibei lot of engine oil hor what's the worry ... no comment on the gearbox issue and low resale

ii. BMW 318 3cyc but rear wheel drive leh ... aw corner can beats c180 hands down

i guess c180, a4 1.4 and 318 all got its pro and con ... tiagong go with your heart and not brain hor

Finally, amidst the hectic work schedule managed to test drive the C180 on Wed this week. Selling price is $192,888. Was offered a $5,800 overtrade for my current drive due in Nov 2017.

The exterior styling of the car wows me, but I can't say the same for interior. Upon getting in, it looks a little complicated and im not sure where to begin from. Having the gear shift on a side lever at the steering wheel is kinda interesting, takes some time to get used to. The drive itself was rated alright, below my expectations. Steering is a little stiff and handling is not as agile as the A4. Just wasn't what i thought :|

Back at the showroom for discussion, the sales staff went through the pricing and proudly explains why they are more expensive then the rest. They pride themselves on comfort & reliability. When i mentioned i would be comparing A4, C180 & BMW 318, the others got hammered down, hahaha. Audi- top up engine oil, gearbox not reliable, resale value not as good etc etc... 318 only 3 cylinder engine and underpowered etc. He says buying a Merc is about a package etc.. Merc owners always keeping on changing along different merc models etc.

Oh today i got a call from the Merc staff, could throw in another $5,800 overtrade becos of their upcoming Vivocity roadshow (whats the link lol). My own opinion is that i really wasnt too impressed by the drive quality. The A4 had a quieter cabin and smoother & better handling. So have to eliminate this one liao. Next up, review on the 318.

can tell the SE

i.  Audi A4 can save $10k to top up sibei lot of engine oil hor what's the worry ... no comment on the gearbox issue and low resale

ii. BMW 318 3cyc but rear wheel drive leh ... aw corner can beats c180 hands down

i guess c180, a4 1.4 and 318 all got its pro and con ... tiagong go with your heart and not brain hor

Low resale bluff people la... buy low price so low resale. A4 going for only 168k, C180 192k. Buy high sell high, buy low sell low. End up depreciation is the same.

I must say that the CarPlay feature without the touchscreen can be quite a challenge to use. It is like having a tablet but no touchscreen feature and having to use the scroll button to get to the appropriate icon. Any quicker or shortcuts that I am missing here?

Makes me better appreciate the touchscreen feature on my other ride.

It gets better once you use it often enough. Actually it's the same when I go into another car and the controls suddenly seem very unnatural, troublesome and not responsive. Then again if you spend enough time on it, it becomes more slick.

For typing & searching for maps, you can push the scroll button to its side to "jump" across buttons.

Full electric, no manual lever. There's even an electric extension of the seats (driver and passenger). Go and see for yourself

Oh that's great because when I had to adjust my seats front / back last year when I was at the showroom for the C180 Avantgarde I had to reach for a manual lever below the seat, between my legs, to adjust.. as the side electric controls only can adjust backrest angle + seat height.

Low resale bluff people la... buy low price so low resale. A4 going for only 168k, C180 192k. Buy high sell high, buy low sell low. End up depreciation is the same.

A4 $168K should be list price.. actual price closer to $155K I think. Not sure about the $192K price for the Merc.. but the badge sells itself, no matter what model you buy, most of the range dont have ready stock, 3-6 months waiting time  [:)]

A4 $168K should be list price.. actual price closer to $155K I think. Not sure about the $192K price for the Merc.. but the badge sells itself, no matter what model you buy, most of the range dont have ready stock, 3-6 months waiting time [:)]

I was told even if you place the order right now (as of end Apr) , the earliest batch will reach here end Sept. Is it the shipping, logistics or administrative matters that causes such a long wait? Or just to add on more to the premium factor? Furthermore you are not making any customization to the car Lol.

The recent update given by Audi staff is A4 1.4 $158,999 Includes:

-virtual cockpit

-3 years free servicing

-in car camera

-solar film

-5 year unlimited mileage warranty

Edited by seng_1001

1st Gear

Hi Seng,

maybe this can answer to your question:  

NEWS: Audi halts A4 & A5 output at German plants.

Since end of March, one of main factory at Ingolstadt plant producing 1400 cars per days, get obstructed, but not sure if the production recovery or not.  I believe this will definitely create a backlog in production.  

All depends on Audi Singapore import their car from which factory.  However once you order now, 3-4 months waiting, it will bring us to Aug & Sept..

http://europe.autonews.com/article/20170327/ANE/170329875/audi-halts-a4-a5-output-at-german-plant

I was told even if you place the order right now (as of end Apr) , the earliest batch will reach here end Sept. Is it the shipping, logistics or administrative matters that causes such a long wait? Or just to add on more to the premium factor? Furthermore you are not making any customization to the car Lol.

The recent update given by Audi staff is A4 1.4 $158,999 Includes:
-virtual cockpit
-3 years free servicing
-in car camera
-solar film
-5 year unlimited mileage warranty

Edited by GMH

Finally, amidst the hectic work schedule managed to test drive the C180 on Wed this week. Selling price is $192,888. Was offered a $5,800 overtrade for my current drive due in Nov 2017.

The exterior styling of the car wows me, but I can't say the same for interior. Upon getting in, it looks a little complicated and im not sure where to begin from. Having the gear shift on a side lever at the steering wheel is kinda interesting, takes some time to get used to. The drive itself was rated alright, below my expectations. Steering is a little stiff and handling is not as agile as the A4. Just wasn't what i thought :|

Back at the showroom for discussion, the sales staff went through the pricing and proudly explains why they are more expensive then the rest. They pride themselves on comfort & reliability. When i mentioned i would be comparing A4, C180 & BMW 318, the others got hammered down, hahaha. Audi- top up engine oil, gearbox not reliable, resale value not as good etc etc... 318 only 3 cylinder engine and underpowered etc. He says buying a Merc is about a package etc.. Merc owners always keeping on changing along different merc models etc.

Oh today i got a call from the Merc staff, could throw in another $5,800 overtrade becos of their upcoming Vivocity roadshow (whats the link lol). My own opinion is that i really wasnt too impressed by the drive quality. The A4 had a quieter cabin and smoother & better handling. So have to eliminate this one liao. Next up, review on the 318.

Price goes up so much? Is this 9G tronic version? Earlier this year was offered last batch of 7G tronic version with everything is at $168k. Audi the car is good but bare bone and was sneered when was asking for higher trim. In my opinion forget 318 the 3 cylinders engine is lack of oomph....

What I heard now C&C MB can't move the big car like previously, where this is the section that they get good margin. So far now only C class and A B class still moving well, they have to close the gap somewhere.

Edited by Knighthunter

Hi Seng,

maybe this can answer to your question:

NEWS: Audi halts A4 & A5 output at German plants.

Since end of March, one of main factory at Ingolstadt plant producing 1400 cars per days, get obstructed, but not sure if the production recovery or not. I believe this will definitely create a backlog in production.

All depends on Audi Singapore import their car from which factory. However once you order now, 3-4 months waiting, it will bring us to Aug & Sept..

http://europe.autonews.com/article/20170327/ANE/170329875/audi-halts-a4-a5-output-at-german-plant

Oops i was referring to the waiting time for the C180 delivery, sorry for the minor confusion! For A4 i believe its well within a month? Definitely much faster then C180

Thanks for your sharing of the article !

Price goes up so much? Is this 9G tronic version? Earlier this year was offered last batch of 7G tronic version with everything is at $168k. Audi the car is good but bare bone and was sneered when was asking for higher trim. In my opinion forget 318 the 3 cylinders engine is lack of oomph....

What I heard now C&C MB can't move the big car like previously, where this is the section that they get good margin. So far now only C class and A B class still moving well, they have to close the gap somewhere.

Yeah this is the 9G tronic version. Price increased by $9000 around mid March this year. It comes with park assist, collision prevention assist. I was also showed the park assist demo in their carpark, its quite interesting, but i think i can park the car much faster hahaha. Didnt manage to test the collision prevention assist though haha.

Not sure whats the difference between 9G tronic and 7G? In my opinion, the drive quality just wasn't really up to expectation. Perhaps testing the A4 previously gave me some earlier bias. Also, in terms of cabin space, the back seats of the A4 feels somewhat a tiny wee bit more spacious. I haven't really compared actual specs yet.

The C&C staff sms me that for their Vivocity roadshow, C180 9G effective selling price will be $176,088.

1st Gear

oh...my bad. confusion between C180 vs A4 info exchange.

Oops i was referring to the waiting time for the C180 delivery, sorry for the minor confusion! For A4 i believe its well within a month? Definitely much faster then C180

Edited by GMH

Yeah this is the 9G tronic version. Price increased by $9000 around mid March this year. It comes with park assist, collision prevention assist. I was also showed the park assist demo in their carpark, its quite interesting, but i think i can park the car much faster hahaha. Didnt manage to test the collision prevention assist though haha.

Not sure whats the difference between 9G tronic and 7G? In my opinion, the drive quality just wasn't really up to expectation. Perhaps testing the A4 previously gave me some earlier bias. Also, in terms of cabin space, the back seats of the A4 feels somewhat a tiny wee bit more spacious. I haven't really compared actual specs yet.

The C&C staff sms me that for their Vivocity roadshow, C180 9G effective selling price will be $176,088.

7G = seven speed gearbox

9G = nine speed gearbox

Mercedes Benz most of their models need to wait one, unless you buy the bigger models e.g S-class maybe have ready stock. Bulk movers under their product line is A, C and the new E class mostly, B is slightly behind. People looking at B class usually get converted at BMW PML  [laugh]

They tell you if lucky 3 months, if not up to 6 months, can wait then wait, cannot it's alright, almost like a leave it or take it stance since behind have customers queuing to throw cheque at C&C!!!

Besides the additional waiting time (the B9 A4 newer model than C-class incidentally had minimal waiting time) + $15K premium + lack of full electric seats for front/back adjustment (during early 2016) made me drop the tri-pointed badge & consider the A4 and Jaguar XE more. But now I still steal glances at the C-class because it looks good, despite it being a 2014 model.

$176,088 still okay lah, when I saw the C180 base (Avantgarde trim) in early '16 was $171-172K.

If talking about price alone, base A4 vs base C180 =  around $20-21K difference.

Even if you add in Design trim for A4 (costs like $10K?) = A4 still $10K cheaper.

Badge wise ownself decide which one more desirable, if it matters.

the C180 exclusive ( basic cost 141K ) vs A4.1.4 TFSI ( basic cost 122K )  , the basic cost  is already ~ 20K different due to OMV differences and different cat ....

so if the price of C180  is 176K for C180 exclusive C&C margin is 27%  , audi sell at 152K will margin 24% ...

Between 3 marques Audi margin is slightly lower ..

Just consideration from cost / margin POV .. if everything being equal .. but of course buying car is emotional .. [laugh]   choose you like the rest is history

the C180 exclusive ( basic cost 141K ) vs A4.1.4 TFSI ( basic cost 122K ) , the basic cost is already ~ 20K different due to OMV differences and different cat ....

so if the price of C180 is 176K for C180 exclusive C&C margin is 27% , audi sell at 152K will margin 24% ...

Between 3 marques Audi margin is slightly lower ..

Just consideration from cost / margin POV .. if everything being equal .. but of course buying car is emotional .. [laugh] choose you like the rest is history

U sure c180 and A4 is of different cat ?

my bad .. it is the same cat , for some reason I keep thinking cat A for A4 for it small engine capacity [:p] ...