goku Neutral Newbie March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Lowers the OMV and gives the idea it's cheaper. By the time you add on the same features set as a C Class, is it truly cheaper? SRP for a C180 is 188888 but it will be less after overtrades. Well if you compare the cost of cars registered in Jan 17: https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/car_cost/_jcr_content/main_par/download/file.res/Car_Cost_Update.pdf According to the table, cost of (entry level) Audi A4 is $121,714. At the current selling price of $149,999, the mark up is about $28.3K. As for (entry level) C180, cost is $136,218. At a selling price of $188,888, the mark up would be about $52.7k.. Surely you are not suggesting that the additional features/equipment offered by C180 (reverse camera, 17'/18' rim, memory seats, solar films.. what else?) are worth a whopping ($52.7k-$28.3k=) $24.4k?!!! Based on test drive in Jan 2017. C-Class C180 almost have it all minus sunroof and GPS (standard Audio 20) usual trick of CnC always bring full featured car before new model or facelift comes out (9-Gtronic model will arrive end of this year/early next year). My previous car bought in Dec 2011 W204 kompressor last batch is loaded with free Comand Online factory fitted with no extra cost if I chose W204 CGI 7-speed in 2011 I need to fork another 15k (no Comand Online) if I am not wrong. So it made decision easier, get the kompressor and when I sold the car last month I checked that my model is only 2-3k lesser than the first batch 2012 of C180 CGI 7 speed, definitely initial $15k diffrence can't be recouped back. A4 is bare bones, no memory seats no power tail gate no lane departure warining no auto braking no reverse camera 16" clown rim Freebies either reverse camera/3 times servicing, no solar film. I think with this kind of equipment level, it's no better than rental car's specs. Here's a list of equipment that comes with the A4: http://i.i-sgcm.com/new_cars/cars/11806/brochures/brochure_20160913052631.pdf Not sure if you can consider these as mere "bare bones".... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Well if you compare the cost of cars registered in Jan 17: https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/car_cost/_jcr_content/main_par/download/file.res/Car_Cost_Update.pdf According to the table, cost of (entry level) Audi A4 is $121,714. At the current selling price of $149,999, the mark up is about $28.3K. As for (entry level) C180, cost is $136,218. At a selling price of $188,888, the mark up would be about $52.7k.. Surely you are not suggesting that the additional features/equipment offered by C180 (reverse camera, 17'/18' rim, memory seats, solar films.. what else?) are worth a whopping ($52.7k-$28.3k=) $24.4k?!!! Here's a list of equipment that comes with the A4: http://i.i-sgcm.com/new_cars/cars/11806/brochures/brochure_20160913052631.pdf Not sure if you can consider these as mere "bare bones".... You have proven our point broTalk to a rep if you are really keen and get the real price of both cars and the real specs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 You have proven our point bro Talk to a rep if you are really keen and get the real price of both cars and the real specs Don't mean to be rude ... but what a stupid suggestion ... Of course the merc se will state all the plus against the other makers .... what do u expect the merc se to do ? Submit that the 3 series drive better than the c class ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Don't mean to be rude ... but what a stupid suggestion ... Of course the merc se will state all the plus against the other makers .... what do u expect the merc se to do ? Submit that the 3 series drive better than the c class ? BroWe aren't talking about the driving experience or other subjective views.. why so defensive? The previous poster says mercs costs a lot more and the mark up is very high. In order to have a proper comparison, both cars must have similar specs and you must compare the real nett price on the ground. Not some numbers from a website which is used as a guide. Surely you don't pay SRP? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Everyone will an Audi, Merc or BMW based on their preference. But do look carefully at the spec sheet and talk to the rep before one concludes that one brand has a higher margin. Do your maths, do just decide based on how you feel about the car and forget the hard facts. Cheers :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Based on test drive in Jan 2017. C-Class C180 almost have it all minus sunroof and GPS (standard Audio 20) usual trick of CnC always bring full featured car before new model or facelift comes out (9-Gtronic model will arrive end of this year/early next year). My previous car bought in Dec 2011 W204 kompressor last batch is loaded with free Comand Online factory fitted with no extra cost if I chose W204 CGI 7-speed in 2011 I need to fork another 15k (no Comand Online) if I am not wrong. So it made decision easier, get the kompressor and when I sold the car last month I checked that my model is only 2-3k lesser than the first batch 2012 of C180 CGI 7 speed, definitely initial $15k diffrence can't be recouped back. A4 is bare bones, no memory seats no power tail gate no lane departure warining no auto braking no reverse camera 16" clown rim Freebies either reverse camera/3 times servicing, no solar film. I think with this kind of equipment level, it's no better than rental car's specs. I also like getting models that are going for clearance before the new FL model comes. You are right, the price premium for the FL may not be fully justified. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
edwin15 4th Gear March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Everyone will an Audi, Merc or BMW based on their preference. But do look carefully at the spec sheet and talk to the rep before one concludes that one brand has a higher margin. Do your maths, do just decide based on how you feel about the car and forget the hard facts. Cheers :) I'm Honda fanboy. http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=11672 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Bro We aren't talking about the driving experience or other subjective views.. why so defensive? The previous poster says mercs costs a lot more and the mark up is very high. In order to have a proper comparison, both cars must have similar specs and you must compare the real nett price on the ground. Not some numbers from a website which is used as a guide. Surely you don't pay SRP? What is SRP ? Not being defensive but why the need even to suggest involving SEs. Everyone buying their car is spending their money and they make the decision Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckck Neutral Newbie March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Just took delivery of my A4 B9 last week and so far am loving the drive! My previous ride was a C180 W204 and I'm adapting to the handling, most notably the steering difference (W204 feels "softer" if there is such a word) Can whatsapp group admins pls contact me so I can provide number to join the group? Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
goku Neutral Newbie March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 You have proven our point bro Talk to a rep if you are really keen and get the real price of both cars and the real specs Already bought an A4 few months ago Anyway I suppose if one is looking at premium brands, mark-ups is unlikely to be his major consideration lah. Else he should and would have bought the more value-for-money Toyota/Honda etc liao. I bought the A4 mainly because I prefer the interior to C180's (didn't test drive C180 for the same reason).. and it certainly helps that the A4 is cheaper . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSwifts 3rd Gear March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 (edited) Based on test drive in Jan 2017. C-Class C180 almost have it all minus sunroof and GPS (standard Audio 20) usual trick of CnC always bring full featured car before new model or facelift comes out (9-Gtronic model will arrive end of this year/early next year). My previous car bought in Dec 2011 W204 kompressor last batch is loaded with free Comand Online factory fitted with no extra cost if I chose W204 CGI 7-speed in 2011 I need to fork another 15k (no Comand Online) if I am not wrong. So it made decision easier, get the kompressor and when I sold the car last month I checked that my model is only 2-3k lesser than the first batch 2012 of C180 CGI 7 speed, definitely initial $15k diffrence can't be recouped back. A4 is bare bones, no memory seats no power tail gate no lane departure warining no auto braking no reverse camera 16" clown rim Freebies either reverse camera/3 times servicing, no solar film. I think with this kind of equipment level, it's no better than rental car's specs. Lai Lai, 2nd time i hear this liao. Saw the spec sheet posted by seng_1001. Want those and more, its less than $20,000 worth of options and OMV to be higher than C180. That brings the price up to approx. $169,999 (rims can change outside like what I did). Oh and btw, the car is only out for 1 year and 2 months. You get: 1. Memory Seats 2. 360 surround camera 3. Audi Pre Sense Rear (Auto braking) 4. Park Assist (Auto parking with reverse camera) 5. Audi Side Assist (BSM) 6. Active Lane Assist (LDA) 7. Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) 8. Auto High Beam Matrix LED Headlamps Also comes with 5 years, unlimited mileage warranty. So... is it carrot? Just order mah, wait time also same as C180, and comes from Ingolstadt, Germany. Standard also alrdy got Android Auto and Apple Carplay built-in. Oh and based on my deal with 2 different C&C SEs, i had an "Undertrade" of the old 320i, 3k less than what PA offered and a 5 month wait list and price of the C180 offered to us was marginally less than listed price back in May 2016. Edited March 6, 2017 by BlueSwifts 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 (edited) Well if you compare the cost of cars registered in Jan 17: https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/car_cost/_jcr_content/main_par/download/file.res/Car_Cost_Update.pdf According to the table, cost of (entry level) Audi A4 is $121,714. At the current selling price of $149,999, the mark up is about $28.3K. As for (entry level) C180, cost is $136,218. At a selling price of $188,888, the mark up would be about $52.7k.. Surely you are not suggesting that the additional features/equipment offered by C180 (reverse camera, 17'/18' rim, memory seats, solar films.. what else?) are worth a whopping ($52.7k-$28.3k=) $24.4k?!!! Here's a list of equipment that comes with the A4: http://i.i-sgcm.com/new_cars/cars/11806/brochures/brochure_20160913052631.pdf Not sure if you can consider these as mere "bare bones".... You took list price of C180, I almost commit to W205 to replace my W204 before finally signed for XC60. W205 is selling at 165k after all the discount VS A4 at 147K after discount in January. I asked for whether they sell higher specced A4, but none. Some people may say this is good value for money but definitely not for me. Edited March 6, 2017 by Knighthunter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 (edited) Lai Lai, 2nd time i hear this liao. Saw the spec sheet posted by seng_1001. Want those and more, its less than $20,000 worth of options and OMV to be higher than C180. That brings the price up to approx. $169,999 (rims can change outside like what I did). Oh and btw, the car is only out for 1 year and 2 months. You get: 1. Memory Seats 2. 360 surround camera 3. Audi Pre Sense Rear (Auto braking) 4. Park Assist (Auto parking with reverse camera) 5. Audi Side Assist (BSM) 6. Active Lane Assist (LDA) 7. Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) 8. Auto High Beam Matrix LED Headlamps Also comes with 5 years, unlimited mileage warranty. So... is it carrot? Just order mah, wait time also same as C180, and comes from Ingolstadt, Germany. Standard also alrdy got Android Auto and Apple Carplay built-in. Oh and based on my deal with 2 different C&C SEs, i had an "Undertrade" of the old 320i, 3k less than what PA offered and a 5 month wait list and price of the C180 offered to us was marginally less than listed price back in May 2016. The problem they do not bring this high specced A4 anymore I have budget for it, but they do not want to offer me. Like selling big prawn mee but no more big prawn so need to settle for cheaper bowl prawn mee with shrimp...taste the same but shiokness is different. I am not mod type of person, yes rim can change outside but those current standard so call premium car not easy to retrofit. May be this pricing will appeal to people who like to do modding on the car.......I am not saying wrong choice to get A4 but what I wrote is my view point, disagreement are welcome. Edited March 6, 2017 by Knighthunter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 What is SRP ? Not being defensive but why the need even to suggest involving SEs. Everyone buying their car is spending their money and they make the decision Agree bro everyone has their choice. But bro goku is talking about SRP or list price. No one pays list at Merc. So no one pays what he posted. You can get it at a much lower price. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SmOcKxY 1st Gear March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 The problem they do not bring this high specced A4 anymore I have budget for it, but they do not want to offer me. Like selling big prawn mee but no more big prawn so need to settle for cheaper bowl prawn mee with shrimp...taste the same but shiokness is different. I am not mod type of person, yes rim can change outside but those current standard so call premium car not easy to retrofit. May be this pricing will appeal to people who like to do modding on the car.......I am not saying wrong choice to get A4 but what I wrote is my view point, disagreement are welcome. Er..I think the Audi SE is trying to smoke you..I indented my A4 1.4 with some factory options..had to wait 4 months for car..and you can spec anything you like..down to headliner and door trim(most rock grey leather interior comes with black dash..I have Graphite grey dash and door panels)..I may be wrong but because of the factory options..I have the highest OMV of all the A4 1.4 in Singapore..even those with VC(of cos I specced VC) Anyway why argue about which car is better? Obviously we have considered all 3 marques before buying the A4..some also considered XE and Macan :) Price tag and options are just perceived value..if I had bought the C class because of it's "value for money" then I will consider myself a fool because I would have bought a car to satisfy other ppl's view..and I'll be stuck driving a soul-less car even though it is much prettier than the A4.. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Imho .... if have $$$$ and time. Most options can be indent. Knew of someone whom indented the E90 320i with a 6 speed manual GB Of course most ADs would prefer to sell the standard car as they are probably on built slots. Put the money on the table and I am pretty sure the seller will bite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 (edited) Er..I think the Audi SE is trying to smoke you..I indented my A4 1.4 with some factory options..had to wait 4 months for car..and you can spec anything you like..down to headliner and door trim(most rock grey leather interior comes with black dash..I have Graphite grey dash and door panels)..I may be wrong but because of the factory options..I have the highest OMV of all the A4 1.4 in Singapore..even those with VC(of cos I specced VC) Anyway why argue about which car is better? Obviously we have considered all 3 marques before buying the A4..some also considered XE and Macan :) Price tag and options are just perceived value..if I had bought the C class because of it's "value for money" then I will consider myself a fool because I would have bought a car to satisfy other ppl's view..and I'll be stuck driving a soul-less car even though it is much prettier than the A4.. Yes he got bochap attitude. That's why he didn't get business from me. Even I asked him to arrange test drive Q5 I got cold shoulder, may be because I don't have atas look. Btw he did over VC with Navi but the rest stil no no no and no Edited March 6, 2017 by Knighthunter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckck Neutral Newbie March 6, 2017 Share March 6, 2017 Here is the list of the optional add ons for the A4, all need to be indent and fix up in Germany. List was given to me in Dec 2016. Very detailed and very transparent breakdown of prices hor. Just feel that for a premium brand all this should be basic features, rather than add ons !IMG_2678.JPG Just wanted to say this is really helpful information to know. Wished I had it while considering my A4 purchase ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...