Parent Volunteer also cannot get priority into CHIJ

Jiayong

It's very likely also that minorities are under-represented in the good schools and over-represented in neighbourhood schools.

Not even mentioning the PR/foreigners to complicate the issue.

Anyway why st nick's have so many alumni? Are they very fertile bunch? Hehe

Some would say that professionals in the private and public sector are disproportionately represented by three schools which leads the soon to be primary one parents with such children to do what they do.

Edited by Mason016

It's very likely also that minorities are under-represented in the good schools and over-represented in neighbourhood schools.

Not even mentioning the PR/foreigners to complicate the issue.

Anyway why st nick's have so many alumni? Are they very fertile bunch? Hehe

The end result will still be the same or even worse.

Those rich people will move to near the elite school very soon we will see certain place have very rich. Ppl all live together. Then create another problem.

The end result will still be the same or even worse.

Those rich people will move to near the elite school very soon we will see certain place have very rich. Ppl all live together. Then create another problem.

True. those in Bukit timah or east coast can't be helped.

But actually places like st nick's, a lot of HDB flats are within it's 1km zone.

LOL... ya lor I also dunno she gong simi... St Nick's if not for academic achievements then for what?

Maybe she mixed up with SCGS lah.... that one ghim gek girls school LOL

What is ghim gek?

LOL... ya lor I acultivation no she gong simi... St Nick's if not for academic achievements then for what?

Maybe she. mixed up with SCGS lah.... that one ghim gek girls school LOL

Viceroymenthol n Sabian, it is hard to understand where I am coming from if both of you or anyone else DD did not experience the positive changes under Mrs Tan who happens to be an old girl.

All I can share is I have a friend whose DD was from a sch in Bt Timah. Because of what her elder DD experienced, she transferred her younger DD to St Nicks.

My friend was shocked to receive calls when her DD's Teacher called to check when her girl missed sch and update her on homework , never submit homework etc. She asked me if this is the norm cos the previous sch nvr bothered whenever her DD is on MC or never submit homework.

As for her DD, maybe her previous sch Ang Mo Pah (westernised), she finds it shocking cos bowing and greeting are part of sch culture (steeped in Chinese traditions). And that the Sch is strict cos student needs to get permission to go toilet during lesson time (previous sch just tell Teacher will do).

Having experienced the benefits of character building which the Sch strongly emphasized on and working with old girls on projects, it is understandable why many want to send their DD back.

Btw, to me any schools near my place is considered neighbourhood school. And I have a standing joke with my SO, I said "VS" is also neighbourhood cos last time it was at Tyrwhitt Rd then to Geylang Bahru Lane bfore moving to present location.

Edited by Qpik

LOL... ya lor I also dunno she gong simi... St Nick's if not for academic achievements then for what?

Maybe she mixed up with SCGS lah.... that one ghim gek girls school LOL

grooming of potential tai-tai :D

Viceroymenthol n Sabian, it is hard to understand where I am coming from if both of you or anyone else DD did not experience the positive changes under Mrs Tan who happens to be an old girl.

All I can share is I have a friend whose DD was from a sch in Bt Timah. Because of what her elder DD experienced, she transferred her younger DD to St Nicks.

My friend was shocked to receive calls when her DD's Teacher called to check when her girl missed sch and update her on homework , never submit homework etc. She asked me if this is the norm cos the previous sch nvr bothered whenever her DD is on MC or never submit homework.

As for her DD, maybe her previous sch Ang Mo Pah (westernised), she finds it shocking cos bowing and greeting are part of sch culture (steeped in Chinese traditions). And that the Sch is strict cos student needs to get permission to go toilet during lesson time (previous sch just tell Teacher will do).

Having experienced the benefits of character building which the Sch strongly emphasized on and working with old girls on projects, it is understandable why many want to send their DD back.

Btw, to me any schools near my place is considered neighbourhood school. And I have a standing joke with my SO, I said "VS" is also neighbourhood cos last time it was at Tyrwhitt Rd then to Geylang Bahru Lane bfore moving to present location.

LOL, I almost thought I was in Kiasi parents forum when I read your post! [laugh]

This showing of respect and getting calls from teachers is not restricted to "chinese oriented" schools or primary schools for that matter. There's a secondary school near orchard which also requires the students to greet the teachers and ask for permission to go toilet during lesson time.

Edited by Mason016

grooming of potential tai-tai :D

U want grooming of tai-tai, u got the wrong sch. Tat is in Bt Timah area.

can't be, why bother to work so hard and become tai-tai and waste the resources? [laugh][laugh]

but if they become scholar then they most likely won't be tai-tai, their competitive instinct won't allow them to stay at home.

LOL, I almost thought I was in Kiasi parents forum when I read your post! [laugh]

This showing of respect and getting calls from teachers is not restricted to "chinese oriented" schools or primary schools for that matter. There is a secondary school near orchard which also requires the students to greet the teachers and ask for permission to go toilet during lesson time.

Excuse me, if I sounds like promoting the sch n comparing it w neighbourhood sch. I tot it is the norm for all sch actually. Just shocked to hear that fm my fren that it seems norm for her DD previous school. Another fren whose DD is also fm same sch tot nothing of it too cos in Korea, the student is expected to be pro-active.

Though I mentioned no Sch is run in same manner. I would expect the basics to be there. Maybe the previous sch expects parent n student be pro-active.

Excuse me, if I sounds like promoting the sch n comparing it w neighbourhood sch. I tot it is the norm for all sch actually. Just shocked to hear that fm my fren that it seems norm for her DD previous school. Another fren whose DD is also fm same sch tot nothing of it too cos in Korea, the student is expected to be pro-active.

Though I mentioned no Sch is run in same manner. I would expect the basics to be there. Maybe the previous sch expects parent n student be pro-active.

I wasn't suggesting that you were comparing or promoting schools so I hope there is no offense given.

I think schools call it parental support and involvement or something along those lines.

St nicks only have 210 places. No wonder run out of space.

The popular schools all have enrolments of 270-390 (nanyang is the biggest).

Think St nick's is the only popular school with such low enrolment numbers.

Analysed by my wife...

I wasn't suggesting that you were comparing or promoting schools so I hope there is no offense given.

I think schools call it parental support and involvement or something along those lines.

Nah, just exchange of views.

I am not referring to PSG (parent support group) but rather the student who is absent to notify the sch instead of waiting for Teacher to call and check on them n also student to check with classmates if they are absent. It is good but perhaps for a P2 student to be pro-active to check with classmates is alittle too much to ask for her?

Analysed by my wife...

But it cannot be analyzed like that.

Since we are talking about the children of the alumna, you need to compare the current intakes of all the popular schools with previous intakes (say 25-32 years back).

Analysed by my wife...

Do the St Nick's girls have bonus points to proceed on to their IP programe similar to Nanyang?

But it cannot be analyzed like that.

Since we are talking about the children of the alumna, you need to compare the current intakes of all the popular schools with previous intakes (say 25-32 years back).

True, agreed.

My wife was just looking at which are the "best"/most popular schools in each district.

All have the relative highest enrolment numbers. Except AMK cos all schs in AMK are only like 210.