Roh96 6th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 92 out of 97 is 105%, still not too bad. 5 unhappy parents only. The real fever is at P2B onward, that's when show begins. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Ok ok -- I lazy mah... Although strictly speaking - I tot alumni meant "graduate of the school" Old boy / girl means attended school I didn't mean "part of the alumni club" I thought the same... Till I had kids... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 In the past, as long as you are old boys or old girls, your child get priority for enrolling into the school. However few years back MOE changed the ruling that old boys/girls that join alumni will get more priority. This is I believe as alumni you normally participate and contribute to the school event and school sometimes really requires help from the alumni. So long as people are contributing and not just paying a membership fee to get the priority Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 (edited) Sir!!! The school hand out advisor letter liao Pei Chun gona temporary shift to First Toa Payoh Sec school compound (kim keat) from 2017 onwards for 2 years. Heng my ah girl PSLE this year wont be affected. But my ah boy will kena P4-P5 over there. P6 will come back to a newly built school. I think it is St Nicholas Girl School .. Edited July 8, 2015 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 (edited) And so Citizens also shouldn't get priority over PRs as well.... and why stop at just Phase 2? Hell, just make it a random allocation for every school... Of course citizen should get more priority than any others, PR can anytime give up their status and go back to their original country while citizen got nothing else to give up and no where else to go. anyway this is OT-ing already stick back to this school thingy pls... Edited July 8, 2015 by Xers007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 I thought I just stated that for 2A(2)... Paiseh Like this is it Glitter_9a33fe_2558380.gif Don't slap too hard. May catch fire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 hehe I have read your vibe in the past.... anyhow I mostly agree with you but I think there are some parents that joins the alumni in the one year when their kids are due for the p1 registration who really can't claim to have participated or contributed much to the school. but I know most likely the MOE and schools will find it an administrative hassle to differentiate those that are contributing only for the sake of P1 exercise. I have spent much time in the past on this - If you remain a part of the school community, and are an active participant in what makes the school strong (i.e - attending events, helping out, being at the school) as an alumni then I feel it's only correct you should get some form of priority. I don't believe that you get priority simply by having attended the school in the past, or simply because you pay a fee to join a club. By the same token - for the clan / church schools - if you didn't attend the school, but you were "converted" to the group, and have been an active participant in that school community - I would give that person priority over the person who attended in the past but is not a part of the ongoing community. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 hehe I have read your vibe in the past.... anyhow I mostly agree with you but I think there are some parents that joins the alumni in the one year when their kids are due for the p1 registration who really can't claim to have participated or contributed much to the school. but I know most likely the MOE and schools will find it an administrative hassle to differentiate those that are contributing only for the sake of P1 exercise. Yeah.. I also understand the difficulty in trying to differentiate - I simply don't like to see the "best" go to the "rich" because they pay....would like to see something more egalitarian than that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Yeah.. I also understand the difficulty in trying to differentiate - I simply don't like to see the "best" go to the "rich" because they pay....would like to see something more egalitarian than that no need to be rich, some alumni only cost $500. i still think distant play a part, my pri sch happen to be the popular one in Seng Kang now, i stay in Clementi, do you think i want to register my kid there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Of course citizen should get more priority than any others, PR can anytime give up their status and go back to their original country while citizen got nothing else to give up and no where else to go. anyway this is OT-ing already stick back to this school thingy pls... You mentioned fair yet still want to maintain certain terms in your favour... Nuff' said... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 no need to be rich, some alumni only cost $500. i still think distant play a part, my pri sch happen to be the popular one in Seng Kang now, i stay in Clementi, do you think i want to register my kid there? To you is "only $500" - For someone that is earning $1500 per month - that is one hell of a lot of money As to Clementi - Seng Kang, not to belabour the point about money 1. No I don't think you want to drive that far every day - nor do I think it's good for the kids BUT 1. You would have the option to DRIVE if you wished - it would be what - 30 minutes or so? Not that bad - driving is an option not open to all 2. What about the person that can afford a personal driver and a second car - do they really care about a 30 minute drive to get the "best" school? Yeah - it's reaching a bit, but only by a little bit. And also - we shouldn't pull people back because of their success... at the same time though - "the best" education shouldn't be reserved for the plutocracy... Particularly when distance plays a factor. My dotters school is considered one of the better schools - when you see the number kids that are driven to school - it really makes you wonder (we live so close I can hear the kids sing national anthem in morning) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 All schools are good school The difference is some schools have affiliation to secondary schools Better teacher, better principle Better support from alumni and association. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 To you is "only $500" - For someone that is earning $1500 per month - that is one hell of a lot of money the more the person who make $1500 will go for it. $500 is one off, but for those who make $1500 a month get quite a fair bit of financial assistant from some help groups, also the kids get tuition at less than $10 per month, plus free books and stationery every year, etc...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alg 5th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 I will only believe every school is a good school mantra only when the Ministers sent their kids to Yishun Primary School, or Woodlands Primary School or Bedok North Primary school. Ooi...... me Bedok North Primary one....... now no more already. Ministers want to send their kids there also bo chance.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 As to Clementi - Seng Kang, not to belabour the point about money 1. No I don't think you want to drive that far every day - nor do I think it's good for the kids BUT 1. You would have the option to DRIVE if you wished - it would be what - 30 minutes or so? Not that bad - driving is an option not open to all 2. What about the person that can afford a personal driver and a second car - do they really care about a 30 minute drive to get the "best" school? Yeah - it's reaching a bit, but only by a little bit. And also - we shouldn't pull people back because of their success... at the same time though - "the best" education shouldn't be reserved for the plutocracy... Particularly when distance plays a factor. Same goes to those parents who willing to put in extra for their kids (you can call them kiasu parents ) they bother to find out, check, register themselves as alumni or volunteer, lose 2 hrs of sleep everyday 2 years before the kid goes to school. Then if it take one hour to drive to school, they have to do it for another 6 years. Some time it is not about fair or not, it is about how much the parents willing to sacrifice for their kid. Do we penalise their effort compare to those who just LET IT BE? i just admire how much they are willing to go through but i am definitely not one of them cos i quite lazy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 (edited) Same goes to those parents who willing to put in extra for their kids (you can call them kiasu parents ) they bother to find out, check, register themselves as alumni or volunteer, lose 2 hrs of sleep everyday 2 years before the kid goes to school. Then if it take one hour to drive to school, they have to do it for another 6 years. Some time it is not about fair or not, it is about how much the parents willing to sacrifice for their kid. Do we penalise their effort compare to those who just LET IT BE? i just admire how much they are willing to go through but i am definitely not one of them cos i quite lazy Willing to put effort I applaud them Just throw money - I am against see how classist i am? P.S - I orso lazy...chose the very very closest school... All else was a bonus after that Edited July 8, 2015 by Darryn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Ministers think we peasants don't understand the power of networking hence we don't need send our kids to branded schools. They think we from kampung. tbh. networking for primary school level is more limited. the RI/RJ alumni network would probably be more valuable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 tbh. networking for primary school level is more limited. the RI/RJ alumni network would probably be more valuable. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Oh Sorry... HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...