Donald Trump US President: The next 4 years

Jman888

If I am not wrong, He basically want to tax everything that is from oversea when it can be manufactured in USA but purposely build in oversea and yet charge same price. It's wasn't just china goods.

The target should be the goods that are manufactured overseas but sold in USA. Those manufactured overseas and sold overseas will not be affected by the import taxes.

I agree with this policy because USA is too big to allow a hollowing out of their industrial and manufacturing capabilities. They have 300m people - how many of those can work in the type of  jobs that we typically imagine for USA? (i.e. high-tech computing, banking/finance). If it just moves in that 1 direction, there will be millions who will fall through the crack (which is already happening).

It's true that manufacturing in USA won't bring back all the jobs due to increased automation these days but some jobs are better than no jobs. It also ain't just the jobs in the factories that be there but the supporting industries as well like logistics, F&B.

The target should be the goods that are manufactured overseas but sold in USA. Those manufactured overseas and sold overseas will not be affected by the import taxes.

I agree with this policy because USA is too big to allow a hollowing out of their industrial and manufacturing capabilities. They have 300m people - how many of those can work in the type of jobs that we typically imagine for USA? (i.e. high-tech computing, banking/finance). If it just moves in that 1 direction, there will be millions who will fall through the crack (which is already happening).

It's true that manufacturing in USA won't bring back all the jobs due to increased automation these days but some jobs are better than no jobs. It also ain't just the jobs in the factories that be there but the supporting industries as well like logistics, F&B.

Agree.

Take a look at this video. It's on Facebook so not able to link here.

https://www.facebook.com/username373/posts/755819116993

All the lies democrats media are pushing out by outright editing and pasting. It's almost statestime review standard.

Plus five jman.

Where is the NAACP now?

Or is this a 'sacrifice fly' as in baseball.

Asian Americans are still the best sort, keep my mouth shut, open the eyes and see everything, the mind going a million processes a minute.

-Whatever is said/written on the public/ world stage could lead to injury and loss of life.- careful.

As a military commander, what is the best way to look after your veterans?

No veterans then don't have to look after lor.

KISS! KISS! GROPE! GROPE!

Edited by Datsun366

The article only gives 2 good reasons why it shouldn't be made in USA:

1. Cost - This is a given! But is it really going to be twice as costly? I really don't think so because like you mentioned, there will be increased automation with reduced human labor. As China and the other developing economies improve their human rights and salaries go up, I think it will make sense for at least some of the manufacturing to go back to the USA (with the help of a little import tax)

2. Proximity to suppliers: This is true too but why are the suppliers in Asia in the first place? Goes back to the same 2 reasons: Cost and proximity to their customers. Proximity to customers will be no longer a factor if their customers like Apple (and the other HP makers who still want to sell in the USA) are forced to manufacture in USA.

Remember the spate of suicides at Hon Hai's factories in China which assemble the Iphone.

They had to raise salaries to get even the Chinese blue collared workers to stay.

I think manufacturing can automate a lot but the assembly part, putting so many stuff into a small area, i guess humans still hold a significant lead for now. The robots aren't so ambidexterous yet.

for some hilarity.

I held off until now. When those access Hollywood tapes came out....

Anyway, favorite actor.

A learning lesson.

Wonder does the itik watch movies a lot and what goes through his mind?

Seeing Red?

Plus five jman.

Where is the NAACP now?

Or is this a 'sacrifice fly' as in baseball.

Asian Americans are still the best sort, keep my mouth shut, open the eyes and see everything, the mind going a million processes a minute.

-Whatever is said/written on the public/ world stage could lead to injury and loss of life.- careful.

As a military commander, what is the best way to look after your veterans?

No veterans then don't have to look after lor.

KISS! KISS! GROPE! GROPE!

I am not jman...

I know I have bad reputation but can you don't change my name.

Edited by Joseph22

Not sure if u have heard of the Unreported version of why mass sucide that never been brought to offical light. But had been known around the HR/training/consultant/audit community.

Don't show half ball leh.

Say jiu say lah.

WASHINGTON: U.S. President-elect Donald Trump said on Thursday Ford Motor Co Chairman Bill Ford had just told him the automaker had decided not to move production at a Kentucky plant to Mexico."I worked hard with Bill Ford to keep the Lincoln plant in Kentucky. I owed it to the great State of Kentucky for their confidence in me!" Trump said on Twitter.

Wonder how true this is....2 questions.

1. Is Ford really not moving their Lincoln plant to Mexico?

2. Was it due to Trump's influence?

Disclosure - vested in Ford shares. Small amount only la.

BTW, I wonder if this announcement broke any of the listed company disclosure rules in the USA.

Edited by Kusje

BTW, I wonder if this announcement broke any of the listed company disclosure rules in the USA.

Suffice to say, if Hillary had won, Ford would have completed the move to Mexico.

To Americans, it's more job losses.

Another possibility is that American auto sales are slowing and leveled off significantly this year after peaking in 2015.

It could be just a financial decision that there is no reason to move currently.

Some ford factories have already stopped their night shifts and all the US/JP automakers in America have already started ramping down their supply chain for this liao.

True american way will still be live axle at the rear and rolls around a corner while you hang on for dear life LOL

Yeah make Henry proud
Make cars the true American way!!!!

friends in banks tell me their bosses in US are rejoicing. Lots of big banks fellas being recruited into team trump,and very likely less governance. Back to the days of bumper bonuses, and less taxes. Even hillary couldnt do that... lol

Edited by Karoon

friends in banks tell me their bosses in US are rejoicing. Lots of big banks fellas being recruited into team trump,and very likely less governance. Back to the days of bumper bonuses, and less taxes. Even hillary couldnt do that... lol

If the Dodd-Frank act is repealed, GFC 2008 will likely to happen again.

Yay, more rejoicing for the poor common worker who voted trump!  [thumbsup]