Chevy Malibu 2016

Singxmm

In SG to own the Malibu, the internet, youtube and amazon will be your friend and help... which is plentiful...You really don't and wont need Alpine help LOL

OEM and original parts are so easy to get via Amazon. Aftermarket parts too... And dont forget Malibu is sold in China too.. There's plenty of aftermarket parts in taobao and Aliexpress.

I have already downloaded the service manual for the 2.4L LE9 engine from GM USA. Still looking for the gearbox service manual.

Sure. You aren't the average driver. That's why you chose this car.

anyway 2.0 engines are the bulk of the market anyway. any bigger cc engine cars are going to sell poorly unless in a big SUV/MPV anyway. The contis have a strong hold over the bigger/more upmarket cars.

so the one you bought is the 2015 face as shown on sgcarmart? 

The 2016 front end is not bad.

GM has yet to transfer the 2016 model to Korea market.

This model still solder on unchanged in 2016

www.chevrolet.co.kr

Edited by Cheefarn

Really very nice. Completely agree with your comments on buying an Altis which is almost the same price. 

It's just not value for money.  Unfortunately not many Singaporeans think this way. 

I'm still considering this car.  Would appreciate if you can help to update the fuel consumption. 

I have seen 2 Malibu on the roads already. And is very impressive. 

Really very nice. Completely agree with your comments on buying an Altis which is almost the same price. 

It's just not value for money.  Unfortunately not many Singaporeans think this way. 

I'm still considering this car.  Would appreciate if you can help to update the fuel consumption. 

I have seen 2 Malibu on the roads already. And is very impressive. 

Actually rear legroom is abit tight for a car of such size, I find its about the same as my Civic only.

Big american customers kpkb also lor... this is why GM fixed it in the 2016 model.

But its still enough for us asians la, even for my height of 1.85m

I will collect my Malibu in the 2nd week of Dec, they will prob give me open cat COE

Edited by Cheefarn

Just wondering about the maintenance costs of such cars. 

Any idea compared with Japanese? How's the spare parts costs? 

You can ask the Alpine SE to bring you to their svc dept to take a look at the svc price list and packages when you go there for test drives.  Generally cheaper than Japs AD such as BM and KM.

Good thing about the Malibu as compared to other lesser rebadged Daewoos eg Sonic is that there's really not much parts that requires maintainence. The 2.4L LE9 uses timing chain, dual VVT heads are maint free, spark plugs are ultra long time platinum ones that can last for 100000km.

As with any ADs in SG, you can go to stockists for parts.

For me, I will be relying on the internet, Amazon, Taobao etc for info and parts. This is an American car, you hv the whole internet, youtube to back you up should you need assistance on parts and problem diagnosis. The Malibu is also sold in China, you can get lots of cheap yet good quality OEM parts and accessrories from Taobao and aliexpress.

Hope it helps :)

cheebic 10 yr liao? wonder what the fc for the 2.4 lol

No... 7plus yrs old... Alot of expensive wear n tear already although you cant tell from the car exterior or interior. I've replaced some.... GB slipping in 2nd gear.

I decided to sell now since there's still good resale price. Scrap at the 10th year... well.... whether the GB can last till then is a big qns mark... And front bearings going soon.  

Things I've replaced so far

-  All engine mountings

-  Front and rear shocks, upgraded to coilovers

- Front and rear discs rotors, front replaced twice keep warping.. Now on cross drilled n slotted rotors

- Rear bearings

- transmission O ring seal against the engine

- Rear lower wishbone bushings.

And assuming COE $$ remains the same 3 yrs down the road, my out of pocket expenses for a new car then, any car, will be significantly higher. Not worth keeping the Civic any longer liao.

Another way is to sell and take BMW... but by doing so, I will loose my carefully accumlated NCDs.... and when I buy a new car 3 yrs down the road, ins premiums reset to 0%.... Plus the significantly higher out of pocket cash just to make up the 50% DP, I will be worse off 3 yrs down the road.

And despite what PAP wanted you to believe, public transport is still not fast n convinent enough. You cant cover 2 location within 1 hr every morning.. With car I can.

FC supposed to be 12.8km/L on a combined cycle. We shall see how

Edited by Cheefarn

Hi all

I've taken delivery of my Malibu already.

First day average fuel economy at approx 9.5km/L as normal traffic speed. Approx 50% city and 50% HW.

To anyone who is collecting your Malibu, rem to DEFLATE the tire pressure to 230kpa upon collection. Alpine over inflate to 280!!

Will monitor further... Car parked at home as I went overseas for working trip the next day hahaha