Watwheels Supersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 Just rambling here: There are only a handful of ministers who have been around long enough to be considered 'veteran' but the problem is that of these, not many of them command respect from the population. Guys like Teo, Khaw, Mah etc, been around but I don't think they are well liked. One problem with many of our ministers is that they are really bad public speakers! I shudder when I hear our dear DPM Teo speak. Yucks. That guy after getting millions still want a pay raise. Gian Png. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 Look like everyone like people from outside of Singapore to meddle with our country politics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 Tharman, IMHO, quite capable and can speak out well. The St Gallen Symposium interview was a good one in which he showcased his mental capabilities. Anyway, what I care about is not so much the skin colour, is whether we (as a nation) continue to thrive. No point if got a so and so skin colour head, but we as a nation suffers. This is supposed to be a "meritocracy" right, as they are constantly harping ? Why the talk about skin colour ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 The question is, Singapore really no talent??? Or people with real views and ideas cannot stomach the PAP and vice versa... hence the usual generals again and again... they are chosen for obedience to govt as a criteria after all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 Just rambling here: There are only a handful of ministers who have been around long enough to be considered 'veteran' but the problem is that of these, not many of them command respect from the population. Guys like Teo, Khaw, Mah etc, been around but I don't think they are well liked. One problem with many of our ministers is that they are really bad public speakers! I shudder when I hear our dear DPM Teo speak. DPM Teo is not that bad la. Khaw's image took a bad turn after the $8 saga, AIM and non-stop harping on AHPETC matters. Mah is out of the race. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 Either TCJ or kee chiu. I don't feel inspired frankly, but the timeline suggests that either of them must be slated for the top or the 2nd top job. But Kee chiu is sidetracking into labour ... My friend in civil service says kee chiu is actually buay pai. But i tell him, this guy image wise is sibei cmi... rumors are that kee chiu is well liked in the internal circle but somehow doesn't carry himself well in public. TCJ on the other hand has the stature and seems to be better liked by the public, But internally people don't really like him. its all just rumors la. but somehow it seems to somewhat fit? anyway all just rubbish conjectures and gossip. who knows. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Member69 1st Gear June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 Rumour has it that 3-4 more generals are going to join next erection Watch out for this man in coming GE. Incumbent COA Perry Lim. Mark my words. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 Watch out for this man in coming GE. Incumbent COA Perry Lim. Mark my words. could see this from long ago in the late 1980s... hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 (edited) Not say no talent lah... The problem is when you tighten too much....... If don't tighten, also..... There's always a tradeoff. Honestly, how many want to take the risk to join politics here, be it the ruling or the oppo? I say, B stands for Best. Not bad lah... considering the political apathy situation. We should give ourselves a pat on the shoulder as long as it is not F grade. As long as GDP rises every year and investors keep pouring $$$ in, who cares about B grade? The question is, Singapore really no talent??? Or people with real views and ideas cannot stomach the PAP and vice versa... hence the usual generals again and again... they are chosen for obedience to govt as a criteria after all. Edited June 22, 2015 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 The question is, Singapore really no talent??? Or people with real views and ideas cannot stomach the PAP and vice versa... hence the usual generals again and again... they are chosen for obedience to govt as a criteria after above all. there corrected for you.. its not about the talent. its about the values. poverty of values in an environment of excesses.. the oversight is missing. no ombudsman, no accounting.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 Wait Bloomberg tio sue ah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 I can't speak for everyone too but I don't care if next PM is an indian as long as the job is done properly and correctly. To demand a Chinese to take the job will put us in a similar situation as Malaysia. I don't think we care so much. Just that Shanmugan and Tharman are on the wrong side of 50s. Given that SG political leaders usually lead for 10-15 years and PAP's insistence on younger politicians regenerating/energising the political succession, It's a given that the next PM will be below 60 years old when LHL steps down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 No need talent mah. Our older generation of leaders like to throw money at the problem. Oh, the ppl have this issue, fine them lah. Ppl starting to do all these bad things, fine them lah. Oh, traffic congestion over here, hoot erp lah. What talent? Motto is pay and pay. Need what talent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 It's a given that the next PM will be below 60 years old when LHL steps down. got sauce bo? i tot its like any office poritics, usually the most favoured get chosen, not so much capability... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 Touch your heart, even though the money is good to most of us, which of u are willing to stand for political office? I'd rather stay out and mind my own business. If end up like other countries whereby people are clamouring to be a politician, sure end up badly anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 (edited) Watch out for this man in coming GE. Incumbent COA Perry Lim. Mark my words. This guy was in same JC as me. Rugby captain good in sports good in studies. Smart chap. I think if he got the heart, will be good minister. I also would support Tharman out of the current crop to be PM. Who care what skin colour. Besides, if our Chinese majority population can show the world we willing to vote in a non Chinese leader, that proves we can walk the meritocracy talk. How about that 'metrosexual selfie' guy? Is he going anywhere? Edited June 22, 2015 by Ake109 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 (edited) Touch your heart, even though the money is good to most of us, which of u are willing to stand for political office? I'd rather stay out and mind my own business. If end up like other countries whereby people are clamouring to be a politician, sure end up badly anyway. why not? u become MP get based $15K/mth pay, at the end of 5yrs accumulate $900K liao, does it matter if u get voted in again? #pragmaticview some more dun need to quit day job while being MP... thats $ driven politics for u... Edited June 22, 2015 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 got sauce bo? i tot its like any office poritics, usually the most favoured get chosen, not so much capability... u need 2 cycles at least to rotate enough portfolios to be PM mah or even DPM. I think LHL already hint he won't stay beyond another the 2021 GE. Anyway he can always be MM haha. That's why the 2011 GE, everyone was looking hard at Kee chiu/TCJ and Heng Swee Keat (who's the oldest of the 3) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...