Doctor Awol from SAF to go study medicine?

Little_prince

Nope, no MBBS. Only studied at Cambridge.

I did consider MBBS but chose to do engineering. Now regretting. [laugh]

Your information could be correct at that point in time but not when I was applying in '96.

Nah u made the right choice. Lol grass always greener on the other side.

I think you are right though.

There is a straight undergraduate degree course. My patient was mentioning his daughter got in that day.

The person i actually talked to did biology as his pre-med then joined cambridge. But he was already schooling in UK prior to that.

Sibei satki. Oxford-Cambridge haha.

really strange why cant defer

cannot understand

even if he was a tiong, i mean that guy already served 23 months

it is not like he didnt even sedrve then ask for deferment

To disrupt NS for studies, need to serve for a minimum period of time before you can disrupt. That period of service depends on when you enlist. Those that enlist in December/June Cannot disrupt NS at all. Those in Jan/July can disrupt after they serve for 24 months which is also as good as cannot. Lol. Then the rest of the months just follow eg. Feb/August can only disrupt after serving 23 months.

Maybe he is those that got silver/gold for napfa so serve 1 year 10 months. Which means he enlisted in Jan. So he can only disrupt after serving 24 months.

Edited by Nzy

Sometimes medication errors happen, afterall we are not computers. When u're tired or busy, or sometimes it's a series of errors and u are just the final error.

Making the system as error-proof as it can be, is more important.

Not absolving the person from blame, but personally i won't point fingers too much cos the other fingers come pointing back to yourself.

Make the error, have to suck it up lor.

There is some suspicion that she is an FT.

I actually felt bad for her when I read about the case.

Seems there was some screw up in the meds being passed to her and it partially contributed to her error.

Plus she isn't from a fly by night university. I am not sure if the award really means anything but I guess some real effort has to be put in to be given the award. And she has been with us for a while. I hope this doesn't dent her enthusiasm in working in SG.

This kind of FT (if she is), I welcome.

There is some suspicion that she is an FT.

I actually felt bad for her when I read about the case.

Seems there was some screw up in the meds being passed to her and it partially contributed to her error.

Plus she isn't from a fly by night university. I am not sure if the award really means anything but I guess some real effort has to be put in to be given the award. And she has been with us for a while. I hope this doesn't dent her enthusiasm in working in SG.

This kind of FT (if she is), I welcome.

She's monash grad in 2006. Conditional registration here started 2009.

Very likely to be malaysian indian i feel.

Timing is just right.

She should be quite senior by now if she's in the training system. At least registrar level for sometime.

Feel it's bit harsh to have an 18mth detention for something like that.
But rules has got to be rules.

I thought one lesson is never to appeal in military justice?

I think that's one thing the SAF lawyers always impressed upon me in the past.

army food improved a lot liao lah

usually i very against ah tiongs in general

but in this case seems like he was saboed by SAF....

好象是新加坡对不起他。。。

I think the sentence is harsher than some traffic accident where death occur.

i think only on scholarship then you can apply disruption to attend foreign uni.

otherwise those who want to siam just anyhow apply for foreign uni.

not true. My platoon mate disrupted with a few months left to go for Sydney. Not on scholarship.

I think the sentence is harsher than some traffic accident where death occur.

AWOL is actually a very very serious SAF offence. And I agree. It's a matter of national defence. If treated lightly during peace times, then war times many will AWOL.

Cannot compare like this lah. You might as well say kill people with car (accidentally) got fined, but uttering some nonsense (Amos) gets you in more trouble ?? Different laws apply lah.

really strange why cant defer

cannot understand

even if he was a tiong, i mean that guy already served 23 months

it is not like he didnt even sedrve then ask for deferment

allo ... never hear before this phrase meh " it's a privilege, not an entitlement" [laugh]

Anyway, deferment is always case by case and doesn't mean your same cohort same class gets deferred you confirmed also get.

I suspect like Mock says - his unit people HATE him. :D

Edited by Othello

From the papers, He was from China, came to SG in 1996 at age 10, became citizen at 2005 at age 19. He did applied to Mindef for disruption but was denied. He tried to appeal within the SAF and also through MP but still get rejected.

f*** mindef.

If he was originally from China that would explained why his got rejected. Must be many cases of new citizens who absconded to avoid NS. With his background Mindef must have rejected his application fearing he will do the same as his "comrades".

Abscond from 1 month of service after serving 23 months? What a joke.

Mindef really want to play him out. 1 month to go before ORD also refuse his deferment application to study at cambridge. Then he came back, pleaded guilty for AWOL but he appeal the 3 week detention sentence and was given 18 month instead. :lll._.: :lll._.:

This is very heavy handed. Would my son encounter something like this when he goes to NS next time? The law is there is protect citizens. However, if a citizen has a genuine request to defer from NS that would not affect national security, why was it not granted?

I hope Mindef would clarify why they rejected his deferment application in the first place.

Actually it is worse than that. He was supposedly okay with the 3 weeks sentence but it was the army that appealed against the sentence and requested for a heavier sentence.

F*** mindef.

To disrupt NS for studies, need to serve for a minimum period of time before you can disrupt. That period of service depends on when you enlist. Those that enlist in December/June Cannot disrupt NS at all. Those in Jan/July can disrupt after they serve for 24 months which is also as good as cannot. Lol. Then the rest of the months just follow eg. Feb/August can only disrupt after serving 23 months.

Maybe he is those that got silver/gold for napfa so serve 1 year 10 months. Which means he enlisted in Jan. So he can only disrupt after serving 24 months.

Now NS only 24 months leh....

Actually it is worse than that. He was supposedly okay with the 3 weeks sentence but it was the army that appealed against the sentence and requested for a heavier sentence.

F*** mindef.

NB... [:|] [:|] [:|]

WTF signal are they trying to give out? Country before personal future? If he gave up the chance at Cambridge and serve out that 1 month, he would have to wait 11 months to get into uni. [dizzy]

NB... [:|] [:|] [:|]

WTF signal are they trying to give out? Country before personal future? If he gave up the chance at Cambridge and serve out that 1 month, he would have to wait 11 months to get into uni. [dizzy]

Not just wait 11 months.... From the article, it seems he was willing to wait the 11 months but the university did not want to hold the place for him.

So he could end up losing his place after 11 months.

Former FT or not, I empathize with this guy and salute him.

Now NS only 24 months leh....

Yup. That's why its as good as cannot disrupt lo. I had camp mates who had the same problem. They have to serve 23 months before allowed to disrupt but then they passed napfa in Poly and only needed to serve 22 months. Lol.

He got time to apply, even got time to ask MP for help. I don't think time was an issue.

if so, then it is indeed strange. Coz I too, I friends who disrupted their NS and returned to serve the reminding months. Maybe the diff is 2.5yrs vs 2yrs NS?

Very puzzling.

And I find the punishment too harsh too. 18 months DB :lll._.:

This got me thinking about several issues surrounding NS liabilities.

2. Can Singapore, rely just on volunteer and a professional army? The military equipment now are very sophisticated and cost millions if not billions. I remember test live firing of a missile can cost a few hundreds of thousand of dollars from a ship. Who would you rather take control of these sophisticated equipment, a NS man who will be trained for only two until ROD or a professional army who like the US Navy seas dedicate their lives to their professional cause? (side note: why we have Ghurkhas protecting important people in Singapore and not NS men).

In my six years in Navy, spent five years onboard the missile corvette. I can assure you, everyone in the CIC(Combat Information Centre) where they press button for missiles and 76mm OTO Merala gun, it was done by regulars only.

NSFs are minimum onboard a strike craft. Most of them are deployed as radio man, clean n maintain small arms like M16 and radar plotter. Around 60 crews onboard, less than 8 crews are NSFs.

1 month AWOL gets 18DB. What if he volunteer to serve NS at U ? Read before got people serve NS at U research etc.. Possible ? Then no need jail...

IMHO, NS is important but getting 18 mths is a bit no sense of proportion... :-(

Nah u made the right choice. Lol grass always greener on the other side.

I think you are right though.

There is a straight undergraduate degree course. My patient was mentioning his daughter got in that day.

The person i actually talked to did biology as his pre-med then joined cambridge. But he was already schooling in UK prior to that.

Sibei satki. Oxford-Cambridge haha.

Satki? More like traitor...The rivalry between oxbridge goes back 800 years.

But he left oxford to join cambridge, so ok la...hahaha

1 month AWOL gets 18DB. What if he volunteer to serve NS at U ? Read before got people serve NS at U research etc.. Possible ? Then no need jail...

IMHO, NS is important but getting 18 mths is a bit no sense of proportion... :-(

18 months DB seems heavy handed but AWOL is not a laughing / small matter.

But if you can get into Cambridge in a specific year, chances are that you can get in the following year. 1 year wait won't kill you and he had hoped that he only had to pay back the 1 month. But he got 18 months instead.

I guess the 18 mths is to make an example of him.

Most Med Schools don't reserve a place for the successful applicants who had to serve out their NS. They were asked to reapply....goin thru the hassle of applications, entrance exams & interviews all over again, not mentioning the costs involved.

In reality, a lot of our young men are losing out on choiced overseas Med schools because of NS. Know of a few embittered families who recounted that their sons wasted a yr of their lives after NS to enter overseas Med, just because they ORD 2 wks to a month later. All these despite appeals & pledge to return to serve double the length of time owed to the army.

And overseas undergraduate Med course lasts 6 years instead of 5 in NUS.

Edited by TameDriver

I guess the 18 mths is to make an example of him.

Most Med Schools don't reserve a place for the successful applicants who had to serve out their NS. They were asked to reapply....goin thru the hassle of applications, entrance exams & interviews all over again, not mentioning the costs involved.

In reality, a lot of our young men are losing out on choiced overseas Med schools because of NS. Know of a few embittered families who recounted that their sons wasted a yr of their lives after NS to enter overseas Med, just because they ORD 2 wks to a month later. All these despite appeals & pledge to return to serve double the length of time owed to the army.

And overseas undergraduate Med course lasts 6 years instead of 5 in NUS.

you mean this is not the first case?

really strange why mindef dont approve